16 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Clearing stocks before the coming crash, what have I missed out in the analysis?

TSplumberly
post Aug 23 2018, 10:19 AM, updated 4y ago

4,761 posts

Plan to clear most of my stocks in the next few months before the coming crash. Did some analysis to help in my decision making later.

Appreciate feedback on things I over looked etc in my analysis.

Assume 4-6% pa growth and 20-30% drop in price during the crash, it will take 3-4 yrs for the price to recover.

Instead of wasting the 3-4 years for the price to recover, won't it be better if I sell out before the crash, put that money in FD etc. That is, a positive net gain during the 3-4 years.

I know this is too idealistic but what have I done wrong?

Yes, I do not have a crystal ball to know when it will crash. But a crash WILL happen. Just a matter of time.

Appreciate a constructive feedback/discussion. Thanks.

P/S I think I put this in the wrong place. Should be in the discussion section. Can someone help me to transfer it? Or tell me how to? Thanks.

This post has been edited by plumberly: Aug 23 2018, 10:21 AM
TSplumberly
post Aug 23 2018, 10:29 AM

4,761 posts

QUOTE(MeToo @ Aug 23 2018, 10:24 AM)
I'm not sure of a crash, but I exited some time back in preparation just in case.

Timing my side was better cause I took the money and dumped it into principal repayment of my upcoming house. Ofcourse I still hold onto a much smaller portfolio... maybe about 10% in some overseas bluechips or selected stocks.

SO I kinda pare down my exposure by 90%...
I see. You run faster than me. Ha.

The transfer of money back into Msia was trouble and tax free?

TSplumberly
post Aug 23 2018, 10:53 AM

4,761 posts

QUOTE(CP88 @ Aug 23 2018, 10:35 AM)
Nobody knows when the stock market will it be crashing. It was mentioned that 2018 would crash and some investor has started cashing out the early 2018.  smile.gif

Minimise the expose like @MeToo said, might be a good options.
No one can predict the exact day or even month for the crash. But bad signs are there now. If not for the QE, crash would be here much earlier.

I got out 1-2 years before the crash in 2007. Though I could have made a bit more if I didnt get out that early, no regret for my decision. biggrin.gif

TSplumberly
post Aug 23 2018, 10:54 AM

4,761 posts

QUOTE(MeToo @ Aug 23 2018, 10:40 AM)
No issue, i dont have big amounts overseas.

Although it used to be much easier for singapore as you can easily put RM300,000 of cash into a men's wallet and walk in from SIngapore? Gotta love their 10k bill

Anyway, it also depends if you have a place to put the money when you cash out, FD might not be the best option. In a real crash, even banks might go down...  tongue.gif
Noted and thanks.
TSplumberly
post Aug 23 2018, 11:12 AM

4,761 posts

QUOTE(CP88 @ Aug 23 2018, 10:56 AM)
Wow. Experienced investor.  biggrin.gif
More like a scared rookie investor lah. Ha.

QUOTE(Luke Skywanker @ Aug 23 2018, 10:59 AM)
so, what crash?
in specific industries?
the entire market as a whole?
Global crash affecting 99% of the industries & countries.

QUOTE(louzie @ Aug 23 2018, 11:05 AM)
what to do then during crash ? Buy gold ?
Good question but hard to answer.

I do not mean to be rude here. Prefer to stick to what I have asked at the start of this thread. If you wish to find out more on your subject, please start another thread. No offence intended. Thanks.

This post has been edited by plumberly: Aug 23 2018, 11:25 AM
TSplumberly
post Aug 23 2018, 03:12 PM

4,761 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Aug 23 2018, 11:38 AM)
Time the market is impossible task to do.
If market valuation indeed expensive, just trim down the holding.

Totally clearing up is not advisable (especially one is holding on good quality stock) unless one can hit the timing exactly.

What if clearing up, the market continue to go up 10~20% before the crash?
Eg.
A stock you hold now is 10.00, expect market crash, clear up.
But A still going up to 13.00

1-2 years later, market crash, A stock drop 20%, back to 10.00 level.
You buy back at 10.00, seems gain nothing in the process of 'guessing" the crash timing.

A good stock, even experiencing crash after crash, over the long time, it is still going up and way higher than before.

Having said that, the market is indeed experiencing one of longest bull run in the history due to unprecedented massive QE pumping.

The question on delayed crash did cross my mind before. Said to myself, willing to take that risk as long as I have considered and done a proper evaluation. Thus airing it here for comments.

Rightly or wrongly, I prefer to see a lower growth or even a flat growth than a negative growth in my investment. Thus the above get out early strategy. Ha.

The stock is in the average category, one of the oil & gas companies. My early plan was to hand on to it and use it in my retirement when the price should go even higher due to the shortage of oil and gas in 30-50 years time.

But ....

EU has now a policy to stop production of fossil vehicles by 2040, China has the same idea but no time frame yet. Even one of the 7 oil sisters has started in the EV charging business instead of just petrol stations. Growing demand for EV now. AirBus has already started work on using battery for their planes, for short distances.

Yes, even with EV, these 7 sisters will not completely go extinct as their businesses are not 100% on transportation fuel. But it will hurt their businesses.

So ...

With the coming crash and the bleaker business future for the company, there is natural tendency (flaw?) for my mind to suggest to dump the shares now, 2 birds with one stone, figuratively speaking.

QUOTE(tehoice @ Aug 23 2018, 12:58 PM)
agree with cherroy.

if you think the holdings you have is undervalue, you may hold on to it.

if you think the stocks have fully valued, then by all means exit

no one can time it so perfectly i guess. but it's always good to have spare cash around.

cash is always king?

See above.

Not trying to time it exactly. Get out when there are enough bad signs and get in when there are confirmed recovery signs. Can be a few months or years gaps.

QUOTE(tehoice @ Aug 23 2018, 01:01 PM)
what do you think of the property market?
just like the sub-prime crisis.

however, many have been talking about the property bubble burst since 2012, it's gonna burst it's gonna burst.
but fast forward 6 years now, none happened, the price psf in KL gone up from RM800 to RM2k now?
Saw one very good graph on how the stock-economy-property cycles interact, with stock leading then economy and then property. Cannot find it now. But the one below is similar.

I bet my bottom dollar that in the coming crash, the real estate bubble will burst, or at least leak! Ha.

TSplumberly
post Aug 23 2018, 04:47 PM

4,761 posts

QUOTE(Showtime747 @ Aug 23 2018, 03:35 PM)
Nothing wrong at all. This is called portfolio rebalancing, and it is totally up to an individual based on circumstances.

Trust your own sixth sense  thumbup.gif

Besides FD, there are capital guaranteed bank products you can go into after you get out of stock market. Lower or zero return of course. So, you can sleep better.

Also consider spreading the tenure of your investment returns. Invest in vehicle with longer period of expected return (property, government/corporate bonds, gold for eg.). These investments may ride you through the turbulent times.
Noted and thanks.

QUOTE(icemanfx @ Aug 23 2018, 04:04 PM)
Bull Market Hits a Milestone: 3,453 Days. Most Americans Aren’t at the Party.

The party has been going for more than a decade. But a lot of Americans haven’t been celebrating.

Stocks crossed a major threshold on Wednesday, when the 10-year-old bull market arguably became the longest on record.

It ranks among the great booms in American market history. The Standard & Poor’s 500-stock index has soared more than 320 percent since emerging from the rubble of the financial crisis in March 2009, creating more than $18 trillion in wealth.

https://www.nytimes.com/2018/08/22/business...pe=sectionfront

Stock market correction is a matter of when not if. if you don't feel comfortable with current market then sell. during bull run, most if not all herd are blinded by greed.

Remind me of reading another article on my mobile the other day which I hope to re-read again later. But cannot find it now. About Cardiff indicator which has signaled the past recession rather well once the readings were above 200. If you know where to get that article, please drop a line here. I think most likely I did not get the name right, Cardiff.

QUOTE(cherroy @ Aug 23 2018, 04:09 PM)
If one thinks equities is indeed heading for crash, can bank on bond.
Bond price (treasuries, sovereign bond) highly may shoot to roof if market crash.
So don't need to clear off all investment, even if market is crashing.
There are a lot of avenue to hedge on it.

Alternatively, one can still hold on good stocks, but at the same time buy some short (index) through futures market, to hedge upon market crash.

PBB price was 3.xx prior before 97 crash, it crashed to below 1.00 during the crisis.
So even one bought prior before crash at 3.xx, one still makes good return after 20 years later.

So you don't need good timing to make money in the market, but you need to pick a right stock to make money.

Yes, good timing, can make extra more, and also it is indeed wise to rebalancing/trim down and increase cash level if market is expensive, but at the same times, it is needless to get the timing exactly, or keep on guessing when the market will crash.

Don't bet when the market will down, as well as don't bet which stock will shoot up tomorrow or next month.

Yes, hoping to get some PB or MB during crash. But dont think there will be many sellers then.

This post has been edited by plumberly: Aug 23 2018, 04:47 PM
TSplumberly
post Aug 29 2018, 09:53 AM

4,761 posts

QUOTE(Showtime747 @ Aug 29 2018, 09:29 AM)
plumberly, you might want to rethink your plan as long as bro iceman thinks stock market will crash....

You may miss out on the continued bull run...

Any money back guarantee? Ha.

Crash will come, only a matter of timing.

TSplumberly
post Aug 29 2018, 09:59 AM

4,761 posts

QUOTE(foofoosasa @ Aug 24 2018, 02:48 PM)

For me I am betting there is one more bull coming (the most crazy bull run ever)....but with bearish view with a lot of trade war issue it probably takes another 1 -2 years before it comes.

Concur with you on 2 counts (maybe we have been reading or watching the same contents on the net? Ha.)

AA
Last 5th Elliot wave step to come before the crash.

BB
One study suggested mid 2019 - mid 2020 for the crash (cant recall the exact months now).

Dont get me wrong, I am not trying to time the crash down to the day/week/month. If you know a storm is coming, it is better to plan ahead.

Cheerio.
TSplumberly
post Aug 29 2018, 10:47 AM

4,761 posts

QUOTE(markedestiny @ Aug 29 2018, 10:37 AM)
I am newbie,  just started investing on stock few months back. Being inexperience, I have read up why the previous stock market crashes happened so that I  would be caution not to be the one with the bag down along with the plunge

Currently, the market is too optimistic, taking every opportunities to rally and bull even with the slightest hint of easing of trade war tensions, turkey currency meltdown, etc.  The previous crashes happened in the midst of positive sentiments and confidence that the market is all good
My 2 cents ...

My personal view is, it is just not the right timing for a beginner to try the stock market near the end of the cycle when most companies are overvalued. The good sifus here can still make money regardless of the market.

Park your money in a safer place (like FD, ASX etc) first.

After the crash, then use the money to get some fair companies at wonderful prices. Study some companies now and get them when the prices are right after the crash.

Cheerio.

This post has been edited by plumberly: Aug 29 2018, 10:48 AM
TSplumberly
post Aug 29 2018, 11:22 AM

4,761 posts

First, my apology to those who feel I am over doing this.

The amount is a quite a big amount (to me). I prefer to think this through and then make a decision. Even if later it did not turn out the way I wanted, at least I have done an analysis and I will live with my decision.

Thinking aloud on the 4 stages, what are the positive and negatives possible outcomes as summarised in the table.

Appreciate your view, additions, etc. Thanks.

P/S No, I will not be buying that shares after the crash even if the price is low. As I said earlier, the future for that industry will be challenging due to the move to electric vehicles.

TSplumberly
post Sep 2 2018, 12:24 PM

4,761 posts

QUOTE(plumberly @ Aug 29 2018, 11:22 AM)
First, my apology to those who feel I am over doing this.

The amount is a quite a big amount (to me). I prefer to think this through and then make a decision. Even if later it did not turn out the way I wanted, at least I have done an analysis and I will live with my decision.

Thinking aloud on the 4 stages, what are the positive and negatives possible outcomes as summarised in the table.

Appreciate your view, additions, etc. Thanks.

P/S No, I will not be buying that shares after the crash even if the price is low. As I said earlier, the future for that industry will be challenging due to the move to electric vehicles.

No feedback/comment on my overview? Tolong lah.

Updated one as below. As of now, tempted with 70% probability to sell 90-95% of the shares, keeping some for sentimental reason. Ha.

TSplumberly
post Sep 2 2018, 06:58 PM

4,761 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ Sep 2 2018, 12:50 PM)
Everyone's risks appetite is different and assess risks differently.

Since you have made up your mind, need not ask strangers for opinion.
Noted and thanks. icon_rolleyes.gif

If I sell, it will be a big deviation from my original retirement plan. To minimise me overlooking important factors and thus making the wrong decision, I then asked here for inputs for me to consider as there are many friends here more knowledgeable on the subject than me.

I do not know what I do not know. So ... cry.gif

Eg I was planning to get 2 new tyres and put them on the front. More tear and wear on the front tyres. So the better ones should be at the front. Learnt from a friend that new tyres should be at the rear. Why? Easier for the car to go into hydroplaning at the rear if the new ones are at the front. Best to watch this video. Put new tyres at the rear to maximise control.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oa9hzcjdi5Q

Sorry for the off topic here. notworthy.gif

TSplumberly
post Sep 3 2018, 03:25 PM

4,761 posts

QUOTE(markedestiny @ Sep 3 2018, 02:31 PM)
I've read an article which shares your dilemma but not able to search back the article.  Sorry, not able to provide the link.

The scenario is exactly  like yours,  in expectation of market downturn and when to sell...sell too early, you missed out the gains when the stocks in hand  continue to grow;  or sell too late, you get caught with your bag of holdings plunging downward.

The writer suggested to get around this, sell 60% of your portfolio and with balance 40%, continue to assess the market  situation until you ar sure and confident of your decision, whether to sell  all or continue to hold and assess market condition.

Whether or not, this make sense to you, do evaluate your risk appetite and decides for yourself how you want to proceed...your call at the end of the day.

If you happened to find the article, please share with me. Interested to have a read.

I think I read something similar in Trade Your Way to Financial Freedom by VK Tharp. What I got from that book is, determine what is the price to buy AND what is the price to sell BEFORE you buy! Ha.

Cheerio.
TSplumberly
post Sep 6 2018, 09:57 AM

4,761 posts

QUOTE(Battlefield1942 @ Sep 5 2018, 09:50 PM)
I get this funny feeling it going to be black october and I start to sell off my stock even when it climbing up like MyEG. I did try to install metastock to predict but my feeling not good. Will be looking at the gold investment account from the bank as alternative as I scare of currency drop like Indonesia.
They say Sept is the worst performing month in the global stock market. Please don't take that as the bible truth. Ha. I wonder how many of the past recessions started in Sept.

Not trying to add fuel to the recession is coming fire, ok? Ha.

I am now P90 in selling my shares. Question now is when?

Plan is to monitor the shares:
* sales
* debt
* cash flow
* revenue
* dividend
* intrinsic value
* etc

and sell if one of the above goes out of the norm (on the negative side).

If the above are all OK, then sell when the price drops by more than -2 * std deviation (40 days).

Cheerio.

This post has been edited by plumberly: Sep 6 2018, 04:09 PM
TSplumberly
post Sep 25 2018, 09:55 AM

4,761 posts

QUOTE(Luke Skywanker @ Sep 25 2018, 09:45 AM)
so, any new discussion biggrin.gif
Ha ha.

Got something in mind. Let me prepare some graphs for sharing later on why I prefer to get out before the crash.
TSplumberly
post Oct 2 2018, 10:05 AM

4,761 posts

QUOTE(markedestiny @ Oct 2 2018, 09:53 AM)
Quite alot of criteria to consider and monitor  laugh.gif

What is your position now?
Yes, too many to keep my eyes on. Only on dividends and price at the moment.

Got the -2*SD graphs in place now. Waiting for the day to jump out! Ha.

Please don't come back and lecture me that no one can time the market. I am not trying to time the market. Just want to know when there are strong signs that the company is not doing well and better get out then.

Cheerio.
TSplumberly
post Oct 2 2018, 12:31 PM

4,761 posts

QUOTE(markedestiny @ Oct 2 2018, 10:34 AM)
I have taken interest in your scenario given that most retail investor would have the need to act, regardless of the timing.  biggrin.gif 
Will follow your update from time to time.
You are breaking my no 1 rule, do not blindly follow others. Ha.

Instead of using Excel to do the 2SD monitoring, can use Bollinger chart in most stock software. Don't use one indicator in your decision making. Use at least 2 independent indicators.

Eg
* the sun rises
* now it is bright
then the 2 criteria are met! Not really, one follows the other.

Same with price indicators. So beware!

Cheerio.
TSplumberly
post Oct 2 2018, 06:16 PM

4,761 posts

QUOTE(markedestiny @ Oct 2 2018, 05:09 PM)
I mean I am interested to know how retail investor like yourself react to the scenario in anticipation of a market crash...

My opinion is that when the market really crash, it is without warning regardless of criteria you set for yourself.
I know what you mean. Good to have some people in the same line of looking ahead. Ha.

Mind sharing which construction companies you have and are not doing well due to ECRL or HSR? PM me the name. Curious to know.

If now it is not doing well, with recession, it will do even worse. Like I have said many times, I do not mean to add fuel to the fire (tiny little smoke at the moment?). Ha.

This post has been edited by plumberly: Oct 2 2018, 07:47 PM
TSplumberly
post Oct 3 2018, 09:59 AM

4,761 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Oct 2 2018, 06:01 PM)
Market can crash so just prepare bucket load of cash to scoop up good stocks. Don't chase stocks which price have ran away.
For the ones most likely to suffer a big drop (say >40%), selling them early will generate a bigger cash bucket for later use.

Some may recover later but why waste the x years for it just to break even?

cry.gif vmad.gif bangwall.gif

16 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0549sec    0.55    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 03:33 PM