423 Pages « < 384 385 386 387 388 > » Bottom

Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadband Thread V34, READ 1ST PAGE FOR TURBO SPEED INFO!

ClarenceT
post Sep 15 2018, 04:51 PM

14,944 posts

QUOTE(dragna @ Sep 15 2018, 04:40 PM)
Maxis routes it to their network not TM. They only rent TM equipment to distribute service to your home.
But Puchong is quite special for Maxis fixed-line business. Some areas in Puchong already covered by Maxis fixed-line (03-5882xxxx) since late 1990s! Maxis should have their own infra there and not necessarily rent from TM.
wilson1stop
post Sep 15 2018, 04:52 PM

2,779 posts

QUOTE(AjkR06 @ Sep 15 2018, 05:48 PM)
Existing package - Unifi 30Mbps (RM139) - Installed on end of July 2018

Request to downgrade to Unifi Lite 10Mbps - end of August 2018

Downgrade because not my main house, rarely stay there. Just stayed there for 2-3 days per week.

(Managed to retain STB with this downgrade)

Then yesterday, 14 September 2018, I request to 'upgrade' to 100Mbps because same monthly payment and if Turbo also same speed, so why bother to wait.

I guess you should select the package with STB for the first installation and they will keep the STB even you downgrade to the package that didn't provide the STB like Unifi Lite.
thumbsup.gif thumbsup.gif You're the MAN!!
I'm wondering what's next in Oct onward? Kept us update pls...

Installed Jul 2018
Downgraded Aug 2018
Upgraded Sep 2018
zher4883
post Sep 15 2018, 04:54 PM

4,490 posts

QUOTE(briangan @ Sep 15 2018, 03:16 PM)
hi, wanna ask a few questions:

1. I got 2 accounts tagged to same IC number but different locations. I receive SMS from TM that account have been upgraded (I have only 1 account number but 2 Unifi ID, 2 phone number), so went into Unifi care and check, 1 account turbo upgraded to 500Mbps. So izzit its not done together for both accounts? Anyone have similar experiences? I assume then its location based upgrades and not account based.

2. The Unifi ID upgraded to 500Mbps can download at 500Mbps and upload sometimes 100Mbps and sometimes 200Mbps. Which is the upload given?

3. the Unifi ID upgraded to 500Mbps cannot torrent at 500Mbps, max achievable at 100Mbps. Izzit limited? Anyone experience the same? Download other things can do 500Mbps, eg Microsoft Windows Server ISO 6GB.

All above was tested using cable. My Wifi can only get 50Mbps/50Mbps which I think its my router.
1. I have two account for my Unifi subscription and both located at different corner of the Klang Valley. One of it got upgraded earlier this month and the other will be next year. Nobody knows how they prioritize the upgrades.

2. 100Mbps

3. To torrent at 500Mbps you need a router with good CPU as it requires significant amount of routing performance to do so. Remember torrents packets are much smaller than packets received/transmit for the speedtest and typical http download.

dragna
post Sep 15 2018, 04:55 PM

5,252 posts

QUOTE(ClarenceT @ Sep 15 2018, 04:51 PM)
But Puchong is quite special for Maxis fixed-line business. Some areas in Puchong already covered by Maxis fixed-line (03-5882xxxx) since late 1990s! Maxis should have their own infra there and not necessarily rent from TM.
I think it is not because they don’t want to lay down their on infra but gomen tak bagi. You know la.. TM monopoly etc.. which left them no choice but to pay TM to roll their service out.
harriss
post Sep 15 2018, 04:55 PM

383 posts

received turbo yesterday

tested with cat5e cable on tm provided RGX4400 managed to get above 500mbps

then the wifi 5ghz can get around 350mbps on iphone 6s
TSSilentVampire
post Sep 15 2018, 04:57 PM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(miloaisdino @ Sep 15 2018, 03:55 PM)
Fibre cable is plastic or fibreglass. Doesnt conduct electricity
You are right, and fibre cable use some kind of light medium, LED for multimode and laser for single mode.

QUOTE(lol0919 @ Sep 15 2018, 03:59 PM)
I saw many cat6 on lazada but isn't many are unshielded, which is utp???
i will buy 30m, should be "more than enough", i think this is the best path. Because there are other rooms at the left and right of my room and there are few corner before the cable can reach my room. If i put the cable above the door frame, my family sure will complain, and it will be ugly if go this way.
What he meant was that Cat6 has shielding compared to Cat5, or Cat5e.

QUOTE(MGM @ Sep 15 2018, 04:41 PM)
My 30mbps Unifi turbo to 300mbps yesterday. However Max is 100mbps for LAN using CAT5 cable n  50mbps for WiFi.
BTU is HG8240w n Router Tplink AC1200.
WiFi tested on Xiaomi RN3,RN4 & MiMax, , Minix neo u1 n 2 laptops(802.11n, 2.4GHz).
I don't intent to upgrade any hardware just to accommodate 300mbps but would at least like to optimise the usage of the new speed. Any suggestion?
1. In order to get 300mbps  I need to get 2 CAT5e/6 cables for BTU-Router & Router-PC right?
2. Where to learn how to tweak my existing modem n router so that my wifi devices can run at the highest possible speed?
Get Cat 5e or Cat6.

QUOTE(harriss @ Sep 15 2018, 04:55 PM)
received turbo yesterday

tested with cat5e cable on tm provided RGX4400 managed to get above 500mbps

then the wifi 5ghz can get around 350mbps on iphone 6s
That just shows that RGX4400 has gigabit ports, which is surprising.

miloaisdino
post Sep 15 2018, 04:58 PM

1,418 posts

QUOTE(ClarenceT @ Sep 15 2018, 04:51 PM)
Maxis have fixed line?! Vdsl?
Neo|ofGeo
post Sep 15 2018, 05:00 PM

Stop Complaining and Read
3,142 posts

Puchong-Kinrara

500mbps 100mbps
full download and upload

turbo-ed last week but only notice recently due to steam game update.
ClarenceT
post Sep 15 2018, 05:04 PM

14,944 posts

QUOTE(miloaisdino @ Sep 15 2018, 04:58 PM)
Maxis have fixed line?! Vdsl?
A lot of businesses in KL/KV are using maxis fixed line, 03-9543xxxx, 03-5882xxxx, 03-7492xxxx, 03-2383xxxx.
since late 1990s (using their own copper line).

This post has been edited by ClarenceT: Sep 15 2018, 05:05 PM
chocobo7779
post Sep 15 2018, 05:05 PM

Power is nothing without control
14,674 posts

QUOTE(dickybird @ Sep 15 2018, 04:37 PM)
Haha. Of course lah.
You hammer them on their points or their claims.
They claim it is pilot phase but yet they dare to release new data plans that are cheaper and instantly activateable. While those of us who have been long standing customers are treated so shabbily with excuses of this upgrade phase is a pilot program and it is an automated system that picks which account to upgrade, well the fact TM can just activate the new 100mbps makes themselves look foolish. And all we get for our dissatisfaction is a plea for understanding, mere words. Then can I pay my next bill for unifi services with me words also? Come on. Public listed company, so-called jaguh kampung. Behave like a chump. TM, Telekom Malu.
This is not exactly CS fault at all - this is pretty much their policy (again, blame their management for this), after all you cannot blame CS for all of that icon_idea.gif

Again, if you are that unhappy why not just swap out the plans if you can (unless you are bound to a contract of course)? It's not that you don't have a choice anymore icon_idea.gif

That's why we cannot have nice things sometimes - those who are eligible (or not eligible) for the upgrade or the new plan will always complain about other things, I mean come on we already have reasonably fast connection at relatively low prices (compared to the old plan), and yet people will want to complain shakehead.gif

This post has been edited by chocobo7779: Sep 15 2018, 05:06 PM
babygrand123
post Sep 15 2018, 05:09 PM

672 posts

Hi Turbo Unifi Sifu

1) My Current Modem and Router as below :

ONU-Alcatel-Lucent-I240G
D-Link Dir-850L

2) Able to support turbo 500mb ?
3) My current package as below :

RM199 Ad Unifi 50 + Ultimate TV

4) Yesterday Log a case to MCMC due to received an email on July that i entitle upgrade to 500MB turbo mid of August.
5) What is the best price Turbo 500MB ? i Noticed someone here only charged for RM179 only which i think the the cheapest deal for this package

TSSilentVampire
post Sep 15 2018, 05:11 PM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(babygrand123 @ Sep 15 2018, 05:09 PM)
Hi Turbo Unifi Sifu

1) My Current Modem and Router as below :

ONU-Alcatel-Lucent-I240G
D-Link Dir-850L

2) Able to support turbo 500mb ?
3) My current package as below :

RM199 Ad Unifi 50 + Ultimate TV

4) Yesterday Log a case to MCMC due to received an email on July that i entitle upgrade to 500MB turbo mid of August.
5) What is the best price Turbo 500MB ? i Noticed someone here only charged for RM179 only which i think the the cheapest deal for this package
Did you try reading 1st page, 1st post, green text? It is able to support turbo 500Mbps on wired, but not wireless.
AjkR06
post Sep 15 2018, 05:12 PM

that's me
1,552 posts

QUOTE(wilson1stop @ Sep 15 2018, 04:52 PM)
:thumbsup:  :thumbsup: You're the MAN!!
I'm wondering what's next in Oct onward? Kept us update pls...

Installed Jul 2018
Downgraded Aug 2018
Upgraded Sep 2018
Deep inside my heart, I still wish that my main house will have unifi in near future so I can transfer this 100mbps to that house. Just for the sake of getting unifi, I’m forced to fork some money to rent the house at the place, which also my workplace where the coverage is available sad.gif Tm rep said you mau unifi you pindah lah.
babygrand123
post Sep 15 2018, 05:12 PM

672 posts

QUOTE(SilentVampire @ Sep 15 2018, 05:11 PM)
Did you try reading 1st page, 1st post, green text? It is able to support turbo 500Mbps on wired, but not wireless.
Thanks for the prompt reply Bro and i will reread again the page one. Thanks Man
TSSilentVampire
post Sep 15 2018, 05:14 PM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(babygrand123 @ Sep 15 2018, 05:12 PM)
Thanks for the prompt reply Bro and i will reread again the page one. Thanks Man
No worries. If you got any questions, just post them here.
cpmlml
post Sep 15 2018, 05:24 PM

64 posts

I got a call from some one claiming from Maxis and he say I am selected loyal customer to enjoy home broadband at 800mbps at the price of RM 178 with unlimited call, and he said the package infor will be posted to Maxis Website soon. Anybody got such call? Or it is a scam call?
dickybird
post Sep 15 2018, 05:25 PM

2,093 posts

QUOTE(chocobo7779 @ Sep 15 2018, 05:05 PM)
This is not exactly CS fault at all - this is pretty much their policy (again, blame their management for this), after all you cannot blame CS for all of that icon_idea.gif

Again, if you are that unhappy why not just swap out the plans if you can (unless you are bound to a contract of course)?  It's not that you don't have a choice anymore icon_idea.gif
That's why we cannot have nice things sometimes - those who are eligible (or not eligible) for the upgrade or the new plan will always complain about other things, I mean come on we already have reasonably fast connection at relatively low prices (compared to the old plan), and yet people will want to complain shakehead.gif
Well put.
But realistically we have no real choice since TM owns pretty much all of the last mile infra. I'm in a landed property so no option for Time fibre and maxis just piggybacks off TM infra so no difference there.
For me, the price difference is negligible to downgrade from my current 500 Mbps plan in-waiting to the now "sold out" 100 Mbps.
TM is really dumb or callous with their new pricing and plans and public communications leading to a lot of frustration and confusion.
When they screw up, you get all these people asking if they should wait for turbo or just get the 100 Mbps and be done with or get another plan that will give them turbo later (yes, some even think the new 100 Mbps plan will be turbo-ed later).
This is Malaysia way, you don't get anything unless you ask and do it firmly and repeatedly. Just like when I repeatedly tell them that their offers to upgrade my streamyx and VIP 5 was too expensive and not value for money.
figure8
post Sep 15 2018, 05:27 PM

...dear future, come get me
3,174 posts

QUOTE(Trrienty @ Sep 15 2018, 12:36 PM)
Just wondering, how much u guys paying for turbo-ed 800mbps plan now?
mine rm240, i think a lot of other ppl pay less than that smile.gif
cpmlml
post Sep 15 2018, 05:31 PM

64 posts

QUOTE(figure8 @ Sep 15 2018, 05:27 PM)
mine rm240, i think a lot of other ppl pay less than that smile.gif
Mine is RM 189 - RM 2(auto debit discount)
houjiji
post Sep 15 2018, 05:38 PM

798 posts

QUOTE(ycs @ Sep 9 2018, 10:33 AM)
help your 'bad' neighbour to cancel unifi, then you can get port laugh.gif
How to "help"? Because they are really bad neighbour. Cut & tear my plants and dump rubbish everywhere. >:(

423 Pages « < 384 385 386 387 388 > » Top

0.0392sec    0.63    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 04:06 PM