5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadband Thread V34, READ 1ST PAGE FOR TURBO SPEED INFO!

dickybird
post Aug 17 2018, 01:38 PM

2,093 posts

I'm in Kepong. No turbo upgrade for me but I did get the email confirming that i will be getting the free upgrade. Paying RM159 for the Adv 50Mbps package that was a free upgrade from the previous Adv 30mbps +hypptv pack. But lately only getting half that speed 25 Mbps for dunno how long since I don't monitor the speedtest regularly.

This post has been edited by dickybird: Aug 17 2018, 01:40 PM
dickybird
post Aug 17 2018, 01:59 PM

2,093 posts

QUOTE(x3BabyLemon @ Aug 17 2018, 01:49 PM)
using wifi?
Yes am using WiFi. Did have my HTPC attached to it for a while but it's now a stand alone PC using a usb WiFi dongle to connect to the unifi. Speed test on my iPad only reach speeds of 25 Mbps.
I'm looking for a replacement router that will handle the turbo upgrade and that is dual band 2.4/5 GHz. Any ideas?
dickybird
post Aug 17 2018, 02:20 PM

2,093 posts

QUOTE(SilentVampire @ Aug 17 2018, 02:10 PM)
How big is your house and your budget? If you want something affordable, TP-Link Archer C7 v4 at least. If you have a bigger house and a bigger budget, go for Asus.
Single storey terrace house only.
Ok will go check out the Archer. Thank you.

This post has been edited by dickybird: Aug 17 2018, 02:21 PM
dickybird
post Aug 21 2018, 09:13 AM

2,093 posts

Jilake. No turbo upgrade but internet down.
dickybird
post Aug 21 2018, 11:22 PM

2,093 posts

Had connection problem all day with my unifi.
Turning power off at the socket finally sorted out the connection problem.
Not before I went and buy a Archer C7 v5 because I thought it was a router issue which it wasn't.
Anyway, am on the Adv 50Mbps but wasn't even getting half that on the stock router but am getting about 40Mbps (virtually 50Mbps) now on 5Ghz band.
Awaiting turbo upgrade.

This post has been edited by dickybird: Aug 21 2018, 11:32 PM
dickybird
post Aug 22 2018, 12:45 AM

2,093 posts

QUOTE(SilentVampire @ Aug 21 2018, 11:45 PM)
Of course. Don't expect the stock router to perform well. It is just not going to happen, so you made the right decision to get the TP Link Archer C7. By the way, it is V5 now? Is it available already?
Yeah, was going to upgrade the router anyway when the turbo upgrade came through. Was looking for the Asus 1200G+ but couldnt find it at the price agreeable to me at S14 Digital Mall so went for the C7 again.
Yup, the hardware version in the setup browser says it is v5.0.
dickybird
post Aug 22 2018, 02:26 AM

2,093 posts

QUOTE(stasio @ Aug 22 2018, 02:13 AM)
Seems v.5 has upgraded Qualcomm 775MHz CPU from Qualcomm 750MHz CPU in v.4 and firmware size is bigger then v.4.

source

Edit:
Got 1 or 2 USB ports ?
Just 1 usb port
dickybird
post Aug 22 2018, 10:16 AM

2,093 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Aug 22 2018, 08:24 AM)
IKR... doh.gif
I'm sorry, but what action would you like to take? Sue? You signed a contract agreeing to pay a certain sum and live within their terms. Now they've come out to fufill the government's mandate and promised to roll out within 6 months to a year. This time period has NOT passed. So, the only thing you can do is to be polite persistence and hopefully, your place will be slotted in for upgrade earlier than intended. Now if you are out of contract and the 1 year has elapsed.. Then sure, make a fuss.. Else, they are within their rights to give SOP answers, no matter how frustrating that can be..

I would know.. I lobbied TM for years to come upgrade infra.. Till date.. Nothing, basically tell you to keep wait or terminate and join another ISP.. Luckily, TIME has responded positively and are in the process of laying full fiber cables capable of even 1Gbps.. So when they are done.. I and a bunch of other proactive neighbors will take TM's suggestions and jump ship..

P.S. Past few weeks or so.. I just rapidly skim through the last page. Cuz it's mostly the same.. Where's my email.. Where's my speed.. Can router x support my proposed speeds..etc.. Whiny..  sweat.gif
Gua agree Sama lu. When I was on VIP 5 TM kept calling asking me to pay a bit more and up the speed. I kept insisting that they are expensive and told them to drop the price. So gradually, they did up the speed and I gradually paid more and for more speed and TV packages until last year I was paying 159 for 30mbps that was upgraded to 50 Mbps with the fox sports and movies pack.
Persistence definitely pays.
dickybird
post Aug 24 2018, 10:36 AM

2,093 posts

QUOTE(coolcrave18 @ Aug 24 2018, 09:38 AM)
anyone got turbo upgrade in jalan ipoh or kepong area yet ? their template respond as below  doh.gif

[attachmentid=9987804][attachmentid=9987805]
Nope nothing yet
dickybird
post Aug 24 2018, 09:17 PM

2,093 posts

QUOTE(AlphaOmega001 @ Aug 24 2018, 06:59 PM)
Anyone experiencing downtime with unifi in kajang/Bangi area?
Turn off everything at the power socket, leave it for a few minutes then restart.
dickybird
post Aug 24 2018, 11:29 PM

2,093 posts

QUOTE(zulkarnain98 @ Aug 24 2018, 11:26 PM)
unifi call me, offer upgrade speed 50 mbps RM179 with ultimate packs. now, i am unifi lite 10mbps.😉😉
Just tell them it's too expensive.
dickybird
post Aug 27 2018, 03:28 PM

2,093 posts

Did anybody else get spam email from unifi praising themselves for bringing broadband to the people? Meluat I.
dickybird
post Aug 27 2018, 06:57 PM

2,093 posts

QUOTE(SilentVampire @ Aug 27 2018, 06:56 PM)
Could be the router issue. You should really try another router first, before calling TM.
Lol, no point. No one reads the front page, and new people expects information to be spoonfed to them rather than searching for the answers themselves first.
Lol. It's true. If X layan later get scolded for not being helpful.
dickybird
post Aug 27 2018, 07:20 PM

2,093 posts

QUOTE(adamzach @ Aug 27 2018, 06:59 PM)
Just sharing. Got mine yesterday. Shah Alam landed house. no email no sms. no restart modem. 50mb package

Wow.
Is like using a SSD in your PC, you'll never want to go back to HDD after that. Lol
dickybird
post Aug 28 2018, 01:47 PM

2,093 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Aug 28 2018, 01:37 PM)
This never really works. If any noob can find their way into a thread like this.. Then it's simply basic forum etiquette to ALWAYS read the first page first and a couple more, before asking any questions. Most answers are readily available, especially for the same questions over and over again...  rclxub.gif
You are correct.. I've learnt not to be too encouraging anymore. Yeah, it's brutal.. Be I'm glad people like you are taking time out to curate and maintain info for free. The blardy least noobs can do is to read the info.. That's not so hard.
And here we have proof.. Just one page later... doh.gif  Riddle me this, if all cars can drive you from A to B, does it mean all cars will offer the exact same levels of comfort and highway speed? Assuming of course, it's a traffic free road.. Similarly, thst tplink router can support Unifi turbo, but it turns out (yeah shocking) it doesn't support the higher speeds and does a bad job.. Makes me wonder, what should I do now, especially since I've been told to read the first page? Oh I don't know..... Shall I go back and check or ask more already answered questions.... mega_shok.gif
Kek.. So end up still paying the same amount right? TM wins!  laugh.gif
Apalah. Some people dunno how to use the search function to search the topic for their question or keywords ke?
dickybird
post Aug 28 2018, 03:36 PM

2,093 posts

My bill for 50mbps plus ultimate pack still rm151. No drop yet. TM is making a monkey out of the minister.
dickybird
post Aug 28 2018, 03:43 PM

2,093 posts

QUOTE(tiongkeat @ Aug 28 2018, 03:38 PM)
since when they annouce want to reduce price? they only mention upgrade the speed to 10x
http://www.theedgemarkets.com/article/we-n...-tells-telcos-0
Ada lah. Haha. Speed not yet turbo. And I have the email confirmation while others that didn't have already get the turbo upgrade. What kind of lame ass TM is this. Price no cut but cannot deliver on their service upgrade also. We pay good money monthly and they act like we owe them for it.
dickybird
post Aug 28 2018, 03:47 PM

2,093 posts

QUOTE(wiraone @ Aug 28 2018, 03:42 PM)
Wow, you're paying much less than many of us on the same package and you're complaining? Common.
It's the result of years of telling the CS that their offer is expensive.

dickybird
post Aug 28 2018, 03:57 PM

2,093 posts

QUOTE(jhleo1 @ Aug 28 2018, 03:44 PM)
My package at RM179 for 50MB and only Ruby pack. Come on...... you so greedy.
Greedy is what TM is when you realise how much TM actually want to charge for this package.
If they didn't offer it with the perpetual discount, this package would be over 280.
And consider they supply us with a lousy router which I didn't realise gave me less than half the speed of package until recently. Then I have to go spend more money to get a decent router. Now my WiFi speed on 5ghz is nearly 40mbps download no thanks to TM. Thanks to you guys who recommended the router.
But TM is improving, at least it is far easier now to redeem the reward points by doing it from the webpage. I hope for more.

This post has been edited by dickybird: Aug 28 2018, 04:03 PM
dickybird
post Aug 28 2018, 04:03 PM

2,093 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Aug 28 2018, 03:55 PM)
Rm151 with or without STD20?
Std is the unlimited calls, right?
No, I gave up unlimited calls because I already have unlimited calls on my mobile. Plus TM data analysis found their customers hardly ever used their land line at least I never did. So they bill that on a X sen per minute basis.
Before the 2016/2017 thank you campaign, I was happily using 10mbps paying 120++ iinm.

5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.3194sec    0.70    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 01:43 PM