Prepaid Cards BigPay - Prepaid MasterCard (with Mobile Apps) V2, CashBack, BigPoint & Remittance

knwong
post Mar 29 2022, 08:39 PM

3,567 posts

QUOTE(IanMok @ Mar 29 2022, 06:05 PM)
Anybody use BIgpay card to withdraw cash in UK ATM before? is the rate good? Thank you.
Yes. It was OK.

I’m going again to London next week. Will use it primarily to withdraw and pay for Tube as well as shopping
jhleo1
post Mar 30 2022, 02:31 PM

4,382 posts

Just received new BigPay Visa card after the mastercard expired. Manage to link to Paypal too.
PsychoJoe
post Mar 31 2022, 10:02 PM

334 posts

QUOTE(jhleo1 @ Mar 30 2022, 02:31 PM)
Just received new BigPay Visa card after the mastercard expired. Manage to link to Paypal too.
I was one of those who had problems linking the new BigPay Visa to PayPal in the past. Because I saw this post today, I tried again and it worked! Looks like BigPay finally fixed the problem.
blibala
post Apr 1 2022, 10:30 AM

1,922 posts

I help my little bro register the BP card. But when try to reload RM20 using my credit card, it states the card not valid.

Is it not allowed using other people card?
LostAndFound
post Apr 1 2022, 01:49 PM

6,267 posts

QUOTE(blibala @ Apr 1 2022, 10:30 AM)
I help my little bro register the BP card. But when try to reload RM20 using my credit card, it states the card not valid.

Is it not allowed using other people card?
If you already used that card on your own BigPay then IIRC it will trigger problem. Use a card which hasn't been used on BigPay before (even other name) no issue.
hakkai0810
post Apr 3 2022, 03:42 PM

702 posts

If I made a trx with JPY 500 which havent settled in Bigpay. The reserved RM amount: RM 17.84. Then i freeze my card to prevent any unauthorized trx.

1) When the trx settled with the RM amount is higher than the reserved amount, did Bigpay still manage to deduct the frozen balance?

2) If i left my BigPay balance 0, what will happen to the balance? Will it become negative amount?

Any1 have experience on this? Tq.

This post has been edited by hakkai0810: Apr 3 2022, 03:42 PM
tan_aniki
post Apr 3 2022, 07:38 PM

9,052 posts

QUOTE(hakkai0810 @ Apr 3 2022, 03:42 PM)
If I made a trx with JPY 500 which havent settled in Bigpay. The reserved RM amount: RM 17.84. Then i freeze my card to prevent any unauthorized trx.

1) When the trx settled with the RM amount is higher than the reserved amount, did Bigpay still manage to deduct the frozen balance?

2) If i left my BigPay balance 0, what will happen to the balance? Will it become negative amount?

Any1 have experience on this? Tq.
it will straight away deduct the amount, but not sure when posted if amount change (due to forex rate) will affect balance anot
honsiong
post Apr 3 2022, 07:54 PM

3,182 posts

Bigpay charges 0.6% forex spread, same as Wise now.
adam1190
post Apr 3 2022, 07:57 PM

Lowyat Regular
2,116 posts

QUOTE(honsiong @ Apr 3 2022, 07:54 PM)
Last time bigpay don't charge forex spread?
honsiong
post Apr 3 2022, 08:00 PM

3,182 posts

QUOTE(adam1190 @ Apr 3 2022, 07:57 PM)
Last time bigpay don't charge forex spread?
Thats what I used to know, but now I read their website, they have changed their tone recently.

honsiong
post Apr 3 2022, 08:07 PM

3,182 posts

https://web.archive.org/web/20200511170548/...w.bigpayme.com/

May 2020:
- BEST CURRENCY EXCHANGE RATE
Banks charge you a mark-up fee on top of the currency
exchange rate. We don’t. That’s more money for you.

https://web.archive.org/web/20220223193835/...w.bigpayme.com/

2022:
- the BigPay card gives you real exchange rates, anywhere in the world.

It's a slight change in language lah, but bigpay is still much better than typical cards when paying non-MYR stuff
Ramjade
post Apr 3 2022, 08:34 PM

24,429 posts

QUOTE(honsiong @ Apr 3 2022, 07:54 PM)
Care to share the source about the 0.6% Forex spread?
This is bad news.
honsiong
post Apr 3 2022, 09:43 PM

3,182 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Apr 3 2022, 08:34 PM)
Care to share the source about the 0.6% Forex spread?
This is bad news.
I sendiri compare against XE app. Again, it's possible BigPay isn't using XE rate, so I probably should have checked against Visa's rates.

Edit: OK so Visa has 0.33% markup over spot rate. I just checked XE and Visa website at the same time:

- XE.com spot rate 4.6509
- Visa exchange rate 4.6688

This is Bigpay's FAQ:

We use the exchange rate from Visa / Mastercard, and additional charges are made from these two networks. Your financial goals matter, and we make sure our rates are fair to help you make the most out of your money

"Additional charges from these two networks" is the key -- they still give the best rates among Malaysian debit cards, but it's no longer using spot rates like before covid.

This post has been edited by honsiong: Apr 3 2022, 09:51 PM
hakkai0810
post Apr 3 2022, 10:55 PM

702 posts

QUOTE(tan_aniki @ Apr 3 2022, 07:38 PM)
it will straight away deduct the amount, but not sure when posted if amount change (due to forex rate) will affect balance anot
oo ya. Thats the question i wonder if any1 got exp on this or not haha. Not really feeling secure having bigpay unfreeze all the time. Guess i will reach out to their cs too at the same time.
gooroojee
post Apr 3 2022, 11:12 PM

LowYee
2,193 posts

These days I use Wise and Instarem. The latter has a new user promotion where they give you rm200 during your first transfer of rm1000. The deal was so good for me that after I confirmed it was without strings attached I signed up everyone in my family and collected a few rm200... Heh. Let me know if anyone needs a referral.
wjleong15
post Apr 3 2022, 11:19 PM

3,522 posts

QUOTE(gooroojee @ Apr 3 2022, 11:12 PM)
These days I use Wise and Instarem. The latter has a new user promotion where they give you rm200 during your first transfer of rm1000. The deal was so good for me that after I confirmed it was without strings attached I signed up everyone in my family and collected a few rm200... Heh. Let me know if anyone needs a referral.
pm
Kadaj
post Apr 3 2022, 11:35 PM

586 posts

QUOTE(honsiong @ Apr 3 2022, 09:43 PM)
I sendiri compare against XE app. Again, it's possible BigPay isn't using XE rate, so I probably should have checked against Visa's rates.

This is Bigpay's FAQ:
"Additional charges from these two networks" is the key -- they still give the best rates among Malaysian debit cards, but it's no longer using spot rates like before covid.
So is it better to use Wise or Bigpay if I travel oversea?
Ramjade
post Apr 4 2022, 04:06 AM

24,429 posts

QUOTE(honsiong @ Apr 3 2022, 09:43 PM)

Edit: OK so Visa has 0.33% markup over spot rate. I just checked XE and Visa website at the same time:

- XE.com spot rate 4.6509
- Visa exchange rate 4.6688

This is Bigpay's FAQ:
I wonder with the change is OCBC frank rates better hmm.gif
honsiong
post Apr 4 2022, 07:26 AM

3,182 posts

QUOTE(Kadaj @ Apr 3 2022, 11:35 PM)
So is it better to use Wise or Bigpay if I travel oversea?
Why not both? I think bigpay still has advantage in ATM withdrawals. But its safe to keep both at hand, just in case you lose one of them.
adam1190
post Apr 4 2022, 10:38 AM

Lowyat Regular
2,116 posts

QUOTE(gooroojee @ Apr 3 2022, 11:12 PM)
may I know how do they give you the RM 200?

1441 Pages « < 1368 1369 1370 1371 1372 > » Top

0.0464sec    0.29    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 09:00 PM