Debit card, Anything about it.

MilesAndMore
post Aug 16 2009, 05:59 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(solsekuin44 @ Aug 16 2009, 01:35 PM)
I see.. Thank you. I really want to try online shopping (buying anything from US online stores). Want to know what it feels like to win on my own for Ebay items  drool.gif

I forgot that i also used to use my Public Bank VISA Electron to pay for Amazon (www.amazon.com) and Ebay (via PayPal). Amazon is a US based company selling almost everything. I normally buy DVD there. Those US TV Series boxsets are actually cheaper in Amazon.com than Speedy sometimes. Do check it out if you're into US TV Series smile.gif

QUOTE(solsekuin44 @ Aug 16 2009, 01:35 PM)
Wow, impressive. I might try that as well. Can shop without worrying the money in your hands.
I now rely mostly on plastics too laugh.gif

solsekuin44
post Aug 16 2009, 09:20 PM

❤ Going Mirrorless ❤
4,228 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Aug 16 2009, 05:59 PM)
I forgot that i also used to use my Public Bank VISA Electron to pay for Amazon (www.amazon.com) and Ebay (via PayPal). Amazon is a US based company selling almost everything. I normally buy DVD there. Those US TV Series boxsets are actually cheaper in Amazon.com than Speedy sometimes. Do check it out if you're into US TV Series  smile.gif
I now rely mostly on plastics too  laugh.gif
Hey, I am a big fan of Heroes, Prison Break, Gossip Girl and lots of TV shows.. Being a student, computer is your best friend.
Hehe..
I downloaded all of them, super fast! 70-200 kBps icon_idea.gif
But, yeah, buying online is definitely cheaper than buying at Malaysian stores.

This post has been edited by solsekuin44: Aug 16 2009, 09:21 PM
Vistaril
post Aug 17 2009, 06:29 AM

81 posts

Dear sifus,

I'm quite confused when stores says that they have to charge you extra 1%,2%,3%,...
for buying a product by using debit card. Furthermore if I would get a cash back do i get by the price of after charge or before charge.

Can someone tell me about this.

Thanks in advance.
melthq
post Aug 17 2009, 06:29 AM

613 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Aug 16 2009, 02:00 AM)
For Public Bank Day2Day VISA Debit Card, they will give you 0.8% cash back for petrol and groceries spending (1% during the promotional period from now until mid-December). 0.3% cash back for all other transaction.

Maybank Cherry VISA Debit Card will give you 3 Treatpoints for every RM3 charged to the card. Public Bank Day2Day VISA Debit is actually better in terms of value. Besides, you earn no Treatpoint when you pay for petrol using your Maybank Cherry VISA Debit Card.
thanks alot for the advice smile.gif
sapekman
post Aug 17 2009, 07:06 AM

23 posts

QUOTE(Vistaril @ Aug 17 2009, 06:29 AM)
Dear sifus,

I'm quite confused when stores says that they have to charge you extra 1%,2%,3%,...
for buying a product by using debit card. Furthermore if I would get a cash back do i get by the price of after charge or before charge.

Can someone tell me about this.

Thanks in advance.
actually the few percents of extra charges they levied on your purchase is to cover their floating sales amount for the day's taking (compared to if you paid in cash, e.g they have to submit the sales slip to relevant banks for collection on the following day or so...) actually its illegal as the banks do gave them percentage based on the credit slips/amount submitted....) but seems no one complaining as we are either in hurry or not enough cash in pockets...best is to avoid those shops..

cash back are after charged to your card.
reiki_longtime
post Aug 17 2009, 10:02 PM

117 posts

CIMB e.Mastercard user here. Able to use this card to verify Paypal. Also, can transfer money from CIMB saving account to the debit card. I also receive monthly statement. Downside is that I can't link the card with cimbclicks, and to check the balance at the cash deposit machine (atm reject the card lol), I need a pin number, which I don't remember seeing anywhere o_O Need to give their support a call later...

Icehart
post Aug 17 2009, 10:56 PM

14,899 posts

Guys, what is the status on the Maybank ATM card with Visa logo on it? Can it now be used for online purchases?
MilesAndMore
post Aug 17 2009, 11:31 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(reiki_longtime @ Aug 17 2009, 10:02 PM)
CIMB e.Mastercard user here. Able to use this card to verify Paypal. Also, can transfer money from CIMB saving account to the debit card. I also receive monthly statement. Downside is that I can't link the card with cimbclicks, and to check the balance at the cash deposit machine (atm reject the card lol), I need a pin number, which I don't remember seeing anywhere o_O Need to give their support a call later...
Eh ? CIMB e.Mastercard is sending out printed monthly statement ? Their ads a few weeks back said there is no statement.

You can call their credit card centre. CIMB e.Mastercard is under CIMB credit card department. Here you go > 03-62047788.

QUOTE(Icehart @ Aug 17 2009, 10:56 PM)
Guys, what is the status on the Maybank ATM card with Visa logo on it? Can it now be used for online purchases?
According to Maybank, yes it can. You need to activate something and register for MSOS on Maybank2u.com.my first though.

wkf
post Aug 18 2009, 01:56 AM

344 posts

i went for the application of the mbb debit card today. i have been told that annual fee has to be applied for the debit card anyway.

i thought that the the service charged 50sen for the withdrawal if it more than 4 times the 1 with can have the feature of no annual fee applied.

if i choose to converted my atm card to the debit card. can the debit card used to withdraw $$ from other bank. is the fee charged only rm1?...

This post has been edited by wkf: Aug 18 2009, 01:58 AM
MilesAndMore
post Aug 18 2009, 02:13 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(wkf @ Aug 18 2009, 01:56 AM)
i went for the application of the mbb debit card today.  i have been told that annual fee has to be applied for the debit card anyway. 

You've been conned mate ! You are allowed to choose the unlimited monthly withdrawal by paying RM8/pa OR continue to enjoy an annual fee free ATM/debit card with only 4 free withdrawals per month and subsequent withdrawal will be charged RM0.50. However, if your fund is more than RM5000 when you made the 5th or 6th withdrawal in a month, the RM0.50 penalty will be waived. This rule applies for the Maybank Cherry VISA debit card too.

i thought that the the service charged 50sen for the withdrawal if it more than 4 times the 1 with can have the feature of no annual fee applied.   

Go back to that particular branch and insist you want the annual fee free ATM/VISA debit card.

if i choose to converted my atm card to the debit card.  can the debit card used to withdraw $$ from other bank.  is the fee charged only rm1?...
Just like the previous regular ATM card, you will be charged RM1 each time you make withdrawal at MEPS supported ATMs.

GHz
post Aug 18 2009, 07:43 AM

1,139 posts

QUOTE(Icehart @ Aug 17 2009, 10:56 PM)
QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Aug 17 2009, 11:31 PM)
According to Maybank, yes it can. You need to activate something and register for MSOS on Maybank2u.com.my first though.
Yes you can. I already link with my paypal account & withdrawing my paypal fund. thumbup.gif
wkf
post Aug 18 2009, 04:22 PM

344 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Aug 18 2009, 02:13 AM)
You've been conned mate ! You are allowed to choose the unlimited monthly withdrawal by paying RM8/pa OR continue to enjoy an annual fee free ATM/debit card with only 4 free withdrawals per month and subsequent withdrawal will be charged RM0.50. However, if your fund is more than RM5000 when you made the 5th or 6th withdrawal in a month, the RM0.50 penalty will be waived. This rule applies for the Maybank Cherry VISA debit card too.
Go back to that particular branch and insist you want the annual fee free ATM/VISA debit card.
Just like the previous regular ATM card, you will be charged RM1 each time you make withdrawal at MEPS supported ATMs.
i went back to the bank & insisted with the choice of no annual fee charged 1. the officer said that the application fee will be charged anyway. according to their mbb policy now that the atm & debit card both will consistently have the fee charged. the fee waiver for the card is subject to approval.

so the annual fee will only be charged next yr right. what do u guy suggest the next to do for the waiver ? since the mbb visa card is the same as use with atm. i thinking of drop the atm card soon after i apply. any suggestion?
nanakopy87
post Aug 18 2009, 07:43 PM

You were...
1,835 posts

har....will charge annual fee?for both atm and debit???huh....then mbb isn't the best dy
MilesAndMore
post Aug 18 2009, 08:09 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(wkf @ Aug 18 2009, 04:22 PM)
i went back to the bank & insisted with the choice of no annual fee charged 1. the officer said that the application fee will be charged anyway. 

Tell the officer that the officer who helped you to open the account yesterday told you there is no annual fee free Maybank ATM/debit card.

according to their mbb policy now that the atm & debit card both will consistently have the fee charged.  the fee waiver for the card is subject to approval.

Subject to approval ? I bet almost 99% of current Maybank ATM/debit card users are on the annual fee free one. Some might be paying the penalty fee occasionally but mostly do not pay anything at all for Maybank ATM/debit card.

It looks to me that the particular Maybank branch you went to have very bad service and the officer has serious work ethic issue. There is a formal statement released by Maybank a while ago on their website about Maybank ATM/debit card now comes with 2 options (mentioned in previous post).

so the annual fee will only be charged next yr right.  what do u guy suggest the next to do for the waiver ?  since the mbb visa card is the same as use with atm.  i thinking of drop the atm card soon after i apply.  any suggestion?
I do not know when it will be charged as mine has no annual fee (i have confirmed with the customer service officer when i opened the account). Since i have less than RM5000 in the account, i just need to make sure i withdraw money using their ATM no more than 4 times a month to avoid being charged any penalty fee which is a piece of cake as i never withdraw any money from their ATM since i opened the account with them 1 1/2 months ago. I needed a Maybank account just to perform online fund transfer to my mom's American Express charge card bill.

Insist that they change your Maybank ATM/debit card to the no annual fee one or else just lodge a complaint to Maybank HQ.

QUOTE(nanakopy87 @ Aug 18 2009, 07:43 PM)
har....will charge annual fee?for both atm and debit???huh....then mbb isn't the best dy
I don't think this is true. I believe the officer was just lying to him.

This post has been edited by MilesAndMore: Aug 18 2009, 08:11 PM
ck_tonny
post Aug 18 2009, 09:28 PM

414 posts

Is it possible to register MasterCard SecureCode for my RHB Cash Connect card tat dun have name on it?
Mozilla-Firefox
post Aug 19 2009, 12:18 PM

59 posts

hey guys, what does "electronic use only" means? and is my PB Bank Day2Day debit card usable worldwide or i'll have activate something first? how much is the limit for ATM a day?

This post has been edited by Mozilla-Firefox: Aug 19 2009, 12:19 PM
MilesAndMore
post Aug 19 2009, 03:05 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(Mozilla-Firefox @ Aug 19 2009, 12:18 PM)
hey guys, what does "electronic use only" means?
"electronic use only" basically means it can only be used to swipe at the terminal. But as far as i know, debit card can be used for offline payment too. This Public Bank D2D VISA debit card can be used to purchase stuff online.

and is my PB Bank Day2Day debit card usable worldwide or i'll have activate something first?
Yes. Your Public Bank D2D VISA debit card is usable worldwide wherever the VISA logo is displayed. There is nothing need to be activated, as far as i know.

how much is the limit for ATM a day?
All Public Bank ATM/VISA debit card can withdraw up to RM5000 per day. But please note that the retail purchase limit is defaulted at RM2000 for accumulated purchase per day.

This post has been edited by MilesAndMore: Aug 19 2009, 03:06 PM
Mozilla-Firefox
post Aug 19 2009, 06:56 PM

59 posts

okayy thanks for the info. Can i book tickets through GSC's E-Payment using my Day2Day Debit Card?
MilesAndMore
post Aug 19 2009, 07:11 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(Mozilla-Firefox @ Aug 19 2009, 06:56 PM)
Can i book tickets through GSC's E-Payment using my Day2Day Debit Card?
Last time my Public Bank VISA Electron can't. Why don't you try yourself with your Public Bank D2D VISA debit card and give us an update here ? smile.gif

This post has been edited by MilesAndMore: Aug 19 2009, 07:11 PM
solsekuin44
post Aug 19 2009, 07:59 PM

❤ Going Mirrorless ❤
4,228 posts

Hi.. I want to know, does my address for Paypal, debit card and Ebay should be exactly the same? Thanks..
Will there be any problem if they didn't match exactly?

132 Pages « < 113 114 115 116 117 > » Top

0.0230sec    0.72    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 04:40 AM