Debit card, Anything about it.

solsekuin44
post Aug 10 2009, 03:52 PM

❤ Going Mirrorless ❤
4,228 posts

QUOTE(firecrac @ May 24 2007, 12:17 AM)
user of PB visa card!
statisfy with what they provide, no problem verifying with paypal, and ebay, can instant transfer money online to card when want to do online shopping, then swipe it via paypal, easy access, good good~~
I'm new to using debit card and Paypal. So, with PB Visa debit card, I can transfer the money and pay by Paypal? rclxub.gif
Going to apply for a PB debit card this week. Thanks.
Can shop online whenever they ask for Visa? Is it acceptable?

Added on August 10, 2009, 4:18 pm
QUOTE(amenlo9 @ Dec 5 2007, 12:17 PM)
can you withdraw paypal money from paypal to Visa Electron?
QUOTE(caspersky @ Feb 14 2008, 12:00 AM)
has anyone successfully verified his/her paypal account using PB Visa Electron before? i have recently got mine, but when i tried to 'Complete Expanded Use enrollment', it gives the error message

'We were unable to verify this credit card. Please check if the information you entered is correct. If the problem persists, please try to enter a different credit card.'

can anyone pls share his/her experience?
Read here,
http://www.malcolmwong.com/2007/10/02/with...ron-debit-card/
Hope this helps smile.gif

This post has been edited by solsekuin44: Aug 10 2009, 04:18 PM
solsekuin44
post Aug 10 2009, 05:53 PM

❤ Going Mirrorless ❤
4,228 posts

Thank you.. Am learning a lot today. Nak pengsan! shocking.gif

solsekuin44
post Aug 11 2009, 04:49 PM

❤ Going Mirrorless ❤
4,228 posts

QUOTE(nanakopy87 @ Aug 11 2009, 08:53 AM)
in case anyone of you do not know,if u buy things online using paypal,they will deduct the funds from your paypal first.after there's no more fund left,then only they will charge your card.
that day i bought things online and my paypal has 1.95USD fund left
and i bought that stuff at 3.99USD.
so they deduct my 1.95USD and the balance ,they will charge my debit card.
So, the money deducted is based on the current USD price la? If I want to buy stuff which is USD100, Paypal will deduct RM350 from my debit card?
Is that it? brows.gif

This post has been edited by solsekuin44: Aug 11 2009, 04:57 PM
solsekuin44
post Aug 11 2009, 05:07 PM

❤ Going Mirrorless ❤
4,228 posts

So, even if I don't have any amount in my Paypal, they can just deduct straight from my debit card? That's super cool!

This post has been edited by solsekuin44: Aug 11 2009, 05:07 PM
solsekuin44
post Aug 11 2009, 05:16 PM

❤ Going Mirrorless ❤
4,228 posts

Thank you.. Now I'm prepared to buy stuff online, hehe..
Have to wait for my debit card, baru apply today doh.gif

This post has been edited by solsekuin44: Aug 11 2009, 05:17 PM
solsekuin44
post Aug 11 2009, 05:57 PM

❤ Going Mirrorless ❤
4,228 posts

Ha.. what to do, I've just learnt about it last 2 days.. Doing research a lot, asking.
Tedious job, but worth it. I need to understand kaw2, want to start shopping by my own.
solsekuin44
post Aug 11 2009, 06:07 PM

❤ Going Mirrorless ❤
4,228 posts

Wah.. for moths? shocking.gif Haha, I'm not that patient la. But after reading here, I think the best is Public Bank's card.
lowyat.net forumers sure are nice and helpful!

solsekuin44
post Aug 11 2009, 06:15 PM

❤ Going Mirrorless ❤
4,228 posts

But buying by your own, you don't have to pay 30-40% more to the seller. Sure it's still cheaper than buying at retail stores.. Still, 40% is a lot..

solsekuin44
post Aug 11 2009, 06:37 PM

❤ Going Mirrorless ❤
4,228 posts

Ya, wanna try ebay, maybe.. smile.gif Well, the bank officer said I have to wait around 2 weeks, then the card is mine.
Ai..
solsekuin44
post Aug 11 2009, 09:33 PM

❤ Going Mirrorless ❤
4,228 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Aug 11 2009, 07:00 PM)
Eh ? I thought you were going to apply for Public Bank Day2Day VISA debit card ? You will be issued with this card instantly and you will be able to use this card to do online transaction after 6pm or 7pm today.

Or did you go to apply for Public Bank VISA Electron ?
smile.gif I applied for Public Bank VISA Electron debit card. Since Public Bank Day2Day VISA requires you a saving account.
Don't want to open another new saving.
Have enough already. Hehe.. Takpela, I have to wait a bit for my card. Yours is Public Bank VISA Electron or Public Bank Day2Day VISA?

This post has been edited by solsekuin44: Aug 11 2009, 09:35 PM
solsekuin44
post Aug 11 2009, 09:43 PM

❤ Going Mirrorless ❤
4,228 posts

QUOTE(wkf @ Aug 11 2009, 09:34 PM)
hi. i'm going to apply the maybank debit card. is it true that no annual fee charged & collect the card on the spot immediately after application.  if not, how long it take for the card collection.

Added on August 11, 2009, 9:35 pmis that any difference between Public Bank VISA Electron and Public Bank Day2Day VISA
nanakopy is right. So, as you can see, PBVE is better since it is not linked to your saving account. I want to use this debit card purely for spending. If I mix it up with saving, habisla..

solsekuin44
post Aug 13 2009, 01:48 AM

❤ Going Mirrorless ❤
4,228 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Aug 12 2009, 12:24 AM)
Yes. You will need to open a savings account with Public Bank in order to apply for Public Bank Day2Day VISA debit card.

But in my opinion, Public Bank Day2Day VISA debit card is better because of the lower annual fee at RM12/pa compared to Public Bank VISA Electron at RM24/pa. Besides, they will issue the Public Bank Day2Day VISA debit card to you right away.

Basically you are maintaining an account with Public Bank too with the Public Bank VISA Electron. Just an account without passbook. There will be a monthly statement though.

Please take note that you must keep AT LEAST RM25 in your Public Bank VISA Electron account at all time whereas for the Public Bank Day2Day VISA debit card, you need to maintain only RM1.
I used to have Public Bank VISA Electron. That was when i'm not qualified to hold a credit card. I just canceled it in January this year.

I am now holding a Public Bank Day2Day VISA debit card. Just changed to it from my regular ATM card (the blue one with red Public Bank logo on top - click the link below to view) to this card last week. I am going to report a loss on this Public Bank Day2Day VISA debit card next year and will request for the regular ATM card. The annual fee for the regular ATM card is cheaper at RM8/pa. Besides, i have no use of this Public Bank Day2Day VISA debit card. I applied for it just to add into my debit card/credit card collection  laugh.gif

Public Bank ATM Card
Then you just need not to deposit too much money into your Public Bank savings account. Only deposit money into it when you need to use it. The minimum deposit to maintain for Public Bank savings account is only RM1  smile.gif
Maybank cherry VISA debit card will be issued to you right away. You are now given two options.

Option 1
- no annual fee
- free 4 ATM withdrawals in a month
- RM0.50/withdrawal will be charged from the 5th withdrawal and so on

Option 2
- RM8/pa
- unlimited withdrawal
Wah.. Can report your card as missing? brows.gif Pandainya.. Haha. Ya, I want to control on what I spend, that's why I choose PBVE debit card. If by paying rm24 per year means it can save me from using my money without control, I don't mind..
Saving account should be left untouched.
Hm, for every transaction done with Paypal, will they charge any amount?

This post has been edited by solsekuin44: Aug 13 2009, 01:50 AM
solsekuin44
post Aug 13 2009, 11:09 PM

❤ Going Mirrorless ❤
4,228 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Aug 13 2009, 02:19 AM)
Depends on what kind of transaction you're talking about. Usually when you pay a merchant via PayPal, you will only be charged to amount you needed to pay the merchant. That's it. No handling fee of any sort.
No handling fee sounds good to me.. brows.gif Thanks MilesAndMore! O yeah, last time you told me I should verify the debit card for online transaction at home right?
But the bank officer said, after I received the card, I should go to the bank and have it registered for Verified by Visa.
Mana2 pun boleh kan?
solsekuin44
post Aug 14 2009, 12:48 AM

❤ Going Mirrorless ❤
4,228 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Aug 14 2009, 12:05 AM)
Go to the bank ? As far as i'm concerned, we need to do it ourselves at home. But if that particular Public Bank branch you go to has public computer, then yes. You can register for Verified by VISA using the computer there too.
Ok.. Will share here what I do for that. Haha. O yeah, the pin given for Verified by Visa, can you choose any password or just accept what is given to you?
Sorry ya, have no experience whatsoever in using credit or debit cards. blush.gif
solsekuin44
post Aug 14 2009, 02:09 PM

❤ Going Mirrorless ❤
4,228 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Aug 14 2009, 02:43 AM)
You will need to create one yourself  smile.gif
Haha, thank you.. sweat.gif

QUOTE(Vistaril @ Aug 14 2009, 08:59 AM)
Hey everyone,

Just want to ask how do you withdraw money from PayPal by using PB Day2Day card?
I'm sorry quite confused for this procedure.

Read here.. http://www.malcolmwong.com/2007/10/02/with...ron-debit-card/
solsekuin44
post Aug 15 2009, 10:21 PM

❤ Going Mirrorless ❤
4,228 posts

Still waiting for my card. Maybe will only get it by end of this month.. dry.gif
solsekuin44
post Aug 16 2009, 03:35 AM

❤ Going Mirrorless ❤
4,228 posts

QUOTE(nanakopy87 @ Aug 15 2009, 10:35 PM)
hmm,i dun think tat fast.i tot u just applied it early tis week? hmm.gif
I applied last week on Tuesday.. brows.gif Have you ever use your debit card at any shopping mall?
Restaurant?

This post has been edited by solsekuin44: Aug 16 2009, 03:35 AM
solsekuin44
post Aug 16 2009, 01:35 PM

❤ Going Mirrorless ❤
4,228 posts

QUOTE(nanakopy87 @ Aug 16 2009, 08:53 AM)
i dun use PBVE @ shopping mall or restaurant...tis card is use only for online shopping  blush.gif
I see.. Thank you. I really want to try online shopping (buying anything from US online stores). Want to know what it feels like to win on my own for Ebay items drool.gif

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Aug 16 2009, 09:47 AM)
I had. Swiped it at ISETAN, Robinsons, Parkson, Kinokuniya, MPH and many other places that i couldn't remember of. Now using only credit cards  smile.gif
Wow, impressive. I might try that as well. Can shop without worrying the money in your hands.
Sometimes when I withdraw money, I feel so scared walking. As long as I haven't use it, lots of "what ifs" playing on my mind. Ai..
wink.gif

This post has been edited by solsekuin44: Aug 16 2009, 04:50 PM
solsekuin44
post Aug 16 2009, 09:20 PM

❤ Going Mirrorless ❤
4,228 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Aug 16 2009, 05:59 PM)
I forgot that i also used to use my Public Bank VISA Electron to pay for Amazon (www.amazon.com) and Ebay (via PayPal). Amazon is a US based company selling almost everything. I normally buy DVD there. Those US TV Series boxsets are actually cheaper in Amazon.com than Speedy sometimes. Do check it out if you're into US TV Series  smile.gif
I now rely mostly on plastics too  laugh.gif
Hey, I am a big fan of Heroes, Prison Break, Gossip Girl and lots of TV shows.. Being a student, computer is your best friend.
Hehe..
I downloaded all of them, super fast! 70-200 kBps icon_idea.gif
But, yeah, buying online is definitely cheaper than buying at Malaysian stores.

This post has been edited by solsekuin44: Aug 16 2009, 09:21 PM
solsekuin44
post Aug 19 2009, 07:59 PM

❤ Going Mirrorless ❤
4,228 posts

Hi.. I want to know, does my address for Paypal, debit card and Ebay should be exactly the same? Thanks..
Will there be any problem if they didn't match exactly?

0.0213sec    0.58    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 05:24 PM