post Apr 3 2021, 01:45 AM

Rise and Shine
72,840 posts

QUOTE(joshhd @ Apr 3 2021, 01:42 AM)
Ohh then yes, it's time to upgrade to the Ulti Box or Ultra Box  biggrin.gif
Hmmm... console.gif  console.gif
If you feel guilty, then just subscribe to the standalone Astro subscription on a different address lor...  laugh.gif  laugh.gif  laugh.gif Don't use the Multiroom "tactics" to "save money".  tongue.gif Then you won't feel guilty anymore.
The telemarketers keep telling us they won’t change our satellite dish and we thought they were just lying because if that’s changed, my parents cannot watch Astro anymore if they are back in hometown. laugh.gif Looks like they are right after all.

Shh. tongue.gif

TSnexona88
post Apr 3 2021, 08:21 AM

The Royal Club Member
48,519 posts

QUOTE(NimalKumar @ Apr 2 2021, 09:46 PM)
Not sure if HD is nearing, but the movies and ads lately adapted to HD aspect ratio mostly.
Oooh...
Maybe they test first...
Later silently upgrade...
Like awani & others channels 🎯
Uzumaki NaruTo
post Apr 3 2021, 03:12 PM

oro?
4,187 posts

hi guys, i just recently upgraded to 70inch 4k sharp. is there anything i should configure ( maybe outputting it to 1080i or p) in order for it to look ok because right now everything looks soo not hd sweat.gif

many thanks in advance
yongtjunkit
post Apr 3 2021, 03:18 PM

2,516 posts

QUOTE(Uzumaki NaruTo @ Apr 3 2021, 03:12 PM)
hi guys, i just recently upgraded to 70inch 4k sharp. is there anything i should configure ( maybe outputting it to 1080i or p) in order for it to look ok because right now everything looks soo not hd sweat.gif

many thanks in advance
What decoder are you using, try setting it to the maximum possible( 1080i max for HD/PVR box, 2160P for Ultra box, you may try 1080i/p on the ultra box as well but you may notice some artifacts from doing that)

Astro HD isn't real HD: https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=findpost&pid=99570883
Uzumaki NaruTo
post Apr 3 2021, 03:21 PM

oro?
4,187 posts

QUOTE(yongtjunkit @ Apr 3 2021, 03:18 PM)
What decoder are you using, try setting it to the maximum possible( 1080i max for HD/PVR box, 2160P for Ultra box, you may try 1080i/p on the ultra box as well but you may notice some artifacts from doing that)

Astro HD isn't real HD: https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=findpost&pid=99570883
I got the free ultra box few months back. yeah. now tempting to ditch astro and go for netflix.
yongtjunkit
post Apr 3 2021, 03:24 PM

2,516 posts

QUOTE(Uzumaki NaruTo @ Apr 3 2021, 03:21 PM)
I got the free ultra box few months back. yeah. now tempting to ditch astro and go for netflix.
I belive if you recently upgrade to the ultra box, then you can't terminate without penalty until the 24 months contract is up

This post has been edited by yongtjunkit: Apr 3 2021, 03:25 PM
hizad
post Apr 4 2021, 12:13 PM

184 posts

Will Astro shows the Tokyo Summer Olympics in 4K or 8K
joshhd
post Apr 4 2021, 01:11 PM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(hizad @ Apr 4 2021, 12:13 PM)
Will Astro shows the Tokyo Summer Olympics in 4K or 8K

8K impossible for now la.
4K UHD then yes, very likely. Only for Ultra Box users.
MegaThroned
post Apr 4 2021, 01:43 PM

139 posts

If i’m not a sport package subscriber, can I watch UEFA match in 4k?I mean can I subscribe package for uefa only?
joshhd
post Apr 4 2021, 01:58 PM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(MegaThroned @ Apr 4 2021, 01:43 PM)
If i’m not a sport package subscriber, can I watch UEFA match in 4k?I mean can I subscribe package for uefa only?

No I don't think so.
So far no news about "UEFA Euro 2020 Pass" like what we used to see in previous years, where non Sports pack customers given an option to buy a one time pass to access to a particular sport event matches on a dedicated channel.

I think they rather see you subscribe to Sports pack to watch the matches instead. No choice, Astro is financially "drying up"... So please spend more money on Astro.
TSnexona88
post Apr 4 2021, 02:10 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,519 posts

Almost spilled my drink...
Looking at previous post of 8K standards in astro platform... 🤣

4K also like half baked... Not even full potential...
HD don't have to go there.... Slowly getting there 😜

Anyway....
Since the so called "ceases" of Duplicate SD channel into 1 HD channel only....
Got any difference in PQ & Audio???
Asking because I don't really see anything difference....
Only can see some improvement in RTM.. and awani... Others still sucks HD 😭
stasio
post Apr 4 2021, 02:13 PM

18,504 posts

QUOTE(joshhd @ Apr 4 2021, 01:11 PM)
8K impossible for now la.
4K UHD then yes, very likely. Only for Ultra Box users.
what is 4K UHD channel 780 video bitrate?

This post has been edited by stasio: Apr 4 2021, 02:19 PM
joshhd
post Apr 4 2021, 09:34 PM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Apr 4 2021, 02:10 PM)
Almost spilled my drink...
Looking at previous post of 8K standards in astro platform... 🤣

4K also like half baked... Not even full potential...
HD don't have to go there.... Slowly getting there 😜

Anyway....
Since the so called "ceases" of Duplicate SD channel into 1 HD channel only....
Got any difference in PQ & Audio???
Asking because I don't really see anything difference....
Only can see some improvement in RTM.. and awani... Others still sucks HD 😭

I'll wait until they cease most of the simulcast SD channels in the next few weeks first, then I'll see how is it...
Right now what I observe is, they have removed most of the redundant Dolby AC3 audio tracks, but not all of them yet.
Stereo audio track for MPEG-4 channels still remains 64kbps HE-AAC.
QUOTE(stasio @ Apr 4 2021, 02:13 PM)
what is 4K UHD channel 780 video bitrate?

25Mbps, HEVC video codec, 50fps.
joshhd
post Apr 4 2021, 10:05 PM

7,799 posts

Astro To Provide Two Dedicated 4K UHD Channels For UEFA Euro 2020
https://www.lowyat.net/2021/236372/astro-uefa-euro-2020-4k-channels-sports-pack/

FAQ: https://acm-cms-assets.eco.astro.com.my/acm...euro-faq_en.pdf
T&C: https://dj7fdt04hl8tv.cloudfront.net/acm/me...tv_01042021.pdf

Now the confusing part is, many news articles says that the channel numbers for the 2 UEFA Euro 2020 is Channel 871 and 872, but in Astro FAQ and T&C file, it stated Channel 781 and 782.
Hah... Who to trust now? shakehead.gif rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by joshhd: Apr 4 2021, 10:07 PM
lkh78
post Apr 4 2021, 10:08 PM

20 posts

I have astro and 2 multirooms at three different locations. When i cancel the astro all together, do i need to return all equipments to astro and will they collect it from multiple locations?

Thank you.
joshhd
post Apr 4 2021, 10:11 PM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(MegaThroned @ Apr 4 2021, 01:43 PM)

No. You must subscribe to Sports pack to enjoy UEFA Euro matches. If you subscribe Sports pack from 1 April 2021 onwards (which is from now onwards, until UEFA Euro 2020 event ends), you will have either 3 months or 12 months of contract for Sports pack.
Read this post to know more: https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...ost&p=100511986
joshhd
post Apr 4 2021, 10:26 PM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(lkh78 @ Apr 4 2021, 10:08 PM)
I have astro and 2 multirooms at three different locations. When i cancel the astro all together, do i need to return all equipments to astro and will they collect it from multiple locations?

Thank you.

According to Astro General T&C, if you terminate their service, and you want them to collect all the equipment for you, they have the rights to impose a service fee on you.
You can also walk in to the nearest Astro service centre to return your Astro set-top-box (together with the smart card), then that one for sure no service charge la.
If you want them to dismantle/remove the satellite dish for you also, the Astro installer might charge you extra also (because it is extra work).

Multiroom subscription are supposed to be installed within the same service address as stated on your Astro account details.
If you terminate entire Astro accounts, and the installer come to your house, and they only see your primary Astro box is there, but your second and third box is not there. What do you expect the installer to react? 🤣
If I am the installer, and you want me to collect the second and third boxes from different locations and it is far away, I will definitely charge you money. If it's nearby, then depends on my mood la tongue.gif tongue.gif

If you don't want to "confuse" the installer, better make by the time the installer/technician come to your house to retrieve those equipment, make sure ALL your Astro boxes, including those previously placed at different locations ones, are ready to collect at your service address. Most importantly is the Astro set-top-box (many people likes to call it "decoder") and also with the smart card inside.
You can keep the Astro remote control.

Or alternatively, depends on your case/situation, instead of cancelling all 3 Astro subscriptions altogether (incl Multiroom), you can also consider split/convert the Astro boxes from Multiroom subscription into standalone Astro account. Here's how:
https://support.astro.com.my/question/what-...ting-my-account
doubleM2
post Apr 4 2021, 10:26 PM

1,026 posts

QUOTE(joshhd @ Apr 4 2021, 10:05 PM)
Astro To Provide Two Dedicated 4K UHD Channels For UEFA Euro 2020
https://www.lowyat.net/2021/236372/astro-uefa-euro-2020-4k-channels-sports-pack/

FAQ: https://acm-cms-assets.eco.astro.com.my/acm...euro-faq_en.pdf
T&C: https://dj7fdt04hl8tv.cloudfront.net/acm/me...tv_01042021.pdf

Now the confusing part is, many news articles says that the channel numbers for the 2 UEFA Euro 2020 is Channel 871 and 872, but in Astro FAQ and T&C file, it stated Channel 781 and 782.
Hah... Who to trust now?  shakehead.gif  rclxub.gif
Well, you’ve got to trust from the original source itself — Astro. News articles sometimes put errata for even the tiniest details of the information like this.

Actually, Ch 871 & Ch 872 are from Radio channel numbers: RTM’s Wai FM & TraXX FM respectively.

Side note, it makes sense that Astro put Ch 781 & 782 besides Ch 780.. because it’s UHD channel section.

This post has been edited by doubleM2: Apr 4 2021, 10:40 PM
joshhd
post Apr 4 2021, 10:31 PM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(lkh78 @ Apr 4 2021, 10:08 PM)

Thank you.

If you lazy to care about returning the equipment back to Astro, then you can try persuade the Astro customer service agent, saying that you want to "suspend" your Astro subscription due to financial constraints (or whatever excuses you feel appropriate to use).
Give them some hope that you plan to resume Astro service in the future. That way, they are likely to let you keep the Astro box, as they consider this is "voluntary suspension".
chseah30 P
post Apr 4 2021, 10:33 PM

Probation

QUOTE(joshhd @ Apr 2 2021, 11:24 PM)
Normal la. It is the Astro's telemarketing or upsell team doing their job.
If you are referring to the normal Astro DTH order that uses satellite dish one, then yes.
Upon upgrade to Ultra Box, it'll still connect to the satellite dish to receive TV channels, and also to Internet connection via WiFi/LAN to access to Astro's cloud streaming services (e.g. VOD, cloud recording, Play from Start,...).
Yes and no. Read my follow post to know further, by comparing with Astro PVR box and Ulti/Ultra Box.
Does your high rise property allow residents to install own dish at the balcony, or must connect to the centralised dish?
If it is centralised dish, make sure your building's centralised antenna supports PVR & Ultra Box (Technically, it's called DCSS). If you're not sure, contact building management and ask whether the Astro centralise antenna system supports DCSS or not.
If it doesn't support DCSS, then when you tune to Astro UHD channels, you will see "Services Currently Not Available (SCNA)" message appear on your TV (no satellite signal). You can still watch all SD and HD channels.

Talking about 4K UHD TV, hmmm, Astro is having a contest where they will giveaway 51 units of 4K UHD TVs, at their UEFA Euro 2020 roadshow at Sunway Pyramid, from 1-4 April 2021.
https://promotions.astro.com.my/details/Euro2020Contest

Do note that your 4K UHD TV must be HDCP 2.2 complaint to view UHD content. If not, or if you are using non-4K UHD TV, this message will appear on your TV screen whenever you tune to Astro UHD channels:

Then that is something that you have to secretly deal with the installer.
For installers, as long you willing to pay them slightly more money, most likely they'll do it for you one. brows.gif Most importantly is, you know what you're doing then can already.
https://studio.youtube.com/video/dn_4Eszd6N.../period-default

1081 Pages « < 403 404 405 406 407 > » Top

0.0259sec    0.25    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 10:57 PM