1081 Pages « < 405 406 407 408 409 > » Bottom

Astro Version 13A, All about Astro Malaysia offerings

brandonkl
post Apr 5 2021, 09:52 PM

-
997 posts

How does Astro multi room decoder works? I am renovating my apartment and I want to have 3 ultrabox decoders (living room and two bedrooms). It's centralized dish in my apartment and Astro confirmed that ultrabox is available.

I should get my contractor to install two additional astro ports in the two bedrooms? Then where does this two additional Astro ports connect to?
joshhd
post Apr 5 2021, 10:50 PM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(brandonkl @ Apr 5 2021, 09:52 PM)
How does Astro multi room decoder works? I am renovating my apartment and I want to have 3 ultrabox decoders (living room and two bedrooms).  It's centralized dish in my apartment and Astro confirmed that ultrabox is available.

I should get my contractor to install two additional astro ports in the two bedrooms? Then where does this two additional Astro ports connect to?

First of all, contact your building management to confirm from their end to make sure its centralise antenna supports DCSS or not. If confirm support DCSS, then you're good to go.
How does Astro multi room decoder works?
Errr... Basically it's just that your Astro account, besides the primary Astro box, it also has second or third Astro boxes.
Whatever packages you subscribed on your primary Astro box, you shall get the same on your second or third Astro box too, EXCEPT Astro First/Best movie rentals and some special interest channels.
And you just have to add RM50 per month for each box.
More info here: https://product.astro.com.my/multiroom
Since your apartment is still under renovating, it is best that you hire your own contractor to lay the concealed RG6 cable along with the "astro port" wall socket, to the rooms where you want the Ultra Boxes to be placed.

Btw how about Internet? How many Mbps speed you plan to sign up?
OneXX
post Apr 5 2021, 10:56 PM

58 posts

QUOTE(VeeJay @ Apr 5 2021, 09:33 PM)
Just to clarify, do you mean setting a reminder for a future program in a channel is it?
yes...that one...when you set reminder and then 1 minute before show start it will popup asking yes or no
joshhd
post Apr 5 2021, 11:49 PM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(OneXX @ Apr 5 2021, 10:56 PM)
yes...that one...when you set reminder and then 1 minute before show start it will popup asking yes or no

Hmmm... If I am a software developer, I would think this way:

Since we can record the programme and watch it anytime you like with PVR/Ulti/Ultra Box, why do you need a programme reminder which it pops up a message and auto changes to that channel? hmm.gif
Anyhow, is there any reason you need that programme reminder feature? hmm.gif

-----

That feature actually has a history behind it. It exists since the old legacy Astro box days, back in late 90s till early 2000s, where it can auto changes to the particular channel by 1 minute before the particular programme starts to air, or right on time.
The main purpose of this feature, is to allow your DVR recorder to automatically record the channel via RCA video output. Yes, your own DVR recorder.

From the Astro box's RCA video output (or S-Video output port), you can connect it to any of your own DVR recorders. It could be your VHS video cassette recorder or DVR hard drive recorder, or DVD disc recorder, and so on.
And then, you'll have to set the start/stop recording schedule by yourself on your own DVR recorder.
Yes, some people does rely on that feature, to record favourite programmes and watch it anytime you want with their own DVR recorder, and that was applicable back in those days before Astro MAX is being introduced in 2006-2007 or even Astro B.yond PVR in 2010 (now known as Astro PVR box).

In a worldwide perspective, that DVR recording feature where consumers can easily record whatever they want, make duplicate copies, transfer to computer, burn to DVD disc...
This became quite controversial worldwide after it is known by consumers over the years, as it can contribute to digital piracy and copyright concerns. Back then, implementation of HDCP isn't as mandatory as nowadays.

That programme reminder feature was still being inherited from the previously known as Astro B.yond platform in 2009, and even till today's Evo UI software (the same software UI as your Astro HD and PVR box).
Probably Astro software guys realises that this programme reminder feature appears redundant and not widely used nowadays already, so they did not implement such feature starting from the Ulti Box and Ultra Box software.
And today, we have cloud recording feature to stream your shows anywhere you want on your Ulti/Ultra Box and Astro Go app. So why would you use programme reminder feature anyway? 😁

This post has been edited by joshhd: Apr 5 2021, 11:50 PM
manydupe
post Apr 6 2021, 12:12 AM

122 posts

My ultra box can’t connect to satellite. I try factory reset and now stuck at step 6 of 6 transponder setting. Can’t lock to 01 M3B VL-10732
pandera999
post Apr 6 2021, 12:16 AM

모든 것​에는 정해진 때​가 있으니
6,214 posts

I want to ask regarding on my Astro IPTV... i change from maxis stock router to asus router.. putting IPTV vlan, but i notice that, astro channel guide No Information... try reboot everything (modem, router, decoder).. but it still the same... anyone had same issue before?
brandonkl
post Apr 6 2021, 10:59 AM

-
997 posts

Btw how about Internet? How many Mbps speed you plan to sign up?

[/quote]
Time Fiber .. 1 Gbps .. so no issue biggrin.gif
izwanikhsan
post Apr 7 2021, 08:38 AM

1,217 posts

So is Astro venturing into plug and play set top box much like android box that does nor tie to broadband service bundling..but legally?
brianklc
post Apr 7 2021, 05:08 PM

372 posts

Guys, I just noticed tht ultra box can pause. And after you pause, u can rewind up to certain minute... I maybe outdated, but is it something new?
John Chaser
post Apr 8 2021, 12:11 AM

685 posts

QUOTE(brianklc @ Apr 7 2021, 05:08 PM)
Guys, I just noticed tht ultra box can pause. And after you pause, u can rewind up to certain minute... I maybe outdated, but is it something new?
Live shows?
brianklc
post Apr 8 2021, 01:45 AM

372 posts

QUOTE(John Chaser @ Apr 8 2021, 12:11 AM)
Live shows?
Yes
stasio
post Apr 8 2021, 01:56 AM

18,504 posts

QUOTE(brianklc @ Apr 8 2021, 01:45 AM)
Yes
All channels?
I don't think so..... hmm.gif

Edit:
Yea, seemse you are right, after pause, can rewind and watch or press "Back to live TV"...... biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by stasio: Apr 8 2021, 02:21 AM
brianklc
post Apr 8 2021, 02:36 AM

372 posts

Does not work on 780. For others, the function is even better thn pvr, u can rewind until start... pvr can only rewind up till the point u tune into tht channel... good, I m impressed...

This post has been edited by brianklc: Apr 8 2021, 02:38 AM
brianklc
post Apr 8 2021, 02:39 AM

372 posts

Previously they released to certain users to beta test, now they push into production... weird, why they didn’t market this function? Or did they?

This post has been edited by brianklc: Apr 8 2021, 02:40 AM
feed2doorsmhbm
post Apr 8 2021, 11:52 AM

253 posts

8TV on Astro has no signal on my house?user posted image
joshhd
post Apr 9 2021, 02:26 AM

7,799 posts

It seems that almost no one or perhaps very few people out there notices that many anime titles (particularly all from Aniplus) have been removed from Astro's VOD library.
Seems like anime fans aren't interested in streaming their favourite anime on Astro sweat.gif And that's likely the reason that Astro axed off Aniplus for good.
I think they either go for Netflix or some other OTT platforms, or just continue to be a pirate streamers wink.gif

Anyway, content from K+ channel is not affected. Still available as usual...

This post has been edited by joshhd: Apr 9 2021, 02:27 AM
joshhd
post Apr 9 2021, 02:38 AM

7,799 posts

Hmm... So that's how the lawyer love letter look like as a result of "too late" or no Astro bill payment made by customer, in East Malaysia.
Not paying your Astro bill is considered as breaching your payment obligations on Astro. nod.gif
If you "purposely" don't pay, then you'll get a "love letter" from them later on. Scared leh? brows.gif

Further info: https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=97474216

This post has been edited by joshhd: Apr 9 2021, 02:39 AM
joshhd
post Apr 9 2021, 02:46 AM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(brianklc @ Apr 7 2021, 05:08 PM)

Read this post: https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...ost&p=100047027

QUOTE(John Chaser @ Apr 8 2021, 12:11 AM)
Live shows?
QUOTE(brianklc @ Apr 8 2021, 02:39 AM)
Previously they released to certain users to beta test, now they push into production... weird, why they didn’t market this function? Or did they?

If I am a software tech person, I would be very hesitate to publicly announce this function.
Reason because, there's still many bugs and instability issues, although it is usable to some extent at certain times and situations.
But as a consumer point of view, compared to the PVR box, this is considered as "better than nothing", but not as a form of replacement.

QUOTE(brianklc @ Apr 8 2021, 02:36 AM)
Does not work on 780. For others, the function is even better thn pvr, u can rewind until start... pvr can only rewind up till the point u tune into tht channel... good, I m impressed...

Do continue to observe and use that function from time to time. nod.gif
From time to time, you may notice the video quality keep fluctuate from poor to original HD quality (as a result of adaptive bitrate streaming), but it is believed that it is due to some congestion issues on Astro streaming CDN servers side, not your Internet or WiFi problem.

Read this to know more on the difference between the one you used on PVR box: https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...ost&p=100498320

And nope, cloud PVR (pause or cloud recording) isn't available on Astro UHD channels for now.

This post has been edited by joshhd: Apr 9 2021, 02:50 AM
brianklc
post Apr 9 2021, 02:52 PM

372 posts

QUOTE(joshhd @ Apr 9 2021, 02:46 AM)
Read this post: https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...ost&p=100047027
If I am a software tech person, I would be very hesitate to publicly announce this function.
Reason because, there's still many bugs and instability issues, although it is usable to some extent at certain times and situations.
But as a consumer point of view, compared to the PVR box, this is considered as "better than nothing", but not as a form of replacement.

Do continue to observe and use that function from time to time. nod.gif
From time to time, you may notice the video quality keep fluctuate from poor to original HD quality (as a result of adaptive bitrate streaming), but it is believed that it is due to some congestion issues on Astro streaming CDN servers side, not your Internet or WiFi problem.

Read this to know more on the difference between the one you used on PVR box:  https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...ost&p=100498320

And nope, cloud PVR (pause or cloud recording) isn't available on Astro UHD channels for now.
I only watch during midnight for live channel, else mostly VOD, no wonder I don’t feel any congestion like u say... situation will gets worse if more users knows abt tht n start using tht function.. similar to wht I encounter during 1st day of synder cut...

This post has been edited by brianklc: Apr 9 2021, 02:55 PM
brianklc
post Apr 9 2021, 04:40 PM

372 posts

Btw, u can mitigate SCNA problems by pause rewind too...

1081 Pages « < 405 406 407 408 409 > » Top

0.0342sec    0.56    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 12:45 AM