Astro Version 13A, All about Astro Malaysia offerings

linkinstreet
post Feb 23 2023, 01:18 PM

Red Bull Addict
9,275 posts

QUOTE(jusbella @ Feb 23 2023, 12:51 PM)
Any google OS TV should be fine with it.
Yeah. Previously it was only limited to a few Smart TV models, and people resorted to using an exported APK to install it to their Android TV devices
aniq8676
post Feb 23 2023, 03:40 PM

1,524 posts

QUOTE(linkinstreet @ Feb 23 2023, 12:04 PM)
I just noticed that Astro has officially added the Smart TV/Multiroom app to Google Play store, and not just limited to any specific TV model
for Mi Stick still not available.
linkinstreet
post Feb 23 2023, 05:05 PM

Red Bull Addict
9,275 posts

QUOTE(aniq8676 @ Feb 23 2023, 03:40 PM)
I presume because the Mi Stick is only 1080p and Astro only allows 4K capable devices to be able to use it
jusbella
post Feb 23 2023, 05:07 PM

3,032 posts

QUOTE(aniq8676 @ Feb 23 2023, 03:40 PM)
Time to upgrade 4K TV Box.
shaun_kok
post Feb 23 2023, 05:46 PM

1,072 posts

QUOTE(doubleM2 @ Feb 23 2023, 09:17 AM)
Told ya.

As I guessed. RTM free to air rights only covers MYTV (terrestrial/satellite) and MyKlik. Astro is obviously covered as they are the rights holder (with additional live coverage and commentary on Astro Arena for the matches that are available over RTM terrestrial transmission).
Since Astro introduced Sooka, the live coverage on Arena has been severely reduced (so as to encourage people to pay for NJOI Sports pack/Sooka/upgrade to Astro).

Well all Unifi TV users are strongly encouraged and advised to have MYTV terrestrial as a backup to the IPTV service for such cases (and have wider access to free to air channels otherwise unavailable in Unifi TV + less latency). The same is to applicable to all Astro users.

Maybe even considering subscribe to the VIP+TV service in case Astro adds Sooka app for smart TV use on Google play Store.

This post has been edited by shaun_kok: Feb 23 2023, 05:47 PM
linkinstreet
post Feb 23 2023, 06:13 PM

Red Bull Addict
9,275 posts

QUOTE(shaun_kok @ Feb 23 2023, 05:46 PM)
Maybe even considering subscribe to the VIP+TV service in case Astro adds Sooka app for smart TV use on Google play Store.
It's on the Android TV playstore for a while
jusbella
post Feb 23 2023, 06:20 PM

3,032 posts

QUOTE(linkinstreet @ Feb 23 2023, 06:13 PM)
It's on the Android TV playstore for a while
SmartTV aka Google OS TV is not available. Only for Android Pad / Phone.

BTW Astro multiroom need add on RM29.99 per month.
kkm
post Feb 23 2023, 06:22 PM

1,258 posts

QUOTE(linkinstreet @ Feb 23 2023, 12:04 PM)
I just noticed that Astro has officially added the Smart TV/Multiroom app to Google Play store, and not just limited to any specific TV model
But still got to upgrade to the new packages if you want to subscribe...
linkinstreet
post Feb 23 2023, 06:31 PM

Red Bull Addict
9,275 posts

QUOTE(jusbella @ Feb 23 2023, 06:20 PM)
SmartTV aka Google OS TV is not available. Only for Android Pad / Phone.

BTW Astro multiroom need add on RM29.99 per month.
Ada woo

If you're using an Android TV with the new Google TV UI (on those using Google Chromecast with Google TV or Mecool KD3 stick), you might have weird results since you are not searching directly from the Play Store, but instead using the Google Assistant search function. install another launcher like Projectivy to be able to access the Play Store directly and search from there

QUOTE(kkm @ Feb 23 2023, 06:22 PM)
But still got to upgrade to the new packages if you want to subscribe...
Yes, and?

This post has been edited by linkinstreet: Feb 23 2023, 06:32 PM
doubleM2
post Feb 23 2023, 08:14 PM

1,024 posts

Liga Malaysia Pass pricing for sooka subscribers. As usual, mobile & website only.

westlife
post Feb 24 2023, 12:27 PM

14,251 posts

Anyone knows what is the model of the power adaptor for this? I could not power on this, not sure if it is the box that is having prob or the power adaptor.

jusbella
post Feb 24 2023, 02:16 PM

3,032 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Feb 24 2023, 12:27 PM)
Anyone knows what is the model of the power adaptor for this? I could not power on this, not sure if it is the box that is having prob or the power adaptor.

Try replace power adapter first see problem still there or not.
westlife
post Feb 24 2023, 02:19 PM

14,251 posts

QUOTE(jusbella @ Feb 24 2023, 02:16 PM)
Yes that’s why I need to confirm what power adaptor it is. Becos I tried with my parents house’s njoi box adaptor it is not the same.
asellus
post Feb 24 2023, 02:33 PM

#gompusas
4,541 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Feb 24 2023, 02:19 PM)
Yes that’s why I need to confirm what power adaptor it is. Becos I tried with my parents house’s njoi box adaptor it is not the same.
This one. nJoi one won't work because lower amperage.
jusbella
post Feb 24 2023, 04:10 PM

3,032 posts

Time to upgrade to Ulti / Ultra Box smile.gif
westlife
post Feb 24 2023, 05:39 PM

14,251 posts

QUOTE(asellus @ Feb 24 2023, 02:33 PM)
This one. nJoi one won't work because lower amperage.
thanks a lot. tongue.gif the njoi one has a much smaller connector than this one.

QUOTE(jusbella @ Feb 24 2023, 04:10 PM)
haha. seriously speaking i never watch astro at all. i only want to check if this box is still working that i can pass to my parents to watch the free channels for astro.

i had converted this box to njoi box that can watch free air channels only. that time i paid one time fee of rm50 to do it.
not sure if this box is still working becos it cannot be powered on. not sure if it kena lightning strike or just simply becos the power adaptor spoiled or what. blink.gif

my parent house's njoi box kena lightning strike and spoiled. to buy a new one needs rm300.
linkinstreet
post Feb 24 2023, 09:09 PM

Red Bull Addict
9,275 posts

First difference after the broadcasting change of the Malaysian league, the scoreboard is now made simpler, larger and legible if you are watching from far, AKA if you are watching 1 or 2 meters in front of your TV.

The previous one was okay, but it's quite small and the match time is harder to see when viewed on a TV. I presume this is due to Unifi/TM designing this for people who watch this on Youtube via phone instead of TV
joshhd
post Feb 24 2023, 09:31 PM

7,794 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Feb 24 2023, 12:27 PM)

QUOTE(jusbella @ Feb 24 2023, 02:16 PM)

As you can see the "12V" and "4A" indicator on your picture provided, then usually those universal 12V 4A power adapter should work fine.
Here are some examples of power adapter you may use (proceed at your own risk):
https://shopee.com.my/-READY-STOCK-CCTV-LED...0a-83326af3c265
https://shopee.com.my/AC-DC-12V-Power-Adapt...cf-32a191bb077c

Or if you want to be "safe", find those Astro installer/technician that sells the Astro branded power adapter for the PVR box model you're using.
Based on the picture, it is PVR box, also known as DMT5.
QUOTE(westlife @ Feb 24 2023, 05:39 PM)
thanks a lot.  tongue.gif  the njoi one has a much smaller connector than this one.
haha. seriously speaking i never watch astro at all. i only want to check if this box is still working that i can pass to my parents to watch the free channels for astro.

i had converted this box to njoi box that can watch free air channels only. that time i paid one time fee of rm50 to do it.
not sure if this box is still working becos it cannot be powered on. not sure if it kena lightning strike or just simply becos the power adaptor spoiled or what.  blink.gif

my parent house's njoi box kena lightning strike and spoiled. to buy a new one needs rm300.

Based on what you said, it seems to me that this box has not been powered on for more than 1 month, right?
If yes, once you manage to power it on, you will see "please insert correct smart card (S14)" error, and then a while later, you will see "We apologise for the service interruption" message.

If this happens, you'll need to refresh the smartcard first. Just follow the on-screen instructions to send a SMS to refresh the smartcard, or you can install My NJOI app on your phone, enter the smartcard number, and then tap Settings>Refresh Smartcard>REFRESH.
Once it is successfully refreshed, then you'll able to view the channels.
QUOTE(jusbella @ Feb 24 2023, 04:10 PM)

Try to "revive" the PVR box whenever possible first... Because Astro PVR box is considered a "rare item" now biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by joshhd: Feb 24 2023, 09:34 PM
westlife
post Feb 24 2023, 09:41 PM

14,251 posts

QUOTE(joshhd @ Feb 24 2023, 09:31 PM)
As you can see the "12V" and "4A" indicator on your picture provided, then usually those universal 12V 4A power adapter should work fine.
Here are some examples of power adapter you may use (proceed at your own risk):
https://shopee.com.my/-READY-STOCK-CCTV-LED...0a-83326af3c265
https://shopee.com.my/AC-DC-12V-Power-Adapt...cf-32a191bb077c

Or if you want to be "safe", find those Astro installer/technician that sells the Astro branded power adapter for the PVR box model you're using.
Based on the picture, it is PVR box, also known as DMT5.
Based on what you said, it seems to me that this box has not been powered on for more than 1 month, right?
If yes, once you manage to power it on, you will see "please insert correct smart card (S14)" error, and then a while later, you will see "We apologise for the service interruption" message.

If this happens, you'll need to refresh the smartcard first. Just follow the on-screen instructions to send a SMS to refresh the smartcard, or you can install My NJOI app on your phone, enter the smartcard number, and then tap Settings>Refresh Smartcard>REFRESH.
Once it is successfully refreshed, then you'll able to view the channels.
Try to "revive" the PVR box whenever possible first... Because Astro PVR box is considered a "rare item" now  biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif
Icic. Thanks a lot for all the useful info.

Maybe I also will search around my house for similar adaptor.

I hope it is not damaged by lightning strike etc. And it is still working but just simply Becos the adaptor is not working.
Qash-M
post Feb 26 2023, 08:35 AM

#FreePalestine
6,103 posts

ch.120 Goshop would be ceased at 11.59pm 28th Feb, and also ch.150 which being its dupes for awhile.

This post has been edited by Qash-M: Feb 26 2023, 08:41 AM

1081 Pages « < 757 758 759 760 761 > » Top

0.0345sec    0.68    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 01:49 PM