Official LYN nVIDIA 8 series thread V2
TSHyde`fK
Sep 4 2007, 08:56 PM
QUOTE(iZuDeeN @ Sep 4 2007, 08:39 PM) im not sure about the 8600 but the clock increment for 8800 is 27Mhz per step, i.e if first step is 600MHz, even when you set 610MHz, it may jump to 627Mhz.. currently, there is no way to set 1MHz increment... Yea, he's right. So just calculate with the 27Mhz increment and set it exactly the value.
8tvt
Sep 5 2007, 09:58 AM
QUOTE(iZuDeeN @ Sep 4 2007, 08:39 PM) im not sure about the 8600 but the clock increment for 8800 is 27Mhz per step, i.e if first step is 600MHz, even when you set 610MHz, it may jump to 627Mhz.. currently, there is no way to set 1MHz increment... oho.. maybe i mislooked it, i'll check later.. that's why after 730 it's straight jump to ~750.. and make my gpu not stable.. so 729 already reach my core limit..
skylinegtr34rule4life
Sep 5 2007, 10:24 AM
hey ppl.i was thinking of an 8800GTS upgrade but not sure which one 2 take.should i get the 320MB or 640MB for 1680x1050 reso gaming?
toughnut
Sep 5 2007, 10:44 AM
stick with your HD29XT  it's good enough, on par with 88GTS. unless u decided to go for ultra
sniperwolf
Sep 5 2007, 10:49 AM
QUOTE(toughnut @ Sep 5 2007, 10:44 AM) stick with your HD29XT  it's good enough, on par with 88GTS. unless u decided to go for ultra But the power consumed and heat generated is more than a 8800gts ler. If cant afford ultra, then just grab a GTX and oc it close to ultra lor
dkcc87
Sep 5 2007, 10:50 AM
Omg..is 8500GT 256mb DDR3 the lowest spec for direct x10?=.="
toughnut
Sep 5 2007, 10:51 AM
no. even got 8400GS....
if not mistaken, even got 8200 for notebook
This post has been edited by toughnut: Sep 5 2007, 10:52 AM
skylinegtr34rule4life
Sep 5 2007, 10:54 AM
QUOTE(toughnut @ Sep 5 2007, 10:44 AM) stick with your HD29XT  it's good enough, on par with 88GTS. unless u decided to go for ultra i cant afford the 8 pin pcie psu for 29xt ah.  that card is so hot that even u can fry the egg cooked n eat it with bread 4 breakfast dy.  QUOTE(sniperwolf @ Sep 5 2007, 10:49 AM) But the power consumed and heat generated is more than a 8800gts ler. If cant afford ultra, then just grab a GTX and oc it close to ultra lor my target is till gts only.i wont go higher than that. This post has been edited by skylinegtr34rule4life: Sep 5 2007, 10:56 AM
sniperwolf
Sep 5 2007, 10:59 AM
QUOTE(skylinegtr34rule4life @ Sep 5 2007, 10:24 AM) hey ppl.i was thinking of an 8800GTS upgrade but not sure which one 2 take.should i get the 320MB or 640MB for 1680x1050 reso gaming? 640mb would be better imo. As later if you might tend to upgrade to maybe a 24 to 28inch range monitor which utilize 1920x1200 resolution, the 640mb will still be a better performer over the 320mb
toughnut
Sep 5 2007, 11:00 AM
ooo. i though u already purchase the HD29XT plus OP750. why change plans? haha
then 8800GTS 640M is good enough. if u want Ultra 2nd hand 2weeks old, i can get u want. priced around rm2.5k only O_O
skylinegtr34rule4life
Sep 5 2007, 11:13 AM
QUOTE(toughnut @ Sep 5 2007, 11:00 AM) ooo. i though u already purchase the HD29XT plus OP750. why change plans? haha then 8800GTS 640M is good enough. if u want Ultra 2nd hand 2weeks old, i can get u want. priced around rm2.5k only O_O hahaha.thats just my planned project rig which i b replacing it with my current existing rig ah.i havent even buy the card yet la actually.  since i got less than 1 year time in college,i must save up real hard 4 upgrades s fast s possible bcoz when i going 2 find 4 work,i cant buy anymore upgrades unlike in college days. This post has been edited by skylinegtr34rule4life: Sep 5 2007, 11:15 AM
toughnut
Sep 5 2007, 11:16 AM
haha. same here. but at least i have more than 1 year plus to spare in uni hehe. try getting 88GTS 640M. around rm1.6-1.8k if not mistaken
skylinegtr34rule4life
Sep 5 2007, 12:27 PM
QUOTE(toughnut @ Sep 5 2007, 11:16 AM) haha. same here. but at least i have more than 1 year plus to spare in uni hehe. try getting 88GTS 640M. around rm1.6-1.8k if not mistaken sure thing  i even willing 2 sell off my latest hp n revert bek to 3310 hp plus other useful valuable assets just 4 these crazy upgrades This post has been edited by skylinegtr34rule4life: Sep 5 2007, 12:41 PM
mADmAN
Sep 5 2007, 12:27 PM
for 1680*1050 id go with 320mb....simply because of price and it also works perfectly on that reso...also most people dont upgrade their monitor that often. so dont really see a need to have that extra.
somehow i find the 640mb a little too 'expensive' (unless buying used at brand new 320mb prices). for my needs (1680*1050) i cant see any reason to justify the price for a 640mb.
SlayerXT
Sep 5 2007, 12:35 PM
QUOTE(sniperwolf @ Sep 5 2007, 10:59 AM) 640mb would be better imo. As later if you might tend to upgrade to maybe a 24 to 28inch range monitor which utilize 1920x1200 resolution, the 640mb will still be a better performer over the 320mb If u can grab 640MB is better as u see even in 12x10 the dx10 COJ performance really drop on 320MB version.
MizuChi
Sep 5 2007, 01:31 PM
hey guys.. I have a quick question..
I find that my card is running at around 55-60C at idle.. I mean, in Windows.. this temp goes up to around 70-80C when I play games.. is this normal? sound a little bit too high IMHO..
oh btw the card is a 256MB 8600GT.. (I know, I should have gone for the 8800GTS instead, but it was a bit too expensive at the time)
EDIT: another thing.. I find that FEAR Combat runs smoother with FRAPS turned on and is laggy with it turned off.. which is kinda weird.. any ideas?
This post has been edited by MizuChi: Sep 5 2007, 01:39 PM
kmarc
Sep 5 2007, 03:43 PM
The future is here - Cryptocurrencies!
QUOTE(skylinegtr34rule4life @ Sep 5 2007, 10:24 AM) hey ppl.i was thinking of an 8800GTS upgrade but not sure which one 2 take.should i get the 320MB or 640MB for 1680x1050 reso gaming? The 640mb would be useful if you want to run the highest texture in a game. So far, I know of only a few games that take advantage of 512mb or more i.e. Quake 4, COD 2 and Doom 3. If you don't mind not setting the texture to it's highest setting, then the 320mb would be enough. I'm sure that future games would take advantage of GC with more rams too.....
-vip3rleon9-
Sep 5 2007, 04:21 PM
QUOTE(iZuDeeN @ Sep 4 2007, 08:39 PM) im not sure about the 8600 but the clock increment for 8800 is 27Mhz per step, i.e if first step is 600MHz, even when you set 610MHz, it may jump to 627Mhz.. currently, there is no way to set 1MHz increment... is it a driver bug?  sure is annoying..
HaHaNoCluE
Sep 5 2007, 04:26 PM
i got a problem running my 8800gts recently, it was factory oced to 550/900 but i downclock it to 550/850 due to artifacts lately... i oso bump into several BSOD ocassions, can some 1 help me out??? i dun have any idea wat caused it... i tried my gpu on another P35 + E2160 n it works perfectly, i've oso replaced rams n psu but still same... my rig e6600, 400 x 9, 1.500vcore abit aw9d-max, 975 ocz reaper 2 x 1gb, 800 4-4-4-15 (std) acbel 550W i power windows xp pro sp2 driver 163.44 beta atitool 0.27b usually this happen while i play games or run atitool 'show 3d' or 'scan for artifact'... after running for a few minutes, either BSOD or system lock up... the BSOD screen
This post has been edited by HaHaNoCluE: Sep 5 2007, 04:29 PM
-vip3rleon9-
Sep 5 2007, 05:18 PM