Official LYN nVIDIA 8 series thread V2

ahhann
post Sep 3 2007, 12:42 PM

Lim Peh
545 posts

QUOTE(slash @ Sep 3 2007, 12:34 PM)
is that model the one with silent heatsink? I recommend Colorful!
I second that ~! Colorful is CUN for Mid End range + Cheap card.
mADmAN
post Sep 3 2007, 01:42 PM

10,530 posts

QUOTE(yahn @ Sep 3 2007, 08:46 AM)
bro..u using 8800gts 320mb in SLi rite...just wan to know how many percent performance increase if 320mb in SLi.. wub.gif
eerrrr...
3dmark05
single : 16.9k
SLI: 19.5k

CoH benchmark all settings high AA disabled
single: average FPS almost 80 (forgot exact figure)
SLI average FPS 113 (or around there)

QUOTE(arc_archive @ Sep 3 2007, 12:38 PM)
if not mistaken...maybe around 10%~12% only...

b4 this,ive read from western forum saying that,if u SLI'ing ur gc...the memory size wont be add up as such 320+320=640mb to use when using high res game,
thus reducing memory utilization as for high resolution game.dunno if this true o not..

but if it does true...better go to gtx or ultra as the memory utilization will be as much as default for those using uber high resolution.
yeah i was wondering about the ram thing as well... but in the end....im not moving from my 22" (eventhough ianho has been poisoning me with 30") so the ram thing shouldnt be an issue for me...
cyew86
post Sep 3 2007, 06:26 PM

oh my ...
4,251 posts

yesterday went to ALL IT to help my frens assemble their new rigs. they took GIGABYTE 512MB 8500GT DDR2 for RM340. but i am wondering, wud this be a better choice over 256MB 8600GT DDR3 at RM370?
donpapachino
post Sep 3 2007, 06:40 PM

project 138 completed
5,006 posts

QUOTE(cyew86 @ Sep 3 2007, 06:26 PM)
yesterday went to ALL IT to help my frens assemble their new rigs. they took GIGABYTE 512MB 8500GT DDR2 for RM340. but i am wondering, wud this be a better choice over 256MB 8600GT DDR3 at RM370?
really that cheap meh 8600gt? shocking.gif

definitely go for 86gt, since its ddr3; whereas 85gt is only ddr2. dont look at memory size, its only useful for higher resolution settings.
Kidicarus
post Sep 3 2007, 06:42 PM

727 posts

The 8500gt is underpowered compared to the 8600gt.

Memory is great for loading large textures but at the end of the day you're not going to have enough horsepower to push those large textures around.

Correct me if I'm wrong.
cyew86
post Sep 3 2007, 06:43 PM

oh my ...
4,251 posts

yeah, thats wat the staff quote us, but my frens both took 8500GT for the price, they reli tight on budget, laugh.gif

but this can serve as a reminder for me next time, thanks biggrin.gif
sHawTY
post Sep 3 2007, 06:44 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(donpapachino @ Sep 3 2007, 06:40 PM)
definitely go for 86gt, since its ddr3; whereas 85gt is only ddr2. dont look at memory size, its only useful for higher resolution settings.
Not just the DDR3.
8600 is a lot better in graphic processing compared to the 8500. smile.gif

iZuDeeN
post Sep 3 2007, 07:38 PM

3,466 posts

its a waste to get a 512mb on a 8500

even the 8800gts comes with 320mb...

the most important is the gpu power then only the ram capacity

your friend made a bad choice to save RM30
mmohdnor
post Sep 3 2007, 07:54 PM

1,021 posts

QUOTE(cyew86 @ Sep 3 2007, 06:26 PM)
QUOTE(donpapachino @ Sep 3 2007, 06:40 PM)
really that cheap meh 8600gt? shocking.gif
8600gt at rm370?
where ? never seen an 8600gt ddr3 selling that cheap at shops .. (or do they?)
if it's true, then they should've bought the 8600gt then

This post has been edited by mmohdnor: Sep 3 2007, 07:56 PM
arc_archive
post Sep 3 2007, 08:28 PM

386 posts

i believe it was 8500GT...if 8600GT sold wif that price..than the shop will out of stock early ler..xD

why not try 2600pro??
cyew86
post Sep 3 2007, 08:35 PM

oh my ...
4,251 posts

hohoho, shud be 8500GT at 256MB DDR3 then, my mistake doh.gif
bought in ALL IT HYPERMART
i asked abt 2600 Pro but the staff recommended 8500GT 512MB instead
arc_archive
post Sep 3 2007, 08:38 PM

386 posts

have u checked any review bout both card b4 buying??

i believe 2600pro will do better compare wif 8500GT and the price might not be to much differ from 8500GT..

but donno either the driver would do good o not.
cyew86
post Sep 3 2007, 08:40 PM

oh my ...
4,251 posts

hmm, i did read abt the comparison briefly, but did not reli read in detail
afaik, 2600 performs better in HD video but in term of gaming geforce still better, correct me if i am wrong
arc_archive
post Sep 3 2007, 09:29 PM

386 posts

but the OC potential of 2600 pro shud not be taken lightly...

as for 8500GT vs 2600pro..for sure 2600pro can beat 8500GT wif almost near price tag..plus a high oc ablilty for added bonus!!

slash
post Sep 4 2007, 12:49 AM

Warcraft 3 Champion - Lan Party 2003
1,081 posts

I discovered something. When i oc the core from 650 to 720, rivatuner shows the core as 729. From 720 till 740, it will show as 729. Rivatuner error or ... ?
zeropulse
post Sep 4 2007, 04:37 AM

238 posts

hmmm...Not so sure though...maybe ur Rivatuner is playing tricks on you..Lol..Future owner of a 8600GTS..can't wait..hehe
rockmaniac85
post Sep 4 2007, 10:47 AM

453 posts

QUOTE(slash @ Sep 4 2007, 12:49 AM)
I discovered something. When i oc the core from 650 to 720, rivatuner shows the core as 729. From 720 till 740, it will show as 729. Rivatuner error or ... ?
well, it kinda happened to me too, apparently rivatuner will chose to set the clock at a predetermined number i guess..
so if you wanna increase more than 729, try setting like 750, or 770, then rivatuner will show something else which is higher than 729..

probably not stable already tongue.gif
arc_archive
post Sep 4 2007, 12:55 PM

386 posts

never encounter any of that symptom yet..

anyway,rockmania..how much that evga of urs can be OC??

core and mem..jez want to see if evga better than bfg..huhuhuhu..
all and all,its all about luck i guess..

This post has been edited by arc_archive: Sep 4 2007, 12:55 PM
8tvt
post Sep 4 2007, 02:01 PM

Peace Lover
8,753 posts

QUOTE(slash @ Sep 4 2007, 12:49 AM)
same as mine.. i thought it's just pick optimum settings..
iZuDeeN
post Sep 4 2007, 08:39 PM

3,466 posts

QUOTE(8tvt @ Sep 4 2007, 02:01 PM)
same as mine.. i thought it's just pick optimum settings..
im not sure about the 8600

but the clock increment for 8800 is 27Mhz per step, i.e if first step is 600MHz, even when you set 610MHz, it may jump to 627Mhz..

currently, there is no way to set 1MHz increment...

125 Pages « < 121 122 123 124 125 >Top

0.5439sec    0.87    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 02:59 PM