202 Pages « < 39 40 41 42 43 > » Bottom

Let's Talk Salary v8, Sharing Thread

hamG
post Dec 18 2018, 02:20 PM

Job Title : Regional Technology Engineer (AKA sales support)
Job Description : Internal & External Consultant on technical related issues
Years spent in company : 2 years. exp before joining 6 years.
Company : Packaging
Industry : Paper/Packaging
Tenure : Permanent
Employment Level : Technical
Highest paper qualification/ education background : Master
Average Working Hours Per Week (incl lunch hours): 40hours (sharp sharp back home)

Monetary Payout
Basic Salary: RM 6600 (no allowance)
Contractual Bonus (months): 1 month (13th month salary)
Performance, Variable Bonus & Commissions (months) : 2 months (company performance; not individual)

Benefits (where relevant) :
Health Benefits : Group medical card
Transport Benefits : All overseas expenses are claimable
Mobile / Internet / Gadget Benefits : -
Working Hours : 8.00 - 5.30pm
Other Benefits : the job is relatively easy, most of the time there is nothing to do. Most of the time just meeting and talk cock to impress the bosses.

Currently, I am looking to change a job to somewhat challenging job with good salary package but not sure if its good time now. My current boss possibly also looking to relocate me to Singapore sometimes next year. In dilemma now.

This post has been edited by hamG: Dec 18 2018, 02:24 PM
party
post Dec 18 2018, 02:37 PM

813 posts

QUOTE(jejaktrend @ Dec 18 2018, 01:14 PM)
if written they still no give then what you can do?
There is no such thing as written n no give in mnc
badguy93
post Dec 18 2018, 02:39 PM

160 posts

verbal promise or written? if written just leave
That happened about 2 years ago, it was written, and the manager who were the interviewer resign. After that, the new manager take over and only manage to raise half of the amount that were requested.
badguy93
post Dec 18 2018, 02:41 PM

160 posts

QUOTE(party @ Dec 18 2018, 10:39 AM)
Then tats not mnc liao coz so far never head mnc do like tis. Also..always get it in written confirmation not verbal.

If it really happens, just ask ur manager n settle it internally. If unable to then depends on u. Nx company would not view u as not loyal if u noe wat to say in interview.
Our MNC really do this, cannot expose which MNC later got spy here shakehead.gif
kietto
post Dec 18 2018, 03:38 PM

171 posts

sifu, do you have COLA included in your salary payment?

If yes, mind sharing how much is your company given to you?
tishaban
post Dec 18 2018, 03:50 PM

3,615 posts

QUOTE(badguy93 @ Dec 18 2018, 02:41 PM)
Our MNC really do this, cannot expose which MNC later got spy here  shakehead.gif
Post to glassdoor anonymously if you're afraid to do so on LYN. Some multinational HR actually read it and get frantic when someone post bad reviews.

Nymphetamine666
post Dec 19 2018, 01:57 AM

708 posts

if written they still no give then what you can do?
Push. Email the HR person and CC the HR head. If email no response, 3~4 days send again and again for reminders. Bug them and must play nasty a bit.

Provided if what u tell us are the truth.

This post has been edited by Nymphetamine666: Dec 19 2018, 01:58 AM
badguy93
post Dec 19 2018, 10:26 AM

160 posts

After bonus and increment, can consider hop company already, this MNC management is bias, I guess i have the lowest pay and do the most job here.. By the way thanks sifus here giving opinion.
abc2005
post Dec 19 2018, 05:36 PM

UNIVERSE is my CATALOGUE
2,079 posts

QUOTE(Nymphetamine666 @ Dec 19 2018, 01:57 AM)
Push. Email the HR person and CC the HR head. If email no response, 3~4 days send again and again for reminders. Bug them and must play nasty a bit.

Provided if what u tell us are the truth.
Normally these kind of cases would need to involve HOD and Head of HR as mentioned, with MD or CEO as the next layer in the CC list.
If they still don't comply, labour dept will be your last resort, which it's most likely much better to search for next best opportunities.

If the MNC is public-listed, you can report them to their BODs as well their respective security commissions which will land them in trouble with authorities and investors relations XD.
budang
post Dec 19 2018, 05:52 PM

975 posts

Job Title : Senior Software Developer
Job Desciption : Typical programmer work
Years spent in company : 2 months
Industry : Insurance
Employment Level : Senior
Experience before joining (years) : 4 years 7 months
Highest paper qualification/ education background : Degree in Software Engineering
Average Working Hours Per Week (incl lunch hours): 46 - 55

Monetary Payout
Basic Salary + Fixed Allowance : RM8,000 basic, no allowance
Contractual Bonus (months): 1 month
Performance, Variable Bonus & Commissions (months) : Average 1 month perf bonus

Health Benefits : Group medical card, Annual limit about 160k (rank dependent)
Transport Benefits : N/A
Mobile / Internet / Gadget Benefits : N/A
Flexi Working Hours : Flexible
Other Benefits : Dental + Optical RM500, car insurance subsidy, loan interest subsidy, can work from home

This post has been edited by budang: Jan 7 2020, 10:40 AM
ywliang96
post Dec 19 2018, 06:51 PM

709 posts

QUOTE(budang @ Dec 19 2018, 05:52 PM)
Highest paper qualification/ education background : Degree in Software Engineering

Monetary Payout

Other Benefits : Dental + Optical RM500, car insurance subsidy, loan interest subsidy, can work from home

Fun Fact: I was one of only a few who graduated my degree on time (without repating), and the other of them are making 5 figure now, programming work too.
So some may say my salary is considered high, but they're way higher than me  biggrin.gif of course they're genius level. < 5 years work exp + below 30 already earning 5 figure.
I'm from data analytics background and graduated about the same time as you (22), hopefully my salary can be like yours when I'm 26 haha
budang
post Dec 19 2018, 08:16 PM

975 posts

QUOTE(ywliang96 @ Dec 19 2018, 06:51 PM)
I'm from data analytics background and graduated about the same time as you (22), hopefully my salary can be like yours when I'm 26 haha
Some tip I can share with you: Learn as much as possible whenever you're involved in any big projects, and elaborate them beautifully in your next CV during your job hunt, not to forget present them interestingly to your interviewer, confidently. And don't be shy to demand up to 30% increment (provided you have worked for at least 1.5 - 2 years in your current company).

And from my experience, usually big MNC (global employee count > 10,000) don't give commendable increment, so the first 5 - 7 years of your corporate life, you salary very much depend on job hopping. Of course you have to be good, and sell your skill as much as possible during interview.

Fun fact: my best increment I have gotten so far is 16%, whereas job hop increment the best I got is about 35%.
ywliang96
post Dec 19 2018, 09:57 PM

709 posts

QUOTE(budang @ Dec 19 2018, 08:16 PM)
Some tip I can share with you: Learn as much as possible whenever you're involved in any big projects, and elaborate them beautifully in your next CV during your job hunt, not to forget present them interestingly to your interviewer, confidently. And don't be shy to demand up to 30% increment (provided you have worked for at least 1.5 - 2 years in your current company).

And from my experience, usually big MNC (global employee count > 10,000) don't give commendable increment, so the first 5 - 7 years of your corporate life, you salary very much depend on job hopping. Of course you have to be good, and sell your skill as much as possible during interview.

Fun fact: my best increment I have gotten so far is 16%, whereas job hop increment the best I got is about 35%.
Currently I worked in a Big 4 firm. (3k starting position). My increment only happens during FEB 2020 (Cut off month) and I joined the company on November 2018. Do you recommend me to job hopping after my increment or stay for another year before move on? This is my first job though
icebryanchan
post Dec 19 2018, 10:02 PM

seeWhoIsIt
480 posts

QUOTE(jejaktrend @ Dec 19 2018, 09:09 PM)
Good progress, aim to earn 5 figure in the next 1 or 2 yrs, don't spoil the market tongue.gif but I think 4 yrs earn less than 5 figure consider low.
any tips to achieve that? I personally working in MNC, which I try to involve myself as much as I can in the team (giving opinions and asking things not within my job scopes). Also I do some initiatives outside my working hours.

I understand that increment in MNC can be low, and I don't expect too much from that. That's why I am planning to jump when I reach my full 2 years. But to achieve 5 digits in 4 years? I don't think that is possible cry.gif
icebryanchan
post Dec 19 2018, 10:26 PM

seeWhoIsIt
480 posts

QUOTE(jejaktrend @ Dec 19 2018, 10:04 PM)
MNC standardized salary, well in MNC do you learn much? I bet no, MNC move base on projects, some MNC is here because they want to cut cost only, jump to reputable MNC only
I got 13% increment after my first year, next year I am waiting for April, but I heard the average is 8% so I am expecting that.

In term of learning, my business group doesn't take opinion or order from our US counterpart, unlike some US companies they only take orders from US HQ and their opinions are going down the drain most of the time.

We (Malaysians) basically design, solve and deliver on our own, working together with our business team also based in SEA. I think our US counterpart really gives us a lot of control and freedom, which is a good and rare thing. blink.gif

As in reputable, it is quite a famous US MNC tongue.gif

But sure, I still think if I am working in a small company / local company I will learn much faster but mehh too late to regret that.
budang
post Dec 19 2018, 10:39 PM

975 posts

QUOTE(ywliang96 @ Dec 19 2018, 09:57 PM)
Currently I worked in a Big 4 firm. (3k starting position). My increment only happens during FEB 2020 (Cut off month) and I joined the company on November 2018. Do you recommend me to job hopping after my increment or stay for another year before move on? This is my first job though
In my opinion, since you're still very new in this job, just stay for at least 1.5 years to learn something valuable. After 1.5 years passed you have gotten your increment (don't put too big hope on big MNC increment), you can start testing water by updating your resume.

Just don't forget when you're chasing for higher salary, you have to boost your skill sets too.

Cheers.
contestchris
post Dec 20 2018, 02:09 AM

5,531 posts

Banks still have a starting pay of RM2.8k. I moved after one year to another company in same line of work with a monthly pay of RM4.0k. Somehow I feel this is “low”. I’m 25 with slightly less than 2 yrs experience.

Current job is good but I’m just worried my salary is still too low. Can anyone comment if RM4.0k for two years experience is decent? Stay one more year and then move, or try to move now? I’m fairly confident I can get 30% increment at least.

Anyone can provide input on this pls. In my situation what will you do?
post Dec 20 2018, 08:30 AM

Avengers Assemble!
833 posts

QUOTE(budang @ Dec 19 2018, 05:52 PM)

Monetary Payout

Fun Fact: I was one of only a few who graduated my degree on time (without retake), and the other of them are making 5 figure now, programming work too.
So some may say my salary is considered high, but they're way higher than me  biggrin.gif of course they're genius level. < 5 years work exp + below 30 already earning 5 figure.
Never know software developer in malaysia can earn that much
budang
post Dec 20 2018, 09:02 AM

975 posts

QUOTE(55665566 @ Dec 20 2018, 08:30 AM)
Never know software developer in malaysia can earn that much
well my circle of friends are mostly programmers / software dev, and it's safe to say it's pretty normal for 4 - 5 years experience. Although I'll admit my salary could be at the 75% percentile of software developers (higher than 75% of people with same profession & same years of experience). Though I'm the youngest because I graduate earlier than many other (I completed my degree at age 21).

A few other extreme cases seeing a 28 year SW developer earning 16k ++ with 6 years exp (a mutual friend of mine).
And a senior tech consultant who's doing programming job too is earning > 10k with the same years experience as me.

They're talented people, though.
budang
post Dec 20 2018, 09:03 AM

975 posts

QUOTE(contestchris @ Dec 20 2018, 02:09 AM)
Banks still have a starting pay of RM2.8k. I moved after one year to another company in same line of work with a monthly pay of RM4.0k. Somehow I feel this is “low”. I’m 25 with slightly less than 2 yrs experience.

Current job is good but I’m just worried my salary is still too low. Can anyone comment if RM4.0k for two years experience is decent? Stay one more year and then move, or try to move now? I’m fairly confident I can get 30% increment at least.

Anyone can provide input on this pls. In my situation what will you do?
What's your profession / job title?

2 years experience RM4K is quite normal, even among programmers around me

This post has been edited by budang: Dec 20 2018, 09:03 AM

202 Pages « < 39 40 41 42 43 > » Top

0.0282sec    0.54    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 06:55 AM