Let's Talk Salary v8, Sharing Thread

party
post Mar 23 2018, 05:04 PM

755 posts

QUOTE(pinkyStar1993 @ Mar 23 2018, 11:53 AM)
I saw many people here is >10% or RM500-1000, so many give so high one
The one who post here is usually two types

1) bluff..internet ma. I can put my increment 2000 but who knows?
2) the high performer

The one with lesser salary dont usually post here given the history of post where everyone showing they earn 5k - 100k.

Anyway 5% is good. Belongs to middle class increment. Most companies out there give lesser than that. I got 9% this year but i am the top performer of the company. Majority around 3-5%.
party
post Jul 1 2018, 09:05 PM

755 posts

QUOTE(coolguy99 @ Jun 29 2018, 10:00 PM)
At your age, this pay is super high. How did you manage to get to 12k with 4 increment cycles (assuming one increment cycle per year)? do you mind sharing?
u can see his working hours. he put in his life at the correct company
party
post Jul 18 2018, 01:23 AM

755 posts

QUOTE(zhou.xingxing @ Jul 17 2018, 03:04 PM)
based in Sarawak. and no. asked other ACCA colleagues who joined when they have 1 or 2 o/s papers. no revision :/
You have to finish the entire paper first la. But the increment is slight compare to your future when you finished it.
party
post Jul 30 2018, 01:54 PM

755 posts

QUOTE(none @ Jul 28 2018, 04:16 PM)
One stupid question  tongue.gif
Who decides how much you will get paid upon job offer actually?
HR?  hiring manager? Or?  smile.gif
Depends on conpany.

For mine fresh grad all start at one salary.

If exp hire, hr will have salary bracket for that position level and hiring manager give (also depends applicant expected) based on that bracket.
party
post Jul 30 2018, 01:55 PM

755 posts

QUOTE(SomaCruz89 @ Jul 29 2018, 08:51 PM)
hirano Still don't want to admit? Real life evidence  whistling.gif
Gentle reminder this is not kopitiam. If you are not providing useful info please open threada at kopitiam.
party
post Aug 8 2018, 08:05 PM

755 posts

QUOTE(Jszeon @ Aug 8 2018, 08:45 AM)
Job Title : Audit Assistant Manager
Years spent in company : 5 years
Tenure : Permanent
Employment Level : Mid level management
Highest paper qualification/ education background : Professional paper (CPA)
Basic Salary: RM5200/month
Benefits: 18 days annual leave. Medical include spouse and children. Dental. Parking and phone allowance

Am i underpaid? Normal working hour is 8.30 - 5.30 but i usually work from 9.30 to 11/12am
For audit line that workin hour is normal.
party
post Aug 21 2018, 02:50 AM

755 posts

QUOTE(PrincZe @ Aug 20 2018, 09:59 PM)
If u were ever to find new job, let's not disclose the salary.

Either they will low ball u or maybe give u so much of hike
I make that mistake with C but at least still got over 50% increment. biggrin.gif

Byebye to H soon bye.gif
party
post Aug 21 2018, 12:43 PM

755 posts

QUOTE(PrincZe @ Aug 21 2018, 08:49 AM)
Eh, I also bye bye wor lol
When lol.

QUOTE(coolguy99 @ Aug 21 2018, 10:28 AM)
What is C and H?
Bank name. Lol..
party
post Aug 21 2018, 11:25 PM

755 posts

QUOTE(55665566 @ Aug 21 2018, 09:08 AM)
Just asking, how to reject if the headhunter/HR insist on the current salary?
Especially when filling up forms or interview.
Just tell them you dont feel comfortable to share or that prospective compa y should not care about your old salary.

Though if headhunter i would share. After all once they match you with potential new job they know the new company slary budget and would be able to filter out for u instead of wasting everyone time going into interviu only to end up salary expectation not met due to budget constraint.
party
post Aug 26 2018, 03:34 PM

755 posts

QUOTE(coldbasecamp @ Aug 26 2018, 01:23 PM)
Hi. I am currently a fresh graduate in software engineering field. I will like to pursue my career in the coming two years and wondering if taking a master course (after 2 years of working experience) in computer science (to be exact, data science) in local public university would add any value to my career progression.

I don't think I will stop whatever I am doing and go into the master studies, will still be working while choosing unis that offer the course after working hours (for example UM offers classes from 6 to 9pm at weekdays for master [mixed mode])

Just curious about it because I see most of the members posting here stop after degree and don't continue any further.
Depends on course. But ur course defi doesnt add value.
party
post Aug 27 2018, 08:39 PM

755 posts

QUOTE(PrincZe @ Aug 27 2018, 06:36 PM)
End of Oct. Btw, haven't same time u before le
Too late. Last friday my last day biggrin.gif

New Job

Job Title : Assistant Manager (Senior)
Job Desciption : Shared Svc Centre
Years spent in company : 0
Company : Ct
Industry : Financial Services
Tenure : Probation
Employment Level : AMO
Experience before joining (years) : 4 and half years
Highest paper qualification/ education background : master
Average Working Hours Per Week (incl lunch hours): 10

Monetary Payout
Basic Salary + Fixed Allowance : RM 7,500.00
For comparison (previous salary: RM 5,100)
Performance, Variable Bonus & Commissions (months) : not sure yet

Benefits (where relevant) :
Health Benefits : standard
Other Benefits : shift allowance rm 400 - 800. rotating. Standard Citi benefits as well. epf 16% etc
party
post Aug 28 2018, 11:06 AM

755 posts

QUOTE(PrincZe @ Aug 27 2018, 09:12 PM)
should be 40 average working hours.

i think that's a 45% increase. very well done  rclxm9.gif  thumbup.gif
That means i am underpaid before this. Might this be underpaid. Hahaha..wher u going?

QUOTE(coolguy99 @ Aug 28 2018, 10:56 AM)
That epf 16% is dayumz. Congrats on your new role man. Hope you are settling in well.
Yes lol..but limited career development once i see everyone tenure. Might need to jump out after 1 n half year if want promote. Haiz.
party
post Aug 28 2018, 05:23 PM

755 posts

QUOTE(PrincZe @ Aug 28 2018, 04:58 PM)
HSBC IT offer 17%
I'm going or scb gbs at Tpm
Wow..nice. i live there only. You can treat me food for ur new job. Hahaha..

What's ur latest paclage?? Worth it to jump??
party
post Sep 7 2018, 12:30 PM

755 posts

QUOTE(megaspntrdg @ Sep 7 2018, 12:04 PM)
Job Title : Operation Manager
Job Description : Overlooking current projects and site surveys
Years spent in company : 0 years
Company :
Industry : facilities management
Tenure : Permanent
Employment Level : Manager
Experience before joining (years) : 5
Highest paper qualification/ education background : Degree
Average Working Hours Per Week (incl lunch hours): Office is 8 hours, Site is indefinite

Monetary Payout
Basic Salary + Fixed Allowance : RM8,000
Contractual Bonus (months): not mentioned
Performance, Variable Bonus & Commissions (months) : not mentioned

Benefits (where relevant) :
Health Benefits : Medical Card
Transport Benefits : none
Mobile / Internet / Gadget Benefits : none
Flexi Working Hours : None

Guys, I just got an offer for OM position at klang. Currently Im working in Melaka with RM6K. Is it worth for me to relocate to klang for a salary of RM8K? And is RM8K acceptable?
Thanks!
For me no. For mere 2k to relocate is not worth it since u need to rent a house/room. Ur expense will grow bigger if u have family already.

If u jumpin shud have ask 9k+
party
post Sep 18 2018, 10:36 PM

755 posts

QUOTE(louzie @ Sep 18 2018, 03:15 PM)
Whats with youngster nowadays , starting salary all so dang high one?!?!
Usually the lower earning will not post their salary. Also, there are some who inflated their figure. After all, this is forum not LHDN declaration.

That all said, they are some genuine who earn that high but those are usually high flyer even when they are in school (exclude sales industry).
party
post Sep 26 2018, 04:20 PM

755 posts

QUOTE(mcr342 @ Sep 26 2018, 12:38 AM)
Considering you've got a master but the pay isnt too high arh... Im graduating next year in Finance degree and will be taking cfa1 this Dec, and is super lost right now...
Was thinking to continue to master but now im not so sure.....
May I ask where you finish your master? local?
Master in finance is useless. Unless u decide to go thru education line but need continue to phd.

Take cfa only if u really decide to walk finance industry path and work in invesment bank, analyst etc.
party
post Sep 27 2018, 06:00 AM

755 posts

QUOTE(eddydo @ Sep 27 2018, 05:29 AM)
It's not useless per say. A TOP msc finance will land you more interviews for sure. That being said, you'll most likely be going overseas (though I recommend sg for networking purposes if you intend to work in malaysia/singapore). Most buy side firms has a minimum requirement of cfa level 1, and a msc finance would make you stand out among the rest of the candidate.

But to pay a bomb for it, some may not be able to afford. Keep in mind that an msc finance is only worth it if and only if you have an excellent track record since ur high school etc. It is not a magic certificate, a person who barely passes degree will not gain from having a msc finance (in fact he will not even be admitted into the school)
Have u study msc in finance before??? I can tell u in reality it does not worth anything anywhere. Unless its oxford/cambridge level.

As an employer, just bcoz u have msc will not made u stand out even if amongst all the resume everyone have cfa1. If u follow the thread since the start of v1 as an example here, there are alot master holders but it did not bring any extra benefits that correspond to the cert.
party
post Oct 20 2018, 07:14 PM

755 posts

QUOTE(coolguy99 @ Oct 19 2018, 08:32 AM)
Meaning you are not Malaysian? That package you got there is pretty decent.
No epf. Package pretty bad. Cant even reach lvl of decent.
party
post Oct 20 2018, 09:40 PM

755 posts

QUOTE(simpleguy10 @ Oct 20 2018, 09:28 PM)
May I know how much u earn? and what's decent in your opinion.
Its more got to do of ur status as expat. Its decent for msian but as an expat without epf n only tat standard benefit its actually not even decent or considered as expat. The only thing there is salary exceed 10k u can live confortably here.
party
post Oct 21 2018, 08:03 AM

755 posts

QUOTE(simpleguy10 @ Oct 20 2018, 11:39 PM)
Expat still spend as much as Malaysian. it has never been a law saying expat should spend 10x more than malaysian hence should earn 10x more. get sometime to google the meaning of expat, even bangla that build your house is also an Expat by definition.
I tink u the one should google the meaning expat.

0.1613sec    0.40    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th March 2024 - 09:13 PM