Let's Talk Salary v8, Sharing Thread

yunodie
post Aug 13 2018, 04:25 PM

475 posts

QUOTE(yamasce @ Aug 13 2018, 04:06 PM)
Job Title : Senior Test Development Engineer
Job Desciption : Develop and improve test solutions for product testing, support NPI and Manufacturing activities
Industry : Printer/Computing
Tenure : Permanent
Employment Level : Senior Exec.
Experience before joining (years) : 9+yrs
Highest paper qualification/ education background : Master's

Monetary Payout
Basic Salary: SGD6k
Bonus: 13th month bonus: 1 month + Variable Performance Bonus (not sure the amount)
Stocks: USD4.2k
PTO: 16days

recently just got the above offer..have been working in Msia all the while and applying for jobs in SG for some time..so far this is the best offer..do you think the offer is under market rate or just around the average? should i ask for more?
What is your current pay at the moment? Need to factor in the living cost and career progression/development/job security as well. Also the family factor if you are married/with kids.
yamasce
post Aug 13 2018, 04:48 PM

346 posts

QUOTE(yunodie @ Aug 13 2018, 04:25 PM)
What is your current pay at the moment? Need to factor in the living cost and career progression/development/job security as well. Also the family factor if you are married/with kids.
current:
RM11k
13.5 month
annual and quarterly performance bonus total around 1month pa
stocks USD12k

single but plan to get married in 2-3yrs
post Aug 13 2018, 06:37 PM

Avengers Assemble!
833 posts

QUOTE(yamasce @ Aug 13 2018, 04:48 PM)
current:
RM11k
13.5 month
stocks USD12k

If your spouse not coming with you, I guess you should stay in Malaysia.
Relationship, in the end, is much more important than SGD.
coolguy99
post Aug 13 2018, 07:52 PM

7,343 posts

QUOTE(55665566 @ Aug 13 2018, 06:37 PM)
Totally agree. Money is not everything!
yamasce
post Aug 13 2018, 08:56 PM

346 posts

QUOTE(55665566 @ Aug 13 2018, 06:37 PM)
QUOTE(coolguy99 @ Aug 13 2018, 07:52 PM)
Totally agree. Money is not everything!
actually we alrdy had plans to move to SG..she can go anytime to visit me because she has close relatives there..her mum also often fly to SG for biz purpose..so is the offer good enough or should ask for more?
llthim
post Aug 14 2018, 02:13 AM

295 posts

New job offer
Job Title : Application Developer
Job Desciption : To supp SAP Bw and Abap
Years spent in company : -
Industry : Traveling
Experience before joining (years) : 4
Highest paper qualification/ education background : Degree in computer science and sap abap associate certified
Average Working Hours Per Week (incl lunch hours): 45 hours

Monetary Payout:
Basic Salary + Fixed Allowance : MYR8500 + performance bonus

Benefits (where relevant) :
Health Benefits : Paid medical check-up, medical insurance
Transport Benefits : -
Mobile / Internet / Gadget Benefits : -
Flexi Working Hours : No
Other Benefits : Staff price on travel package

Current job
Job Title : Senior Consultant
Job Desciption : SAP development
Years spent in company : 4
Industry : Consulting
Experience before joining (years) : -
Highest paper qualification/ education background : Degree in computer science and sap abap associate certified
Average Working Hours Per Week (incl lunch hours): Very flexible. Official time stated is 9-6.

Monetary Payout:
Basic Salary + Fixed Allowance : MYR 7100 + 13 month bonus

Health Benefits : medical insurance, travel insurance
Transport Benefits : office parking claimable if client side MYR50 per diem ( no claimn for onsite )
Mobile / Internet / Gadget Benefits : -
Flexi Working Hours : Yes
Other Benefits : Work from home most of the time and if work on weekend or holiday replacement leave given

I have recently come across this opportunity, do you think the offer is good to take? Or I should try to request for more?

This post has been edited by llthim: Aug 14 2018, 03:21 PM
yunodie
post Aug 15 2018, 11:32 AM

475 posts

current:
RM11k
13.5 month
stocks USD12k

Can't just look at the package in totality, there are a lot of factors to be considered. Yes you are getting 7k increment which is by itself a whopping 63% more. In any case i would have jumped straight in. However:

1. Since you are not a PR, no CPF for you but that would also mean your take home pay is higher. But you lose out on the 12-15% epf contribution by your Malaysian MNC employer
2. Effective Tax Rate is lower in Singapore so that is a plus.
3. What is your objective in going to Sg? Do you want to settle down in SG and your fiance will follow suit in the future? or are you just aiming to be there for a short period to earn SGD with the long term aim to be back in Malaysia to settle down? These are very important question that needs to be answered. (Having kids in SG is not a cheap affair if you dont plan to settle down in SG i.e getting a PR)
4. Prepare to fork out 600-1000sgd for a decent room depending on location. For co-habitation with your fiance, it is going to be more.
5. Long term Career progression. Are there still growth at where you are now? Or are you looking to go out of your comfort zone? Are you prepared to leave your professional network that you have built in your current company/country?
yamasce
post Aug 15 2018, 11:55 AM

346 posts

QUOTE(yunodie @ Aug 15 2018, 11:32 AM)
Can't just look at the package in totality, there are a lot of factors to be considered. Yes you are getting 7k increment which is by itself a whopping 63% more. In any case i would have jumped straight in. However:

1. Since you are not a PR, no CPF for you but that would also mean your take home pay is higher. But you lose out on the 12-15% epf contribution by your Malaysian MNC employer
2. Effective Tax Rate is lower in Singapore so that is a plus.
3. What is your objective in going to Sg? Do you want to settle down in SG and your fiance will follow suit in the future? or are you just aiming to be there for a short period to earn SGD with the long term aim to be back in Malaysia to settle down? These are very important question that needs to be answered. (Having kids in SG is not a cheap affair if you dont plan to settle down in SG i.e getting a PR)
4. Prepare to fork out 600-1000sgd for a decent room depending on location. For co-habitation with your fiance, it is going to be more.
5. Long term Career progression. Are there still growth at where you are now? Or are you looking to go out of your comfort zone? Are you prepared to leave your professional network that you have built in your current company/country?
for the first 1-2years yes i won't b getting CPF but tat is inevitable..once i get PR then it won't matter much anymore

plan to migrate and settle down there but first need to gain the life experience to see if suitable for me..so will give myself couple of years..yes we have plans alrdy..well i can see my career growth in SG will b better..i change jobs every 2-3years so leaving here not an issue..

This post has been edited by yamasce: Aug 15 2018, 12:01 PM
yunodie
post Aug 15 2018, 12:44 PM

475 posts

QUOTE(yamasce @ Aug 15 2018, 11:55 AM)
for the first 1-2years yes i won't b getting CPF but tat is inevitable..once i get PR then it won't matter much anymore

plan to migrate and settle down there but first need to gain the life experience to see if suitable for me..so will give myself couple of years..yes we have plans alrdy..well i can see my career growth in SG will b better..i change jobs every 2-3years so leaving here not an issue..
I guess you have made up your mind then. Good luck and all the best to you.

Quang1819
post Aug 15 2018, 01:09 PM

2,604 posts

QUOTE(MightyPepe @ Aug 7 2018, 05:50 PM)
Job Title : Brand Manager
Job Desciption : Manage Brand Relations, Strategic & Planning (Marketing & KPI Measurements), Company Sell-In Management, Company Sell-Out Management.
Years spent in company : 1.5Y
Company : Private
Industry : E-Com
Experience before joining (years) : 0
Highest paper qualification/ education background : Marketing Degree
Average Working Hours Per Week (incl lunch hours): 54

Monetary Payout
Basic Salary + Commission : RM3.5+-
Performance, Variable Bonus & Commissions (months) : 2 weeks averagely

Benefits (where relevant) : Annual leave 14 days
Health Benefits : Medical claim, medical card
Transport Benefits : Mileage, toll & parking claim
Mobile / Internet / Gadget Benefits : Phone allowance
Flexi Working Hours : Yes
Other Benefits : Dental/Optical Care up to RM450/year, Body Checkup up to RM900/year [Benefits only applicable for employees serves over 1 year]

Came into the company as executive handling somewhat similar stuffs with lesser responsibilities and jobs. After 1 year company move me to another department with only title changes but not my job grade.

Do you think I should leave this company ASAP?
Very nice title you got there haha

Perhaps work for another year then ask for a raise? You should be getting 4k already
Quang1819
post Aug 15 2018, 01:18 PM

2,604 posts

QUOTE(Invalid Username @ Jul 26 2018, 06:18 PM)
Job Title : Manager
Job Desciption : V small company, do everything I can including building website, business dealings and small company stuff to handle. Guide around a few interns.
Years spent in company : 11 months
Company : media company
Industry : entertainment/tech
Experience before joining (years) : 0. fresh grad but interned in same company before
Highest paper qualification/ education background : Uni grad from UK
Average Working Hours Per Week (incl lunch hours): 45-50 hours, depending on meetings.

Monetary Payout
Basic Salary + Fixed Allowance : about RM3100 after deduct EPF/socso etc.
Contractual Bonus (months): none
Performance, Variable Bonus & Commissions (months) : none for now

Health Benefits : none
Transport Benefits : none
Mobile / Internet / Gadget Benefits : 60 ringgit, cause i told boss i use phone 60 ringgit a month
Flexi Working Hours : no
Other Benefits : sometimes follow boss travel overseas for work... i guess

Sometimes feel underappreciated for the amount of work i put in.. within 7 months boss raise me to Manager level, but only title raise, pay didn't rise. But oh well, company not making money, i think we can consider as "start up" phase due to new venture.

Most importantly I really do not enjoy doing the work here as it's not my passion, joined the company under the premise that I can do my real passion which is music stuff. but end up until now haven't done any of that.

Thinking of leaving the company but feel guilty cause i know company rely on me a lot.
Pay is actually quite good already for a fresh grad getting 3.5k basic. but no additional allowance other than phone
After 1.5 or 2 years ask for a raise? Else better jumpship if one can offer you 3.5-4k.
SUSchickenshit36
post Aug 15 2018, 06:30 PM

509 posts

current:
RM11k
13.5 month
stocks USD12k

Bro. Rule of thumb should be dollar to dollar about 20 percent less. Ur current 11k now best scenario is should be about 9k. 6k in Sg not a lot particularly if u are already servicing a house loan now in Malaysia.
6k then u need 1k for rent. Then ur Malaysia home about 700 sgd? Assuming 500k house. Left 4.3, minus expenses maybe 1.5k. U 11k salary and single u cannot save 4.5k a month?

I did my calculations also coz I was hoping for an offer similar like urs. After calculate the little extra is not worth leaving my family and kid.

This post has been edited by chickenshit36: Aug 15 2018, 06:32 PM
James1983
post Aug 15 2018, 08:10 PM

šŸ’¦kencing lettewšŸ’¦
532 posts

QUOTE(chickenshit36 @ Aug 15 2018, 06:30 PM)
Bro. Rule of thumb should be dollar to dollar about 20 percent less. Ur current 11k now best scenario is should be about 9k. 6k in Sg not a lot particularly if u are already servicing a house loan now in Malaysia.
6k then u need 1k for rent. Then ur Malaysia home about 700 sgd? Assuming 500k house. Left 4.3, minus expenses maybe 1.5k. U 11k salary and single u cannot save 4.5k a month?

I did my calculations also coz I was hoping for an offer similar like urs. After calculate the little extra is not worth leaving my family and kid.
Bro. The rule of thumb does not work as we move up the salary band.

Fresh grad SG and fresh grad MY both range similar, between 3-4K (in respective currency)
Once you reach higher level, the Malaysian salary slowly catches to SG level (after conversion)
Typical 5k SGD job, Malaysia pays RM8k (exec/snr exec)
Typical 8k SGD job, Malaysia pays RM14k (lead)
Typical 10k+ SGD job, Malaysia pays RM20k+ (manager/head)

ps. I’m talking about MNC companies, chinaman company in sg and my both have out of whack compensations

Not to mention Singapore effective tax is wayyy lower (especially compared to high income bracket Malaysian jobs)

yamasce
post Aug 15 2018, 10:28 PM

346 posts

rule of thumb or not..like wat @yunodie has mentioned..it also depends on other factors and future plans..some times in order to achieve something greater a little sacrifices are inevitable..of coz it will b much harder if u alrdy hv wife n kids..there is no right or wrong decisions..it all depends on tat person's perspectives n goals..
pizzaboyj
post Aug 16 2018, 12:21 PM

321 posts

First post here but here we go:

Job Title : Cloud Telephony Platform Engineer
Job Description: Basically a Level 4 Voice Engineer dealing with Contact Center IP PBX system, but also handles dealing with other aspects of a "cloud" platform i.e. work with Infra/Platform, Networks, Storage, DB, Telco provider, Software Vendor etc to resolve issues for customer
Years spent in company : 1
Company : MNC
Industry : IT
Employment Level : Exec
Experience before joining (years) : 5
Highest paper qualification/ education background : BSC Hons Comp Science
Average Working Hours Per Week (incl lunch hours): Should be 40 but end up doing a heck lot more, I can say worst has been 60-80 hours

Monetary Payout
Basic Salary + Fixed Allowance : RM8500 + RM150 Internet + RM120 Mobile + RM400 On Call Shift Allowance = RM9170
Contractual Bonus (months): 0
Performance, Variable Bonus & Commissions (months) : Depends if team meets KPI, but never seen any figure to what it actually is

Health Benefits : Standard Medical Insurance + RM75 gym claim
Transport Benefits : None
Mobile / Internet / Gadget Benefits : None
Flexi Working Hours : Yes but KL bosses talk behind your back as they don't like it, but don't openly say it
Other Benefits : None

I feel underpaid & underappreciated for the amount of work I do for this company. Maybe its because I am too kind when it comes to helping others. I am honestly looking to move on but SIP/VOIP opportunities seem to be very scarce these days.
tishaban
post Aug 16 2018, 01:02 PM

3,615 posts

Was talking to some recruiters, there's a very large salary range one job title can have biggrin.gif

I asked to look into a solutions architect position with 10+ years of experience. Dimension Data is paying RM12-15k per month, a few other companies in the middle around RM18-21k, Avanade was looking at RM22-28k

I shouldn't be surprised though, this falls exactly in the range of the current Robert Walters salary survey for KL 2018 biggrin.gif

hiroshi87
post Aug 16 2018, 01:11 PM

206 posts

QUOTE(tishaban @ Aug 16 2018, 01:02 PM)
Was talking to some recruiters, there's a very large salary range one job title can have biggrin.gif

I asked to look into a solutions architect position with 10+ years of experience. Dimension Data is paying RM12-15k per month, a few other companies in the middle around RM18-21k, Avanade was looking at RM22-28k

I shouldn't be surprised though, this falls exactly in the range of the current Robert Walters salary survey for KL 2018 biggrin.gif
wouldn't surprise me thou .. me n my friend break the 10k range before 30s with ccie cert. experienced senior IT guy is on demand right now. very difficult to find one in the market. thus the bargain power in on our hand.
sense75
post Aug 16 2018, 01:29 PM

Life must go on...
659 posts

QUOTE(hiroshi87 @ Aug 16 2018, 01:11 PM)
wouldn't surprise me thou .. me n my friend break the 10k range before 30s with ccie cert. experienced senior IT guy is on demand right now. very difficult to find one in the market. thus the bargain power in on our hand.
CCIE SP or R&S?
hiroshi87
post Aug 16 2018, 02:39 PM

206 posts

QUOTE(sense75 @ Aug 16 2018, 01:29 PM)
CCIE SP or R&S?
I've got sp & dc. my friend with r&s, but he is now principle of a vendor. earning big bucks ohmy.gif
Newbie 90s
post Aug 16 2018, 03:21 PM

Job Title : Mechanical Design Engineer
Job Desciption : Propose and design custom made machines, specifically for semiconductor automation and giant well-known customers.
Years spent in company : 1 year and 10 months
Company : Local Listed SME
Industry : Automation/Manufacturing
Employment Level : -
Experience before joining (years) : 0
Highest paper qualification/ education background : Master
Average Working Hours Per Week (incl lunch hours): Officialy 47.5 hours, but expected lots of OT everyday

Monetary Payout
Basic Salary + Fixed Allowance : RM 2900
Contractual Bonus (months): 1 mths
Performance, Variable Bonus & Commissions (months) : 1k incentives (2-3times per annum)

Health Benefits : RM500 (Medical & Dental)
Transport Benefits :-
Mobile / Internet / Gadget Benefits :-
Flexi Working Hours :Allow to come later for half an hour.
Other Benefits :-

Am I underpaid? How is the market now? Seeking for honest advice, thanks in advance to all senpai here...

202 Pages « < 22 23 24 25 26 > » Top

0.0301sec    0.56    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 03:29 AM