Let's Talk Salary v8, Sharing Thread

zhou.xingxing
post Jul 17 2018, 03:04 PM

:3
1,696 posts

QUOTE(tehoice @ Jul 17 2018, 03:04 PM)
you will see significant improvement after completing your ACCA for sure.
based in Sarawak. and no. asked other ACCA colleagues who joined when they have 1 or 2 o/s papers. no revision :/
tehoice
post Jul 17 2018, 03:05 PM

5,403 posts

QUOTE(AntiScam @ Jul 13 2018, 02:33 PM)
How much we can get maximum in business administration field?
maximum? Sky is the limit.

it depends on how good you are.
party
post Jul 18 2018, 01:23 AM

755 posts

QUOTE(zhou.xingxing @ Jul 17 2018, 03:04 PM)
based in Sarawak. and no. asked other ACCA colleagues who joined when they have 1 or 2 o/s papers. no revision :/
You have to finish the entire paper first la. But the increment is slight compare to your future when you finished it.
NowLat.yet
post Jul 18 2018, 01:46 AM

178 posts

QUOTE(kevin94lee @ Jul 15 2018, 07:37 PM)
Hi sifu, advice needed.
If work at kl rm3500, work at sg sgd2200.
Where shall I go?
i would say Singapore.

The amount you can save in SG would be a lot more than KL especially once you start converting SGD over to MYR.

Plus, working in SG would look better in your resume.
Kolzyphyr
post Jul 18 2018, 02:54 AM

Greetings everyone. biggrin.gif

Job Title : QA/QC Tech
Job Desciption : Beyond whatever scope I have. Do everything that needs to be done.
Years spent in company : 2
Company : Local Vendor
Industry : O&G Downstream
Tenure : Permanent
Employment Level : Non-Executive
Experience before joining (years) : Fresh (Technical), worked 6 years non-technical before joining.
Highest paper qualification/ education background : Diploma (grad 2016, sekolah tak habis tapi pointer tiptop okay blush.gif ). Currently enrolled in part-time degree UTMSpace, KL.
Certification: IIW/EWF IWS, CSWIP 3.0, CSWIP MT Level II, couple of workshops,..
Average Working Hours Per Week (incl lunch hours): 50

Monetary Payout:
Basic Salary + Fixed Allowance : RM2700, basic only
Contractual Bonus (months): 1 mth
Performance, Variable Bonus & Commissions (months) : +/- 2 mths

Benefits (where relevant) :
Health Benefits : Paid medical check-up, if need to enter plant. Medical Card RM20k (if warded only).
Transport Benefits : None
Mobile / Internet / Gadget Benefits : None
Flexi Working Hours : Yes, but I rather discipline myself.
Other Benefits : None

Some of my friends were earning RM3.5k~8k working in MNC or EPCC status company doing tasks as defined in a fixed scope. Being in a local vendor company, I can learn a lot more, but earn much less and do many more different works. My hard works rarely got any recognition, got lah, maybe twice or thrice. I haven't messed up anything yet so far so takde history kena goreng basah. Being near to 30's, I thought a little, maybe I have made a wrong move choosing this line. It's 18th, all I got left in my acc is RM160. In my wallet it's RM190.

I am a bit sad currently, depressed maybe. But life must goes on. Net celery after minus all commitment only left abt RM650, which is just enough to survive, but for how long? I get afraid when I think of the future..

So dear Sifus, should I hang on? Until finish my degree in four more years maybe? or is my choice a plain mistake, am I a fool? cry.gif

Thank you very much!! bye.gif

eddydo
post Jul 18 2018, 03:56 AM

vroom vrooom~
1,260 posts

QUOTE(Kolzyphyr @ Jul 18 2018, 02:54 AM)
Greetings everyone.  biggrin.gif
Job Title : QA/QC Tech
Job Desciption : Beyond whatever scope I have. Do everything that needs to be done.
Company : Local Vendor
Industry : O&G Downstream
Employment Level : Non-Executive
Experience before joining (years) : Fresh (Technical), worked 6 years non-technical before joining.
Highest paper qualification/ education background :  Diploma (grad 2016, sekolah tak habis tapi pointer tiptop okay blush.gif ). Currently enrolled in part-time degree UTMSpace, KL.
Certification: IIW/EWF IWS, CSWIP 3.0, CSWIP MT Level II, couple of workshops,..
Average Working Hours Per Week (incl lunch hours): 50

Monetary Payout:
Basic Salary + Fixed Allowance : RM2700, basic only
Contractual Bonus (months): 1 mth
Performance, Variable Bonus & Commissions (months) : +/- 2 mths

Health Benefits : Paid medical check-up, if need to enter plant. Medical Card RM20k (if warded only).
Transport Benefits : None
Flexi Working Hours : Yes, but I rather discipline myself.
Other Benefits : None
Some of my friends were earning RM3.5k~8k working in MNC or EPCC status company doing tasks as defined in a fixed scope. Being in a local vendor company, I can learn a lot more, but earn much less and do many more different works. My hard works rarely got any recognition, got lah, maybe twice or thrice. I haven't messed up anything yet so far so takde history kena goreng basah. Being near to 30's, I thought a little, maybe I have made a wrong move choosing this line. It's 18th, all I got left in my acc is RM160. In my wallet it's RM190.
I am a bit sad currently, depressed maybe. But life must goes on. Net celery after minus all commitment only left abt RM650, which is just enough to survive, but for how long? I get afraid when I think of the future..
So dear Sifus, should I hang on? Until finish my degree in four more years maybe? or is my choice a plain mistake, am I a fool?  cry.gif
Thank you very much!!  bye.gif
what commitment you have? And are you supporting yourself to study?

What are you comparing with when you say you can learn a lot more? Or is it more like "I feel like" i can learn a lot more being with a local vendor company?
Your friend got full degree? or also diploma but tip top?

notice period of firm? if you feel underappreciated I think that is a sign to jump ship, considering you have 8 years of experience tho idk how many of that experience are actually real experience

rd33
post Jul 18 2018, 08:33 AM

868 posts

QUOTE(kokmun2917 @ Jul 10 2018, 09:16 AM)
Almost 7 years passed just like this...since my last update:-

Job Title : Network Solutions Architect
Job Desciption : To provide network solutions, response to RFP/RFQ/RFI, to do POC.
Years spent in company :4 year
Company : MNC
Industry : IT
Tenure : permanent
Employment Level : Senior Exe
Experience before joining : 8 years
salary : Basic Salary RM 14280, Fixed allowance 1.5k, Commission about 2.5k a month.
qualification: degree
benefits: standard medical coverage, with phone allowance, and parking subsidy.
U have CCIE cert or something similar?
amroll
post Jul 18 2018, 11:29 AM

154 posts

QUOTE(myroy @ Jul 2 2018, 03:11 PM)
How much maybank offer you?
I got the job..around 60% increment from current post.minus a lot benefit since contractual but i dont care much for now..
blackxhawk
post Jul 18 2018, 01:09 PM

148 posts

Greetings everyone. Would love to find out how much other lawyers/legal background people are earning here!

Job Title : Legal Counsel
Job Desciption :
Company : ExxonMobil
Industry : O&G
Employment Level :
Experience before joining (years) : 6
Highest paper qualification/ education background : LLB
Average Working Hours Per Week (incl lunch hours): 45 minimum

Monetary Payout:
Basic Salary + Fixed Allowance : RM14000 basic only
Contractual Bonus (months): none
Performance, Variable Bonus & Commissions (months) : 2-3 months (tough times in o&g i guess)

Health Benefits : Medical Card unlimited including for spouse&kids, for hospitalisation rm1million limit per year shared between employee,spose,kids
Transport Benefits : None, unless meeting outside office then claim mileage (rm1/km)
Flexi Working Hours : Nope, unless you are sick or something
Other Benefits : Company will bear pre-post natal cost including delivery up to RM15k per baby and up to 5 babies (This is a very very very big thing for me as a married man and unless other company can offer this, I willstay with Exxon)

Dato Miao
post Jul 18 2018, 06:23 PM

Job Title : Presales Consultant
Job Desciption : Perform webinar to the Partners/ Prospect/ Users. Perform system live demo to the prospect. Little/ minor knowledge in SQL server and BI.
Years spent in company : 1 year
Company : Foreign IT Company (Neither SAP nor Oracle)
Industry : ERP
Tenure : Perm
Experience before joining (years) : 5 years in Accounting + POS system; 1 year in testing (Banking); 4 months in SAP B1; 2 years as a Logistics Officer in the Shipping industry.
Highest paper qualification/ education background : B. Degree (Business IT)
Average Working Hours Per Week (incl lunch hours): 45 +-

Monetary Payout
Basic Salary + Fixed Allowance : RM6000 + Commission RM 300
Contractual Bonus (months): 0

Health Benefits : Group Term Insurance
Transport Benefits : Mileage claim
Flexi Working Hours : Work from home two days a week

I'm looking for a change, this salary is not high. Probably I can become an ERP reseller (Partner) in the future, but it's gonna need a lot of capital in the start, I don't have much software development experience, I'm interested to go into BI development, but didn't get the opportunity, if there is but the starting salary is too low. Current job allows me to pick up BI development skills. My skills is very niche, as most of the time only learn on the company-own-ERP-system, cant go into other area

This post has been edited by Dato Miao: Jul 18 2018, 11:11 PM
victorian
post Jul 18 2018, 06:52 PM

Look at all my stars!!!
4,821 posts

QUOTE(NowLat.yet @ Jul 18 2018, 01:46 AM)
i would say Singapore.

The amount you can save in SG would be a lot more than KL especially once you start converting SGD over to MYR.

Extremely misleading. You can’t save much with a salary of 2.2k SGD. Rent alone would cost you 500. Plus career prospect is not really good in Singapore as there is too much competition there and you would probably be a 9-6 slave.
Kolzyphyr
post Jul 18 2018, 08:54 PM

QUOTE(eddydo @ Jul 18 2018, 03:56 AM)
what commitment you have? And are you supporting yourself to study?
After deduction left RM2384.45, minus (RM):
450 - House rental
327 - Bike installment
300 - Households/groceries
250 - Short semester tuition fee, because no PTPTN in short sem, 250 x 6 = 1500.
200 - CC, bought a gift for a dear sister..
150 - PTPTN for Diploma, yes I keep on paying because I'm concerned about other's chances to get their study loan in the future..
110 - Broadband
65 - TNB
30 - Prepaid
7 - Syabas

Balance RM495 liao for food, petrol, etc.. Sometimes I go outstation/OT got few extra hundred to make up, sometimes nothing.. Not bitching here because still got others who are more unlucky.. Cukurrr thumbup.gif

QUOTE(eddydo @ Jul 18 2018, 03:56 AM)
What are you comparing with when you say you can learn a lot more? Or is it more like "I feel like" i can learn a lot more being with a local vendor company?
Your friend got full degree? or also diploma but tip top?

notice period of firm? if you feel underappreciated I think that is a sign to jump ship, considering you have 8 years of experience tho idk how many of that experience are actually real experience
I myself only consider these 2 years as real exp. Those 6 years just not worth that much.

"Learn a lot more" was in the context of dealing with more diversified products. It is more like "I feel like". The friend who earned 8k is a Diploma holder, working in an Authorized Inspection Agency (MNC) as a General Inspector. 6/7 years exp.

I do feel underappreciated because bunch of new fresh grads (degree) who knew peanuts started with about RM3.1k, some got RM2.9~RM3.5k. Lately they've caused a lot of headache for me because of their stupidity and ignorance, got me frustrated. I kerja cuci taik.

Don't even know how to read procedures. I even have to teach them on how to use the caliper. Damn childish, 1 inch also don't know how to convert to mm. Been repeating the same lesson for few months, the next week asked the same question, again.

I wanted to get more involved in engineering department, which I'm afraid is not possible in other reputable companies outside of the current one with my current qualification. Do you think it is possible?

Thanks & Regards!
Dato Miao
post Jul 18 2018, 11:14 PM

QUOTE(NowLat.yet @ Jul 18 2018, 01:46 AM)
i would say Singapore.

it depends what job that he is doing in Singapore, the industry in Singapore consists of too many Small businesses, many of them don't have the proper process and tools in the business.
Frank3
post Jul 19 2018, 10:53 AM

263 posts

Job Title : Business Analyst (within company)
Job Desciption : Client Facing (requirement gathering, change request, UAT, project planning, system deployment, incident investigation...etc), internal (SIT, regression testing, defect tracking, report defects to developer..etc )
Years spent in company : 7 months
Company : SME (Business Intelligence product and also IT projects related to BI)
Industry : Computer software
Experience before joining (years) : 3 years as part time project engineer in vendor (bank projects), 3 years 9 months as QA in ship owner company (In-house system, need to travel frequently)
Highest paper qualification/ education background : B. Degree (IT)
Average Working Hours Per Week (incl lunch hours): 40 +-

Monetary Payout
Basic Salary + Fixed Allowance : SGD 4500 +
Performance, Variable Bonus & Commissions (months) : Performance Bonus (1-2), Annual Supplement Wage (1), Project Completion (1 month (pro-rated) split into 3 phases)

Health Benefits : Medical Insurance
Transport Benefits : NA
Flexi Working Hours : Yes, not necessary follow 9-6, sometimes can be 10-6, 10-7...etc

Goal is to climb for project lead/manager role and of course more money as SG is high cost country, current salary is definitely not enough if wish to build family and own flat in here.

** Updated bonuses **

This post has been edited by Frank3: Jul 19 2018, 03:09 PM
MANU4LIFE
post Jul 19 2018, 12:40 PM

114 posts

any banking staff here can share their salary?
josefin
post Jul 19 2018, 12:48 PM

15 posts

QUOTE(Frank3 @ Jul 19 2018, 10:53 AM)
Job Desciption : Client Facing (requirement gathering, change request, UAT, project planning, system deployment, incident investigation...etc), internal (SIT, regression testing, defect tracking, report defects to developer..etc )
Company : SME (Business Intelligence product and also IT projects related to BI)
Experience before joining (years) : 3 years as part time project engineer in vendor (bank projects), 3 years 9 months as QA in ship owner company (In-house system, need to travel frequently)

Monetary Payout
Basic Salary + Fixed Allowance : SGD 4500 + Project Completion (SGD 450 each phase, total 3 phases)

Flexi Working Hours : Yes, not necessary follow 9-6, sometimes can be 10-6, 10-7...etc

Goal is to climb for project lead/manager role and of course more money as SG is high cost country, current salary is definitely not enough if wish to build family and own flat in here.
u have 13th month bonus ?
Frank3
post Jul 19 2018, 03:08 PM

263 posts

QUOTE(josefin @ Jul 19 2018, 12:48 PM)
u have 13th month bonus ?
Yes, 13th month and performance bonus.
coolguy99
post Jul 19 2018, 09:38 PM

6,818 posts

QUOTE(Frank3 @ Jul 19 2018, 10:53 AM)

Monetary Payout
Basic Salary + Fixed Allowance : SGD 4500 +
Performance, Variable Bonus & Commissions (months) : Performance Bonus (1-2), Annual Supplement Wage (1), Project Completion (1 month (pro-rated) split into 3 phases)

** Updated bonuses **
The 13th month salary and project completion bonus is very nice to have as not many companies give those. I myself am in the same field as yours too. And I have to say you are doing pretty good!

38kiakinjio
post Jul 20 2018, 01:43 AM

Can I ask for opinions here?

I am a graduate in Finance and Accounting, left one of the Big accounting firms after 5 months. I receive an offer after attending an interview as below:

Industry : Air Conditioner Manufacturing Company
Position : Young Accountants Programme
Basic : RM2500
Allowance : RM500
Sponsorship of studies : ICAEW (the company is willing to register itself as my training employer)
Bond : 3 years
Higheat education : Degree from a Foreign university in Malaysia

Personally, I am not content with the basic, as it is a little low in Selangor. Furthermore, I am from Melaka. Accepting the offer means I have to rent a room in Sungai Buloh or other areas and I definitely have to drive as it is too far away from MRT Sungai Buloh.

I don't know whether should I accept the offer. I don't know what would be the future of taking this role. Could anyone especially someone in my field advise me on this?

This post has been edited by 38kiakinjio: Jul 20 2018, 02:02 AM
eddydo
post Jul 20 2018, 04:26 AM

vroom vrooom~
1,260 posts

QUOTE(38kiakinjio @ Jul 20 2018, 01:43 AM)
Can I ask for opinions here?

I am a graduate in Finance and Accounting, left one of the Big accounting firms after 5 months. I receive an offer after attending an interview as below:

Industry : Air Conditioner Manufacturing Company
Position : Young Accountants Programme
Basic : RM2500
Allowance : RM500
Sponsorship of studies : ICAEW (the company is willing to register itself as my training employer)
Bond : 3 years
Higheat education : Degree from a Foreign university in Malaysia

Personally, I am not content with the basic, as it is a little low in Selangor. Furthermore, I am from Melaka. Accepting the offer means I have to rent a room in Sungai Buloh or other areas and I definitely have to drive as it is too far away from MRT Sungai Buloh.

I don't know whether should I accept the offer. I don't know what would be the future of taking this role. Could anyone especially someone in my field advise me on this?
Normally people wouldn't leave big 4 until like 2 years in, then they jump to other firms for work life balance. Unless your big accounting firm doesn't mean big 4, I would ask why not try getting into big4 if you want a fruitful place to kick-start your accounting life? Considering that now is peak hire season and I'm assuming you've got less than 2 years experience, why not actively look for other opportunities? There's a career fair coming soon this weekend in Kl

This post has been edited by eddydo: Jul 20 2018, 04:26 AM

202 Pages « < 17 18 19 20 21 > » Top

0.0159sec    0.38    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 05:11 PM