Let's Talk Salary v8, Sharing Thread

carloschak
post Jul 4 2018, 06:21 PM

84 posts

QUOTE(mingosaur @ Jul 4 2018, 11:51 AM)
It's hands down international firms. You're looking at being involved not only on local projects but international ones as well. Some of the companies such as TY and Arup have short (STA) and long term transfer (LTA) assignments (about 5-10% of the entire company's workforce are either on STA or LTA)... so the chances are pretty good.

Other than that, I would say the amount of internal training and upskill programs that the international firms have are unparalleled compared to local firms. You'll be exposed to the latest work methods and also access to a wide network of individuals who can assist you in all things related to engineer through their internal forums.

And I think one of the best thing in terms of portfolio would be that the projects you undertake. They are usually unique, complex and challenging... and in most cases that's why clients engage them so often compared to local ones cause of the resources and knowledge international firms have to design a cost efficient, aesthetically pleasing and optimal performance building.

Check the list here for consultants that are currently involved in major super tall buildings in Malaysia.
http://www.skyscrapercenter.com/country/malaysia
yes i totally agree especially on the internal training and benefits. but consider this, the worst thing about working at international firm is that you aren't sure of when will you be able to be acknowledged and chosen to enjoy such benefits ? There are too many levels of hierarchy, unless you're performing extremely well and lucky enough to have a good senior that doesn't steal your credit, or else it's going to take some time.

As for local firms, its not that competitive, and if you have a good boss that acknowledge your worth in the company, given that the scale of the projects are not that small, it is still acceptable isn't it ?

Dilemmaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa

This post has been edited by carloschak: Jul 4 2018, 06:22 PM
Tan&tan
post Jul 5 2018, 12:59 AM

786 posts

QUOTE(coolguy99 @ Jun 29 2018, 10:00 PM)
At your age, this pay is super high. How did you manage to get to 12k with 4 increment cycles (assuming one increment cycle per year)? do you mind sharing?
Hahahahahahaha joined Lowyat and bomb .
Spawny
post Jul 5 2018, 11:59 AM

Lets do this
687 posts

QUOTE(kimiaomiao @ Jun 29 2018, 09:46 PM)
Job Title : Systems Analyst Team Lead
Job Description : Lead, manage, deploy and support systems in order  to support business stakeholders
Years spent in company : 4
Company : MNC
Tenure : Permanent
Employment Level : Senior Executive
Experience before joining (years) : Fresh Graduate
Highest paper qualification/ education background : Degree
Average Working Hours Per Week (incl lunch hours): peak 75++ / non peak 45++

Monetary Payout
Basic Salary : RM12k monthly
Bonus: 20k+
Wow this is nearly unheard of, 4 years in the same company you can get 12k basic salary, even people joining a new company will not get that much. How many promotion did you received? And what was your first salary drawn when you join the company? Just curious

IAmLejen
post Jul 5 2018, 02:22 PM

367 posts

QUOTE(carloschak @ Jul 4 2018, 06:21 PM)
yes i totally agree especially on the internal training and benefits. but consider this, the worst thing about working at international firm is that you aren't sure of when will you be able to be acknowledged and chosen to enjoy such benefits ? There are too many levels of hierarchy, unless you're performing extremely well and lucky enough to have a good senior that doesn't steal your credit, or else it's going to take some time.

As for local firms, its not that competitive, and if you have a good boss that acknowledge your worth in the company, given that the scale of the projects are not that small, it is still acceptable isn't it ?

Dilemmaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa
they are a lot of local large firms you can consider too. although they may not have the amount of training given, but the benefits and working culture is comparable. a lot of local large firms dont have that much of politics too due to lesser level of hierarchy.
gswkdcity25
post Jul 5 2018, 11:25 PM

Job Title : Operation Engineer
Job Description : Monitor offshore operation and solve all the operational issues.
Years spent in company : 6
Industry: Oil gas
Tenure : Permanent
Employment Level : Senior Executive
Experience before joining (years) : Fresh Graduate
Highest paper qualification/ education background : Degree
Basic Salary: RM5600/month
Benefits: 18 days annual leave, medical include spouse and children

I think I am underpaid. Looking for job with better pay...
kimiaomiao
post Jul 6 2018, 10:37 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(PrincZe @ Jul 1 2018, 05:59 PM)
no if one day there's no new projects coming in, then you might be the first to let go?

hard to justify still, 4 years experience with 12k. nonetheless, very good for you  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
Worrying but could be kinda real too. Of course hopefully that won't be the case..

QUOTE(aimnxzmn @ Jul 3 2018, 08:24 PM)
Do you mind sharing your company's info?
I have complete my diploma,degree and recently ACCA. Would like to know best way to kick start my career
I'm IT graduate so might be very different path with yours. Not very familiar with financial career path.

QUOTE(Spawny @ Jul 5 2018, 11:59 AM)
Wow this is nearly unheard of, 4 years in the same company you can get 12k basic salary, even people joining a new company will not get that much. How many promotion did you received? And what was your first salary drawn when you join the company? Just curious
My first drawn salary was around 4k. About 4 promotions but MNC does it differently I guess. Promotion Vs merit goes separately and sometimes can come together.
Spawny
post Jul 7 2018, 09:24 AM

Lets do this
687 posts

QUOTE(kimiaomiao @ Jul 6 2018, 10:37 PM)
Worrying but could be kinda real too. Of course hopefully that won't be the case..
I'm IT graduate so might be very different path with yours. Not very familiar with financial career path.
My first drawn salary was around 4k. About 4 promotions but MNC does it differently I guess. Promotion Vs merit goes separately and sometimes can come together.
I'm also in MNC but nvr seen such career progression salary, but good job to you or finding the right one rclxms.gif
deckhand
post Jul 7 2018, 07:16 PM

46 posts

-deleted-

This post has been edited by deckhand: Aug 7 2018, 12:28 PM
Dankkl
post Jul 9 2018, 01:44 PM

Edited

This post has been edited by Dankkl: Oct 30 2018, 04:07 PM
kokmun2917
post Jul 10 2018, 09:16 AM

Chelsea ARE the BEST!!
957 posts

edited

This post has been edited by kokmun2917: Sep 16 2018, 11:43 PM
godhand
post Jul 10 2018, 09:19 AM

206 posts

QUOTE(Failed JJ @ Jul 2 2018, 09:16 PM)
I look at QS salary and I seriously regret going IT sia  doh.gif

But working in Africa ok?
this salary is low because hes working for international firm where he is supposed to be paid in euro when u translate the currency is not high of course malaysian cant be chooser as we are the beggar
myroy
post Jul 10 2018, 04:32 PM

BIG BOSS
1,202 posts

QUOTE(kokmun2917 @ Jul 10 2018, 09:16 AM)
Almost 7 years passed just like this...since my last update:-

Job Title : Network Solutions Architect
Job Desciption : To provide network solutions, response to RFP/RFQ/RFI, to do POC.
Years spent in company :4 year
Industry : IT
Tenure : permanent
Employment Level : Senior Exe
Experience before joining : 8 years
salary : Basic Salary RM 14280, Fixed allowance 1.5k, Commission about 2.5k a month.
qualification: degree
benefits: standard medical coverage, with phone allowance, and parking subsidy.
Dealing with cisco device?

SkyHermit
post Jul 10 2018, 07:15 PM

1,799 posts

Not sure if this is the right place to ask.

Do recruitment agency or headhunter try to lowball your salary? I put my expected salary as `X` on jobstreet. Then this recruitment agency called and offered me a job which pays X amount. I then Google and use jobstreet to search for that post and it pays `above my expected salary`
adibyusoff
post Jul 10 2018, 08:03 PM

work smart, play hard.
787 posts

QUOTE(SkyHermit @ Jul 10 2018, 07:15 PM)
Not sure if this is the right place to ask.

Do recruitment agency or headhunter try to lowball your salary? I put my expected salary as `X` on jobstreet. Then this recruitment agency called and offered me a job which pays X amount. I then Google and use jobstreet to search for that post and it pays `above my expected salary`
if you put X and they give you X, they are giving you what you want. that's a good sign. If you put X and they give you X-Y only then it can be called as a lowball.
kokmun2917
post Jul 10 2018, 10:12 PM

Chelsea ARE the BEST!!
957 posts

edited

This post has been edited by kokmun2917: Sep 16 2018, 11:43 PM
SkyHermit
post Jul 10 2018, 11:11 PM

1,799 posts

QUOTE(adibyusoff @ Jul 10 2018, 08:03 PM)
if you put X and they give you X, they are giving you what you want. that's a good sign. If you put X and they give you X-Y only then it can be called as a lowball.
Lets just say that my expected salary on Jobstreet is RM6k, and then this company is offering RM8k, since the recruitment agency says that the company only offers Rm6k to me, does that mean this recruitment agency gets to pocket RM2k per month from this company? Is that how it works?
myroy
post Jul 11 2018, 09:04 AM

BIG BOSS
1,202 posts

QUOTE(kokmun2917 @ Jul 10 2018, 10:12 PM)
Yes...mostly Cisco
any cert currently you have?
CCNA? CCNP?
adibyusoff
post Jul 11 2018, 12:11 PM

work smart, play hard.
787 posts

QUOTE(SkyHermit @ Jul 10 2018, 11:11 PM)
Lets just say that my expected salary on Jobstreet is RM6k, and then this company is offering RM8k, since the recruitment agency says that the company only offers Rm6k to me, does that mean this recruitment agency gets to pocket RM2k per month from this company? Is that how it works?
yes. normally, the client pays them higher for their supply of manpower. i'm doing project management and one of my scope is to supply manpower for the project. we charge the client 800USD per day for project engineer and we pay the project engineer around 400MYR per day. we get our profit from manpower through such deal.
windvind
post Jul 11 2018, 01:15 PM

196 posts

QUOTE(SkyHermit @ Jul 10 2018, 11:11 PM)
I believe this is the case. I was offered RM 5k++ for my job for a Korean company that just set up here. The recruitment agent agreed to my salary on the spot without even negotiating to reduce. From all my interviews this was the first experience. I was speaking to my Korean accounting manager when i was there and he said that since I and a few others were the first few employees in the company they did not mind paying the extra.

This post has been edited by windvind: Jul 15 2018, 08:04 PM
Darkcloudz
post Jul 11 2018, 09:24 PM

940 posts

QUOTE(kokmun2917 @ Jul 10 2018, 09:16 AM)
Almost 7 years passed just like this...since my last update:-

Job Title : Network Solutions Architect
Job Desciption : To provide network solutions, response to RFP/RFQ/RFI, to do POC.
Years spent in company :4 year
Industry : IT
Tenure : permanent
Employment Level : Senior Exe
Experience before joining : 8 years
salary : Basic Salary RM 14280, Fixed allowance 1.5k, Commission about 2.5k a month.
qualification: degree
benefits: standard medical coverage, with phone allowance, and parking subsidy.
wow, still working with the same old company?

202 Pages « < 15 16 17 18 19 > » Top

0.0239sec    0.60    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 08:13 AM