Let's Talk Salary v8, Sharing Thread

rd33
post Apr 28 2018, 11:34 AM

868 posts

QUOTE(Cuti4days @ Apr 27 2018, 09:44 PM)
Job Title : Software engineer
Job Description : Design and develop software
Years spent in company : 1 month
Company : MNC
Tenure : Permanent
Experience before joining (years) : 3 yrs
Highest paper qualification/ education background : Degree
Working Hours Per Week: Weekdays Mon-Fri, 9-6.

Basic Salary : RM 9000
Contractual Bonus (months): 1 month

PS: I think I'm overpaid
Your earning is above avg for 3y experience. I think avg for 3y software eng is like 5-7k.

Btw what language u r doing? Native or webb app?
rd33
post May 28 2018, 01:10 AM

868 posts

QUOTE(Harfan @ May 25 2018, 11:14 PM)
Job Title : Mechanical Design Engineer
Job Desciption : kuli kuli design mechanical parts for telco product
Years spent in company : 1.5 years
Industry : Electronics/Telecommunication
Employment Level : Executive
Experience before joining (years) : 0
Highest paper qualification/ education background : BEng Mechanical
Average Working Hours Per Week (incl lunch hours): 40-45 hours per week (flexible working hour)

Monetary Payout
Basic Salary + Fixed Allowance : RM 3.5k + RM 150
Performance, Variable Bonus & Commissions (months) : increment per year, 4%-7%

Benefits (where relevant) :
Health Benefits : Comprehensive medical insurance
Transport Benefits : Fuel + Toll Subsidy
Mobile / Internet / Gadget Benefits : Internet
Flexi Working Hours : Yes
Other Benefits : Car, business travel

I think i'm a bit underpaid compared to others but probably quite standard in this kind of field. Really hope to bump up my salary around RM 5k in the next 1.5 years. Thinking of jumping company also. Any /k in the same field got some tips for me?
Your salary is quite standard for 1.5y exp engineer. You can definitely jump ship after earned 2-3 years of exp and earn like 5k. It depends on your expertise and skills as well, is your current job more to technical or management? Is it specialize technical job? If not specialize maybe difficult to get high pay because many competition in the market, just my 2 cent.
rd33
post Jul 18 2018, 08:33 AM

868 posts

QUOTE(kokmun2917 @ Jul 10 2018, 09:16 AM)
Almost 7 years passed just like this...since my last update:-

Job Title : Network Solutions Architect
Job Desciption : To provide network solutions, response to RFP/RFQ/RFI, to do POC.
Years spent in company :4 year
Industry : IT
Tenure : permanent
Employment Level : Senior Exe
Experience before joining : 8 years
salary : Basic Salary RM 14280, Fixed allowance 1.5k, Commission about 2.5k a month.
qualification: degree
benefits: standard medical coverage, with phone allowance, and parking subsidy.
U have CCIE cert or something similar?
rd33
post Feb 5 2019, 02:03 AM

868 posts

QUOTE(kietto @ Feb 4 2019, 07:38 PM)
sifus,

is 3%annual increment consider standard o.o?
Depends on your definition of standard.

IMO 3% to 4% is barely enough to cover inflation rate.

You should aim for 7% and more. 10% or more is considered very good.

If your salary starts at RM 3k, and assume every year you get 3% of increment. After 20 years (at age 44+) you work your salary will only be at RM 5.2k which is almost impossible to survive especially if you have family.

But if you get around 7% of increment yearly, with the same starting salary RM 3k after 20 years you will earn almost RM 11k which is quite okay for white collars worker.

Conclusion, start to find company that can provide you better salary and improve your skills as well.
rd33
post Mar 11 2019, 10:40 AM

868 posts

QUOTE(hyperbelt7 @ Mar 8 2019, 11:38 AM)
Job Title : Software Engineer
Job Desciption : Widget Animation developer
Years spent in company : 1.5 year
Company : Continental
Industry : Automotive
Employment Level : Engineer
Experience before joining (years) : 4 years
Highest paper qualification/ education background : Master in Computer Engineering
Average Working Hours Per Week (incl lunch hours): 9.5h per day mon-fri

Monetary Payout
Basic Salary + Fixed Allowance : RM 7.85k
Contractual Bonus (months): mths
Performance, Variable Bonus & Commissions (months) : 2-6 mths

Benefits (where relevant) : Specs+Dental rm200,
Health Benefits : Full insurance
Transport Benefits : None
Mobile / Internet / Gadget Benefits : None
Flexi Working Hours : wfh 2 days per month, exit pass 2h per day
Other Benefits :
Jumped company once because how little the increment is. Previously worked in a semiconductor company where they value circuit designer more than software, despite the technical capability I have.
What kind of software u doing? Embedded C? Java?
rd33
post Jun 2 2019, 04:42 AM

868 posts

QUOTE(GamaX320 @ Jun 1 2019, 08:07 PM)
Recently get an offer software engineer position backend role 4.3k and my current salary 3.5k with 3 years exp. Should i accept the offer?
Seems your current salary below avg for 3y exp software engineer, what language u using for ur backend? Is it local company, startup, or MNC?
rd33
post Jun 2 2019, 01:18 PM

868 posts

QUOTE(GamaX320 @ Jun 2 2019, 01:08 PM)
local company Java backend developer
you should ask for better salary or leave ur current company as right now software engineer with 3y exp can easily get >RM5K
rd33
post Jun 8 2019, 12:42 AM

868 posts

QUOTE(Helpmeplis @ Jun 5 2019, 09:51 AM)
My BF started his career in a foreign investment bank with a starting pay of RM4.5k but he never truly enjoyed it. He graduated as a mechanical engineer but ended up working in an investment bank (not his first choice as he doesn't know where to go after graduation) . The working hours are really long some days ( he slept in office couple of times). He had manage few IPO's at the same time.

After working there for 3 months, he quits his job and got himself into O&G. 2 years into the job, he now makes RM20-25K a month. Until, now he mentions that people who works in an investment bank really need strong mental & discipline. He told me that he will rather spend weeks in offshore than working in an investment bank.

That said, hats off to you & stay strong ! The hours can really long most days .
The heck fresh graduate 2 years in OnG already earning rm25k. Are u sure ur bf telling the truth. Or ur bf working outside of Msia. If ur bf posting outside Msia then rm25k do sounds logic.
rd33
post Sep 26 2020, 05:33 AM

868 posts

QUOTE(peace4ever @ Sep 25 2020, 03:08 PM)
Job Title : Mobile Application Developer
Job Description : Develop mobile applications
Years spent in company : less than 1 year
Company : local publicly listed company
Employment Level : Executive
Experience before joining (years) : 6 years
Average Working Hours Per Week (incl lunch hours): 40

Monetary Payout
Basic Salary + Fixed Allowance : RM9000
Contractual Bonus (months): unknown (haven't work full 1 year yet)
Performance, Variable Bonus & Commissions (months) : unknown (haven't work full 1 year yet)

Health Benefits : Yes

Is my salary consider sufficient for my age and experience? I have seen a lot of jobs with more than 10k with their age under 30.
You are doing pretty well. I think its up to market salary for your industry, expertise and age. Maybe work for 1-2 years and jump again.

Getting 10K and above before 30s is definitely possible but usually they gonna have to work more hours and more stress.

This post has been edited by rd33: Sep 26 2020, 05:34 AM
rd33
post Oct 1 2020, 10:46 PM

868 posts

QUOTE(ImTheLian @ Oct 1 2020, 07:05 PM)
Thanks for your advise, will try to allocate some time for learning new stuff to improve myself, but not for the networking skill as im looking forward to non technical role in the next job also not that soon yet due to this pandemic situation now.

For my online business i started it 3 years ago with minimal modal, no rental no running cost, now is fully profitable. Its my own branding and own made products. It still has some was for improvement and i see its potential, but i would say the market is still not ready for my product yet. Moreover, the business is founded by me and another partner, manpower and idea are limited as well. Now im thinking to expand this business and taking into consideration to recruit business partner to built the business together. This business has been making me RM100k+ profit with minimal running cost.
Interesting. Are you selling software, service, or physical product ?
rd33
post Oct 8 2020, 01:21 AM

868 posts

QUOTE(drummertech @ Oct 6 2020, 07:11 PM)
Job Title : Service Delivery Manager
Job Desciption : Ensure that contractual commitments to customers are delivered and met (service levels and compliance)
Years spent in company : < 1 year in this role (9months)
Company : European startup
Industry : IT / Software / B2B SaaS / Fintech
Employment Level : Mid-Senior
Experience before joining (years) : 6 years
Highest paper qualification/ education background : Bachelors Degree
Average Working Hours Per Week (incl lunch hours): 45

Monetary Payout
Basic Salary + Fixed Allowance : RM8000 + RM450 = RM8450
Contractual Bonus (months): N/A
Performance, Variable Bonus & Commissions (months) : 5% of Annual Base salary subject to performance

Benefits (where relevant) : N/A
Health Benefits : Company Insurance Policy for Employee, Spouse and Dependents. Optical and Dental benefits for employee and Spouse.
Transport Benefits : N/A
Mobile / Internet / Gadget Benefits : Laptop, Headphones, Mouse, Screen
Flexi Working Hours : Flexi and WFH. As long as you complete your work
Other Benefits : N/A
Is this considered okay for my age and my role type / industry?
I think this is quite good and slightly above average. Few of my friends same age as yours working in IT earning roughly the same 8k++.

I noticed those that earning 10K around 30 yo usually are overwhelm with work load. Some cant even WFH.

This post has been edited by rd33: Oct 8 2020, 01:21 AM
rd33
post Oct 13 2020, 12:50 AM

868 posts

QUOTE(icebryanchan @ Oct 8 2020, 04:52 PM)
Update again:

Job Title : Software Engineer
Job Desciption : Develop embedded system of frequency radio, working mainly on Bluetooth implementation and applications now. Dealing with every stake holder in the project.
Years spent in company : 3 years 3 months
Industry : Frequency Radio
Tenure : permanent
Employment Level : Junior Engineer
Experience before joining (years) : First Company
Average Working Hours Per Week (incl lunch hours): 40

Monetary Payout
Basic Salary + Fixed Allowance : RM4300
Contractual Bonus (months): 1.5mths
Performance, Variable Bonus & Commissions (months) : 1mths + -

Health Benefits : Medical Card
Transport Benefits : none
Mobile / Internet / Gadget Benefits : Internet claim RM90 per month
Flexi Working Hours : yes
Other Benefits : RM600 for glasses, dentistry and medical checkup

Ok here is the deal guys, I really need some good advice.

I have been looking for opportunities outside since a year or two ago. I always find the current company I am working in is quite outdated in term of technologies and too many legacy things to work on which don't really give me any kind of satisfaction in the job scope.

Now I have a chance ( job offer ) to join another company which is completely different field from what I am doing right now, but I do have the Bachelor Degree that is fitting the job scope very much, i.e. hardware design engineer. And most importantly it is working on the latest tech possible, not everyday wiping the shat that was created by some old guy back in 2000.

So now my concern is that, I might get a promotion in the upcoming year 2021, around April, which might give me a salary boost to around RM5000? (optimistic)
But also at the same time, the performance bonus for next year is completely none as the business is not doing so great.

On the other hand, the job offer is offering me a higher grade, but the biggest drawback is the salary is still the same I am getting now. However, the extra bonuses the company is offering is way more than I can get in 2021 if I choose to stay in the current company. Also the hiring bonuses are also very attractive.
Question is, should I vouch for a better company, a better bonus, (maybe a better working environment), but different job scope (which I have to start fresh again).
Or should I stay at the old company, risking to get promoted (we can never try manager's words) and maybe the increment is just at max 10%.

I tried to nego for higher basic salary for the job offer, but the justification is obvious that I don't have any fitting skillsets required. It is kindna like a miracle that I can actually get the job offer.
I used to be a manager for embedded software team.
Based on your expertise, industry and experience your salary is market average or maybe slightly higher (depends on location, company SME, Japanese, US/UK).

I assume you are well versed in low level programming such as C/C++/Assembly
Yes you can earn more if you jump into IT software however you have to be very aggresive in learning new IT stacks and programming language since you started later and most IT software guys have started working like 22-23 years old.

I wouldn't say its too late, I had a few of my subordinates jump into IT and getting like 6K around your age, however its really up to your passion.
I can tell you this, IT software might seems earning higher at early stage but there is a ceiling too. Usually senior IT software engineer can earn like 7K to 15K easily before 40 years old. But to go beyond that usually they have to become architect level or manager.

For embedded software its a slower start. There are few embedded software >10 years experince can earn >10K. You are at Penang which is a best place for embedded software engineers to be. Plenty of MNC such as Intel, NI, Motorola, Bosch that you can jump around to earn higher salary. For IT software I think KL/Selangor have more opportunities but Penang not bad too.

My advice follow your passion. If you wana stick to embedded software try to specialize in 1 industry, its a slow start but its not a bad career path since hardware will always be around.

For the new job offer, I assume your resume shows your skillset more to embedded software that whys you are getting law balled., if you really interested in IT software start to learn it during your free time first and update your resume to fit IT software.

Btw try Dyson at Johor or go Singapore. Plenty of high salary job for embedded software.

This post has been edited by rd33: Oct 13 2020, 12:57 AM
rd33
post Nov 19 2020, 06:00 PM

868 posts

QUOTE(party @ Nov 16 2020, 08:17 PM)
6 years with luck and good boss.

2014 2.3k join 1 week HR said big boss realligned min salary to 2.6k follow inflation so yay for me.
2015 2.8k
Mid-2015 promoted 3.9k
2016 4.5k
2017 4.7k
2018 5k
2018 jun promoted 6k
2018 new co aug 7.5k (i use 5k as base to nego)
2019 7.7k
2020 8.1k
2020 nov 9.8k base (+ allowance reach 10k+)
How old are you now? Already 30 or not yet?
rd33
post Mar 13 2021, 04:32 PM

868 posts

QUOTE(tengkuhasnul @ Mar 12 2021, 12:52 AM)
Job Title : Senior Manager
Job Description : Information Security
Years spent in company : Just started
Industry : IT/
Experience before joining (years) : 5 years
Highest paper qualification/ education background : Degree (Currently Master's Degree), some IT Certs
Average Working Hours Per Week (incl lunch hours): 9AM-6PM (Incl. 1 Hour Lunch) now, WFH

Monetary Payout
Basic Salary + Fixed Allowance : RM21,500
Performance, Variable Bonus & Commissions (months) : 3-5 Months Salary Bonus

Health Benefits :
- Annual medical claims up to RM20,000
- Life insurance
- Hospitalization insurance

Transport Benefits : -
Mobile / Internet / Gadget Benefits : RM5000
Flexi Working Hours : Yes
Other Benefits :
- AL 27 days
Wow 27 already senior manager and earning like /k standard 20k

U working for daddy's company or u earning USD? I know its possible to get that salary if u earning USD working for foreign company.

But weird usually high rank IT position not senior manager. Mostly is like head of xxxx department, CIO, CTO, CDO, architect etc.
rd33
post Aug 1 2021, 05:06 AM

868 posts

QUOTE(recca89 @ Jul 29 2021, 10:17 PM)
Job Title : Network Architect
Job Description : Design company's network
Years spent in company : 1 month
Employment Level : Manager
Experience before joining (years) : 10
Average Working Hours Per Week (incl lunch hours): 50-55 hours

Monetary Payout
Basic Salary + Fixed Allowance : RM 17500
Contractual Bonus (months): N/A
Performance, Variable Bonus & Commissions (months) : Less than a year

Health Benefits : Insurance Claim
Transport Benefits : NA
Mobile / Internet / Gadget Benefits : NA
Flexi Working Hours : NA
Other Benefits : Dental & Optical
Did you just changed 3 jobs since Feb 2021? Thats like 3 times jump in 1.5years. And your salary shoot up from 11K to 17.5K since 2019.

Whats your secrets? Network stuff really in demand now?

0.1789sec    0.31    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 04:29 PM