Nvidia Shield TV 2017

sonypshomer
post Nov 19 2018, 04:43 PM

1,577 posts

QUOTE(kmrdeva @ Nov 17 2018, 10:28 PM)
Finally bought my Shield TV.

USD149 after tax at Best Buy in Florida for the unit with remote. Don’t need gamepad.

Can’t wait to bring it back home next week.
Good price.
SSJBen
post Nov 19 2018, 05:26 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,477 posts

The Shield is $140 on Amazon now btw. +30 bucks import and shipping fees, so $170 = ~RM730 (SIRIM excluded). Unless I'm wrong, aren't most grey importers still selling it for RM1.2k+ and above?

This post has been edited by SSJBen: Nov 19 2018, 05:29 PM
thirumaran
post Nov 20 2018, 10:55 AM

579 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Nov 19 2018, 05:26 PM)
The Shield is $140 on Amazon now btw. +30 bucks import and shipping fees, so $170 = ~RM730 (SIRIM excluded). Unless I'm wrong, aren't most grey importers still selling it for RM1.2k+ and above?
Yes, bought one. Took 1.5 wks to reach. Sirim took one day to process. Even bought the stand.
Marilynlai513
post Nov 20 2018, 03:18 PM

99 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Nov 19 2018, 05:26 PM)
That's a really good deal, not sure if Black Friday will drop even lower

This post has been edited by Marilynlai513: Nov 20 2018, 03:56 PM

jhleo1
post Nov 20 2018, 04:03 PM

4,166 posts

Amarzon sales in Jul 2018 with game controller at US$179.00. Just wait if you want.

QUOTE(Marilynlai513 @ Nov 20 2018, 03:18 PM)
vernon26
post Nov 21 2018, 02:06 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(Marilynlai513 @ Nov 20 2018, 03:18 PM)
Why your price only RM600++?
kmrdeva
post Nov 21 2018, 02:23 PM

4,590 posts

I picked up from Best Buy in Tampa last week at USD139.99 + 7% tax. Total = USD149.79.

Came up to RM629.

Brought it back and it has replaced my Mibox. Wonderful box, even my Mibox BT gamepad works with the Shield TV.

I don't really game though.
look.eye
post Nov 21 2018, 10:03 PM

50 posts

Does the Nvidia Shield support GeForce Now in Malaysia? What’s the performance like?
megahertz
post Nov 21 2018, 11:03 PM

i always smiling, problem?
1,843 posts

QUOTE(look.eye @ Nov 21 2018, 10:03 PM)
Does the Nvidia Shield support GeForce Now in Malaysia? What’s the performance like?
supported. but due to the server all located in US and europe, the ping very high around 200-300ms.
can play some games that not required high movement and resolution is downscale to only 720p.
if u play those games like racing, etc, u might got frame drops and lag quite a lots.
SUSjdgobio
post Nov 22 2018, 11:06 AM

1,010 posts

QUOTE(look.eye @ Nov 21 2018, 10:03 PM)
Not very good right now. Would be better if / when they add Asia server. By that time though, they may charge for this service.
look.eye
post Nov 22 2018, 02:26 PM

50 posts

I see. Thanks for the reply.
juzmafia
post Nov 22 2018, 11:50 PM

562 posts

20% discount @ Amazon
Shield TV + Remote + Controller = RM858.03(shipping+tax)
*excluding sirim permit

jeman
post Nov 23 2018, 12:47 AM

104 posts

QUOTE(juzmafia @ Nov 22 2018, 11:50 PM)
20% discount @ Amazon
Shield TV + Remote + Controller = RM858.03(shipping+tax)
*excluding sirim permit
And how much is the sirim permit?
deric88
post Nov 23 2018, 12:50 AM

Spam Ranking
1,463 posts

Bought it last year Black Friday. If not mistaken I paid around RM100 for the SIRIM. Have to pay it at SIRIM Shah Alam.
jeman
post Nov 23 2018, 12:57 AM

104 posts

Ok thanks for the info!
juzmafia
post Nov 23 2018, 04:15 PM

562 posts

Just sharing some info on NSTV issues for current/future users..

Current issues on NSTV:-
1. 720p/1080p upscaling to 4K output is bad.
Solution: let the TV do the upscaling by setting the video output to 1080p on Shield setting

2. HDR colorspace issue.
Solution: Manually set colorspace on Shield setting before playing the movie.

3. Auto resolution and frame rate switch only available on app level and not on OS level which need app developers to add the api/feature to their app. Solution: Manually switch the setting or use apps like kodi, plex, vlc..

4. File transfer protocol still using SMB v1.
Status: Nvidia is working on SMB v3. Hope will update in next OS release.

5. Third party bluetooth remote need to re-pair after each restart/power off. Status: This happen due to NSTV bluetooth security feature which in next OS update will have option to disable the security feature so user don't need to re-pair again after restart/power off

6. HDMI CEC not functioning properly due to some bugs.

7. No HDR on Youtube app due to current OS does not support VP9 Profile 2 codec.

8. There is some bluetooth signal interference due to USB 3.0 port if u are using 3rd party wireless device with usb dongle such as remote, mouse & etc..
Two solutions:
>> there is backward compatible option under setting.
>> connect the usb dongles to usb 3.0 hub adapter/extension so it will have some distance between the NSTV USB port and usb dongles.

9. Weak NSTV Bluetooth signal even when the distance is less than 6 ft.
Solution: Hardware fix by adding antenna to increase the signal. Need to solder it to PCB board.
https://forums.geforce.com/default/topic/10...h-battery-etc-/

For issue 1-3: According to nvidia support, there are some fixes and implementation need to be done by Google at OS level before nvidia can futher improve it..

This post has been edited by juzmafia: Nov 26 2018, 06:59 PM
SEO
post Nov 23 2018, 09:45 PM

I have 3 questions for nstv owners here:

1.Does the remote controller good?
2.I see a remote app for nstv officially by Nvidia in play store. Is it good?
3.Anyone tried their nstv with fubotv and nordvpn,how's the experience?
kmrdeva
post Nov 23 2018, 11:12 PM

4,590 posts

QUOTE(SEO @ Nov 23 2018, 09:45 PM)
I have 3 questions for nstv owners here:

1.Does the remote controller good?
2.I see a remote app for nstv officially by Nvidia in play store. Is it good?
3.Anyone tried their nstv with fubotv and nordvpn,how's the experience?
1. Simple remote control unit. Works fine.
2. Good app. Better than default android tvOS version.
3. Works with ExpressVPN just fine.
look.eye
post Nov 24 2018, 05:30 PM

50 posts

I’ve just notice the Shield doesn’t have audio output. Can I connect the Shield to a speaker via Bluetooth, or there’s a way to connect it to speaker with USB or something?

Cos I’m thinking on bypassing the TV speaker since is quite crappy. And also would like to listen to music through the Shield without turning on the TV.

Any sifu can share how to do this?
sombong
post Nov 24 2018, 05:34 PM

52 posts

hi, i just bought nvidia shield from amazon. need some info regarding sirim approval. is this the link for online application?

https://ecomm.sirim.my/

61 Pages « < 19 20 21 22 23 > » Top

0.0210sec    0.46    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 11:01 PM