61 Pages « < 18 19 20 21 22 > » Bottom

Nvidia Shield TV 2017

yssia
post Nov 5 2018, 07:52 PM

Just receive Nvidia shield TV this morning. Ordered from amazon on 26 Oct.
Somehow got lucky.. didnt need to pay for SIRIM.

Saturday, November 3
2:12 PM Package arrived at a carrier facility
KUCHING, MY

11:01 AM Completed customs clearance process
Kuching, XX MY

Friday, November 2
4:12 PM Customs Clearance delay
Kuching, XX MY

3:47 PM Initiated customs clearance process
KUCHING, MY

3:47 PM Customs Clearance delay
Kuching, XX MY

3:25 PM Package arrived at a carrier facility
Kuching, XX MY

8:05 AM Package has left the carrier facility
SINGAPORE, SG
jhleo1
post Nov 5 2018, 08:02 PM

4,379 posts

No tax? Lucky if no tax.

QUOTE(yssia @ Nov 5 2018, 07:52 PM)
Just receive Nvidia shield TV this morning. Ordered from amazon on 26 Oct.
Somehow got lucky.. didnt need to pay for SIRIM.

Saturday, November 3
2:12 PM Package arrived at a carrier facility
KUCHING, MY

11:01 AM Completed customs clearance process
Kuching, XX MY

Friday, November 2
4:12 PM Customs Clearance delay
Kuching, XX MY

KUCHING, MY

3:47 PM Customs Clearance delay
Kuching, XX MY

3:25 PM Package arrived at a carrier facility
Kuching, XX MY

8:05 AM Package has left the carrier facility
SINGAPORE, SG
yssia
post Nov 5 2018, 08:10 PM

Paid for RM995.80.
At first i thought i need to pay sirim but custom kuching cleared it.
Managed to go thru custom but some slight delayed.
juzmafia
post Nov 5 2018, 11:39 PM

562 posts

QUOTE(jhleo1 @ Nov 5 2018, 08:02 PM)
No tax? Lucky if no tax.
Amazon final price includes shipping & tax..
so if there is extra charges by custom, amazon will absorb the charges..
if less, amazon will refund back to buyer..
as for sirim, buyer have to pay(rm100+) if stuck at custom..

This post has been edited by juzmafia: Nov 5 2018, 11:39 PM
jhleo1
post Nov 5 2018, 11:42 PM

4,379 posts

Oic... But I bought mine from Shopee. Thought Amazon got Extra tax.

QUOTE(juzmafia @ Nov 5 2018, 11:39 PM)
Amazon final price includes shipping & tax..
so if there is extra charges by custom, amazon will absorb the charges..
if less, amazon will refund back to buyer..
as for sirim, buyer have to pay(rm100+) if stuck at custom..
ronn77
post Nov 8 2018, 05:29 PM

2,508 posts

Do you all think it's better to get the TV that build on android platform or to get separate android box like this and hook to 4k tv?
juzmafia
post Nov 8 2018, 06:38 PM

562 posts

QUOTE(ronn77 @ Nov 8 2018, 05:29 PM)
Do you all think it's better to get the TV that build on android platform or to get separate android box like this and hook to 4k tv?
separate better, coz:-
> performance
> software support
> upgradeable/replaceable

Buy TV based on PQ/quality/durability and TV box based on performance/features/quality

can refer here for more feedback on built in android tv >> https://forums.whirlpool.net.au/archive/2721221

As for Shield TV currently nvidia support team and google are working together to improve user experience. There are few bugs that need to be fixed by Google first.

Fyi, there are now three Google certified TV box available:-
> Nvidia Shield TV (Amazon - can shipped to Malaysia)
> Mibox S (can purchase from AliExpress and Gearbest)
> Ematic Jetstream 4K (US only - Walmart)

At the moment, there is 20% discount for NSTV+remote on Amazon for limited time..final price >> RM744.33 (not including Sirim permit - RM100)
Maybe there will be blackfriday offer for NSTV+remote+controller on 23/11

This post has been edited by juzmafia: Nov 8 2018, 08:27 PM
AVFAN
post Nov 8 2018, 07:26 PM

24,452 posts

QUOTE(ronn77 @ Nov 8 2018, 05:29 PM)
this is a good question.

the answer can only be really found if u describe:

.. what exp u have with androids... androidtv, androidbox, android phone, android tablet..?
.. what r u looking for in an "android"?
.. what video and audio expectations?
ronn77
post Nov 9 2018, 09:48 AM

2,508 posts

QUOTE(juzmafia @ Nov 8 2018, 06:38 PM)
separate better, coz:-
> performance
> software support
> upgradeable/replaceable

Buy TV based on PQ/quality/durability and TV box based on performance/features/quality

can refer here for more feedback on built in android tv >> https://forums.whirlpool.net.au/archive/2721221

As for Shield TV currently nvidia support team and google are working together to improve user experience. There are few bugs that need to be fixed by Google first.

Fyi, there are now three Google certified TV box available:-
> Nvidia Shield TV (Amazon - can shipped to Malaysia)
> Mibox S (can purchase from AliExpress and Gearbest)
> Ematic Jetstream 4K (US only - Walmart)

At the moment, there is 20% discount for NSTV+remote on Amazon for limited time..final price >> RM744.33 (not including Sirim permit - RM100)
Maybe there will be blackfriday offer for NSTV+remote+controller on 23/11
Bro, thanks for sharing and based on the above certified boxes, only Nvidia and Mibox S can be considered. I have check on Amazon and they have latest offer whereby only USD139.99 for the Shield with remote which looks tempting. However still quite divided as was thinking to upgrade my current 3 years old LED TV to Sharp LC60UA6800X or just grab the high-end Android box.

From your personal point of view, which would you opt to if you are being given above choices?
ronn77
post Nov 9 2018, 09:55 AM

2,508 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Nov 8 2018, 07:26 PM)
this is a good question.

the answer can only be really found if u describe:

.. what exp u have with androids... androidtv, androidbox, android phone, android tablet..?
Bro, here's my answer.

I'm just a social user on the android phone and have purchase some of the android boxes (include modified my hypp tv box to the ahem version from outside vendor). However I'm not a pro on this techie thingy as occasionally I found those boxes especially China made will have some issues after a while (no WIFI connection or apps stopped working, probably I have accidentally updated certain OS).

Freedom to install apps especially for movies streaming (I'm not into much gaming).

My expectations are on low side as I just need HD streaming for movies. No special requirements on video or audio input/output as I do not owned any high-end entertainment set although I do not rule out may purchase a bundled speaker entertainment set to boost the movie experience in the near future.
voncrane
post Nov 9 2018, 11:48 AM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(ronn77 @ Nov 9 2018, 09:48 AM)
Bro, thanks for sharing and based on the above certified boxes, only Nvidia and Mibox S can be considered. I have check on Amazon and they have latest offer whereby only USD139.99 for the Shield with remote which looks tempting. However still quite divided as was thinking to upgrade my current 3 years old LED TV to Sharp LC60UA6800X or just grab the high-end Android box.

From your personal point of view, which would you opt to if you are being given above choices?
Depends on what you current tv is and if it's pq is acceptable. As explained.. You can't ask to choose between buying a new TV or a media box. ALWAYS go for a great TV first, before considering and external player. Work both into your budget.. But TV's pq and performance is most important.. IMO.
voncrane
post Nov 9 2018, 11:49 AM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(ronn77 @ Nov 9 2018, 09:55 AM)
Bro, here's my answer.

I'm just a social user on the android phone and have purchase some of the android boxes (include modified my hypp tv box to the ahem version from outside vendor). However I'm not a pro on this techie thingy as occasionally I found those boxes especially China made will have some issues after a while (no WIFI connection or apps stopped working, probably I have accidentally updated certain OS).

Freedom to install apps especially for movies streaming (I'm not into much gaming).

My expectations are on low side as I just need HD streaming for movies. No special requirements on video or audio input/output as I do not owned any high-end entertainment set although I do not rule out may purchase a bundled speaker entertainment set to boost the movie experience in the near future.
I suggest you go watch a couple videos of what the Nvidia Shield TV Box is and what it stands for within the media players community. Your above needs don't tally with the typical Shield user. IMO, you will do just fine with a cheaper but still decent box.
AVFAN
post Nov 9 2018, 12:51 PM

24,452 posts

QUOTE(ronn77 @ Nov 9 2018, 09:55 AM)
Bro, here's my answer.

boxes are definitely not made equal.
your scenario... if u hv the money, get a better box.
the learning exp will be richer with less trouble like disconnects or run out of memory or overheating.
better still if u hv someone who can help u during the initial period.
if low budget, get a less known brand, learn.

as for tv's... note "smart" comes in many types.
some brands use own platform - u can't install any app u like; can only use what is provided.
sony and sharp run on androidtv, the same one as shield - these, u can sideload.
in general, the best features of a tv are found in premium 4khdr tv's; u dun find a dumb tv with great PQ and other goodies.
take note shield runs on androidtv which is a little diff from the generic android platform.
for newbies, generic is easier to use but for exp users, diff is immaterial.
having a smart android tv does not mean u dun need a box.
navigation, file management is easier with boxes; smart tv is more convenient, may do apps some boxes can't.

one last thing... if u must hv a certain app working like astrogo or unifi playtv, do check carefully as it is tricky.
most boxes wont run these 2; androidtv will for sure.

looks like u prefer andorditv, which is fine.
mibox s just launched is not available here yet, i think.
since it is new, gotta be mindful of firmware bugs, esp with the troubles in previous models incl android8 - read mibox thread.
as for the sharp ua6800x, u can visit:
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4488602/+1240
i am using this tv and boxes too!

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Nov 9 2018, 01:55 PM
juzmafia
post Nov 9 2018, 01:13 PM

562 posts

what is ur current TV model? is it 4K?
>> if u already have 4K TV and satisfied with the PQ = get budget certified TV box: mibox s
>> for normal streaming = built-in Android TV
>> for advance usage like media server, smart features, gaming = Shield TV

This post has been edited by juzmafia: Nov 9 2018, 01:16 PM
Turnip
post Nov 11 2018, 09:20 AM

bonjour beau là-bas
1,111 posts

Hello peeps,
Im curious whats the difference between the 2018 ver and 2017?

I read the specs no different, was just about to hit the pay button on Lazada and then saw a 2018 version

jhleo1
post Nov 11 2018, 09:26 AM

4,379 posts

No difference.

QUOTE(Turnip @ Nov 11 2018, 09:20 AM)
Hello peeps,

I read the specs no different, was just about to hit the pay button on Lazada and then saw a 2018 version
thirumaran
post Nov 11 2018, 02:33 PM

614 posts

Hello peeps,

how much on lazada?
juzmafia
post Nov 11 2018, 08:48 PM

562 posts

Hello peeps,

there is no 2018 version..
only 2015 & 2017..

megahertz
post Nov 17 2018, 09:11 AM

i always smiling, problem?
1,846 posts

any one here play ragnarok m eternal love on their nvidia shield ?
try sideload, run the games but the games crash. its mybe due to android TV os.

please let me know if any of u can run it with some tips/modifications
kmrdeva
post Nov 17 2018, 10:28 PM

4,776 posts

Finally bought my Shield TV.

USD149 after tax at Best Buy in Florida for the unit with remote. Don’t need gamepad.

Can’t wait to bring it back home next week.

61 Pages « < 18 19 20 21 22 > » Top

0.0250sec    0.41    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 12:35 AM