Apple iPhone battery replacement program, for iPhone 6 and later

Ares187
post Dec 4 2018, 01:41 PM

1,096 posts

Sent my iPhone 7 for battery replacement today .
amalost
post Dec 4 2018, 02:17 PM

798 posts

QUOTE(Ares187 @ Dec 4 2018, 01:41 PM)

Sent my iPhone 7 for battery replacement today .
How's the process? Have to leave your phone?

Yesterday asked the staff to make appointment but they said can straight away do the check up but then need to leave it for a day.
Ares187
post Dec 4 2018, 02:57 PM

1,096 posts

QUOTE(amalost @ Dec 4 2018, 02:17 PM)
How's the process? Have to leave your phone?

Yesterday asked the staff to make appointment but they said can straight away do the check up but then need to leave it for a day.
They asked to backup the phone and reset the phone which i have done earlier at home . Then they ran some diagnostics and told me it will be ready in 3 hours . I told them i will collect tommorow. After inspecting the phone they provided the receipt and i made the payment . They told me they are quite busy as many people are sending their iPhone for battery replacement
coolguy99
post Dec 4 2018, 05:46 PM

7,353 posts

QUOTE(Ares187 @ Dec 4 2018, 02:57 PM)
They asked to backup the phone and reset the phone which i have done earlier at home . Then they ran some diagnostics and told me it will be ready in 3 hours . I told them i will collect tommorow. After inspecting the phone they provided the receipt and i made the payment . They told me they are quite busy as many people are sending their iPhone for battery replacement
This is expected as Malaysians are known to be very last minute haha.
TSMackiddo
post Dec 4 2018, 07:36 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(coolguy99 @ Dec 4 2018, 05:46 PM)
This is expected as Malaysians are known to be very last minute haha.
last minute rush sure work quality drop.
coolguy99
post Dec 4 2018, 08:02 PM

7,353 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Dec 4 2018, 07:36 PM)
last minute rush sure work quality drop.
Don't think battery replacement has anything to do with quality though. It's just replacing the battery, workmanship should be pretty standard.
TSMackiddo
post Dec 4 2018, 08:13 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(coolguy99 @ Dec 4 2018, 08:02 PM)
Don't think battery replacement has anything to do with quality though. It's just replacing the battery, workmanship should be pretty standard.
i beg to differ. reselller Technicians skill varies, as compare to Apple own Technicians
yhtan
post Dec 5 2018, 12:02 AM

8,652 posts

QUOTE(coolguy99 @ Dec 3 2018, 07:17 PM)
You don't have to make appointment on weekdays, can just walk in.
thanks, i just replaced it today.

Queue up at least 30-40mins, waited another 3 hrs, then reach there queue up another 20mins, total spent about 5 hrs for whole process at midvalley north point.

I advise people to change earlier because the crowd is a lot and machines northpoint only keep minimal battery stock as far as i seen.
attw
post Dec 5 2018, 07:14 AM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(yhtan @ Dec 5 2018, 12:02 AM)

Queue up at least 30-40mins, waited another 3 hrs, then reach there queue up another 20mins, total spent about 5 hrs for whole process at midvalley north point.

I advise people to change earlier because the crowd is a lot and machines northpoint only keep minimal battery stock as far as i seen.
Again, all last minute before end of December smile.gif
coolguy99
post Dec 5 2018, 08:27 AM

7,353 posts

QUOTE(yhtan @ Dec 5 2018, 12:02 AM)

It took me almost 6 hours the other time and it was on the weekdays too. You will be better off at machines klcc but the catch is that you must make appointment online first.
westlife
post Dec 5 2018, 08:51 AM

14,287 posts

QUOTE(attw @ Dec 5 2018, 07:14 AM)
Again, all last minute before end of December smile.gif
Already replaced in late October for all eligible devices. Haha.
yhtan
post Dec 5 2018, 09:53 AM

8,652 posts

QUOTE(coolguy99 @ Dec 5 2018, 08:27 AM)
It took me almost 6 hours the other time and it was on the weekdays too. You will be better off at machines klcc but the catch is that you must make appointment online first.
Well since I took leave and just do it lor.

The back up took me 5 hrs and another 5 hrs to restore back sweat.gif

But I do notice after changes of battery, performance is back to normal
christcwl9
post Dec 5 2018, 09:54 AM

^ Engineer ^
2,772 posts

Else, come to the East Coast if you do not want the long wait tongue.gif

Thunder (AASP) here offer walk in service with almost no crowd tongue.gif
coolguy99
post Dec 5 2018, 10:10 AM

7,353 posts

QUOTE(yhtan @ Dec 5 2018, 09:53 AM)
Well since I took leave and just do it lor.

The back up took me 5 hrs and another 5 hrs to restore back sweat.gif

But I do notice after changes of battery, performance is back to normal
Should be able to use for another 2 years. At least that’s what I am planning to do.
chongxm
post Dec 5 2018, 12:58 PM

730 posts

hi guys, i just got a phone replacement unit from switch, (ip8), the warranty check on serial number shows until 4th december 2019, but the person told me just follow back my previous phone warranty which is 5th february 2019. so which one should i follow? thanks
KannaSai1
post Dec 5 2018, 01:58 PM

6,933 posts

QUOTE(christcwl9 @ Dec 3 2018, 11:53 AM)
In my opinion, you should. Battery is generally considered not fit for purpose once its health is 80% or less (normally 2 years of standard usage).

If you are planning to change phone soon (say in 6 months time), might as well just dont bother to change the battery, but to sell it off later tongue.gif

If you are planning to use your phone for another year or two, or maybe even if you plan to keep this phone, better change the battery now for discounted rm121 only what  whistling.gif  thumbup.gif
Hmmm. I think better I go change it then .
attw
post Dec 5 2018, 03:33 PM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(chongxm @ Dec 5 2018, 12:58 PM)
hi guys, i just got a phone replacement unit from switch, (ip8), the warranty check on serial number shows until 4th december 2019, but the person told me just follow back my previous phone warranty which is 5th february 2019. so which one should i follow? thanks
Friend of mine got this too but said after few days the system followed back the old warranty? Hmm...
chongxm
post Dec 5 2018, 04:50 PM

730 posts

QUOTE(attw @ Dec 5 2018, 03:33 PM)
Friend of mine got this too but said after few days the system followed back the old warranty? Hmm...
already back to old warranty period bye.gif
attw
post Dec 5 2018, 04:51 PM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(chongxm @ Dec 5 2018, 04:50 PM)
already back to old warranty period  bye.gif
Haha, exactly! smile.gif
joevo2
post Dec 5 2018, 04:54 PM

422 posts

If my phone had been repaired by third party before can i still send to machine for the battery replacement program?

84 Pages « < 71 72 73 74 75 > » Top

0.0292sec    0.45    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 07:42 AM