34 Pages « < 22 23 24 25 26 > » Bottom

Discussion A 'real fan', How do we become one?

Jonno
post Jan 29 2008, 10:40 AM

JFT 96
1,164 posts

QUOTE(clayclws @ Jan 29 2008, 10:27 AM)
Hmm...let's steer away from that. Let's discuss: Do real fans diss their own manager/players? I know I do that to Saha (all the time) and Brown (sometimes)...does that make me less of a fan?
Good move...

To me, a real fan would not back down when the team / player is not giving their / his best on the field and would make it known to them. However, they would always back them up when the "others" diss the player or team. It's one of those things.
vreis
post Jan 29 2008, 11:04 AM

Golden Past Red Future
1,658 posts

a real fan respect & admire the achievement & history of the club, more importantly behaves appropriately to uphold your club integrity.
After Hillsborough, it brought all the Reds around the world more "togetherness". We win as Reds, we lose as Reds. It's been a long exhausting wait but we'll hold on to our dreams as we know for a fact that We'll Never Walk Alone"

BTW am proud that unlike fans of the other, we in Reds Thread seldom put in signature to degrade rival. I mean why don't you put in something to uphold your believe in your club?
clayclws
post Jan 29 2008, 11:14 AM

2,659 posts

But don't you fans ever get really frustrated with your non-performing players? Cisse for example for Liverpool. Or Shevchenko for Chelsea. You know, the guys that really irks you when they play (or don't play) and put the team into so much trouble.

Added on January 29, 2008, 11:16 amLet's take a look here: http://soccernet.espn.go.com/columns/story?id=494662&cc=4716

This post has been edited by clayclws: Jan 29 2008, 11:16 AM
StarGhazzer
post Jan 29 2008, 12:27 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(vreis @ Jan 29 2008, 11:04 AM)
a real fan respect & admire the achievement & history of the club, more importantly behaves appropriately to uphold your club integrity.
After Hillsborough, it brought all the Reds around the world more "togetherness". We win as Reds, we lose as Reds. It's been a long exhausting wait but we'll hold on to our dreams as we know for a fact that We'll Never Walk Alone"

BTW am proud that unlike fans of the other, we in Reds Thread seldom put in signature to degrade rival. I mean why don't you put in something to uphold your believe in your club?
No offence, but your signature itself is subtly degrading Everton biggrin.gif

I agree that a real fan behaves appropriately to protect the name of the club, and that includes treating rival fans with respect and well manners. Taunting or even cursing rival teams in front of rival fans with the excuse of "protecting one's club" is not acceptable.
vreis
post Jan 29 2008, 12:33 PM

Golden Past Red Future
1,658 posts

QUOTE(StarGhazzer @ Jan 29 2008, 12:27 PM)
No offence, but your signature itself is subtly degrading Everton biggrin.gif

I agree that a real fan behaves appropriately to protect the name of the club, and that includes treating rival fans with respect and well manners. Taunting or even cursing rival teams in front of rival fans with the excuse of "protecting one's club" is not acceptable.
It's not degrading them but rather the believe in my team. Furthermore it's a quote by Shankly which I agrees & believe in.
Toffees are still a team in Merseyside albeit an ordinary team like Tranmere Rovers.

This post has been edited by vreis: Jan 29 2008, 12:35 PM
JonC
post Jan 29 2008, 12:37 PM

Forever Silenced But The Truth Will Be Told - JFT96
1,612 posts

QUOTE(vreis @ Jan 29 2008, 12:33 PM)
It's not degrading them but rather the believe in my team. Furthermore it's a quote by Shankly which I agrees & believe in.
Toffees are still a team in Merseyside albeit an ordinary team like Tranmere Rovers.
Soon they are moving out of the city anyway. wink.gif Thanks to Tesco. brows.gif

vreis
post Jan 29 2008, 12:40 PM

Golden Past Red Future
1,658 posts

QUOTE(JonC @ Jan 29 2008, 12:37 PM)
Soon they are moving out of the city anyway.  wink.gif Thanks to Tesco.  brows.gif
yes they will but still within the Liverpool area, right unsure.gif
Monstar
post Jan 29 2008, 12:42 PM

1,895 posts

QUOTE(clayclws @ Jan 29 2008, 10:27 AM)
Hmm...let's steer away from that. Let's discuss: Do real fans diss their own manager/players? I know I do that to Saha (all the time) and Brown (sometimes)...does that make me less of a fan?
This is a grey area. I think it is ok to diss. But to what extent? If things go overboard, one must just be as good as a fastfood fan. But what is the threshold then? No idea.

Personally, I refrain from dissing players that give their heart and soul for the better of Liverpool. If a player is a fat wanker and couldn't be half arsed to put in 100% in everything Liverpool, then to me, they are cheating the club and the fans and should only play for E*****N or better, shot. Of course, there are a few exceptions, like Riise. But that is a different story...
TSDuke Red
post Jan 29 2008, 02:40 PM

6,112 posts

I think it's ok to have a go at your players or manager every now and then especially if they're crap. Heck, you have a go at your friend if he's doing something wrong right? Doesn't mean you don't still love him as your friend. Footballers are professionals and heckling is an occupational hazard. You really think he's going to go home and cry if you scold and shout at him?
clayclws
post Jan 29 2008, 03:01 PM

2,659 posts

Isn't it normal that fans will diss the players of other teams? I do respect Gerrard, for example, and I think Liverpool can't be anywhere they are at the moment without him. But I diss him not because I hate him, it's just that he's good and created so much problem when Man Utd met Liverpool at Anfield. It's sort of a complimentary diss, sort to speak tongue.gif

QUOTE(Duke Red @ Jan 29 2008, 02:40 PM)
I think it's ok to have a go at your players or manager every now and then especially if they're crap. Heck, you have a go at your friend if he's doing something wrong right? Doesn't mean you don't still love him as your friend. Footballers are professionals and heckling is an occupational hazard. You really think he's going to go home and cry if you scold and shout at him?
Well, you must be wondering why Rafa's rotational strategy ain't paying off like Man Utd's or Chelsea's... tongue.gif Anyway, yeah, to me it's not wrong to diss as there isn't any team that is perfect.
vreis
post Jan 29 2008, 03:18 PM

Golden Past Red Future
1,658 posts

QUOTE(clayclws @ Jan 29 2008, 03:01 PM)
Isn't it normal that fans will diss the players of other teams? I do respect Gerrard, for example, and I think Liverpool can't be anywhere they are at the moment without him. But I diss him not because I hate him, it's just that he's good and created so much problem when Man Utd met Liverpool at Anfield. It's sort of a complimentary diss, sort to speak  tongue.gif

I would prefer to call it banter. It's ok if there is banter around as most agrees, but in regard of the signature, just wonder why some like to put down others rather than promote their own team? Is it because it's their nature? rolleyes.gif
I mean you don't see us create signature about Man U rite, rather we put in quote from players/managers alike about our own team not rival teams.

air_mood
post Jan 29 2008, 11:05 PM

Randy Marsh, Guitar Queer-O
4,150 posts

Don't mind people having a go at players. But what pisses me off the most is sau that one player has been good for a period of time. He plays one bad game and he's automatically declared as crap.

Or say a player has just transferred in, everyone expect them to set things alight. Case in point for Man United fans, Evra and Vida. They made many eat their words. I know of one United fan on here who even went to the extent of calling Carrick the next Djemba-Djemba. What crap ehh?? Constructive criticsm is fine, but when all they do is critic, b**ch and moan, it gets tiring really. There's a fine line between criticizing and moaning.
nakata101
post Jan 29 2008, 11:20 PM

*******(PES&WE)******* Play Like Champion
2,423 posts

QUOTE(air_mood @ Jan 29 2008, 11:05 PM)
Don't mind people having a go at players. But what pisses me off the most is sau that one player has been good for a period of time. He plays one bad game and he's automatically declared as crap.

Or say a player has just transferred in, everyone expect them to set things alight. Case in point for Man United fans, Evra and Vida. They made many eat their words. I know of one United fan on here who even went to the extent of calling Carrick the next Djemba-Djemba. What crap ehh?? Constructive criticsm is fine, but when all they do is critic, b**ch and moan, it gets tiring really. There's a fine line between criticizing and moaning.
Yaya.... some of them curse AFC got to hell, they still think AFC cause the Man U cancel the trip game bcoz of the AFC ASIAN 2007, they even dunno thats bcoz of the Malaysia Boleh FAM stupid mistake. Maybe they are the real fans, but they too reasonless, but i m not that kind of reasonless, yes, i m Man U fans, but i m seldom to post a word there.
munky
post Jan 29 2008, 11:32 PM

1,971 posts

Bullshit

No offence but you really believe liverpool reserves are better than Everton ?
air_mood
post Jan 30 2008, 12:20 AM

4,150 posts

QUOTE(nakata101 @ Jan 29 2008, 11:20 PM)
Yaya.... some of them curse AFC got to hell, they still think AFC cause the Man U cancel the trip game bcoz of the AFC ASIAN 2007, they even dunno thats bcoz of the Malaysia Boleh FAM stupid mistake. Maybe they are the real fans, but they too reasonless, but i m not that kind of reasonless, yes, i m Man U fans, but  i m seldom to post a word there.
I'm not talking about AFC. I'm talking about my club and the players. I do think AFC can piss off and don't really give a damn about them, just so that we're clear on that.
Belphegor
post Jan 30 2008, 12:28 AM

Dreamer
5,806 posts

Bro, you love your favourite team, you passionate care about them, you stick with them during ups and downs, that's fine, I respect that. But your siggy doesn't seem to earn any respect at all. Everton not considered a good team? Their standard like Tranmare Rovers? Please mind that Evertonian is on 4th where as Liverpool at 6th spot. At least show some respect to other club. Even I'm a Chelsea fan, I don't say or make something to humiliate the rival team of my favourite team.

Then what are you?

I'm not picking on you just because you support Liverpool and I support Chelsea. Is plainly because your siggy is very offensive for those who are Evertonian. Is such a shame when you tried to compare a team in Premier League with some lower division team. At least show some respect..

This post has been edited by Belphegor: Jan 30 2008, 12:30 AM
air_mood
post Jan 30 2008, 12:35 AM

4,150 posts

I don't like Liverpool, everyone knows that. So, me taking the piss out of Pool is normality really as they are our rivals. As is me taking the piss out of Citeh. Rivals, so I'm not expected to like them. Seeing them losing, going bankrupt is good fun for me. Ditto the point to Pool vs Everton.
nakata101
post Jan 30 2008, 06:06 AM

*******(PES&WE)******* Play Like Champion
2,423 posts

QUOTE(air_mood @ Jan 30 2008, 12:20 AM)
I'm not talking about AFC. I'm talking about my club and the players. I do think AFC can piss off and don't really give a damn about them, just so that we're clear on that.
I m talking about them which r reasonless, like u said :" know of one United fan on here who even went to the extent of calling Carrick the next Djemba-Djemba. What crap ehh??". Bcoz their thread got too many stupid comment like this, so i m seldom post word there, but at there also got many nice fans lah.
Quick`
post Jan 30 2008, 06:40 AM

735 posts

hmm..real fan ar
1) when your team striker scores...imitate him with his acts and run around your hse doing crazy things
2) sms your friends when your team beat your friends team
3) take off your shirt and swing it in the air when your team wins a game
4) shout loudly when your team scores..if at home make sure everyone that is sleeping wakes up
if ure watching in public areas..make sure everyone notices you and stare at you 1 kind
5) always support fake jerseys if you dont have money to buy the ori's
last but not least
support 1 team and only 1 team all the way~:
till death puts you apart

StarGhazzer
post Jan 30 2008, 09:27 AM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(air_mood @ Jan 30 2008, 12:35 AM)
I don't like Liverpool, everyone knows that. So, me taking the piss out of Pool is normality really as they are our rivals. As is me taking the piss out of Citeh. Rivals, so I'm not expected to like them. Seeing them losing, going bankrupt is good fun for me. Ditto the point to Pool vs Everton.
Being a real fan doesn't give you the right to be rude to other fans, but I get your point. As long as you don't do it in other threads or even in the face of other fans, that's ok. We diss rivals teams all the time but mainly in our own discussions, as long as it doesn't cause fights.

QUOTE(Quick` @ Jan 30 2008, 06:40 AM)
hmm..real fan ar
1) when your team striker scores...imitate him with his acts and run around your hse doing crazy things
2) sms your friends when your team beat your friends team
3) take off your shirt and swing it in the air when your team wins a game
4) shout loudly when your team scores..if at home make sure everyone that is sleeping wakes up
if ure watching in public areas..make sure everyone notices you and stare at you 1 kind
5) always support fake jerseys if you dont have money to buy the ori's
last but not least
support 1 team and only 1 team all the way~:
till death puts you apart
2. Erm... that would surely taint the name of your club. So it's not a good way of being a fan. sweat.gif

5. = laugh.gif

This post has been edited by StarGhazzer: Jan 30 2008, 09:32 AM

34 Pages « < 22 23 24 25 26 > » Top

0.0284sec    1.29    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 11:28 PM