Discussion A 'real fan', How do we become one?

Jonno
post Jan 17 2008, 01:21 PM

JFT 96
1,164 posts

QUOTE(aztechx @ Apr 22 2007, 04:07 AM)
well i have sumthing different to share..mentioned this before in the man utd thread..and i dun mind mentioning it again here.. smile.gif

well..honestly i started supporting man utd in 99..the treble season..why was that?mainly..2 reasons..the first one wud be a rather funny one..my first ever football match was the FA cup final between man utd and liverpool..i was 11 i think..that time..i only had a slight interest in man utd..knowing a bit here and there but not knowing when are they playing and so on..but when we won the treble..i started to seriously support them..why?bcos they were strong..i didnt care much about anything else bcos i was 12 and evryone around me was watching football..my love for the team increased year after year but i couldnt watch all their games as i didnt have astro yet..when my dad installed astro,i watched about 70% of the games..(no late games..still schooling that time) sad.gif

that was how it all started..i still consider myself new to man utd compared to sum of the old timers in this forum..so i wont call myself a true fan just yet..tongue.gif
but if i do..ill be proud to say that my reason wud be that altho i started supporting man utd bcos they were strong,i stayed supporting them all thru the difficult years we had until this season..and i didnt for once consider jumping ships altho everyone around me were..and only after my SPM..any MU match is a must for me...i searched high and low for man utd merchandises..i pasted pics from newspapers on my wall beside the posters..i keep my newsnow window open 24hours a day..and i hissed at random people wearing jerseys other then that of man utd.....ok i made the last one up.. so do i pass the test to be a true fan?i sound more like a poser.. laugh.gif tongue.gif
There are no difficult years for man U in the past 15 years or so. FACT.

QUOTE(esca_flo @ Jan 17 2008, 01:10 PM)
ever heard of love at first sight?    taken from wikipedia:  Love at first sight is an emotional condition whereby a person feels romantic attraction for a stranger on the first encounter with the stranger. The term may be used to refer to a mere sexual attraction or crush, but it usually refers to actually falling in love with someone literally the very first time one sees him or her, along with the deep desire to have an intimate relationship with that person. The stranger may or may not be aware that the other person has any such notion, and may not even be aware of the other person's presence (such as in a crowded place). Sometimes two people experience this phenomenon towards each other at the same time, usually when their eyes meet.
There's no such thing as love at first sigh, only LUST at first sight, think about it. what do you love about that person (remember, at first sight), their looks? Their body? Their hair? Their clothes? What? Don't say personality as there is NO way you can know ones personality by merely look at them (remember, at FIRST sight). So all these love at first sight is bullshit to me, just admit it, all you want to do is to get into her pants and screw the brains out of her... whistling.gif

Back to the topic, a "Real" fan? Actually it's easy, to me, no matter who you support, how you started supporting it, whether you were attracted to the brand of football or the onfield success or the ease of the merchandise, a real fan would spend time to get to know the team / club a bit more and show genuine concern about the onfield and off filed matters concerning the club. That's all, if you have that, you are a real fan (not to be confused with a "Real, Passionate Fan").

There are too many glory hunters amongst the ranks, they know nothing about the team or club (some would even struggle to name the starting line up), all they know is "XXX is the best team!!!" They don't bother learning about the club, don't bother to get to know the team / club more, they might own a hundred jerseys, all with their own name on it, but because of that they are not a real fan to me, they are what the owners want, spenders. Since we are on the love analogy, the gloty hunters to me are just a a guy who claimed that he love the girl when he sees her or about to sleep with her. He doesn't call her, doesn't take her out for dates or anything, he loves her just for the bedroom romps. Like the glory hunters, they don't learn about the club, knows practically next to zero about the club, but would proclaim their undying love come match day and would congregate at wherever to watch the game. If their team lose, they would normally trod to the car to change into their nice shirt before going clubbing. whistling.gif
Jonno
post Jan 17 2008, 09:20 PM

JFT 96
1,164 posts

QUOTE(madmoz @ Jan 17 2008, 02:49 PM)
I disagreeeeeeeeeee!
I was going out with somebody for 6 moths (which was then a record stint for me - yes yes, i'm sad).
She was with the same fella for 4 years.
One fine morning she knocks on my door accidentally. A week later we were an item... and she is now the evil missus, the one who approves the purchase orders.
Heh? 'Lust at first sight' or 'love at first sight'?
How long before you erm... get into her pants? That night itself? Or the next day? Or after a week? Than we can assess it properly... brows.gif
Jonno
post Jan 17 2008, 09:37 PM

JFT 96
1,164 posts

QUOTE(madmoz @ Jan 17 2008, 09:27 PM)
Heh... you think i'm gonna disclose that without the influence of alcohol? I'm NOT Tom Hicks!
Then we can't determine whether it's love at first sight or lust at first sight, but very likely to be lust, looking at the way you answer... whistling.gif
Jonno
post Jan 17 2008, 09:49 PM

JFT 96
1,164 posts

QUOTE(madmoz @ Jan 17 2008, 09:43 PM)
Like i said, SAYA BUKAN MR. HICKS. smile.gif
Errr... sweat.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif
Jonno
post Jan 19 2008, 12:47 AM

JFT 96
1,164 posts

QUOTE(Haunkiem @ Jan 18 2008, 04:15 AM)
I dont like the language of " judging and discriminating " .

I think thats a load of bull .

If someone gives a view on someone else, then it's fair comment to me  as long as it is not personal. Saying a type of person is or is not a real fan is in no way judgemental whatever the fcuk that means , unless the person admits it .

A real fan to me is someone who played the game competitively 1st them became a fan or someone who follows the game from a non glamour pondan perspective.
Comments made here were never personal, until you take it that way. It is a healthy discussion, to me, if you can't even take internet forum discussion and woould take it personal, then I would suggest you to reassess the reason you log on here or the whole thing and refrain from part take from ANY discussion at all. By the way, I am not targetting you, just a general comment towards those who'd take comments personally and get upset with it.

Having said that, I do get personal with idiots who come in without any substance, just stupid oneliners. Anyway back to the topic...

A real fan need not have to play the game competitively, but I do agree the "someone who follows the game from a non glamour pondan perspective" part, there are too many who'd follow a team then switch when they didn't do that well. I know people who have a few different strips of different clubs doh.gif

I guess the worst is the ones who proclaim that they don't support any team, they only support money or teams that "brings them money", to me that has to be the worst type of supporter. They have nothing to do than watching the game with hard earned money at stake, in a gamble that they have no control over, to me it's pretty stupid, but then again, to each his own...

Jonno
post Jan 19 2008, 05:12 PM

JFT 96
1,164 posts

QUOTE(-Y- @ Jan 19 2008, 04:53 PM)
WOW!!! fiorentina fans? really hard to see. yeah i think roma popularity in malaysia is much bigger than fiorentina. but really appreciate we have fiorentina fans in m'sia. either u hard core or not, really appreciate it. i also fiorentina fans before. em, not exactly fiorentina fans. i only like batistuta. (what a great player of all time). he make debut in serie a when he played fiorentina. what a great career he had there. 9 season with the violet. but then, he goes to roma. at that time, i like milan. and bcause of him, alongside with totti, i felt in love with roma. until today. roma is still in my heart. but when he goes to inter, i felt very frustrated as sheva leaves milan for chelsea. i really hope roma some day can be as power as milan. these two teams are my fav teams..
This is a prime example of a "real" fan... I counted 3 teams, not sure there's any other teams... hmm.gif
Jonno
post Jan 20 2008, 07:30 PM

JFT 96
1,164 posts

QUOTE(Duke Red @ Jan 20 2008, 06:28 PM)
To some (like myself), switching clubs is a cardinal sin. Like you say though, there are different degrees of fans. To me, it's more than a game. Liverpool to me, is a way of life. Sounds silly? Long story short, you can learn from the values the club preaches. Not being a fanatical supporter, you probably won't get what I mean but I just had to add my 2 cents to your comment about it being just a game, for entertainment. Also because I noticed you switched allegiances.
QUOTE(air_mood @ Jan 20 2008, 06:31 PM)
Not just a cardinal sin. I maybe going over the top but thos who switches club have no sense of loyalty and are a sorry excuse for a human being. They should be castrated and be relieved of their manhood.
What if it's a woamn who switched the clubs? Can't castrate them... whistling.gif

To me, this is the problem the world is facing, not just the footballing or sporting world. To be absolutely honest, I have no problem if one started supporting a club at it's height, but the difference between the real fans and the glory hunters are the real fans would look up the history and other things related to the club they support. While the glory hunters, what ca I say? They are just glory hunters.

I know a few people who switched clubs, I live with one, my father in law, used to be a Liverpool fan, then supported Man U and now he swears by Chelsea. Of course, he gets it form me everytime we watch games, but given that he is 65, most of the time I just give him that smirk. I have no respect for people like that. Perhaps these people just want to feel belong and great, it's the thing with the "plastic" culture we have, they want to be seen as cool and hip, thus would be following teams that are on top. I really want to see how many Man City fans there are should they win something this season. Or for that matter, Bolton. whistling.gif doh.gif

Jonno
post Jan 20 2008, 07:45 PM

JFT 96
1,164 posts

QUOTE(-Y- @ Jan 20 2008, 07:30 PM)
i like milan n roma. count carefully.
Trying to count carefully, but somehow I got 3...

QUOTE(-Y- @ Jan 19 2008, 04:53 PM)
WOW!!! fiorentina fans? really hard to see. yeah i think roma popularity in malaysia is much bigger than fiorentina. but really appreciate we have fiorentina fans in m'sia. either u hard core or not, really appreciate it. i also fiorentina fans before. em, not exactly fiorentina fans. i only like batistuta. (what a great player of all time). he make debut in serie a when he played fiorentina. what a great career he had there. 9 season with the violet. but then, he goes to roma. at that time, i like milan. and bcause of him, alongside with totti, i felt in love with roma. until today. roma is still in my heart. but when he goes to inter, i felt very frustrated as sheva leaves milan for chelsea. i really hope roma some day can be as power as milan. these two teams are my fav teams..
Ex Fiorentina Fan, Current Milan & Roma fan, would that be 3 clubs that you HAVE supported? rclxub.gif
Jonno
post Jan 20 2008, 07:51 PM

JFT 96
1,164 posts

QUOTE(-Y- @ Jan 20 2008, 07:28 PM)
actually, it depends on everybody thought. i dont think switching club is a cardinal sin or loyalty. pergh, guys..  rclxub.gif  it is ok until u find the rite 1. as long as u love football. i myself love milan. but i like epl games also. i cheer arsenal also. i like liverpool compete for the 1st spot in epl. thats why i think they should get klinssman. i like man u play. as long as u love football. if you really a hardcore fan, just cheer our liga m only lah..
This is not like finding a wife or husband, even then, you stick to the one you have, work on the difference and cherish the good points. It would be easy to ditch the club / wife / husband / GF / BF and find another one, it's the easy way out. Which means people who do this don't have the heart to rough it out when the team is not doing well. Which can only points to one thing --> GLORY HUNTERS

Please don't tell me that there are "fans" (I am using the term very loosely here) would switch club when the club is doing very well. They would of course only switch when they are not doing well. So, you fail to notice other things, factors or potential of the club or team next time around and choose to ditch them because they fall in the Semi? Or they came second? This also shows that those who switch teams lack PROPER football knowledge and could not see anything that is football related, they would only know the score from the Sunday papers or watching the match at any disco or club they are at with music pumping without commentary, dancing away, occassionally glancing up at the TV. doh.gif

Added on January 20, 2008, 7:53 pm
QUOTE(-Y- @ Jan 20 2008, 07:47 PM)

read carefully..
OK you win, you ONLY support 2 teams that is Milan and roma, sorry for calling you a glory hunter and confused fan. Obviously I still have a lot to learn about this thing called football. notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by Jonno: Jan 20 2008, 07:53 PM
Jonno
post Jan 20 2008, 08:19 PM

JFT 96
1,164 posts

QUOTE(-Y- @ Jan 20 2008, 08:03 PM)
bro. i am 'real' milan fans. but im oso like roma as batigol played there many years ago. i watch my team's match. and oso other match. come n think again, thierry henry is a great player. now, he play for barca but still he is arsenal fans. so, he got two team to cheer. n we, not a professional in football arena, can say that u a not a 'real' fans. u not loyal. blah blah blah. SAF is manager of man u. but he is milan fans oso. so u should castrated him lah? ayoo... this is football. be like them la. be professional.

FYI, im milan fans. long time ago n recently. i never switch team. hope u got it.

I think you are a bit confused. whistling.gif
Jonno
post Jan 21 2008, 11:46 AM

JFT 96
1,164 posts

QUOTE(Duke Red @ Jan 21 2008, 09:31 AM)
Supporting more than 1 club just means that you seldom feel the agony of defeat. Supporting Chelsea, Man Utd, Liverpool and Chelsea just means that you are afraid to commit to 1 club because you are afraid to feel sadness when your team doesn't win.

I can understand people who say they are fans of the game but don't support any particular club. Fair play, you appreciate good football. I cannot however like airmood has stated comprehend how fans can claim to support more than 1 club in a league, especially if they are rivals as per the example stated in the paragraph above. If you went to Liverpool and told supporters there you support Man Utd as well, you'd be crucified, and vice versa.
Crucified? You'll be lucky if your next of kin recognise you and can collect your body in one piece, rather than a sponge and a bucket. whistling.gif

I agree with Duke, air_mood and a few others, while we should ignore the golry hunters, it's their stupid statements that is both idiotic and funny that makes you wanting to shoot them and at the same time tell them that they are stupid, confused and should not open their mouth at all. It's hard to ignore when they go around spewing out "facts" and theory VERBATIM from the papers or internet, and have no opinion of their own, all these while acting as though they know a lot about their "team" that is what get me the most.

Oh yeah, funny that I don't aee Apis Lua Lua here? He is a REAL fan of 3 clubs after all... whistling.gif
Jonno
post Jan 21 2008, 12:54 PM

JFT 96
1,164 posts

QUOTE(shah_ho_nam @ Jan 21 2008, 12:35 PM)
yeah i know it wasn't me.. biggrin.gif the thing is why u flame him... he's just telling u what he feels.. for me the knowledge about football also important.. i don't think glory hunter issue was the main thing there. form what i understand, he's telling us that he admired Man U, i know him because he was the same Milan fans as myself here.. and what's wrong having 2 different clubs in 2 different countries. like me, i like Chelsea for epl and Milan for Serie A. He said that he like the was Arsenal play. like the way Man U manage his team and like Chelsea on the way they spent money flawlessly (some say).

it's hurting sometimes when we try to tell others how we admired something. Don't just flame for no reason.. ABout Roma and totti, and batistuta.. it's his Idol. Same as me here. always admired Giggs, Cantona from Man U but i am not saying that i banned Man U for life. i just say.. let's go on play on the field..let the score do the talking.. and enough of this crap already

peace thumbup.gif
This will be the last thing I say in this issue, I think he was confused with support and like. It's either that or he somehow screw up in his deliverance of the statement.
You can admire or like the way another team plays or a good player or another manager, but he clearly pointed out that he WAS a fiorentina fan (but not really because he likes Batigol, therefore the confused part), then he supported Roma when Batigol went there and supports them till now (according to him), then he went on to add that he also supports Milan, which in a way can be weird for us who are passionate fans of our club. Perhaps we are a bit too extreme? icon_rolleyes.gif

QUOTE(air_mood @ Jan 21 2008, 12:39 PM)
You know what pissed me off the most??? There was this one poster, bubucaca I think it was. He claims to support Man United, Liverpool and Arsenal. So I confronted him about it. His point of defence??

"Well at least I go to all their stadiums and buy all their merchandise."

I mean like, so the feck what?? If he does actually go to the stadium, I'm sure he's the one who knows feck all about the team, knows feck all what to sing. What a jackass.
I'd say to him "boo fcuking hoo. So you went to all three, and still couldn't make up your mind? I feel sorry for you, please go again and buy more merchandise..."

At least the club will make money from idiots like these. The thing is that all of us will admire player from another team or the way another team play, but never switch allegiences. Cnuts like that are just covering their bases like someone said. Heck, they might even go to big matches with 2 tops, one underneath the other, so they will be "supporter" of the winning team.
Cnut of the highest order...

Added on January 21, 2008, 1:06 pm
QUOTE(metalz @ Jan 21 2008, 12:45 PM)
Most of MU fans cannot even tell who was their manager before Alex Ferguson and manager before before Alex. What kind of fans do you call for this?
One of my favourite question to suspected Man U glory hunters, I'll then tell them in a very nice way...
"It's Ron Atkinson aka Big Ron and Dave Sexton before that" then I'll add, "Oh by the way, your club is known as Newton Heath when it was formed before changing the name to Manchester United in 1902, due to Newton heath went bankrupt and almost had to close down for good." And I am a Liverpool fan!!! doh.gif

I agree with air_mood on the history and knowledge thing, it's so easy these days, you find everything on wiki, spend like half an hour or an hour reading it and you'll know almost everything you need to know about YOUR club and more, how bloody hard is that? Sites like this., this or this are not hard to find and read, the fact that they wouldn't do it is beyond me doh.gif

By the way, click on the thrid one and check out the site address, even wiki called them CHEKSKI!!! whistling.gif

This post has been edited by Jonno: Jan 21 2008, 01:07 PM
Jonno
post Jan 21 2008, 02:35 PM

JFT 96
1,164 posts

QUOTE(air_mood @ Jan 21 2008, 02:20 PM)
The fact remains that this is a forum full of schoolkids. Not really saying that it's a bad thing but you see too many of Liverpool fans going..."Ooohhh, Gerrard is the most awesomest player in the world...." or Man United fan going...." Ronaldo is clearly the best ever player to play football."..

They are more bothered with those kind of things than rationale or proper discussions, usually pointing one liners without nothing to back it up. i won't be suprised to find Man United fans here who doesn't know anything about Munich 58 or Pool fans who don't know about Heysel and Hillsborough.
True, that is what meself, Duke, Zypher, JonC, Maddie and a few other older fans trying to do, knock some sense into the younger fans so they appreciate everything about the club, it's been a slow process, but working nonetheless.

By the way, you guys doing anything for the Munich tribute?

Jonno
post Jan 21 2008, 03:06 PM

JFT 96
1,164 posts

QUOTE(air_mood @ Jan 21 2008, 02:52 PM)
There's hardly even a real active community of Man United fans in the country, as far as I know although I do know there's the clubhouse in SS2 though. Not really a fan of viewing party or anything of that sort as well considering i don't like to be disturbed when I watch my football. If there is anything happening somewhere it will be in that EPLPlus column on NST though. Seen nothing so far.

But I do find what the club is doing remembrance of the tragedy excellent though. The tribute they are doing in Manchester I mean. The retro kits, the big tribute on the East Stand. Big ass picture of the Busby Babed and the United Calypso on the side although I do find AIG stamping their logo on the tibute a bit out of taste though. Then there's the little bits of recognition like Rooney, Rio and Ronaldo asking for all blacks boots for the occasion instead of their usual flashy ones. Going to be an awesome day. Hopefully the blue bitters don't spoil it though. England don't trust their fans enough to pay tribute to the Busby Babes and called of a tribute that would have happened on 6th February, the exact day of the 50th anniversary of the disaster when coincidentally England will be having a friendly game.

For me, nothing better for a tribute to the Busby Babes than crushing the bitter blues with excellent football in the true fashion of the Busby Babes.
It will be an awesome day, the thing is mate, if the community is not doing anything, perhaps you could take it upon yourself and start something. That's how MyRAWK was born, we wanted something different, got talking over a few beers as always, and here we are, going stronger as ever. The tribute match could be a start, you have a couple of weeks, although the timing with CNY is not the best, but something to build on.

Jonno
post Jan 21 2008, 03:10 PM

JFT 96
1,164 posts

QUOTE(madmoz @ Jan 21 2008, 03:04 PM)
I'm flattered but i am hardly as 'real' as you guys. I have a soft spot for manchester city as well remember  sweat.gif
Oh yeah, you're the original Apis Lua Lua, supports Liverpool, Man City and Stockport, right? whistling.gif
Jonno
post Jan 21 2008, 03:14 PM

JFT 96
1,164 posts

QUOTE(madmoz @ Jan 21 2008, 03:09 PM)
well, we could get a bunch of liverpool supporters together with some manc supporters for a game of futsal?
Errr, can, but I may need to alert the police first just in case... whistling.gif

Actually, that's a good idea. let's get the plan our after CNY, as a tribute to the Munich Disaster? What do you think air_mood?

Jonno
post Jan 21 2008, 03:41 PM

JFT 96
1,164 posts

Found these, one of my first posts in LYN, those were the times... Related to this thread...

Jonno
post Jan 21 2008, 04:06 PM

JFT 96
1,164 posts

QUOTE(Edi8888 @ Jan 21 2008, 03:25 PM)
i dunno the club history well, i dunno the player well, i dunno where is anfield,
the 1st player i know is owen, and he was still 16 and no body know him yet,

also i dunno liverpool have a sucesfull history durin 70~80, i though liverpool is a loser team, but i still support liverpool
but im liverpool forever, i was born to be liverpool,  maybe the color? but i dont like red color, i like white and blue,

maybe the world Liverpool ? i dunno
Was looking for the long post I did on the history of Liverpool about 4 months back, but unfortunately it's no longer there, perhaps if someone have it somewhere or know how to find it, please help out a little.

I agree with Duke and JonC, we've been following for a while before decided to go on our own, so far so good. There'll be good days and bad days, but the thing is that you will get a few that you can bet your bottom dollar that they WILL come. Start small, then see it grow.
aw13, you guys had the advantage of everyone is still relatively young within your fellow supporters, it's a good time to grow together and become the hard core crazy ones like meself, Duke, JonC, Zypher and a few others. whistling.gif
Jonno
post Jan 21 2008, 04:11 PM

JFT 96
1,164 posts

QUOTE(aw13 @ Jan 21 2008, 04:07 PM)
ah but then again, I'm not that young, and would prefer the hardcores anytime over the noobs.  and the questions they ask.... doh.gif

but we are growing no doubt about that.  and it's always nice to watch with ppl who shares the same sentiments.   thumbup.gif
Then it's easier to get the blokes along then, all you need is about 5 or 6 to start from, and watch it grow slowly. Before you know it, you'll go like, "fcuking 'ell, we had 50 constantly now, before it was only the 6 of us..." Trust me...

Added on January 21, 2008, 4:12 pm
QUOTE(vampireffect @ Jan 21 2008, 04:09 PM)
a loyal man utd supporter here  brows.gif

err...wat is RAWK ??
We know you la, but what about others? RAWK = Red And White Kopites... icon_rolleyes.gif

So, what say you? can get a bunch of Man U kaki for a tribute futsal game against us old Liverpool uncle? thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by Jonno: Jan 21 2008, 04:12 PM
Jonno
post Jan 21 2008, 04:23 PM

JFT 96
1,164 posts

QUOTE(air_mood @ Jan 21 2008, 04:18 PM)
Not sure a viewing party is my kind of thing though, seeing that I'm a student. Secondly, being a student. I'm always broke!!! Heheh. But there has been a fair few in the thread who I see are keen to organize viewing parties among themselves though. Thing they've already done it a couple of times as well.

Probably not the best experience to compare to but when I go to watch matches with my friends at mamak stalls( which is a rare occurence), people tend to moan and all when things don't go our way. Irritates me to be honest. Yes, one is disappointed but to b**ch and moan all the time, it's bloody irritating. Hence why I choose to watch the match at home. No one disturbs me and I concentrate on a game. If Rooney flips someone off, I'll see it. Heheh. And as I told Duke before, although I watch the game at home, I'm a bit of a nutcase. I sing a long to the songs and you know that collective roar the crowd do when the ball hits the net, I do that to. Hahaha. Chances are when you go outside, you're more likely to hear..."Gila ahhh Rooney, terer nak mampos"...or..."Fulamak Gerrard" or "Wah lau weh Ronaldo"....

But rest assured, if I get to watch the game at OT it will be a whole other matter though. People can b**** and moan all they want.
You can create the atmosphere, if you think that is moaning, you should see us in action, especially when JonC is a bit, errr, intoxicated... tongue.gif

0.0220sec    0.76    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 07:41 AM