125 Pages « < 89 90 91 92 93 > » Bottom

The SSD Thread V6, Solid State Drive, Continued.

sHawTY
post Oct 11 2019, 11:05 AM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

QUOTE(lhdn @ Oct 11 2019, 10:35 AM)
Guys mx500 1tb rm483 from viewnet worth it or just wait further price reduction?
Just buy lah
Ko nak tunggu sampai bila? Until 1TB turun sampai RM100? laugh.gif
lhdn
post Oct 11 2019, 11:24 AM

23 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Oct 11 2019, 12:05 PM)
Just buy lah
Ko nak tunggu sampai bila? Until 1TB turun sampai RM100? laugh.gif
Waiting until reach rm300 under 😂
Since want to install rdr 2, 150gb filesizd
sHawTY
post Oct 11 2019, 11:34 AM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

QUOTE(lhdn @ Oct 11 2019, 11:24 AM)
Waiting until reach rm300 under 😂
You're gonna have to wait a few more years for it to reach that price
kingkingyyk
post Oct 11 2019, 11:45 AM

15,694 posts

QUOTE(kevinyap100 @ Oct 11 2019, 09:52 AM)
Currently using i5-8500 8gb ram

Would you mind to teach how can i monitor the CPU and Disk usage?

So i am thinking to upgrade ssd to 500gb, afraid SSD suddenly died.
Task Manager > Performance
ck.chunkeat
post Oct 12 2019, 09:35 PM

Change.
1,327 posts

Hi guys, generally how long does ssd's life span last?
My ssd just died without any notice. So probably going to buy a new ssd. my laptop is y580 , quite old, only have sata and msata port.

I'm thinking of either buying a cheap 2.5" ssd to tahan first ( looking at around 100 gb).
or just buy a 500gb m2 and use converter until i change laptop/pc.

More info here:
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4850245
1024kbps
post Oct 12 2019, 10:27 PM

李素裳
6,012 posts

QUOTE(ck.chunkeat @ Oct 12 2019, 09:35 PM)
Hi guys, generally how long does ssd's life span last?
My ssd just died without any notice. So probably going to buy a new ssd. my laptop is y580 , quite old, only have sata and msata port.

I'm thinking of either buying a cheap 2.5" ssd to tahan first ( looking at around 100 gb).
or just buy a 500gb m2 and use converter until i change laptop/pc.
More info here:
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4850245
depends, if you keep download large file on it, and no over-provisioning, you will kill it, fast.
chocobo7779
post Oct 12 2019, 10:53 PM

Power is nothing without control
14,673 posts

QUOTE(1024kbps @ Oct 12 2019, 10:27 PM)
depends, if you keep download large file on it, and no over-provisioning, you will kill it, fast.
Also depends on the quality of the NAND flash though - I have numerous machines that use Samsung 840 EVOs and all of them are still working fine tongue.gif
ck.chunkeat
post Oct 12 2019, 10:54 PM

Change.
1,327 posts

QUOTE(1024kbps @ Oct 12 2019, 10:27 PM)
I mostly use it as a boot drive. all my games/ files are stored on the hdd. Seldom use the apps installed on ssd.
Also i try to maintain the ssd to be half used. Last i see, it was at 60-70gb free out of 128gb.
ck.chunkeat
post Oct 12 2019, 11:05 PM

Change.
1,327 posts

Guys, need suggestion:
or just buy a better quality 500gb m2 and use converter until i change laptop/pc.
sHawTY
post Oct 12 2019, 11:39 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

QUOTE(ck.chunkeat @ Oct 12 2019, 11:05 PM)
Guys, need suggestion:
or just buy a better quality 500gb m2 and use converter until i change laptop/pc.
I saw your thread. Don't bother getting M.2 SATA SSD
The only M.2 SSD to get is NVMe SSD but you can't use NVMe SSD in your laptop even with a converter
hirota
post Oct 13 2019, 01:19 PM

2,386 posts

QUOTE(hirota @ Oct 8 2019, 11:55 AM)
ok thanks
then i will go for xpg spectrix S40g
using this xpg spectrix S40g 512gb now
found that the temperature quite high... 73'C
could it caused by the RGB?

how about SX8200 temperature ?

ck.chunkeat
post Oct 13 2019, 02:12 PM

Change.
1,327 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Oct 12 2019, 11:39 PM)
I saw your thread. Don't bother getting M.2 SATA SSD
The only M.2 SSD to get is NVMe SSD but you can't use NVMe SSD in your laptop even with a converter
Ok noted, thanks. Learned something about b key m key for ssd.

Anyway, what about some 2.5" ssd? Should I just get something cheap and save up for next pc upgrade?
is there a 2.5" SSD with around 100 or less than that? Will just need it for booting.
Cause my current pc still working without much problem. Wasn't slow at all with the SSD.

This should work right? less than rm100
https://www.lazada.com.my/products/kingston...s461064762.html?

This post has been edited by ck.chunkeat: Oct 13 2019, 02:14 PM
sHawTY
post Oct 13 2019, 02:42 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

QUOTE(hirota @ Oct 13 2019, 01:19 PM)
found that the temperature quite high... 73'C
could it caused by the RGB?
Yes, it's because of the RGB controller
QUOTE(hirota @ Oct 13 2019, 01:19 PM)
how about SX8200 temperature ?
My SX8200 Pro runs between 43°C ~ 48°C
WiLeKiyO
post Oct 14 2019, 10:59 AM

5,144 posts

Looking for 240GB budget SSD with DRAM, what option do I have?
sHawTY
post Oct 14 2019, 11:06 AM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

QUOTE(WiLeKiyO @ Oct 14 2019, 10:59 AM)
Looking for 240GB budget SSD with DRAM, what option do I have?
Crucial MX500, WD Blue 3D & Samsung 860 EVO
go626201
post Oct 24 2019, 03:31 PM

1,882 posts

Guys,this new kingston one can or not? brows.gif
https://www.lowyat.net/2019/197226/kingston...YtEiGfXOuzH_Y9I
skylinelover
post Oct 26 2019, 02:00 PM

Future Crypto Player😄👊Driver Abamsado😎😎
11,245 posts

haha my 250GB still going strong but yet again 0 price drop made me hold upgrade again laugh.gif laugh.gif plan 2 chuck 300 steam games in 1 SSD soon brows.gif brows.gif
Maxieos
post Oct 27 2019, 02:14 AM

3,756 posts

Crucial MX500
WD Blue 3D
Samsung 860 EVO

Any different on them ? I see the different between Samsung vs Crucial is like almost 30% of price.Samsung 500mb is like RM380 while Crucial is RM300.
What about WD Blue 3D features like cache ?
invisiblelim
post Oct 29 2019, 12:37 PM

1,263 posts

I'm still waiting for ADATA XPG SX8200 Pro 2TB Price drop.. lol
xXDeaDXR3dDXx
post Oct 30 2019, 08:19 AM

96 posts

Hey guys, I hope all is well. May I kindly request your recommendation on 1TB SSD?

My fiancee has a HP Envy x360 13 inch (AMD Ryzen 2500U). Currently running 256GB and I would like to upgrade for her to 1TB. According to the product manual, the storage used is a NVMe SSD. I've gone around to check on Lazada and I'm currently leaning on to Crucial P1 NVMe SSD.

I'm not really that tech savvy and also my fiancee laptops is used for her work as a Lecturer. Running a lot of data programs.

I'm actually heading to Lowyat today and would like to see if you guys have any more value for money option? Any shops you would recommend in Lowyat as well would help.

Thanks a lot guy!

125 Pages « < 89 90 91 92 93 > » Top

0.0280sec    0.97    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 11:11 AM