The SSD Thread V6, Solid State Drive, Continued.

ck.chunkeat
post Oct 12 2019, 09:35 PM

Change.
1,327 posts

Hi guys, generally how long does ssd's life span last?
My ssd just died without any notice. So probably going to buy a new ssd. my laptop is y580 , quite old, only have sata and msata port.

I'm thinking of either buying a cheap 2.5" ssd to tahan first ( looking at around 100 gb).
or just buy a 500gb m2 and use converter until i change laptop/pc.

More info here:
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4850245
ck.chunkeat
post Oct 12 2019, 10:54 PM

Change.
1,327 posts

QUOTE(1024kbps @ Oct 12 2019, 10:27 PM)
depends, if you keep download large file on it, and no over-provisioning, you will kill it, fast.
I mostly use it as a boot drive. all my games/ files are stored on the hdd. Seldom use the apps installed on ssd.
Also i try to maintain the ssd to be half used. Last i see, it was at 60-70gb free out of 128gb.
ck.chunkeat
post Oct 12 2019, 11:05 PM

Change.
1,327 posts

Guys, need suggestion:
I'm thinking of either buying a cheap 2.5" ssd to tahan first ( looking at around 100 gb).
or just buy a better quality 500gb m2 and use converter until i change laptop/pc.
ck.chunkeat
post Oct 13 2019, 02:12 PM

Change.
1,327 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Oct 12 2019, 11:39 PM)
I saw your thread. Don't bother getting M.2 SATA SSD
The only M.2 SSD to get is NVMe SSD but you can't use NVMe SSD in your laptop even with a converter
Ok noted, thanks. Learned something about b key m key for ssd.

Anyway, what about some 2.5" ssd? Should I just get something cheap and save up for next pc upgrade?
is there a 2.5" SSD with around 100 or less than that? Will just need it for booting.
Cause my current pc still working without much problem. Wasn't slow at all with the SSD.

This should work right? less than rm100
https://www.lazada.com.my/products/kingston...s461064762.html?

This post has been edited by ck.chunkeat: Oct 13 2019, 02:14 PM

0.0809sec    0.78    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 12:49 AM