453 Pages « < 307 308 309 310 311 > » Bottom

Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadband Thread V32, Enjoy Your Speed Upgrade

SilentVampire
post Dec 22 2017, 02:29 PM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(sgpdsmss @ Dec 22 2017, 01:40 PM)
can i say that if your ISP more than 100Mbps ...2.4GHz is useless caused cant never get full speed ? only Max 50Mbps ..

if ISP 50Mbps no problem to get full 50Mbps ..

thanks ...
Sadly, 2.4GHz is very congested and full of interference bro. I understand your frustration and I definitely can empathize with you. If your ISP offer more than 100Mbps, you have to move to 5GHz to get more speed. 50Mbps is considered very good for 2.4GHz.

This post has been edited by SilentVampire: Dec 22 2017, 02:30 PM
soonwai
post Dec 22 2017, 02:40 PM

11,459 posts

QUOTE(sgmichael @ Dec 22 2017, 10:11 AM)
Which mean turn off this option is turn off so call "remote management" ? Due to security issue mentioned by some sifu here, it should be turn off?

QUOTE(sgmichael @ Dec 22 2017, 11:40 AM)
Thanks for all sifus trying to help but confusing ......

https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4382989/+6080

Sorry if offend anyone here, just simply want to know the correct setting, thank you thank you.
TR-069 is remote management for TM's use only. It runs on a different VLAN so it's not publicly accessible from the internet. With this, TM can configure your router if the need arises. They also use this to control or configure the BTU. This only works with stock TM routers. You can leave this on, it should be safe.

The other remote management that we talk about is the router's web configuration page. The same one that you're accessing from your LAN. If you don't need to access your router's config remotely then you should turn this off for remote access.

This post has been edited by soonwai: Dec 22 2017, 02:41 PM
soonwai
post Dec 22 2017, 02:52 PM

11,459 posts

can i say that if your ISP more than 100Mbps ...2.4GHz is useless caused cant never get full speed ? only Max 50Mbps ..

thanks ...
Not necessarily. 10mbps also cannot reach. It all depends on so many things.

2.4Ghz vs 5GHz speedtests. Same location, a busy restaurant with plenty of people and wifi around.
user posted imageuser posted image
SilentVampire
post Dec 22 2017, 03:08 PM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Dec 22 2017, 02:52 PM)

2.4Ghz vs 5GHz speedtests. Same location, a busy restaurant with plenty of people and wifi around.
Beautiful example of interference and congestion on the 2.4GHz band which is practically unusable at a busy location in this present time.
fruitie
post Dec 22 2017, 03:21 PM

Rise and Shine
72,878 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Dec 22 2017, 02:52 PM)

For my case, I had no issue getting full speed of 50Mbps all the time but once changed to 100Mbps, it was so difficult to even reach 70Mbps. bangwall.gif Both 2.4GHz and 5GHz, fortunately after rounds of tweaking around, now managed to get 100Mbps.

On 50Mbps, nothing was required.
calvinlaw510
post Dec 22 2017, 03:39 PM

766 posts

thanks ...
In the real life 2.4GHz are hard to get over 100Mbps. In-order to get over 100Mbps AC 5GHz is needed. But 2.4GHz is not useless...as the 2.4GHz has more wider coverage than 5GHz.

Here's the speed i tested in my room with note 8 and the router(C2600) is outside my room.

2.4GHz

5GHz

This post has been edited by calvinlaw510: Dec 22 2017, 04:20 PM
sgmichael
post Dec 22 2017, 03:43 PM

206 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Dec 22 2017, 02:40 PM)
TR-069 is remote management for TM's use only. It runs on a different VLAN so it's not publicly accessible from the internet. With this, TM can configure your router if the need arises. They also use this to control or configure the BTU. This only works with stock TM routers. You can leave this on, it should be safe.

The other remote management that we talk about is the router's web configuration page. The same one that you're accessing from your LAN. If you don't need to access your router's config remotely then you should turn this off for remote access.
Thanks soonwai.

Which mean #6110 you posted yesterday is for disable router web configuration access? (Set to "Discard")
Curious, if we disable this option, mean we blocked ourself as well to access router through web, if we need access in future, how to enable it back since we unable to access the page after disable?
Or do hard reset on router for enable it back ?

AVFAN
post Dec 22 2017, 03:50 PM

24,471 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Dec 22 2017, 03:21 PM)
For my case, I had no issue getting full speed of 50Mbps all the time but once changed to 100Mbps, it was so difficult to even reach 70Mbps.  bangwall.gif Both 2.4GHz and 5GHz, fortunately after rounds of tweaking around, now managed to get 100Mbps.

On 50Mbps, nothing was required.
Maybe i missed... but for the sake of everyone, can u do a summary? biggrin.gif

.. What did u do to get full 100mbps?

.. hoùse or highrise?

.. small, average or big area?

.. 2.4 or 5 ghz or both?

.. ethernet or wifi or both?

.. change router, modem, cables, etc...?

.. how do u get rid of the interference of your other devices n gadgets as said many times to the main culprit?

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Dec 22 2017, 03:53 PM
soonwai
post Dec 22 2017, 04:09 PM

11,459 posts

QUOTE(sgmichael @ Dec 22 2017, 03:43 PM)
Thanks soonwai.

Which mean #6110 you posted yesterday is for disable router web configuration access? (Set to "Discard")
Curious, if we disable this option, mean we blocked ourself as well to access router through web, if we need access in future, how to enable it back since we unable to access the page after disable?
Or do hard reset on router for enable it back ?

If you look closely at the screenshot, the one to set to "Discard" is under WanControl. That's the one for remote access. You disable this one, you can still access via LAN. Don't kacau the LanControl one or else you won't be able to access it at all.
fruitie
post Dec 22 2017, 04:16 PM

Rise and Shine
72,878 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Dec 22 2017, 03:50 PM)
Maybe i missed... but for the sake of everyone, can u do a summary? biggrin.gif

.. What did u do to get full 100mbps?

.. hoùse or highrise?

.. small, average or big area?

.. 2.4 or 5 ghz or both?

.. ethernet or wifi or both?

.. change router, modem, cables, etc...?

.. how do u get rid of the interference of your other devices n gadgets as said many times to the main culprit?
Err.. Goodness la you.

I tweaked the Tx Power Adjustment from 100% to 50%.

House. 2 1/2 Floor. Not sure big or small, around 4000sqft?

Both, 2.4GHz and 5GHz. Tested on my sister's phone and laptop. iPad still 70Mbps regardless how we tried. So we gave up and my sister said can live with that speed on her iPad. I will go back tonight to test my devices.

Both, WiFi and Ethernet.

Nothing was changed. Still used back the previous Huawei WS-880.

Changed channel to 11. 5GHz, I forgot what was the settings. Anyway, channel to me is not important, once we tweaked Tx Power Adjustment, everything works as intended.
cucubud
post Dec 22 2017, 04:18 PM

Super Moderator
3,076 posts

QUOTE(calvinlaw510 @ Dec 22 2017, 03:39 PM)
In the life 2.4GHz are hard to get over 100Mbps. In-order to get over 100Mbps AC 5GHz is needed. But 2.4GHz is not useless...as the 2.4GHz has more wider coverage than 5GHz.

Here's the speed i tested in my room with note 8 and the router(C2600) is outside my room.
2.4GHz

5GHz
Looks like the best speed 2.4GHz can achieve is 90Mbps. smile.gif
soonwai
post Dec 22 2017, 04:20 PM

11,459 posts

Currently using the C1200 as a wifi router.

Speeds are a bit less than when it was just an AP. And the web config is kinda slow.

WiFi Router: TP-Link C1200 v1
Firmware: 1.0.0 Build 20170905 rel.41738 (EU) (It came with this ootb.)

iPhone 6s 2.4GHz N 20MHz channel width

iPhone 6s 5 GHz AC

MacBook Pro Retina 15" USB3 Gbe LAN

This post has been edited by soonwai: Dec 22 2017, 05:57 PM
calvinlaw510
post Dec 22 2017, 04:22 PM

766 posts

QUOTE(cucubud @ Dec 22 2017, 04:18 PM)
Looks like the best speed 2.4GHz can achieve is 90Mbps. smile.gif
Yes. As last time when i am using Unifi pro 100Mbps in my old house, also get around 90Mbps with 2.4GHz.

This post has been edited by calvinlaw510: Dec 22 2017, 04:24 PM
fx20
post Dec 22 2017, 04:24 PM

817 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Dec 22 2017, 04:20 PM)
Currently using the C1200 as a wifi router.

Speeds are a bit less than when it was just an AP. And the web config is kinda slow.

WiFi Router: TP-Link C1200 v1
Firmware: 1.0.0 Build 20170905 rel.41738 (EU) (It came with this ootb.)

iPhone 6s 2.4GHz N 20MHz channel width

iPhone 6s 5 GHz AC
My ping is 50+ms, how can i get a single digit?

This post has been edited by fx20: Dec 22 2017, 04:24 PM
fruitie
post Dec 22 2017, 04:28 PM

Rise and Shine
72,878 posts

QUOTE(fx20 @ Dec 22 2017, 04:24 PM)
50ms is absolutely crazy for UniFi. Mine always single digit since VIP 5 days until now Pro 100.
soonwai
post Dec 22 2017, 04:31 PM

11,459 posts

QUOTE(fx20 @ Dec 22 2017, 04:24 PM)
What's your location? Choose a Speedtest server close to you.

Failing that, high pings usually indicate a noisy wifi environment. How're your pings if you test with a cable?

Are you on fibre or vdsl?

This post has been edited by soonwai: Dec 22 2017, 04:32 PM
fx20
post Dec 22 2017, 04:34 PM

817 posts

I tested with both wifi and wired.
I am on fibre.
fx20
post Dec 22 2017, 04:37 PM

817 posts

BTW, I am in Kuching.
cucubud
post Dec 22 2017, 04:40 PM

Super Moderator
3,076 posts

On WiFi, I got 53ms but on cable, I got 6ms.

AVFAN
post Dec 22 2017, 04:44 PM

24,471 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Dec 22 2017, 04:16 PM)
Err.. Goodness la you.

I tweaked the Tx Power Adjustment from 100% to 50%.

House. 2 1/2 Floor. Not sure big or small, around 4000sqft?

Both, 2.4GHz and 5GHz. Tested on my sister's phone and laptop. iPad still 70Mbps regardless how we tried. So we gave up and my sister said can live with that speed on her iPad. I will go back tonight to test my devices.

Both, WiFi and Ethernet.

Nothing was changed. Still used back the previous Huawei WS-880.

Changed channel to 11. 5GHz, I forgot what was the settings. Anyway, channel to me is not important, once we tweaked Tx Power Adjustment, everything works as intended.
Tq, i will remember that... tx power 50%.

2.5s is a big house... many walls, many things...

So, interference not such a big deal?

U said can get full n now u say ipad not getting full.

So, full or not.... ? im confused...

453 Pages « < 307 308 309 310 311 > » Top

0.0408sec    0.93    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 05:26 AM