> Buying/Importing Goods from Overseas, Custom Tax & Duties

AskarPerang
post Sep 10 2009, 01:30 PM

~tUPaI...~
23,688 posts

QUOTE(5w33 @ Sep 10 2009, 08:48 AM)
Should be. You can try to call anyway, I think they can check for you, if not you can ask for your local custom contact number.
Alright thanks.
Anyone know what usually will be written at the tracking page if the items already cleared by the custom?
5w33
post Sep 10 2009, 04:01 PM

638 posts

QUOTE(AskarPerang @ Sep 10 2009, 01:30 PM)
Alright thanks.
Anyone know what usually will be written at the tracking page if the items already cleared by the custom?
One of my parcel.

EE23594******  08-Sep-2009  09:02  Courier is attempting delivery  PPL PETALING JAYA
EE23594******  08-Sep-2009  06:35  Item arrived at processing center  PPL PETALING JAYA
EE23594******  07-Sep-2009  06:50  Item arrived at processing center  PPL PETALING JAYA
EE23594******  05-Sep-2009  04:01  Departure from inward OE/Send item to domestic location 
EE23594******  05-Sep-2009  02:15  Arrived at inward OE/Receive item at OE 
EE23594******  01-Sep-2009  01:44  Departure from outward OE

This post has been edited by 5w33: Sep 10 2009, 04:01 PM
AskarPerang
post Sep 10 2009, 05:02 PM

~tUPaI...~
23,688 posts

This is my order. Stuck at the custom place without any update now.
How long it takes for them to clear the items?

Posting Date  Posting Time  Drop-off Point
8-Sep-2009  14:04  Kwai Fong Post Office

Date #  Location  Delivery Status
8-Sep-2009  Hong Kong  Item posted and is being processed.
8-Sep-2009  Hong Kong  Processed for departure.
8-Sep-2009  Hong Kong  The item left Hong Kong for its destination on 9-Sep-2009
9-Sep-2009  Malaysia  Arrived and is being processed.
9-Sep-2009  Malaysia  Pending customs inspection.

5w33
post Sep 10 2009, 05:18 PM

638 posts

QUOTE(AskarPerang @ Sep 10 2009, 05:02 PM)
This is my order. Stuck at the custom place without any update now.
How long it takes for them to clear the items?
Usually 1-2 working days,
from my previous experience, if the tracking stuck at custom part more than 3 working days, very high chances that your parcel kena tahan already.
You can call the number I provide in previous post to check it.
Sham903n
post Sep 11 2009, 01:30 PM

491 posts

This item i bought is less than RM500.. so quick its pass thru kastam less then 20 mins hehehe -good work

Date 9/11/2009 10:41:00
Address Kuala Lumpur, MALAYSIA
Description Out of Foreign Customs

Date 9/11/2009 10:22:00
Description Into Foreign Customs

Date 9/11/2009 07:59:00
Description Arrived Abroad

Date 9/4/2009 19:37:00
Address Isc Los Angeles Ca (Usps), UNITED STATES
Description International Dispatch

Date 9/4/2009 19:37:00
Address Isc Los Angeles Ca (Usps), UNITED STATES
Description Arrival

Date 9/2/2009 13:27:00
Address Simi Valley, CA, 93065
Description Electronic Shipping Info Received

This post has been edited by Sham903n: Sep 11 2009, 01:31 PM
AskarPerang
post Sep 11 2009, 02:03 PM

~tUPaI...~
23,688 posts

My items stuck at Ipoh pos laju / kastam for the second time.
Need to waste money hiring pos laju as agent sending to the nearest post office again.

I guess it depends on which location.
Next time should put KL address so that it will go through KL kastam.
nimrod2
post Sep 12 2009, 06:04 PM

the imba one
2,521 posts

hmmmmm just wondering.

if using normal mail service with no tracking, how do u check whether the item is held or not?

rclxub.gif just in case.
5w33
post Sep 12 2009, 07:16 PM

638 posts

QUOTE(AskarPerang @ Sep 11 2009, 02:03 PM)
My items stuck at Ipoh pos laju / kastam for the second time.
Need to waste money hiring pos laju as agent sending to the nearest post office again.

I guess it depends on which location.
Next time should put KL address so that it will go through KL kastam.
Bro, I guess you're just unlucky. sweat.gif
Is it big, the parcel? Bigger parcel tends to attract more attention.

QUOTE(nimrod2 @ Sep 12 2009, 06:04 PM)
hmmmmm just wondering.

if using normal mail service with no tracking, how do u check whether the item is held or not?

rclxub.gif just in case.
You will have to wait for the letter from custom then.
AskarPerang
post Sep 12 2009, 07:34 PM

~tUPaI...~
23,688 posts

QUOTE(5w33 @ Sep 12 2009, 07:16 PM)
Bro, I guess you're just unlucky. sweat.gif
Is it big, the parcel? Bigger parcel tends to attract more attention.

It is just a small box only.
I asked them why always kena tahan, they said because the sender (seller) didn't state the price of the items in front of the box.
For the second time, I have to email them the invoice, and also pay RM31.50 as the delivery charges. sweat.gif

I'm going to receive another small box next week but this time will change my location.
Let's see what will happen.
Sham903n
post Sep 12 2009, 07:52 PM

491 posts

QUOTE(AskarPerang @ Sep 12 2009, 07:34 PM)
It is just a small box only.
I asked them why always kena tahan, they said because the sender (seller) didn't state the price of the items in front of the box.
For the second time, I have to email them the invoice, and also pay RM31.50 as the delivery charges.  sweat.gif

I'm going to receive another small box next week but this time will change my location.
Let's see what will happen.
why dont just self pick up/declared?

woohoo my other package has arrive.. this one cost RM3.8k... but definitely no tax hehe... sunday got kastam workin?

Your item arrived in MALAYSIA at 11:24 PM on September 12, 2009.
Information, if available, is updated periodically throughout the day. Please check again later.
Detailed Results:
*Into Foreign Customs, September 13, 2009, 1:25 am, MALAYSIA
*Arrived Abroad, September 12, 2009, 11:24 pm, MALAYSIA
*International Dispatch, September 09, 2009, 10:13 am, ISC NEW YORK NY(USPS)
*Arrival
*Processed through Sort Facility, September 08, 2009, 4:48 pm, WILMINGTON, DE 19850
*Acceptance, September 08, 2009, 4:19 pm, WILMINGTON, DE 19805
*Electronic Shipping Info Received, September 07, 2009

This post has been edited by Sham903n: Sep 13 2009, 05:38 PM
AskarPerang
post Sep 13 2009, 05:00 PM

~tUPaI...~
23,688 posts

QUOTE(Sham903n @ Sep 12 2009, 07:52 PM)
why dont just self pick up/declared?
My location is Tanjong Malim and the kastam is at Ipoh.
Quite far away. sweat.gif
Carmein
post Sep 14 2009, 03:40 PM

83 posts

QUOTE(kukarchoon @ Aug 24 2009, 10:52 PM)
I would like to buy a faulty iphone from US. Will it still hold by customs and need to apply for SIRIM? Anyone has experience on purchased faulty phone from oversea?
I have never bought faulty phone before. But I guess it would be similar to buying a functioning phone?
I bought a phone from the states in early Feb, it costed me RM 900. But it wasn't detained.
It was labelled as a gift.
However, I bought another from ebay just 2 weeks ago, and it was held by custom. The phone costed me RM 600.
The SIRIM officer told me that you'll have to pay RM 200 even though it was labelled as a gift.
Does this mean I was lucky enough to escape during my first purchase?
I have just went to SIRIM and got the permit for RM 200.
She told me that it would be better if you purchase 3 handphones at one go. (RM 200 for 3, a better deal?)
And you have to pay RM 49.50 when you appoint Pos Malaysia as your agent.
Erm, I guess that's all you have to pay for. Hope it helps.

Sham903n
post Sep 14 2009, 10:17 PM

491 posts

pick up my item today.. it was held by custom.. they said the value to too high thats why they "tahan" in the end there was no duty or sales tax.. but have to pay RM18 for declaration fees by pos for the kastam.. dang because its expensive (this time I wanted it to be held because if I have to wait for the pos it will take another week till I see my item) but what lah they making money when no duty making money when duty.. argh....
AskarPerang
post Sep 14 2009, 10:29 PM

~tUPaI...~
23,688 posts

the pos office people tell me that if the value / price of the items are clearly stated, they will not tahan my items anymore.

let's hope they won't. don't want to waste money hiring pos malaysia as agent getting back stuff from kastam anymore.
5w33
post Sep 15 2009, 05:11 AM

638 posts

QUOTE(AskarPerang @ Sep 14 2009, 10:29 PM)
the pos office people tell me that if the value / price of the items are clearly stated, they will not tahan my items anymore.

let's hope they won't. don't want to waste money hiring pos malaysia as agent getting back stuff from kastam anymore.
I seriously doubt that. shocking.gif
Even with stated USD2000, also won't tahan? Their statement seems funny. laugh.gif
AskarPerang
post Sep 15 2009, 05:50 AM

~tUPaI...~
23,688 posts

QUOTE(5w33 @ Sep 15 2009, 05:11 AM)
I seriously doubt that.  shocking.gif
Even with stated USD2000, also won't tahan? Their statement seems funny. laugh.gif
I mean if the value of the items did not exceed RM500.
They tahan my parcels twice because they didn't know the value of it.
They said if items worth more than RM500 of course will get tax no matter what.
5w33
post Sep 15 2009, 06:14 AM

638 posts

QUOTE(AskarPerang @ Sep 15 2009, 05:50 AM)
I mean if the value of the items did not exceed RM500.
They tahan my parcels twice because they didn't know the value of it.
They said if items worth more than RM500 of course will get tax no matter what.
I've got quite a lot of parcel which value is stated clearly and not more than RM500 still kena tahan.
Let's see how's your next parcel. smile.gif
Raralu85
post Sep 15 2009, 03:23 PM

135 posts

Sep 10
14:13 Posting/Collection
SENDAIKOMEGAFUKURO
Miyagi prefecture
980-0813

Sep 11
4:28 Arrival at outward office of exchange
TOKYO INTERNATIONAL Branch
Tokyo metropolis
138-8799

Sep 11
4:56 Dispatch from outward office of exchange
Tokyo metropolis
138-8799

Sep 12
9:41 Arrival at inward office of exchange KUALA LUMPUR MALAYSIA

Sep 12
9:47 In Customs KUALA LUMPUR MALAYSIA

and now wat shud i do? waiting for custom letter via pos malaysia?

My parcel indicated it is rm1.5k in yen... the item mainly are digimon and small keroro figurine... anyway to estimate the taxable? thanks~
AskarPerang
post Sep 15 2009, 03:31 PM

~tUPaI...~
23,688 posts

QUOTE(Raralu85 @ Sep 15 2009, 03:23 PM)
Sep 10
14:13  Posting/Collection   
SENDAIKOMEGAFUKURO
Miyagi prefecture
980-0813

Sep 11
4:28  Arrival at outward office of exchange   
Tokyo metropolis
138-8799

Sep 11
4:56  Dispatch from outward office of exchange   
Tokyo metropolis
138-8799

Sep 12
9:41  Arrival at inward office of exchange    KUALA LUMPUR  MALAYSIA

Sep 12
9:47  In Customs    KUALA LUMPUR  MALAYSIA
and now wat shud i do? waiting for custom letter via pos malaysia?

My parcel indicated it is rm1.5k in yen... the item mainly are digimon and small keroro figurine... anyway to estimate the taxable? thanks~
Call LCCT custom and give them your tracking number, 03-87872020
Raralu85
post Sep 15 2009, 03:41 PM

135 posts

ah... if wanna wait letter sure very long time to wait ya?..

Coz im in kota kinabalu sabah..

134 Pages « < 41 42 43 44 45 > » Top

0.0243sec    0.39    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 01:18 AM