Bump Topic Topic Closed RSS Feed New Topic New Poll

> Buying/Importing Goods from Overseas, Custom Tax & Duties

5w33
post Apr 19 2009, 12:48 PM

638 posts

QUOTE(princess_autumn87 @ Apr 19 2009, 02:19 AM)
hello all sifusss...

I need a little help as i not very experience in handling custom matter.

How to find the related custom duty code for woman bag? Possible to find the tax which below 10% like 5% or even nil??? *drool* help help tongue.gif
You import it in large quantity? If possible, claim the parcel value (Goods Value + Shipping Cost) under RM500. The it won't be eligible for any taxes. biggrin.gif
5w33
post Apr 29 2009, 06:35 PM

638 posts

QUOTE(yangxi @ Apr 24 2009, 06:25 PM)
Import rmvb player from china. I got agent help me send to my doorstep. (using UPS).  no tax.
Mind to tell us how the agent work to avoid being taxed? smile.gif
5w33
post Apr 30 2009, 12:42 AM

638 posts

QUOTE(developer @ Apr 29 2009, 10:41 PM)
going on friday near prayer time.
Seriously, is this gonna works? blink.gif
5w33
post Sep 2 2009, 07:09 PM

638 posts

QUOTE(alamdamai1 @ Aug 28 2009, 02:32 PM)
usually, if your item is detained at KLIA, the tracking service by Poslaju will say something like "Ditahan oleh Kastam di PMK KLIA", ie. in Bahasa M'sia...dunno why your message is in Eng unless you use foreign courier co's...

nonetheless, you have to wait until Pos M'sia to send you a letter before you can collect from the Customs Dept..

http://www.pos.com.my/V1/main2.asp?C=/V1/P...msClearance.htm
U don't need the letter to collect the parcel, normally the custom office will call you to inform if your parcel has been detained.
They will provide you a Reference number, just go to the room 2 at Pos Office LCCT (if not mistaken), and mention the reference number. smile.gif

QUOTE(alana @ Sep 2 2009, 03:11 PM)
hi,

can anyone help me with my query?
i ordered some makeups (mineral makeups) from US website (Everyday Minerals).

Will i kena tax for these makeups? Need import permit or letter?

I ordered like 7 items (some small some big size) - foundation, concealer etc and the amount is only USD$47.
I used vPost to have it shipped to me here.

alana
Try to wait for your parcel, you'll get a letter from Custom if your parcel has been detained. smile.gif
5w33
post Sep 3 2009, 01:08 AM

638 posts

QUOTE(AskarPerang @ Sep 3 2009, 12:34 AM)
My goods are detained by the custom.
How much will pos malaysia charge for collection?
Is the custom at KLIA open on Sunday?

Thanks for the help.  notworthy.gif
It depends on what item it is.
Nope, Sunday close. Monday - Saturday, except first Saturday.
Not KLIA actually, it's at LCCT, have to go in further than KLIA.

This post has been edited by 5w33: Sep 3 2009, 01:09 AM
5w33
post Sep 3 2009, 12:55 PM

638 posts

QUOTE(AskarPerang @ Sep 3 2009, 10:56 AM)
The charges is RM31.50 for the kastam to send my items to the nearest post office. They didn't tax me. The kastam check my items but I need to pay extra in the end. It's unfair. Anyone knows where and how to lodge a complain?
I don't think you can lodge a complain for this.
The fee you pay is for appointing Pos Office as your agent to collect the parcel from custom.

Ditahan =/= Taxable

5w33
post Sep 3 2009, 03:11 PM

638 posts

QUOTE(AskarPerang @ Sep 3 2009, 02:13 PM)
I know the fee is for transferring the items from the custom to the post office.
But my items did not get any tax actually. Meaning that they wrongly tahan my items.

If like that, all imported items will be tahan by the kastam la.
And everyone will have to collect their items from the kastam or pay extra fees to send to the post office.
It's not that they tahan your item wrongly.
From my past experience, they tahan parcel randomly one.

QUOTE(nanakopy87 @ Sep 3 2009, 01:20 PM)
hmm,i thought the fee for appointing for POS OFFICE as agent is RM50?
Yeah, it was RM50 last time when I ask at the Pos office counter.

This post has been edited by 5w33: Sep 3 2009, 03:13 PM
5w33
post Sep 6 2009, 12:44 PM

638 posts

QUOTE(raptar_eric @ Sep 6 2009, 12:03 PM)
Hey fellow sifus, allow me to ask.

If i were to buy a huge soft toy which is around 40" / 100cm in size, will it be detained by the customs? Origin is from China. Worried that there might be taxation or held by the customs due to the size.
With that size, chances of parcel being held is very high.
5w33
post Sep 6 2009, 05:20 PM

638 posts

QUOTE(raptar_eric @ Sep 6 2009, 12:49 PM)
What do I need to do if it's being held by the customs then? I need to go collect it myself, or? Cause it's hard to find such huge sized soft toy here in KL =/
Collect it yourself at the customs, or appoint agent/ Poslaju to collect it on behalf of you.
5w33
post Sep 7 2009, 05:55 PM

638 posts

QUOTE(allessioz @ Sep 7 2009, 03:47 PM)
sry want to ask a noob question..you guy know what is ibc card??? international buyer card???
custom need to check this also???
i cant found the term in google also
Never heard about that, been to the LCCT customs quite a few times to collect my parcel, the officer never asked for this.
5w33
post Sep 10 2009, 12:14 AM

638 posts

QUOTE(AskarPerang @ Sep 10 2009, 12:09 AM)
It's so not user friendly.
Don't even know what is that all about.
Yeah I would like to know this too.
If I trace the tracking number, it stated pending custom inspection, then in transit, then how can I know whether the item stuck kena tahan there or not?
I know if kena tahan you will receive a notice at your home given by the postman. But if I'm able to know that beforehand, then can save time lo.
Call LCCT custom and give them your tracking number, 03-87872020 smile.gif
5w33
post Sep 10 2009, 03:40 AM

638 posts

QUOTE(Sham903n @ Sep 10 2009, 01:59 AM)
hehehe.. i tried calling that number lastime.. it will ring ring ring and disconnected, redail and ring ring ring and disconnected, redail and ring ring ring ring... youre lucky to get it on the first try..
What time did you call? Office hour?
I've call that number quite a lot times before, all can get thru no problem.
5w33
post Sep 10 2009, 08:48 AM

638 posts

QUOTE(AskarPerang @ Sep 10 2009, 08:26 AM)
All overseas items will go to LCCT custom first?
Or will the items be sent to the nearest custom?
My location is in Perak.
Should be. You can try to call anyway, I think they can check for you, if not you can ask for your local custom contact number.
5w33
post Sep 10 2009, 04:01 PM

638 posts

QUOTE(AskarPerang @ Sep 10 2009, 01:30 PM)
Alright thanks.
Anyone know what usually will be written at the tracking page if the items already cleared by the custom?
One of my parcel.

EE23594******  08-Sep-2009  09:02  Courier is attempting delivery  PPL PETALING JAYA
EE23594******  08-Sep-2009  06:35  Item arrived at processing center  PPL PETALING JAYA
EE23594******  07-Sep-2009  06:50  Item arrived at processing center  PPL PETALING JAYA
EE23594******  05-Sep-2009  04:01  Departure from inward OE/Send item to domestic location 
EE23594******  05-Sep-2009  02:15  Arrived at inward OE/Receive item at OE 
EE23594******  01-Sep-2009  01:44  Departure from outward OE

This post has been edited by 5w33: Sep 10 2009, 04:01 PM
5w33
post Sep 10 2009, 05:18 PM

638 posts

QUOTE(AskarPerang @ Sep 10 2009, 05:02 PM)
This is my order. Stuck at the custom place without any update now.
How long it takes for them to clear the items?
Usually 1-2 working days,
from my previous experience, if the tracking stuck at custom part more than 3 working days, very high chances that your parcel kena tahan already.
You can call the number I provide in previous post to check it.
5w33
post Sep 12 2009, 07:16 PM

638 posts

QUOTE(AskarPerang @ Sep 11 2009, 02:03 PM)
My items stuck at Ipoh pos laju / kastam for the second time.
Need to waste money hiring pos laju as agent sending to the nearest post office again.

I guess it depends on which location.
Next time should put KL address so that it will go through KL kastam.
Bro, I guess you're just unlucky. sweat.gif
Is it big, the parcel? Bigger parcel tends to attract more attention.

QUOTE(nimrod2 @ Sep 12 2009, 06:04 PM)
hmmmmm just wondering.

if using normal mail service with no tracking, how do u check whether the item is held or not?

rclxub.gif just in case.
You will have to wait for the letter from custom then.
5w33
post Sep 15 2009, 05:11 AM

638 posts

QUOTE(AskarPerang @ Sep 14 2009, 10:29 PM)
the pos office people tell me that if the value / price of the items are clearly stated, they will not tahan my items anymore.

let's hope they won't. don't want to waste money hiring pos malaysia as agent getting back stuff from kastam anymore.
I seriously doubt that. shocking.gif
Even with stated USD2000, also won't tahan? Their statement seems funny. laugh.gif
5w33
post Sep 15 2009, 06:14 AM

638 posts

QUOTE(AskarPerang @ Sep 15 2009, 05:50 AM)
I mean if the value of the items did not exceed RM500.
They tahan my parcels twice because they didn't know the value of it.
They said if items worth more than RM500 of course will get tax no matter what.
I've got quite a lot of parcel which value is stated clearly and not more than RM500 still kena tahan.
Let's see how's your next parcel. smile.gif

0.0463sec    0.54    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 04:43 PM