134 Pages « < 39 40 41 42 43 > » Bottom
Bump Topic Topic Closed RSS Feed New Topic New Poll

> Buying/Importing Goods from Overseas, Custom Tax & Duties

alamdamai1
post Aug 28 2009, 02:32 PM

210 posts

usually, if your item is detained at KLIA, the tracking service by Poslaju will say something like "Ditahan oleh Kastam di PMK KLIA", ie. in Bahasa M'sia...dunno why your message is in Eng unless you use foreign courier co's...

nonetheless, you have to wait until Pos M'sia to send you a letter before you can collect from the Customs Dept..

http://www.pos.com.my/V1/main2.asp?C=/V1/P...msClearance.htm

This post has been edited by alamdamai1: Aug 28 2009, 02:32 PM
haki
post Aug 29 2009, 03:45 PM

546 posts

how about perfume..how much tax buyer must pay??
alana
post Sep 2 2009, 03:11 PM

hi,

can anyone help me with my query?
i ordered some makeups (mineral makeups) from US website (Everyday Minerals).

Will i kena tax for these makeups? Need import permit or letter?

I ordered like 7 items (some small some big size) - foundation, concealer etc and the amount is only USD$47.
I used vPost to have it shipped to me here.

alana

This post has been edited by alana: Sep 2 2009, 03:12 PM
5w33
post Sep 2 2009, 07:09 PM

638 posts

QUOTE(alamdamai1 @ Aug 28 2009, 02:32 PM)
usually, if your item is detained at KLIA, the tracking service by Poslaju will say something like "Ditahan oleh Kastam di PMK KLIA", ie. in Bahasa M'sia...dunno why your message is in Eng unless you use foreign courier co's...

nonetheless, you have to wait until Pos M'sia to send you a letter before you can collect from the Customs Dept..

http://www.pos.com.my/V1/main2.asp?C=/V1/P...msClearance.htm
U don't need the letter to collect the parcel, normally the custom office will call you to inform if your parcel has been detained.
They will provide you a Reference number, just go to the room 2 at Pos Office LCCT (if not mistaken), and mention the reference number. smile.gif

QUOTE(alana @ Sep 2 2009, 03:11 PM)
hi,

can anyone help me with my query?
i ordered some makeups (mineral makeups) from US website (Everyday Minerals).

Will i kena tax for these makeups? Need import permit or letter?

I ordered like 7 items (some small some big size) - foundation, concealer etc and the amount is only USD$47.
I used vPost to have it shipped to me here.

alana
Try to wait for your parcel, you'll get a letter from Custom if your parcel has been detained. smile.gif
AskarPerang
post Sep 3 2009, 12:34 AM

~tUPaI...~
23,688 posts

My goods are detained by the custom.
How much will pos malaysia charge for collection?
Is the custom at KLIA open on Sunday?

Thanks for the help. notworthy.gif
5w33
post Sep 3 2009, 01:08 AM

638 posts

QUOTE(AskarPerang @ Sep 3 2009, 12:34 AM)
My goods are detained by the custom.
How much will pos malaysia charge for collection?
Is the custom at KLIA open on Sunday?

Thanks for the help.  notworthy.gif
It depends on what item it is.
Nope, Sunday close. Monday - Saturday, except first Saturday.
Not KLIA actually, it's at LCCT, have to go in further than KLIA.

This post has been edited by 5w33: Sep 3 2009, 01:09 AM
AskarPerang
post Sep 3 2009, 10:56 AM

~tUPaI...~
23,688 posts

The charges is RM31.50 for the kastam to send my items to the nearest post office. They didn't tax me. The kastam check my items but I need to pay extra in the end. It's unfair. Anyone knows where and how to lodge a complain?

nanakopy87
post Sep 3 2009, 11:01 AM

You were...
1,835 posts

huh.....what kind of charges is tis?means ur parcel ditahan tapi tak kena tax?
K-o-E
post Sep 3 2009, 12:19 PM

279 posts

QUOTE(AskarPerang @ Sep 3 2009, 10:56 AM)
The charges is RM31.50 for the kastam to send my items to the nearest post office. They didn't tax me. The kastam check my items but I need to pay extra in the end. It's unfair. Anyone knows where and how to lodge a complain?
Public Complaints Bureau for public services. You can try MACC...but now even their key witnesses sometimes perish
5w33
post Sep 3 2009, 12:55 PM

638 posts

QUOTE(AskarPerang @ Sep 3 2009, 10:56 AM)
I don't think you can lodge a complain for this.
The fee you pay is for appointing Pos Office as your agent to collect the parcel from custom.

Ditahan =/= Taxable

nanakopy87
post Sep 3 2009, 01:20 PM

You were...
1,835 posts

hmm,i thought the fee for appointing for POS OFFICE as agent is RM50?
AskarPerang
post Sep 3 2009, 02:13 PM

~tUPaI...~
23,688 posts

QUOTE(5w33 @ Sep 3 2009, 12:55 PM)
I don't think you can lodge a complain for this.
The fee you pay is for appointing Pos Office as your agent to collect the parcel from custom.

Ditahan =/= Taxable
I know the fee is for transferring the items from the custom to the post office.
But my items did not get any tax actually. Meaning that they wrongly tahan my items.

If like that, all imported items will be tahan by the kastam la.
And everyone will have to collect their items from the kastam or pay extra fees to send to the post office.
5w33
post Sep 3 2009, 03:11 PM

638 posts

QUOTE(AskarPerang @ Sep 3 2009, 02:13 PM)
I know the fee is for transferring the items from the custom to the post office.
But my items did not get any tax actually. Meaning that they wrongly tahan my items.

If like that, all imported items will be tahan by the kastam la.
And everyone will have to collect their items from the kastam or pay extra fees to send to the post office.
It's not that they tahan your item wrongly.
From my past experience, they tahan parcel randomly one.

QUOTE(nanakopy87 @ Sep 3 2009, 01:20 PM)
hmm,i thought the fee for appointing for POS OFFICE as agent is RM50?
Yeah, it was RM50 last time when I ask at the Pos office counter.

This post has been edited by 5w33: Sep 3 2009, 03:13 PM
alana
post Sep 3 2009, 03:44 PM

Usually, cosmetics can kena tahan by custom mer?
then a lot of forumers is having those cosmetic sprees - how they bring into the country without kena tax?
raptar_eric
post Sep 6 2009, 12:03 PM

Live life to the fullest!
1,367 posts

Hey fellow sifus, allow me to ask.

If i were to buy a huge soft toy which is around 40" / 100cm in size, will it be detained by the customs? Origin is from China. Worried that there might be taxation or held by the customs due to the size.
5w33
post Sep 6 2009, 12:44 PM

638 posts

QUOTE(raptar_eric @ Sep 6 2009, 12:03 PM)
Hey fellow sifus, allow me to ask.

If i were to buy a huge soft toy which is around 40" / 100cm in size, will it be detained by the customs? Origin is from China. Worried that there might be taxation or held by the customs due to the size.
With that size, chances of parcel being held is very high.
raptar_eric
post Sep 6 2009, 12:49 PM

1,367 posts

What do I need to do if it's being held by the customs then? I need to go collect it myself, or? Cause it's hard to find such huge sized soft toy here in KL =/
5w33
post Sep 6 2009, 05:20 PM

638 posts

QUOTE(raptar_eric @ Sep 6 2009, 12:49 PM)
What do I need to do if it's being held by the customs then? I need to go collect it myself, or? Cause it's hard to find such huge sized soft toy here in KL =/
Collect it yourself at the customs, or appoint agent/ Poslaju to collect it on behalf of you.
Sham903n
post Sep 6 2009, 05:35 PM

491 posts

I see in the charts looks like dolls will be charge 5% import duty & 10% sales tax. If the total is more than RM500 (+shipping) thru air. If less, you will receive your goods but gotta pick it up at the Pejabat Pos Serahan (not the normal pos office, but then again some post office have both) try find out where is the nearest to your address, they usually will ask you to pick up from there, leaving you a postal note "package too big for pos box".
Goodluck

This post has been edited by Sham903n: Sep 6 2009, 10:23 PM
raptar_eric
post Sep 6 2009, 08:31 PM

1,367 posts

5w33: Thanks bro, just afraid that they might confiscate it or smtg like that. Cause it's a birthday present for a cousin of mine.

Sham903n: The total is only around RM400 though.

134 Pages « < 39 40 41 42 43 > » Top

0.0174sec    0.62    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 08:15 PM