Buying/Importing Goods from Overseas, Custom Tax & Duties
| Bump Topic Topic Closed RSS Feed New Topic New Poll |
Buying/Importing Goods from Overseas, Custom Tax & Duties
Jul 8 2009, 07:00 PM
2,521 posts Joined: Jan 2006 From: UrbanSubangJaya |
i'm buying 7 jerseys and 2 tee-shirts from kitbag.com. the total above rm1000, do u think it will get taxed? i mean how would they know the value of items in my bag? what if i got it on cheap sale or something? |
Jul 8 2009, 07:19 PM
Jul 10 2009, 08:00 PM
QUOTE(snowcrash @ Jul 10 2009, 01:23 PM) I'm planning on buying some clothes retails form overseas, 2 separate orders: where u buy from? how come its gift wrapped wan?1 order will be from UK, total price ~RM 1400. Items are giftwrapped (FedEx) 1 order will be from UK, total price ~RM 450 (USPS -> Pos Msia I guess) I realise I'll kena duty for the first order, but will I also kena for the 2nd? Is there any (legal-duh) way of reducing or avoiding duty? i'm also awaiting my shipment of new MU jerseys. praying nothing will happen. sometimes wont kena anything wan right? This post has been edited by nimrod2: Jul 10 2009, 08:03 PM |
Jul 10 2009, 09:28 PM
QUOTE(snowcrash @ Jul 10 2009, 08:11 PM) Thomas Pink in UK, they offer free delivery & free gift wrapping... but only if order > GBP200. wait means u ordered the stuff already and now its stuck at the customs? how come fedex faxed u?Just got fax from FedEx (not expecting delivery so quickly) asking about the customs duty.... is there another section for it or am I stuck paying the full charge, which comes to about RM 400? why the tax so high? for rm1.4k, 400 is about 30% wor. what did u buy? |
Jul 10 2009, 10:04 PM
QUOTE(snowcrash @ Jul 10 2009, 09:48 PM) Yup. I dunno, first time I did it so that's why I'm a li'l confused. It'sjust shirts and ties & I'm not sure why it suddenly is 30%, should it be a different amount? i not sure wor. i havent had any experience with this kinda stuff before and i'm awaiting a shipment from UK so i'm kinda worried.so whats your next course of action? DHL will settle for you? i think best is you go yourself and talk to the customs officer and try to get of some leniency. i'm not sure what the rate is also. most of the people say is 10% thats why yours seems kinda high. do let me know the outcome of your case |
Jul 12 2009, 09:03 AM
QUOTE(snowcrash @ Jul 10 2009, 10:37 PM) FedEx say that they will pay customs then I pay them when they deliver. Hard for me to get to LCCT as no car, but FedEx fax me a declaration form asking whether i want to (a) pay the duty as is, (b) whether the item should be declared under other class or © use an agent to clear the item. sorry i don't even know the tariff codes and there is not much information online to search about with.I know clothes are supposed to be high tax, but 30% seems REALLY high, I'm wondering if anyone who knows the tariff codes can help me with (b) anyway i think the tariffs are open to inteperation by the customs officers. thats why sometimes ppl can get away with running from tax. |
Jul 13 2009, 09:13 PM
my shipment arrived today. UPS cleared it and paid my tax of about rm400 (total value is about rm1200). i complained and said that they never ask me for approval. then the guy said i should talk to his supervisor who will call me tmr cos he went back already. any tips / ideas / suggestions to how i can avoid or at least lower the tax? maybe personal usage or something like that? |
Jul 14 2009, 12:48 PM
Aug 13 2009, 03:45 PM
personal and used items are not taxable. of course they do come with some limits, but generally that is the rule. your sister could bring them back, because she's used them already. if you go to singapore and buy the phones, take out the boxes and keep the manuals seperately. at least its harder to tell whether its new. |
Aug 14 2009, 01:50 PM
the items are held in the main entry hubs for that region. for the northern region is in butterworth i guess. for central central is at klia. for southern region is at Jb. |
Aug 14 2009, 04:13 PM
should check the forums before asking, because this is a very popular question. but the answer is no - computer parts are not taxable |
Aug 16 2009, 03:05 PM
if the packaging is too big, they will get suspicious and maybe will open ler. see their mood la. but of course they sure want money ma. |
Sep 12 2009, 06:04 PM
hmmmmm just wondering. if using normal mail service with no tracking, how do u check whether the item is held or not? |
Oct 3 2009, 03:31 PM
lol means they dun like people from tanjong malim? |
Nov 11 2009, 09:31 AM
QUOTE(konnf @ Nov 11 2009, 08:54 AM) Query- Value less than RM500 not taxable? Is it apply to all goods? What happen if custom find that the real value is much more higher than what we quote to them?? Normally how they check? yes it applies to personal items. they have their own way of calculating the value of the items that pass thru them, so it's not so easy to try to cheat them. they have after all been doing this everyday for so many years. so unless u're very creative, i'd play safe |
Nov 13 2009, 12:44 PM
QUOTE(Blurrysky @ Nov 13 2009, 10:18 AM) hi guys..im new here..wan 2 ask..im frm kl..if i buy figure less den 1k..do i kena tax? n oso incase da item arrive in malaysia..who will sent it 2 my house? or i need 2 call post office 2 hired? according to the law, personal items of less than rm500 cannot be taxed.so make sure u know your rights. but do be careful because the customs will use their own exchange rate when calculating. so to be safe, keep it slightly less than rm480. for your case, i'm not sure whether your item can be tax free. there are some items that arent taxable no matter what the amount i think. that u have to check with the customs. safest way to play it would be to check with them, or split your shipments into two. |
Mar 19 2010, 04:00 PM
QUOTE(roticanai92 @ Mar 17 2010, 07:58 PM) i think the limit is 400sgd.QUOTE(ratedrko @ Mar 19 2010, 02:14 AM) Hi there, what item is that?I intend to buy a Tux Droid from Kysoh.com (http://www.kysoh.com) worth EUR 109 (RM490). Does anyone have any idea whether this item is taxable and if so, how much? I'm not really sure which category this product falls under. a tux? |
| Change to: | 0.0255sec
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 06:40 PM |