LYN Power Tools Discussion V2, Bosch, Makita, Dewalt, Dremel etc

ar188
post Dec 27 2023, 09:11 PM

9,206 posts

todays evening project.
customer bought/imported a new table which is like have super crooked surface. rclxub.gif ask me to do sanding to level it.
aint got time to sand for 1week.. sweat.gif whip out my router leveling jig. within 30min , all the high spots of the table settled. tomorrow lower 1-2mm and finish the rest.

lms2005
post Jan 2 2024, 09:24 AM

1,270 posts

My old bosch juz gone recently looking for new cordless impact drill, which brand is good? milwaukee? any model recommend?
alesi616
post Jan 25 2024, 10:50 AM

810 posts

Hi sifu sifu,
Recently just taken OC my new condo.
I need to install light , track light, curtain rail, towel rack in whole house. (Room and bathroom)

So I will be drilling brick wall, tiles, ceiling, concrete (maybe, saw some thick beam above window), a bit of wood (door).

Can please recommend the drill I need? I did a bit read up in this thread. I think rotary hammer is needed,
I shortlisted 2 choice, bosch gbh220 (750W)and total th308268 (800W). Price about rm360 vs rm200, weight about 2.3kg vs 3kg.

Question:
can the Total th308268 do the job? need to drill quite a lot of brick, ceiling, and maybe concrete. Whole house easily 50 drill holes or even more. Probably wont finish install all in one day, maybe spread out a few days work. Coz One-Man working Only.
But this is once in a blue moon job, after this there wont be drilling that much / frequent (unless I got money to buy a new house again hahah)

Also, I wanted to drill bathroom wall tiles and I am quite skeptical to use big rotary hammer to drill it. Last time when I hire contractor to drill the tiles I saw him use cordless drill + diamond drill bit (not sure the cordless drill got impact function or not) drill the tiles, then only use rotary drill to drill in.

Question: can I use rotary hammer with chuck adapter and diamond bit to drill the wall tiles? The rotary hammer is 3kg so I am not sure how easy to drill the wall tiles without breaking/cracking it. Or do I need to buy a cordless drill instead? Any recommendation for cordless drill? budget about RM150 or less, better with 2 batteries. Not sure need impact function or not?

Question: when drilling wall tile, do we try to drill the edge or better far from the edge? which has smaller chance of breaking it?

Considering this is just once in a blue moon job, I don't want to spend big money on these drills, just want to get this job done and keep the drill for occasional use only. So should I get a branded rotary hammer (bosch) and cheapskate on cordless drill (cap ayam, those below rm100). Or the other way (cheap rotary hammer + branded cordless? Or just a rotary hammer + chuck adapter can kao dim??

Thanks!

This post has been edited by alesi616: Jan 25 2024, 11:06 AM
ar188
post Jan 25 2024, 10:33 PM

9,206 posts

Also, I wanted to drill bathroom wall tiles and I am quite skeptical to use big rotary hammer to drill it. Last time when I hire contractor to drill the tiles I saw him use cordless drill + diamond drill bit (not sure the cordless drill got impact function or not) drill the tiles, then only use rotary drill to drill in.

this is the correct way. small cordless drill with tile bit. crazy to use hammermode to whack on tile. once it goes thro then only use hammer mode

This post has been edited by ar188: Jan 25 2024, 10:34 PM
Max
post Jan 27 2024, 05:02 PM

1,705 posts

QUOTE(alesi616 @ Jan 25 2024, 10:50 AM)
Hi sifu sifu,
Recently just taken OC my new condo.
I need to install light , track light, curtain rail, towel rack in whole house. (Room and bathroom)

So I will be drilling brick wall, tiles, ceiling, concrete (maybe, saw some thick beam above window), a bit of wood (door).

Can please recommend the drill I need? I did a bit read up in this thread. I think rotary hammer is needed,
I shortlisted 2 choice, bosch gbh220 (750W)and total th308268 (800W). Price about rm360 vs rm200, weight about 2.3kg vs 3kg.

Question:
can the Total th308268 do the job? need to drill quite a lot of brick, ceiling, and maybe concrete. Whole house easily 50 drill holes or even more. Probably wont finish install all in one day, maybe spread out a few days work. Coz One-Man working Only.
But this is once in a blue moon job, after this there wont be drilling that much / frequent (unless I got money to buy a new house again hahah)

Question: can I use rotary hammer with chuck adapter and diamond bit to drill the wall tiles? The rotary hammer is 3kg so I am not sure how easy to drill the wall tiles without breaking/cracking it. Or do I need to buy a cordless drill instead? Any recommendation for cordless drill? budget about RM150 or less, better with 2 batteries. Not sure need impact function or not?

Question: when drilling wall tile, do we try to drill the edge or better far from the edge? which has smaller chance of breaking it?

Considering this is just once in a blue moon job, I don't want to spend big money on these drills, just want to get this job done and keep the drill for occasional use only. So should I get a branded rotary hammer (bosch) and cheapskate on cordless drill (cap ayam, those below rm100). Or the other way (cheap rotary hammer + branded cordless? Or just a rotary hammer + chuck adapter can kao dim??

Thanks!
If u have steady strong hand (heavy rotary drill) , Can use the machine with 'drill' mode only for tiles with tiles/glass bits drilling..
Should have 3 mode selection on the machine

Branded drilling machine works best than cap ayam ones ..
qwerty223
post Jan 30 2024, 12:32 PM

786 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Jan 25 2024, 10:33 PM)
this is the correct way. small cordless drill with tile bit. crazy to use hammermode to whack on tile. once it goes thro then only use hammer mode
Just get a bosch gsr…
ar188
post Feb 3 2024, 08:49 PM

9,206 posts

freud combo blade from amazon.

now to rebore 5/8 hole to 30mm

Helldiver
post Feb 16 2024, 02:25 PM

460 posts

Hi all!

I'm moving into my new house and am looking for a cordless tool to do two things: (1) Screwdriving to assemble furniture etc., and (2) Drilling into concrete/brick/tiles to hang paintings, accessories, etc.

I was looking at tools like the Makita DF330 or Makita DF012DSE, but the former kinda hard to find as a standalone unit and the price for the latter damn mahal sweat.gif --are these types good enough for my use? hmm.gif
NightFelix
post Feb 16 2024, 02:40 PM

Samsung Exynos
17,467 posts

QUOTE(Helldiver @ Feb 16 2024, 02:25 PM)
Hi all!

I'm moving into my new house and am looking for a cordless tool to do two things: (1) Screwdriving to assemble furniture etc., and (2) Drilling into concrete/brick/tiles to hang paintings, accessories, etc.

I was looking at tools like the Makita DF330 or Makita DF012DSE, but the former kinda hard to find as a standalone unit and the price for the latter damn mahal sweat.gif --are these types good enough for my use?  hmm.gif
I think the (1) are easy. As for (2), depend how deep or big you plan to do the work. For example I plan to DIY to drill 10mm hole into concrete brick to mount my TV (like more than 6 holes), I just bought myself Hikoki/Hitachi Hammer Drill (wired), the rest like painting/clock/accessories also quite easy to get it done. I think bought it for like RM350 because after survey mounting on the TV on the wall labor also cost like around RM150-200 iinm, so might as well I do it myself with the power tools I bought. You can find some other brand for cheaper hammer drill.

Since you no state budget, other sifu here hard to recommend based on your situation for DIY.
ar188
post Feb 28 2024, 09:21 PM

9,206 posts

last weekend install nyatoh counter top using cordless tracksaw and cordless flexvolt vac.

ozak
post Feb 29 2024, 09:37 AM

17,013 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Feb 28 2024, 09:21 PM)
last weekend install nyatoh counter top using cordless tracksaw and cordless flexvolt vac.

Problem cutting?

I use the 12v makita circular saw to trim the nyatoh door.
ozak
post Feb 29 2024, 09:48 AM

17,013 posts

Who been here? Big store?

Macam DIY Utopia

Chin Chun Hardware Sdn. Bhd.
ar188
post Feb 29 2024, 09:56 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Feb 29 2024, 09:37 AM)
Problem cutting?

I use the 12v makita circular saw to trim the nyatoh door.
which part of the pics did you deduced as have problem cutting?
SUSceo684
post Mar 1 2024, 02:06 AM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Feb 29 2024, 09:48 AM)
Who been here? Big store?

Macam DIY Utopia

Chin Chun Hardware Sdn. Bhd.
Last time bought new pine wood planks from them to make a TV rack.. (pre MCO)

Just went recently, they expanded the parking lot and paved nicely
It sells almost everything, power tools, paint, some hand tools, ceiling fan, bathroom cabinet, WC, cold mix bitumen, putty, plumbing fittings, some MK sockets. Clientele is split between trucks and myvi types. I find it a bit cramped (compared to CSM 225/Tmn Sri Muda)
Minolta
post Mar 1 2024, 08:56 PM

2,292 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Feb 29 2024, 09:56 PM)
which part of the pics did you deduced as have problem cutting?
Every modern serious woodworker should have a tracksaw👍

Not thinking of Mafell or Festoo l?😁

This post has been edited by Minolta: Mar 1 2024, 08:56 PM
ar188
post Mar 1 2024, 11:32 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(Minolta @ Mar 1 2024, 08:56 PM)
Every modern serious woodworker should have a tracksaw👍

Not thinking of Mafell or Festoo l?😁
the more i advance in woodworking the more i wanna move away from relying on those expensive brands to make bespoke projects.
yea i have two domino machines. one not enough. but i only use them on some projects which pay for the tool in 2 times order.

cos i am mostly looking at those bare low end/cheapo electric tools vietnam/indo/thai/japanese wood workers on youtube now. (not refering to those hand tool woodworker gang) but toward the out of the box use of cheap basic tools to make high end looking results.

This post has been edited by ar188: Mar 1 2024, 11:36 PM
Minolta
post Mar 2 2024, 09:31 PM

2,292 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Mar 1 2024, 11:32 PM)
the more i advance in woodworking the more i wanna move away from relying on those expensive brands to make bespoke projects.
yea i have two domino machines. one not enough. but i only use them on some projects which pay for the tool in 2 times order.

cos i am mostly looking at those bare low end/cheapo electric tools vietnam/indo/thai/japanese wood workers on youtube now. (not refering to those hand tool woodworker gang) but toward the out of the box use of cheap basic tools to make high end looking results.
Japanese woodworkers are joy to watch. But to use bare non powered tools and no fasteners in this day and age, how many got the time/profit?
The americans use everything from jointer to planer to CNC.
Benefon
post Apr 15 2024, 12:44 AM

4,800 posts

QUOTE(yushin @ Jun 28 2023, 10:01 AM)
40V Makita Track saw from China. Gonna replace some wood eaten by termite to PVC foam boards.
Around 1.5k tool only including air transport. ok lar.

40v battery kits very pricey
Benefon
post Apr 16 2024, 06:41 PM

4,800 posts

QUOTE(yushin @ Jun 28 2023, 10:01 AM)
40V Makita Track saw from China. Gonna replace some wood eaten by termite to PVC foam boards.
Around 1.5k tool only including air transport. ok lar.

Makita or Milwaukee track saw?
I am considering now or Bosch 18v-68gc ?
https://www.tchub.sg/bosch-gks-18v-68gc-cor...-bare-tool.html

Any recommended ?

My own tools

This post has been edited by Benefon: Apr 16 2024, 06:46 PM
TSyushin
post Apr 17 2024, 01:11 PM

3,327 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Mar 1 2024, 02:06 AM)
Last time bought new pine wood planks from them to make a TV rack.. (pre MCO)

Just went recently, they expanded the parking lot and paved nicely
It sells almost everything, power tools, paint, some hand tools, ceiling fan, bathroom cabinet, WC, cold mix bitumen, putty, plumbing fittings, some MK sockets. Clientele is split between trucks and myvi types. I find it a bit cramped (compared to CSM 225/Tmn Sri Muda)
Near my house so I just go buy wood as when I need, no need to stock so many wood at home now.
I think they expanded their Milwaukee powertool section recently.

234 Pages « < 230 231 232 233 234 >Top

0.0211sec    0.41    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 02:05 AM