Working in Singapore V20, All About Living in The Little Red Dot
SONYSONY
Apr 8 2017, 10:05 AM

QUOTE(chimpeny @ Apr 7 2017, 07:40 PM) Good day all. How much is current payscale for IT dev 5exp in all rounder for mvc? And the risk of going back to malaysia? Would the salary drop? Lets say MYR10k to sg is SGD5k then malaysia would base on SGD5k then make it MYR7k? Not sure about your case, but I will ask for employment letter stating current salary in malaysia for backup
imwhoiam
Apr 8 2017, 08:36 PM

QUOTE(veger_leong @ Apr 6 2017, 11:02 PM) Business intelligence 🤔Sas? Or sql SQL...mainly using tools like informatica and MarkIt Anyone playing futsal or football in sg? I feel like joining
Flash90
Apr 9 2017, 10:10 PM
QUOTE(K1d0 @ Apr 5 2017, 03:39 PM) Check your PM btw guys for opening bank account, proof of address documents,can I use certificate of stamp duty for room rental? They don't accept room rental agreement and I don't have phone bill statement because I'm using prepaid now as it's paid by company previously. The bank staff wasn't very sure and ask me to bring it over to try. For me, I opened up an account in OCBC. They accept rental agreement with cert of stamp duty. POSB die die need to have phone bill which I'm also using prepaid. They say try ask Telcos to provide me a letter the prepaid belongs to me. Anyhow, u can personally go to the bank branch and ask around, some can open up with company recommendation etc.
K1d0
Apr 9 2017, 10:34 PM
QUOTE(Flash90 @ Apr 9 2017, 10:10 PM) For me, I opened up an account in OCBC. They accept rental agreement with cert of stamp duty. POSB die die need to have phone bill which I'm also using prepaid. They say try ask Telcos to provide me a letter the prepaid belongs to me. Anyhow, u can personally go to the bank branch and ask around, some can open up with company recommendation etc. Hi, thats great to hear. I went to OCBC near raffles place, at first i show the rental agreement, he say they dont accept rental agreement then I recall my agent send me a screenshot of the stamp duty cert so I show to the staff, he say he cant confirm but he ask me to bring original copy over and he will help me to check with his superior. Going to try to open tomorrow by using cert of stamp duty. By the way, do I need to bring 1k cash for opening account or I only require to bank in later after opening the account? The staff ask me to bring my EP, Malaysia IC and proof of address only for OCBC 360 account.
commtrader
Apr 10 2017, 08:43 AM
QUOTE(K1d0 @ Apr 9 2017, 10:34 PM) Hi, thats great to hear. I went to OCBC near raffles place, at first i show the rental agreement, he say they dont accept rental agreement then I recall my agent send me a screenshot of the stamp duty cert so I show to the staff, he say he cant confirm but he ask me to bring original copy over and he will help me to check with his superior. Going to try to open tomorrow by using cert of stamp duty. By the way, do I need to bring 1k cash for opening account or I only require to bank in later after opening the account? The staff ask me to bring my EP, Malaysia IC and proof of address only for OCBC 360 account. Hi, I remember that sgd1k need to bank in immediately Now ocbc360 account benefit has shrink, do you survey other similar bank accounts have the same feature such as stanchart and uob?
terence999
Apr 10 2017, 02:57 PM

Hi All,
Looking for a job in SG - IT. I have the following experiences:
Total working years = 8 years 1st company (3 years) - Server Admin (wintel, vmware, incident mgmt, change mgmt, problem mgmt, end-to-end support, analyst and internal team tech lead) 2nd company (4 years, current company) - Storage & Backup (wintel, SAN, netapp, NBU, incident mgmt, change mgmt, problem mgmt, end-to-end support, L3 support) | ops lead - shift team (half management job, duty roster, situation management, Point of contact for incident (incident lead).
Anyone got any lubang let me know, will PM you! (hopefully you are my guai yan...)
K1d0
Apr 10 2017, 06:48 PM
QUOTE(commtrader @ Apr 10 2017, 08:43 AM) Hi, I remember that sgd1k need to bank in immediately Now ocbc360 account benefit has shrink, do you survey other similar bank accounts have the same feature such as stanchart and uob? Hi, just open my account today, not require the SGD 1,000 on the spot as long as you bank in within a week will be sufficient. I did not survey much but mostly get opinion from my friends, colleagues and bosses who worked here, all suggest me to open OCBC 360 accounts thus I just go with that. By the way, by using certificate of stamp duty is sufficient enough to open bank account at OCBC.
xtylish
Apr 11 2017, 01:29 PM
just in case you guys wanna know what to do when you apply for PR and change job before approval. QUOTE ICA PR (ICA) Apr 10 (1 day ago)
to me Dear Ms Lee 1. Please accept our apologies for the longer lead-time in our reply as we are currently experiencing a high volume in email traffic. 2 If you have obtained a new full-time employment while your PR application is in process, please submit the following documents for our necessary updating: a. A letter from your employer addressed to the Controller of Immigration giving the date of employment, position held and salary earned per month (Basic & Gross); b. Duly completed and signed (by current employer) form Annex A; and c. A photocopy of your Employment pass (front & back). 3 You may submit the documents by dropping into our Deposit Box at level 5 of ICA Building or through post at the following address: Permanent Resident Services Centre ICA Building 10 Kallang Road #05-00 Singapore 208718 Thank you. Yours sincerely
Ms Fion Loh
Permanent Residence Services Centre Immigration & Checkpoints Authority DID: (65) 6391 6097 | FAX: (65) 6293 7091
cheers.
facade88
Apr 11 2017, 02:07 PM

I'm starting in Singapore in two weeks. The plan is to travel daily, so how I open a bank account since I wont be having a permanent address in Singapore. I'm just looking at opening a POSB account.
knwong
Apr 11 2017, 02:55 PM
QUOTE(facade88 @ Apr 11 2017, 02:07 PM) I'm starting in Singapore in two weeks. The plan is to travel daily, so how I open a bank account since I wont be having a permanent address in Singapore. I'm just looking at opening a POSB account. Try giving office address for mailing. I gave that when open my Basic Statement Acc. with OCBC 6 years ago
iceypain
Apr 11 2017, 09:47 PM
anyone here with hsbc visa infinite or citi prestige?
pros & cons for each? i'm mainly looking for the travel benefits.
Pairofdices
Apr 12 2017, 12:00 AM
Hi, just to ask a quick question, any websites to look for jobs for fresh grads in Singapore ? Any hint, because I have applied quite a number of application, either rejected or no reply. Any tips on finding a job in Singapore with low or no experience?
Also, a company is willing to hire me as an Intern, but they ask me to get my own working pass first before approaching them... I emailed MOM and found out that I am not eligible for Work Holiday Pass as I was a student in a UK university but branched in Malaysia, may I know which pass am I eligible for ??
Thanks!
SONYSONY
Apr 12 2017, 06:51 AM

QUOTE(facade88 @ Apr 11 2017, 02:07 PM) I'm starting in Singapore in two weeks. The plan is to travel daily, so how I open a bank account since I wont be having a permanent address in Singapore. I'm just looking at opening a POSB account. DBS raffles place allows to use office address
XiuKeong
Apr 12 2017, 10:16 AM
Finally got my PR approved after 8 months of waiting  QUOTE(Pairofdices @ Apr 12 2017, 12:00 AM) Hi, just to ask a quick question, any websites to look for jobs for fresh grads in Singapore ? Any hint, because I have applied quite a number of application, either rejected or no reply. Any tips on finding a job in Singapore with low or no experience? Also, a company is willing to hire me as an Intern, but they ask me to get my own working pass first before approaching them... I emailed MOM and found out that I am not eligible for Work Holiday Pass as I was a student in a UK university but branched in Malaysia, may I know which pass am I eligible for ?? Thanks! Hard to find as a freshie given that there are graduates from SG local university This post has been edited by XiuKeong: Apr 12 2017, 10:33 AM
ThanatosSwiftfire
Apr 12 2017, 11:44 AM
QUOTE(fuifuiTan @ Apr 12 2017, 11:30 AM) i already receive a new principal EP approval from MOM for my new company and already tender my resignation from my current company (ep holder in current company) will undergo the usual xray / health screening (have not done so yet) but now HENG / Luck got another company offer even higher salary... damn!!! thinking to resign from my new company with 1 week notice  Wah so good got high pay
deodorant
Apr 12 2017, 01:25 PM
QUOTE(fuifuiTan @ Apr 12 2017, 12:41 PM) now i am not sure if MOM will approve another EP for me or not in a short time (again) Nothing ventured nothing gained.
commtrader
Apr 12 2017, 01:27 PM
QUOTE(fuifuiTan @ Apr 12 2017, 12:41 PM) now i am not sure if MOM will approve another EP for me or not in a short time (again) Wah what industry in Sg? Hiring is still strong?
Fiona Chin
Apr 12 2017, 01:52 PM
QUOTE(iceypain @ Apr 11 2017, 09:47 PM) anyone here with hsbc visa infinite or citi prestige? pros & cons for each? i'm mainly looking for the travel benefits. I got the HSBC visa infinite as corporate card. No choice have to use it. Pro - free airport transfer, free lounge access, free golf course in SG and some discount in other places, petrol discount. Cons - Dollar to air miles ratio is low, annual fee waiver success rate almost nil, expensive annual fee, 600+ without HSBC premier acc, 400+ with the account. 600 nothing to u la annual income 120k  .
ThanatosSwiftfire
Apr 12 2017, 04:18 PM
QUOTE(fuifuiTan @ Apr 12 2017, 03:14 PM) just call mom , no problem to reapply for new ep but subject to approval actually i have more then 2 offer.... so yes hiring is still strong Ok lah at least can earn back your rm150k. Jiayou bah!
KilJim
Apr 12 2017, 05:17 PM
^-_-^ ZzzZzZzZzzz....