14 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Working in Singapore V20, All About Living in The Little Red Dot

ThanatosSwiftfire
post Mar 6 2017, 05:26 PM

Irregular
2,787 posts

Not difficult to survive;and keep renting. If only property and car was a lot more affordable though sad.gif
ThanatosSwiftfire
post Mar 8 2017, 08:27 AM

Irregular
2,787 posts

QUOTE(IwanAGP @ Mar 7 2017, 11:12 PM)
PR or EP?

hmm.gif

I only know my pay now is low enough to qualify for credit card as a foreigner. Get PR then different story.
Foreigner is 60k per annum rite. Where got low!
ThanatosSwiftfire
post Mar 9 2017, 04:46 PM

Irregular
2,787 posts

Fionajie u dun talk cock la. 10k per month is nth to u.
ThanatosSwiftfire
post Mar 10 2017, 02:26 PM

Irregular
2,787 posts

It took me 2 years to get back my last drawn myr pay too. So i think its normal.
ThanatosSwiftfire
post Mar 15 2017, 12:58 PM

Irregular
2,787 posts

Oh congrats. Next step is citizen and then buy bto!
ThanatosSwiftfire
post Mar 15 2017, 01:11 PM

Irregular
2,787 posts

QUOTE(kovin @ Mar 15 2017, 01:01 PM)
Get my PR mid of last year after waited for almost a year.
For me, the main purpose of getting PR is for easier to secure a job in sg.
another reason is that job opportunities/earning power here is tiptop in SEA.
Just assumption, you will be able to cut short your retirement plan if you wish to retired back home by x3.
10-15 year of saving will be able to secure your retirement fund.
let's say you started 30yo by the age of 45yo will be enough, if you still cont to work that will be your bonus.

Do you really want to stay/live here for the rest of your life?
Dont kid urself. By the time ur 45 u wont evn think of going back.
ThanatosSwiftfire
post Mar 15 2017, 01:25 PM

Irregular
2,787 posts

QUOTE(kovin @ Mar 15 2017, 01:15 PM)
All the aunties and uncles here so kesian, so old still need to work as a cleaner,
I don't think this is for pass time, I believe this is because they have not enough $$ to survive
Once u start a family in sg, ur kids will be singaporean and they wont have any connection with msia. Then u wont be able to go back cos they wanna stay here.
ThanatosSwiftfire
post Mar 15 2017, 03:44 PM

Irregular
2,787 posts

Hehe all made the decision to b here eh? Majulah singapura!!!
ThanatosSwiftfire
post Mar 15 2017, 07:41 PM

Irregular
2,787 posts

QUOTE(TzeThon @ Mar 15 2017, 06:10 PM)
although CPF eats 20%. the employer also contributes another 17% to the pool.
not too bad.
especially when we don't have anything in our EPF account in malaysia. CPF is a good way to ensure that we have some money in the future.
Some co give the employer cpf as an allowance.
ThanatosSwiftfire
post Mar 16 2017, 10:05 AM

Irregular
2,787 posts

QUOTE(Frank3 @ Mar 16 2017, 09:55 AM)
I apply full contribution 20% immediately after get PR. Because i want to get 17% from employer, and my aim is to buy house, build family here.
90% i will not going back msia because i still can't see any future at MSIA.
Good that u thought about ur future. In your case i highly recommend getting citizenship soon. The pay cut etc, can adapt to it de, not a big deal.
ThanatosSwiftfire
post Mar 16 2017, 06:20 PM

Irregular
2,787 posts

QUOTE(Frank3 @ Mar 16 2017, 10:09 AM)
Yea, intend to get citizenship to enjoy BTO, housing Grant, baby bonus, childcare leave, 4 months maternity leave (for my love), cheaper education...and etc.
Hope you are successful smile.gif

For me too late d.
ThanatosSwiftfire
post Mar 20 2017, 11:31 AM

Irregular
2,787 posts

Serangoon gardens area reminds me of a mix of PJ and DPC.
ThanatosSwiftfire
post Mar 20 2017, 12:25 PM

Irregular
2,787 posts

QUOTE(KilJim @ Mar 20 2017, 12:20 PM)
A bit more chilled / laid back feel without the disorganization of PJ?  biggrin.gif
Haha perhaps. Its like a tiny western town center.
ThanatosSwiftfire
post Mar 23 2017, 11:57 AM

Irregular
2,787 posts

Actually take PR get tax deduction quite good le. The 20% that they deduct from ur income is not taxable. So essentially u get a return equal to the highest bracket u are exposed to, on your contribution. (See cpf relief)

ThanatosSwiftfire
post Mar 23 2017, 06:42 PM

Irregular
2,787 posts

QUOTE(Randomization @ Mar 23 2017, 05:56 PM)
Serious? Is that reasonable?  drool.gif
From what I gather, most people in this forum hardly able to get 1:1 let alone an increment.
Try la. Why not
ThanatosSwiftfire
post Mar 26 2017, 10:31 AM

Irregular
2,787 posts

QUOTE(Kelv @ Mar 26 2017, 10:27 AM)
Toa Payoh north. I also think is expensive, perhaps need to nego with landlord. I rent the small common room and share toilet with him already 750 bucks. I was looking for clean quiet and walking distance to MRT back then.
I rent common room in braddeli in 201e already 750. Now shud be 650 or 700 le, cos market weak d. U overpaying!
ThanatosSwiftfire
post Mar 27 2017, 09:25 AM

Irregular
2,787 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Mar 27 2017, 12:06 AM)
No arguments there. Just amused that what is "fair compensation" varies wildly whether one is moving from KL to SG and vice versa.

Because theoretically if KL to SG, 1:1 is a "fair compensation" move, why wouldn't a 1:1 move in the opposite direction also be fair?
Im hoping for a 1 :2 move leh when i go back....
ThanatosSwiftfire
post Mar 27 2017, 02:38 PM

Irregular
2,787 posts

QUOTE(TzeThon @ Mar 27 2017, 01:42 PM)
HAHAHAHAHAH i get what you mean.
but realistically do you think people will pay RM15k for a SGD5k job here? i seriously doubt so.
because SGD5k job here is usually a manager level. and the same rank in KL doesn't pay RM15k. right?
My peer group in KL now making abt rm12-14k as Finance Mgr in mnc... and im making less than half that for a similar role. A MNC manager here maybe 6k to 10k nia max, so the conversion ratio for my industry at that pay grade seems to be abot 1 : 1.5.

But im hoping to get a "promotion" on my way back la, so that can be a 1:2. Try to sell myself higher with sg experience and all that bullsh*t

QUOTE(someone_stupid @ Mar 27 2017, 01:49 PM)
woke up today feeling all melancholy... missing my life in sg aih
Eh where did u go? I tot u always in sg one?

ThanatosSwiftfire
post Mar 27 2017, 04:31 PM

Irregular
2,787 posts

QUOTE(Fiona Chin @ Mar 27 2017, 04:27 PM)
Good leh. A developer offered me 1:0.4 as FC. Cina pek company.
Cinapek company ask u do dodgy stuff anyway. Better not.
ThanatosSwiftfire
post Apr 1 2017, 04:41 PM

Irregular
2,787 posts

QUOTE(fcuk90 @ Apr 1 2017, 02:59 PM)
you sudah balik Malaysia ? thought you still at besar4 sg?
left big4 few years ago d lor... now in a bank in sg. bonus and increment like shit, abit regret the move.

14 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.2773sec    0.41    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 02:30 AM