512 Pages « < 503 504 505 506 507 > » Bottom

Working in Singapore V20, All About Living in The Little Red Dot

IwanAGP
post May 17 2023, 10:46 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(coolguy99 @ May 17 2023, 07:18 PM)
Just wondering what criteria they will use to determine if the applicant needs to go through medical check up.
Aiya don't worry it's just the usual HIV and TB check if not wrong. I think is compulsory for all. I can't be sure. My PR more than 5 years already. When I apply, it's still full hardcopy submission just 1 or 2 years before they move to online submission.
vaan4
post May 28 2023, 09:22 PM

17 posts

I am moving to SG from KL for work in a couple of weeks' time, and plan to stay at hotel/hostel first while searching for a room to settle in.

I have looked at property guru, 99.co, and Carousell for rental options.
Do you know if Carousell is a reliable source?

[LinkZ]
post May 30 2023, 12:06 PM

645 posts

Can anyone share if we could do our medical checkup (xray and hiv) in Malaysia instead of Singapore?

My IPA letter stated something that suggested its possible but I am unsure about it because its quite vague.

I called up ICA but they said depending on individual case to case basis.

Anyone have experience with this?
VinluV
post May 30 2023, 08:56 PM

1,947 posts

QUOTE(vaan4 @ May 28 2023, 09:22 PM)
I am moving to SG from KL for work in a couple of weeks' time, and plan to stay at hotel/hostel first while searching for a room to settle in.

No. Carousel is like Craigslist, sometimes good sometimes shit.

Define your location n needs and find a proper hostel with security to lock your things.
SUSceo684
post May 30 2023, 08:58 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(vaan4 @ May 28 2023, 09:22 PM)

I suggest coming earlier to get a feel for the place. Sometimes it’s better to rent walking distance than needing to take the MRT at peak going to work hour
vaan4
post May 31 2023, 05:19 PM

17 posts

QUOTE(VinluV @ May 30 2023, 08:56 PM)
No. Carousel is like Craigslist, sometimes good sometimes shit.

Define your location n needs and find a proper hostel with security to lock your things.
QUOTE(ceo684 @ May 30 2023, 08:58 PM)
I suggest coming earlier to get a feel for the place. Sometimes it’s better to rent walking distance than needing to take the MRT at peak going to work hour
Ah. Thanks. Carousell sounds like hit and miss.
I will be working near Tanjong Pagar, and I have rented a backpacker inn for 2 weeks that is 15 minutes walk away.
The company allow remote WFH, but have to be in SG laugh.gif
Should have ample time to have a feel around the place, and find and decide where to stay.

KilJim
post May 31 2023, 06:13 PM

^-_-^ ZzzZzZzZzzz....
4,424 posts

QUOTE(vaan4 @ May 31 2023, 05:19 PM)
Ah. Thanks. Carousell sounds like hit and miss.
I will be working near Tanjong Pagar, and I have rented a backpacker inn for 2 weeks that is 15 minutes walk away.
The company allow remote WFH, but have to be in SG  laugh.gif 
Should have ample time to have a feel around the place, and find and decide where to stay.
If you're short on time, you can consider engaging an agent to prepare a few places based off your criteria.
It'll cost you 1 month rental as the agent's fee, but may be worth the time saved.
Agent will also prepare all the documents needed and act as a middle man in the event there's any issues.
SUSsomewhataut
post Jun 1 2023, 07:35 PM

289 posts

Does anyone have experience with upgrading to ep from wp? Do employers need to advertise on careerfuture portal in this case?

My employer refused to apply ep for me when I got hired, probably because of the advertising requirement, need to reject two Singaporeans before hiring one foreigner
Perspective2021
post Jun 9 2023, 02:48 PM

178 posts

Hi, I am moving to SG next month, and looking for a room to stay near Queenstown, possible to get a room under 1200$ now? anyone can share a bit rental experience with me?
Perspective2021
post Jun 9 2023, 03:06 PM

178 posts

Hi, I am moving to SG next month to work, Is it ok to tell the immigrant officer in the airport checkpoint that I am coming to work? will they request for any letter? or just tell them I am here for vacation?
jian5481
post Jun 9 2023, 11:08 PM

781 posts

QUOTE(Perspective2021 @ Jun 9 2023, 03:06 PM)
Hi, I am moving to SG next month to work, Is it ok to tell the immigrant officer in the airport checkpoint that I am coming to work? will they request for any letter? or just tell them I am here for vacation?
If you are moving to SG for work, you should also have your IPA letter with you. Just bring that letter in case you need it.
Chartry
post Jun 10 2023, 11:08 AM

In the mood of love
1,616 posts

QUOTE(somewhataut @ Jun 1 2023, 07:35 PM)
Does anyone have experience with upgrading to ep from wp? Do employers need to advertise on careerfuture portal in this case?

My employer refused to apply ep for me when I got hired, probably because of the advertising requirement, need to reject two Singaporeans before hiring one foreigner
Company usually prefers getting EP for their staff whenever possible as EP doesn't have any levy plus doesn't count towards foreign workers quota.

Check if you are eligible here.
https://www.mom.gov.sg/eservices/services/e...assessment-tool
SUSsomewhataut
post Jun 11 2023, 03:02 PM

289 posts

QUOTE(Chartry @ Jun 10 2023, 11:08 AM)
Company usually prefers getting EP for their staff whenever possible as EP doesn't have any levy plus doesn't count towards foreign workers quota.

Check if you are eligible here.
https://www.mom.gov.sg/eservices/services/e...assessment-tool
I’m eligible, just wondering in the case of upgrading existing wp to ep, do employers still need to advertise the job for two weeks and reject two Singaporeans before they are allowed to submit an ep application

Many employers find this process too tedious and unethical to justify the cost saving
HP Computer
post Jun 21 2023, 08:23 AM

183 posts

anyone can share experience with aeroline bus, 4.30pm from KL to SG? usually what time reaching SG?

KilJim
post Jun 21 2023, 09:12 AM

^-_-^ ZzzZzZzZzzz....
4,424 posts

QUOTE(HP Computer @ Jun 21 2023, 08:23 AM)
anyone can share experience with aeroline bus, 4.30pm from KL to SG? usually what time reaching SG?
From my experience, likely reach Harbourfront between 10.30pm to midnight
[LinkZ]
post Jun 26 2023, 01:33 PM

645 posts

Hi all,

I've just completed my PR formalities last week and have obtained my entry permit and REP certificates along with my new NRIC number.

With this, I've notified my HR and they are now requesting my copies of EP and REP to create a CPF account for me.

Question that have been lingering in my mind is the safety to scan and submit the entire copies of EP and REP to them or would you rather waiting for the NRIC card for submission?

Whats your thought on this?

This post has been edited by [LinkZ]: Jun 26 2023, 01:34 PM
deodorant
post Jul 1 2023, 10:18 AM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

QUOTE(LinkZ @ Jun 26 2023, 01:33 PM)
Hi all,
I've just completed my PR formalities last week and have obtained my entry permit and REP certificates along with my new NRIC number.
With this, I've notified my HR and they are now requesting my copies of EP and REP to create a CPF account for me.
Question that have been lingering in my mind is the safety to scan and submit the entire copies of EP and REP to them or would you rather waiting for the NRIC card for submission?

You will trust your HR with your NRIC but not a copy of your REP? What reason lol.
Mackiddo
post Jul 2 2023, 09:08 AM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(LinkZ @ Jun 26 2023, 01:33 PM)
Hi all,

you worried HR using your details to illegally draw your free facemask? smile.gif
chupapi_munyayo
post Jul 8 2023, 09:32 AM

393 posts

Guys
Any idea why after applied 50 job applications on JobStreet
Most of them "received" but didn't even review?
The rest all "not suitable" aka rejected

Is it me putting too high expected salary? Sgd4-4.5k consider high??
I researched the market offer the salary is common for this pos

Not sure what went wrong

Or I must put 3k only they will consider?
3k might as well I stay in msia

This post has been edited by chupapi_munyayo: Jul 8 2023, 09:37 AM
coolguy99
post Jul 8 2023, 09:39 AM

7,341 posts

QUOTE(chupapi_munyayo @ Jul 8 2023, 09:32 AM)
Guys
Any idea why after applied 50 job applications on JobStreet
Most of them "received" but didn't even review?
The rest all "not suitable" aka rejected

Is it me putting too high expected salary? Sgd4-4.5k consider high??
I researched the market offer the salary is common for this pos

Not sure what went wrong

Or I must put 3k only they will consider?
3k might as well I stay in msia
Maybe try a different platform? I know that SG employers have moved on from Jobstreet and many of them are recruiting via Linkedin or Monster.

512 Pages « < 503 504 505 506 507 > » Top

0.0262sec    0.59    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 07:41 PM