Wanna date them?
Be prepared to shower them with your moolah
Working in Singapore V20, All About Living in The Little Red Dot
Apr 18 2023, 08:38 PM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
3,168 posts Joined: Aug 2007 |
The current generation of Singapore girls (and some boys) are wannabe influencers and instagram hogs hence the lust for material wealth has never been greater.
Wanna date them? Be prepared to shower them with your moolah |
Apr 19 2023, 08:56 AM
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]()
26,503 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Hi, is there any disadvantage of getting a Singaporean PR as a Malaysian? To be more specific, is there anything in Malaysia that will be affected by it?
Apr 19 2023, 12:24 PM
289 posts Joined: Sep 2022 |
QUOTE(bellion @ Apr 18 2023, 08:38 PM) The current generation of Singapore girls (and some boys) are wannabe influencers and instagram hogs hence the lust for material wealth has never been greater. No chance here, Most of us downgrade to b40 (or whatever term they use) when benchmarked against Singaporeans, we only lie to ourselves back homeWanna date them? Be prepared to shower them with your moolah How to show tho? Cannot be straight away telling them you have money This post has been edited by somewhataut: Apr 19 2023, 12:33 PM |
Apr 19 2023, 12:33 PM
Apr 19 2023, 12:44 PM
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]()
26,503 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Apr 19 2023, 01:25 PM
1,947 posts Joined: Nov 2005 |
QUOTE(Human Nature @ Apr 19 2023, 12:44 PM) I dont know, like banking matters, buying property, taxation, EPF, children schooling in Malaysia.. is there any adverse effect that I am not aware of? Nope. Those only become an issue if you change nationality to Singaporean. Human Nature liked this post
Apr 19 2023, 02:12 PM
7,341 posts Joined: Aug 2015 |
QUOTE(Human Nature @ Apr 19 2023, 12:44 PM) I dont know, like banking matters, buying property, taxation, EPF, children schooling in Malaysia.. is there any adverse effect that I am not aware of? If you want to purchase a hdb as a pr in Singapore, you are not allowed to have any property in Malaysia. Human Nature liked this post
Apr 20 2023, 09:34 AM
3,168 posts Joined: Aug 2007 |
Apr 20 2023, 10:44 AM
932 posts Joined: Dec 2019 |
Hi all, I’ve just gotten my first paycheck, but I got some questions. So currently I have a DBS/POSB Payroll Account, and there’s DBS Remit to send money back to Malaysia. It advertises 0% fees, how true is that statement? If compared to wise how’s the fees/charges? Should I be transferring my money from DBS to Wise and then transfer through Wise for the best exchange rate/fees etc? Would appreciate any advice
Apr 20 2023, 09:15 PM
9,590 posts Joined: Jan 2008 From: S'wak||KL||SG |
QUOTE(yenchenje @ Apr 20 2023, 10:44 AM) Hi all, I’ve just gotten my first paycheck, but I got some questions. So currently I have a DBS/POSB Payroll Account, and there’s DBS Remit to send money back to Malaysia. It advertises 0% fees, how true is that statement? If compared to wise how’s the fees/charges? Should I be transferring my money from DBS to Wise and then transfer through Wise for the best exchange rate/fees etc? Would appreciate any advice Best is CIMB SG to CIMB Malaysia account direct what you see is what you get no extra charge but provided you need both. This rate usually highest also.Used to use DBS few years ago starting the rate not bad, zero fees but last time must transfer during working hour otherwise the rate will jump. After that I move to Wise I think I sent only one time then never use already. Then change to eRemit (formerly M1Remit) till now for almost 3-4 years already. For DBS and Wise I have no idea how good is their service and conversion rate now but if not wrong eRemit beats both of them on the rate la. You can check and compare. CIMB usually beats all of them but I don't want to maintain 2 additional bank accounts hence never open it just to transfer money. If you want to try eRemit let me know haha This post has been edited by IwanAGP: Apr 20 2023, 09:16 PM |
Apr 21 2023, 04:52 PM
Does anyone know about the compass framework to be implemented september this year, do Malaysians lose their privilege in ep application, lower qualifying salary is useless when we can’t pass the other sections of the framework
current measure only require companies to advertise for two weeks? Or need to interview Singaporeans? |
Apr 21 2023, 09:58 PM
QUOTE(IwanAGP @ Apr 20 2023, 09:15 PM) Best is CIMB SG to CIMB Malaysia account direct what you see is what you get no extra charge but provided you need both. This rate usually highest also. Interesting interesting, for like intercountry available banks at least, I can apply for Maybank since my main bank in Malaysia is Maybank, but idk if it'll be just worth it more to use Wise as my main, also after checking eRemit, the conversion rate do seem a little bit higher on Wise, 0.22983 on Wise and 0.2967 on eRemit, so I will probably just be using PayLah to top up to my Wise and withdrawing it from that, for savings its probably gonna be Maybank SG.. Thanks for the offer tho! Used to use DBS few years ago starting the rate not bad, zero fees but last time must transfer during working hour otherwise the rate will jump. After that I move to Wise I think I sent only one time then never use already. Then change to eRemit (formerly M1Remit) till now for almost 3-4 years already. For DBS and Wise I have no idea how good is their service and conversion rate now but if not wrong eRemit beats both of them on the rate la. You can check and compare. CIMB usually beats all of them but I don't want to maintain 2 additional bank accounts hence never open it just to transfer money. If you want to try eRemit let me know haha |
Apr 22 2023, 11:50 AM
QUOTE(yenchenje @ Apr 21 2023, 09:58 PM) Interesting interesting, for like intercountry available banks at least, I can apply for Maybank since my main bank in Malaysia is Maybank, but idk if it'll be just worth it more to use Wise as my main, also after checking eRemit, the conversion rate do seem a little bit higher on Wise, 0.22983 on Wise and 0.2967 on eRemit, so I will probably just be using PayLah to top up to my Wise and withdrawing it from that, for savings its probably gonna be Maybank SG.. Thanks for the offer tho! Haha not sure never check wise for quite long already. Use whichever you like hahaMaybank savings got any advantage? For myself I have OCBC as my main savings then POSB for day to day use. Salary goes into OCBC to get bonus interest transfer out balance to POSB with ATM just downstairs like 30m away from the elevator from my block. |
Apr 23 2023, 05:16 PM
QUOTE(IwanAGP @ Apr 22 2023, 11:50 AM) Haha not sure never check wise for quite long already. Use whichever you like haha From what I can see with Maybank's (SG) website I don't think so.. but there is a 3% P.A., if that's what you're referring to as interest. Tho if OCBC's rate is high then I might consider switching over. Maybank savings got any advantage? For myself I have OCBC as my main savings then POSB for day to day use. Salary goes into OCBC to get bonus interest transfer out balance to POSB with ATM just downstairs like 30m away from the elevator from my block. |
Apr 23 2023, 05:31 PM
QUOTE(yenchenje @ Apr 23 2023, 05:16 PM) From what I can see with Maybank's (SG) website I don't think so.. but there is a 3% P.A., if that's what you're referring to as interest. Tho if OCBC's rate is high then I might consider switching over. Just checked 3% need to fulfill a lot of criteria. Base interest still 0.25%.https://www.maybank2u.com.sg/en/personal/sa...-programme.page I have been using OCBC360 for many years. Still finding it the easiest for bonus interest. But if you're looking for the highest base interest I think CIMB better with 1.5-3.5% just keeping money there without fulfilling any criteria. You can look around and decide on. |
Apr 24 2023, 10:46 PM
67 posts Joined: Nov 2008 |
Hi All, I have a question and hope that someone can answer.
Lets said I applied Employment pass or S pass in Singapore, and I started work in Singapore on August 2023. For the year 2024 when I'm doing tax assessment for year 2023. Am I considered as resident tax or non-resident tax? The amount difference between resident tax or non-resident tax is huge This post has been edited by Technika: Apr 24 2023, 10:49 PM |
Apr 24 2023, 11:25 PM
QUOTE(Technika @ Apr 24 2023, 10:46 PM) Hi All, I have a question and hope that someone can answer. If you continue to work beyond the required can't remember 181 or 182 days, you will be considered as Tax Resident if I'm right. It's only if you stopped working altogether then don't know how IRAS will trace that and come after you for Tax. If you change job before end of that period, your company may withhold some part of it to sort out on the tax part if not wrong.Lets said I applied Employment pass or S pass in Singapore, and I started work in Singapore on August 2023. For the year 2024 when I'm doing tax assessment for year 2023. Am I considered as resident tax or non-resident tax? The amount difference between resident tax or non-resident tax is huge I started work many years ago on 1st September, taking only 4 months salary and some tiny bonus for that year I actually went under the lowest tax bracket of $20k. Didn't even see any assessment for that Financial Year haha Actually you can find the answer here:- https://www.iras.gov.sg/taxes/individual-in...y-tax-residency Foreigner who has worked in Singapore for a continuous period straddling 2 calendar years and your total period of stay* is at least 183 days. This applies to foreign employees who entered Singapore but excludes directors of a company, public entertainers or professionals. * including your physical presence immediately before and after your employment. Foreigners issued with a work pass that is valid for at least 1 year will also be treated as a tax resident. However, your tax residency status will be reviewed at the point of tax clearance when you cease your employment based on the tax residency rules. If your stay in Singapore is less than 183 days, you will be regarded as a non-resident. Extra to read in case you change job while holding work pass: https://www.iras.gov.sg/taxes/individual-in...tizen-employees This post has been edited by IwanAGP: Apr 24 2023, 11:29 PM Technika liked this post
Apr 26 2023, 05:33 PM
3,558 posts Joined: Sep 2005 From: Shenzhen Bahru |
QUOTE(Human Nature @ Apr 19 2023, 12:44 PM) I dont know, like banking matters, buying property, taxation, EPF, children schooling in Malaysia.. is there any adverse effect that I am not aware of? Can't drive foreign car (M'sia car) in SingaporeYour take home pay will drop cos need to contribute to CPF Your children (Male) need to do NS if your child decide to take up PRship Human Nature liked this post
Apr 26 2023, 08:29 PM
QUOTE(IwanAGP @ Apr 23 2023, 05:31 PM) Just checked 3% need to fulfill a lot of criteria. Base interest still 0.25%. Alright appreciate the help! Maybe I can ask my cousin's dad to help with OCBC if I decided to go that route since he works in OCBC https://www.maybank2u.com.sg/en/personal/sa...-programme.page I have been using OCBC360 for many years. Still finding it the easiest for bonus interest. But if you're looking for the highest base interest I think CIMB better with 1.5-3.5% just keeping money there without fulfilling any criteria. You can look around and decide on. |
Apr 29 2023, 08:20 AM
5,691 posts Joined: Mar 2006 |
QUOTE(knwong @ Apr 26 2023, 05:33 PM) Can't drive foreign car (M'sia car) in Singapore Technically EP holder also can’t drive non-SG car, no? Just that maybe slightly less enforced.Your take home pay will drop cos need to contribute to CPF Your children (Male) need to do NS if your child decide to take up PRship |
| Change to: | 0.0216sec
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 07:19 PM |