Working in Singapore V20, All About Living in The Little Red Dot

IwanAGP
post Mar 6 2017, 09:50 AM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(Progineer @ Mar 6 2017, 05:45 AM)
I once had a peak over the shoulders of a middle aged lady withdrawing cash at an atm. She had 360k sgd savings in cash... I immediately felt jealous.
360k drool.gif drool.gif

I just wanna take 10% will do drool.gif
IwanAGP
post Mar 6 2017, 06:54 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(knwong @ Mar 6 2017, 05:30 PM)
Why don't you share your own experience while living here?

Article can be bias
tl;dr

Single, Don't drink, Don't geylang, Don't buy luxuries = Save a whole lot. Even for freshie down here.

Probably enough to save equivalent salary in MY and even more.
IwanAGP
post Mar 7 2017, 11:26 AM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(ldhong @ Mar 7 2017, 11:01 AM)
Go Geylang eat frog porridge won't cost a lot right?  hmm.gif
TBH, I haven't get to try it yet biggrin.gif

QUOTE(Kelv @ Mar 7 2017, 11:02 AM)
Still waiting if anyone gonna post the price range for geylang  brows.gif
Anywhere from $10 to ???

$10 if you share with someone else.

I mean... Frog porridge wink.gif
IwanAGP
post Mar 7 2017, 11:12 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(XiuKeong @ Mar 7 2017, 04:24 PM)
Ya wei, submitted corporate card application rejected...submitted personal card application also rejected

Checked with Credit Bureau also same reason...
PR or EP?

hmm.gif

I only know my pay now is low enough to qualify for credit card as a foreigner. Get PR then different story.
IwanAGP
post Mar 8 2017, 07:02 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(XiuKeong @ Mar 7 2017, 11:58 PM)
EP, they told me to take loan just for the sake of credit activity or try other card which I already have but still got rejected mad.gif
biggrin.gif Maybe is their trick to get you take up unnecessary loan? I know buy insurance did help la didn't know taking loan also.

QUOTE(ThanatosSwiftfire @ Mar 8 2017, 08:27 AM)
Foreigner is 60k per annum rite. Where got low!
I mean I'm too low to qualify. Minimum should be around 3.7k basic per month for foreigner. I cheap labour basic not even 3k.

QUOTE(ghodul @ Mar 8 2017, 03:58 PM)
Just wondering guys,

The requirement for EP got change huh? I'm currently on EP now. Yesterday, I just sign a new good offer, which is 25% from my current pay. But the new HR stated that she can't apply EP for me due to new requirement. She say that she will apply S-Pass for me instead...

Does downgrading ur pass affecting something here?
3.6k. Old EP holder can still be waived for the first renewal if not wrong. After that need to meet the requirement. But to be honest last time when I first came SG, the requirement was 3.2. I was getting only 2.X back then.

Affect nothing much. Company need to pay levy. I think apply phone from Tesco also need extra deposit (this one I not 100% sure can't remember). And maybe just feel like one class lower biggrin.gif
IwanAGP
post Mar 21 2017, 10:10 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(KilJim @ Mar 21 2017, 09:33 PM)
Yes
If company B cannot manage to get your EP approval, just stay with company A

Same thing applies when you move to company A, only resign at your current company once they get your EP approved
Curious question. Is the company HR going to be notified when current employee has application under other company?

Besides that, not often people will wait for you to serve your notice period only after getting EP approved. I'm not sure but if I'm the boss I wouldn't wanna wait biggrin.gif Some even need to serve 2 months notice.
IwanAGP
post Mar 25 2017, 10:18 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Mar 25 2017, 08:57 PM)
Just some random musings on the 1:1 thing.

If you earn rm5k in MY, lots of ppl will say you should ask for sgd5k in SG to be fairly compensated.

But if you earn sgd5k in SG and wanna go back MY, lots of ppl will say must get at least rm10-15k to be fairly compensated.

So which ratio is the 'correct' one? smile.gif
I think both biggrin.gif

For me now I think the later option is more "correct"

This post has been edited by IwanAGP: Mar 25 2017, 10:19 PM
IwanAGP
post Apr 1 2017, 06:22 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(K1d0 @ Apr 1 2017, 04:22 PM)
Yeap, cause I'm staying at hotel now in Changi airport, so have to find fast. Will be staying at redhill, just opposite MRT. Agent manage help me to nego quite alot.
My room from 800 become 650. Haha...
IwanAGP
post Apr 1 2017, 09:26 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(K1d0 @ Apr 1 2017, 07:02 PM)
Wow, where is your room? Mine from 900 become 750.
Near tiong bahru and harbourfront and outram haha.

Few stops to either MRT.
IwanAGP
post Apr 7 2017, 08:46 AM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(mick98 @ Apr 6 2017, 11:24 PM)
hi guys, just want to ask
If a company has the right to request interviewee to acknowledge "Consent in Relation to Personal Data" under Personal Data Protection Act?
I know the employees have to sign this kind of stuff but for job application?
That should be something saying that you have provided your personal data for them (resume, address, contact details all those?). Sign to acknowledge that you have provided these information bla bla bla.

I'm not very sure. You have gotta go through the terms and conditions before signing
IwanAGP
post Apr 14 2017, 11:53 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Apr 14 2017, 09:32 PM)
Industry-dependent ba. Banking & Finance basically no such thing as AWS.
No 13th month, give 13 month bonus only.
IwanAGP
post Apr 18 2017, 06:40 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(XiuKeong @ Apr 18 2017, 01:49 PM)
When you borrow, you pay lo. Not like even Rm50 also cannot afford to pay, that's like a mere S$16 only.

Save few cups of "atas" coffee and you can pay.
Mine is like RM300/month leh... Total up if fully paid by installment will be around 80k. But my mum pay for me monthly by force. Then I bank in back to her biggrin.gif She very worry I cannot exit MY at immigration.
IwanAGP
post Apr 20 2017, 01:14 AM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(jojolicia @ Apr 19 2017, 05:27 PM)
I need to change my current hp.
u know any model with >> 2nd sim at best 3g on newer model
A lot actually... Since S7/LG V20/MI5 etc start all second sim can go up to 3G d.

Even many cheap phones like Redmi Note 4, Mi Max etc and Huawei lower end also can. New phones with dual sim also almost if not all can.
IwanAGP
post Apr 23 2017, 09:54 AM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(Progineer @ Apr 23 2017, 08:07 AM)
Got to TBS and take a bus. There are buses that  departs every hour.
Should have bus from Subang parade also if not wrong.
IwanAGP
post Apr 29 2017, 06:37 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(bearbear @ Apr 29 2017, 11:58 AM)
you walk to tuas check point then how to cross?

anyway woodland side is quite confirm building mrt liao, some clearing of old jetty structure on-going at singapore side
Take causewaylink la... Why can't cross?
IwanAGP
post Apr 30 2017, 12:31 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

Guess what popped up in the mailbox today?

A letter from ICA... Application of PR. Submitted on 20+ Nov.

That's just like few days pass 5 months. Cool...

Btw... If I have just renewed my EP last September (09/16), only required to take HIV blood test but not X-ray, do I still have to go and take the medical examination or just fill in the declaration?

Next step in life... Easier employment biggrin.gif
IwanAGP
post Apr 30 2017, 04:08 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(fcuk90 @ Apr 30 2017, 02:58 PM)
congrats.

you still need another medical check.

time to book for PR formality date
Majulah singapura.
Ok then... Need to find somewhere to get it done then.

Still need wait my company fill up and chop the form. Maybe arrange next next week go there.
IwanAGP
post Apr 30 2017, 09:58 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(justified @ Apr 30 2017, 08:48 PM)
Got offer letter from the firm .. They will process my EP .. May I know what is the difference between in principal approval and EP?

How long will I get the permit usually? Should I start looking for room now? What is I have made payment for room but my EP application fail (touch wood)?
IPA means they confirm give you the EP liao but with conditions.

The condition here refers to mostly health conditions. That's why you have to do medical check when you're here. So if you confirm you no TB and HIV, should not be a problem and don't need to be worried.

I'm not sure whether there's other conditions though. AFAIK it's just the medical check.
IwanAGP
post May 1 2017, 10:02 AM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(KilJim @ May 1 2017, 09:59 AM)
Right after the first few income tax payment worked for me too
Remember you need to book your appointment at least 6 months ahead, so do some planning

As for your other question on printed double sided or single sided, always choose the safer choice when dealing with SG gov, they can be quite anal about certain things
In this case, go for single sided
I paid just once. I mean tax.

Not really 6 month. Just login at midnight can get some open slots within next 1-2 month.

Got mine just 3 weeks before my appointment date.
IwanAGP
post May 1 2017, 01:33 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(heyamazingpeople @ May 1 2017, 12:54 PM)
Ya, i just walked on this Saturday from woodland to johor, then on sunday johor to woodland.
The queue is crazy on both days.
Halfway through the bridge, i did notice the signage saying no walking. But still see a lot of people walking.
One of the worst jam that i have ever experienced.

The weird thing is on the bridge, it doesnt seem so bad. Probably bus couldnt go from singapore to johor as slightly more jam there.. so less bus getting to johor side.

On side note, can we have a kopitiam thread to discuss about the traffic condition for people who travelling frequently from woodland to johor? or there is already one somewhere?
You mean 29/4 and 30/4?

Or last week?

Yesterday should be quite loose isn't it. The second day of long weekend normally not much peeps going out/in laugh.gif

8 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.2967sec    0.64    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 05:26 PM