13 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Working in Singapore V20, All About Living in The Little Red Dot

coolguy99
post Apr 18 2017, 10:15 AM

7,356 posts

now even foreigners can use the automated gates? i just came back from singapore for vacation and when i was passing through immigration the officer directed me to the automated gate which i thought was for singapore pr / citizen only. and i managed to pass through without surrendering the departure card.
coolguy99
post Apr 18 2017, 10:26 AM

7,356 posts

QUOTE(aLertz @ Apr 18 2017, 10:21 AM)
it's a good move...
if borrow loan, then should pay back...don't take things for granted laugh.gif
as far as i know, those with working pass are able to use the automated gates...
not sure bout tourists though...
u work in sg b4 maybe?  hmm.gif
yeah i worked in sg before but the officer couldn't have known...i was like heading to the ALL PASSPORT queue like a normal tourist and the officer just directed me to the automated gate. maybe they have upgraded their system and we are like the "white mouse" trying out their new upgrade?
coolguy99
post Apr 26 2017, 09:13 AM

7,356 posts

My friend is looking for someone to take over her lease of a 2 bedroom HDB unit which is located at Tampines St. 81. The HDB unit itself is located in the middle of a community centre with plenty of food choices, places to do groceries, buses. Rent is also very reasonable as well.

Please PM if interested.
coolguy99
post May 19 2017, 09:33 AM

7,356 posts

QUOTE(Progineer @ May 19 2017, 06:44 AM)
Why would you negotiate a lower pay from what you are currently earning??

Anyways, minimum salary for EP is 3.6k sgd now.
it is very convenient in singapore, everything is very well connected, its just that the quality of life isn't for everyone
coolguy99
post May 19 2017, 10:13 AM

7,356 posts

QUOTE(knwong @ May 19 2017, 09:55 AM)
What quality of life that your are referring to?
a typical working class foreigner in singapore: live in a small HDB room, go to work every morning having to beat the morning rush with cramped buses and trains, work is typically more stressful as employers tend to expect more from you (competition is also pretty stiff there as there is always other foreigners that are willing to do the same job with higher qualifications and lower pay), after work you will usually be so tired you just want to go home and take a nap.

during weekends, malls are always very crowded with people, and it gets boring especially when you come to realize that malls in singapore are more or less the same (you see the same selection of shops in almost every mall that you patronize). if you are lucky with a couple of friends you can probably hang out doing something meaningful like going to the beach, cycling etc, but that doesn't happen every week. On some weeks you may probably end up alone as you don't have a family to go back to. Eateries are aplenty in singapore and you can probably get by if you are not that fussy about food.

also, one common sight in singapore is that you typically see the elders working as cleaners or clearing tables at food court and cannot help but to feel sorry towards them and feel depressed after. apparently this is one of the govt's initiatives to get the elders to work to make them feel 'occupied' as they normally have too much free time.

coolguy99
post Jul 3 2017, 09:29 AM

7,356 posts

QUOTE(iamihaveto @ Jul 3 2017, 01:22 AM)
Hi guys, i am struggling between two options now.

I am drawing 8.5k MYR per month, work life balance, good boss, and friendly colleagues. (Got time to develop my apps and web-site, intent to start my own co. if there is a chance)

But recently, i got a SG job offering me 5.5k SGD, By the look of the director and the speed they process my job application. I think it will be a BIG NO work life balance + heavy workload.

I know the final decision is always lied on my hand but i would like to hear some opinions from the forumers here. Thank you.

*I am a IT programmer
do you mind telling how old are you now? if you are still single i would suggest you to take the offer and go somewhere else for a new challenge, maybe for a few years.
coolguy99
post Oct 22 2017, 05:54 PM

7,356 posts

QUOTE(MyHeArtb3Ating @ Oct 22 2017, 12:32 PM)
my girlfriend plan to work in singapore but she SPM holder only dont have diploma. any hope she can get EP from MOM?
if she can get a job that pays 3.6k monthly there is a chance.
coolguy99
post Dec 4 2017, 07:26 PM

7,356 posts

QUOTE(oldbirdsong @ Dec 4 2017, 02:41 PM)
Yes, if not your company is very generous!
some company doesn't even prorate, cukurr la
coolguy99
post Dec 15 2017, 07:37 PM

7,356 posts

QUOTE(FreshGraduate @ Dec 15 2017, 04:56 PM)
I fresh grad. Start basic salary alr 5.2k haven't plus allowance.
fresh grad can get so much in sg? wow grats man
coolguy99
post Dec 16 2017, 11:57 PM

7,356 posts

QUOTE(ThanatosSwiftfire @ Dec 16 2017, 11:51 AM)
i sometimes wonder how much my savings is due to the lack of a social life.
that can be a major factor though. or single vs attached
coolguy99
post Dec 20 2017, 08:41 AM

7,356 posts

QUOTE(ldhong @ Dec 19 2017, 10:29 PM)
Lately did any PRs here received letter from CMPB?

In the letter, it is stated first gen PR is exempted from NS.

It is just a FYI kind of things.

Now only send letter to tell me.  sweat.gif
First gen meaning yourself? Does it mean that if you have a boy he will be subjected to NS?
coolguy99
post Dec 20 2017, 11:41 AM

7,356 posts

QUOTE(aussiebum @ Dec 20 2017, 10:37 AM)
oh yea, i receive the same letter too. I thought it was asking me to do NS  biggrin.gif
Why would they subject a working male for NS? How is he going to feed his family
coolguy99
post Dec 20 2017, 01:32 PM

7,356 posts

QUOTE(aussiebum @ Dec 20 2017, 12:42 PM)
16 1/2 years old will be scheduled and 18 yrs old for enlistment for 2nd gen PR and first gen foreign students PR

dependent PR under your wife, you will be registered for NS but u won't get called for it because you are just too old for that. Joke joke  tongue.gif

Update: foreign student that resided in SG more than 2 years and pass at least one national exam, PSLE, N/O/A levels can now apply PR but liable for 2 years NS
Dependent PR under wife won’t get called for NS? Is this verified lel
coolguy99
post Dec 20 2017, 10:17 PM

7,356 posts

QUOTE(kribrigdefoo @ Dec 20 2017, 09:26 PM)
Hmm, just curious.. Will startup company pay cpf to me as well? Never mentioned in my employment contract.
I am not a PR or SG citizen yet.
if you are on EP employer is not required to contribute to CPF. only if you are PR/citizen then company is obliged to contribute to CPF
coolguy99
post Jan 22 2018, 08:41 PM

7,356 posts

i am a pr now and lets say i decide to return to malaysia. when will my pr be cancelled?
coolguy99
post Jan 27 2018, 08:43 AM

7,356 posts

QUOTE(thefryingfox @ Jan 26 2018, 10:03 PM)
How best to move to sg? Any sg company hire Malaysian? And arrange for pr?
best if you company has operations in singapore and you request for an internal transfer. I find this as the best way to go.
coolguy99
post Feb 25 2018, 09:45 AM

7,356 posts

QUOTE(clofae @ Feb 24 2018, 04:30 PM)
Hello, anyone here working as a Business Analyst or knows someone in this role? I urgently need to talk to someone who is in this field of work. Please PM or WhatsApp me. Thank you.
i am currently in this role. what do you need to know?
coolguy99
post Apr 21 2018, 09:31 AM

7,356 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Apr 20 2018, 10:50 PM)
Is it possible to secure a PR and later on citizenship just by being self employed (trading)?
i don't think so if you want to enter using EP. i don't know about other means of getting PR though.
coolguy99
post Jun 9 2018, 08:10 AM

7,356 posts

QUOTE(montyashley80 @ Jun 7 2018, 11:31 PM)
for the sake of the future..no harm to get PR there la..
work there to earn SGD and spend it in MYR hahaha
Is there no future in Malaysia now that we have a new govt?
coolguy99
post Jun 17 2018, 08:17 PM

7,356 posts

QUOTE(Ralna @ Jun 17 2018, 11:50 AM)
Hi, everyone. Just some sharing here since my last post (shown above). I moved to SG in Nov 2017, and guess what, I just tendered my resignation in end-May. My last day will be a week after, in end-June.

I'm actually doing very well on the job, and the management really hope I'll continue to work with them. I resigned coz I don't like how things are done here: human errors here and there, demotivated staff, inaccurate information, messy workflow, abrupt changes and others. I'm working for an industry-leading MNC and yet, sigh.

As a result, 40% of the workforce (12 employees) in my department have resigned. From 30 employees reduced to 18 in just 6 months. This month alone, 4 employees including myself, resigned and left.

& due to some previous issues, I escalated level by level, from supervisor -> manager -> director -> senior director. In the end, my manager apologised to me last Monday. There were some mistakes on her part that made me really upset. We talked for an hour, and we're on good terms again after that.

I'll be presenting to the management tomorrow... presenting to the senior director, director, 2 managers and supervisor. That's the last thing I can do for the company before I leave. Hopefully, things will change to become better after that.

In fact, just yesterday, my senior colleague told me the employee engagement survey result was 16% last year. I was like OMG shocking.gif! He said it's the lowest among all the departments/ offices worldwide. He's happy that I'll be presenting/ discussing with the management tmrw. Sigh.

What I'll be doing after my last working day:

After the change of government, we wanna return and contribute our expertise to the nation. We also want our kids to be born and bred in Malaysia, live in a landed property with a garden for them to run around, pets to play with, and friends and family around them.

I had the exact same thought too. The difference is that I have been looking to move to Singapore before the election, it all changed after the election, this past month has been nothing more than amazing. I started to see hope in our country that I grew up in, and am willing to stay and contribute to the country too.

13 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.7370sec    1.31    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 02:43 PM