Working in Singapore V20, All About Living in The Little Red Dot

jian5481
post Aug 24 2022, 08:22 PM

781 posts

Hi fellow forumers,

I am planning to transfer to my company's Singapore branch, planned for early to mid 2023. I'm planning to bring my dog over as well, and already have contact for professional pet relocator.

However, my concern is the ease of finding rental where the owners will allow medium sized dog (14kg). Will be moving with my wife and child, so 2 adults, 1 child and 1 dog.

Anyone had experience in finding rental properties with pets? Office will be at Paya Lebar Square, so properties not too far from Circle or East West line should be fine. Rental around SGD3k should be fine, or SGD2k+ if further from office

Thank you
jian5481
post Aug 25 2022, 12:43 AM

781 posts

QUOTE(Fiona Chin @ Aug 24 2022, 11:52 PM)
HDB don't allow mid size dog I think. Condo can have mid breed, but depend on MC and the neighbours complain or not. Try ask the MC before signing. Not sure about the rental now but allow more budget if condo. I kept 3 husky, they howl at night sometime but never get complain. Its cruel to muzzle the dog at home all the time.
Thanks! Are you living in a condo too? HDB seems to allow bigger local mongrels now, but don't think that will apply to mongrels from Malaysia sad.gif Do you happen to know any good property agents. so that I can also engage them when the time comes?
jian5481
post Aug 25 2022, 02:11 PM

781 posts

QUOTE(Eve_1989 @ Aug 25 2022, 01:21 PM)
I would love to know too, but my dog is of smaller breed/poodle. Considering studio unit but it’s also ranging 2.6k-3.2k per mth 🙈 have you found out about the procedure? By land or by air? Must hire the authorised list of agent right? And quarantine etc.
You will need to make sure your dog is microchipped, and vaccinated for rabies (if i recall correctly, needs to be vaccinated at least 6 months before relocating). I'm planning to use land transport (quoted about RM5k), and then quarantine in Singapore for 30 days, costing close to SGD2k. I am still planning to check with other agents to see what their cost are.

I don't think it's necessary to use agent if you have time to do everything yourself.
jian5481
post Oct 19 2022, 03:25 PM

781 posts

Speaking of moving, my EP is already approved and should be moving after CNY. Anyone has any reliable contacts for moving stuffs?

I'm not moving any furniture, mostly higher value appliances like vacuum, air purifiers, kitchen appliances, etc. Those cheaper ones costing under RM300 probably i'll just buy them new when i'm there...
jian5481
post Oct 20 2022, 08:29 AM

781 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Oct 20 2022, 01:21 AM)
Can you quantify your "stuffs"
If just moving internally within SG gogox or lalamove starts from about $30 to book a trip.
Vacuum just buy one off carousell ~60 bucks BNIB for wired Hitachi.
If its just you coming over I don't think you need to import everything in.
I'll be moving to SG from KL with my family of 3 + 1 dog. I'll probably be bringing about 10 rather big appliances. And since i might be moving these items, probably just add along our other personal belongings in 2-3 boxes. Don't need a lorry, but probably a van since i don't think there are commercial movers using normal cars/SUVs.

I can get my family members to drive in with those items, but that would be my last resort as I do not want to trouble anyone
jian5481
post Jan 4 2023, 11:47 PM

781 posts

What is the fastest way to cross the border now? Used to park at JB and take the bus, but it's usually very crowded and will take few hours depending on time.

Also, if it's going to be on a weekday after lunch time, is it still busy?
jian5481
post May 4 2023, 12:59 AM

781 posts

QUOTE(yenchenje @ May 3 2023, 12:27 PM)
Thanks for replying! Interesting, Wise is faster than DBS’s advertised same day transfer? As currently I’m just transferring from DBS with PayLah! Or PayNow to my Wise and usually it arrives within a minute and not immediate. Interesting to hear that Wise’s speed is faster than DBS… how long does it take for your DBS to transfer over to MBB? For wise for me, it’s usually within minutes, and from Wise to MBB, it’s also within a few minutes after of transferring
I was considering between Wise and CIMB few months back. Decided to go with CIMB, the rates are quite good, better than DBS. CIMB SG to CIMB MY no fee whatsoever. I did a comparison against Wise + transfer fee, IIRC, I think CIMB ended up giving me more MYR. It's instant also, like within a minute
jian5481
post Jun 9 2023, 11:08 PM

781 posts

QUOTE(Perspective2021 @ Jun 9 2023, 03:06 PM)
Hi, I am moving to SG next month to work, Is it ok to tell the immigrant officer in the airport checkpoint that I am coming to work? will they request for any letter? or just tell them I am here for vacation?
If you are moving to SG for work, you should also have your IPA letter with you. Just bring that letter in case you need it.
jian5481
post Jul 13 2023, 08:09 PM

781 posts

QUOTE(Perspective2021 @ Jul 13 2023, 12:10 PM)
since i do not have EP card yet,
that means i cant buy a registered mobile number (because to get registered mobile number, EP card is required),
i have to get a tourist prepaid plan first, am i right?
I got my postpaid number with M1 using IPA at Bugis Junction.
jian5481
post Dec 4 2023, 09:07 AM

781 posts

Hi, anyone recently applied for PR since they moved to online submission? Do they still require hardcopy? My wife's degree cert quite big, and difficult to bring around without damaging it unless I buy those tube cases
jian5481
post Dec 4 2023, 11:36 PM

781 posts

QUOTE(IwanAGP @ Dec 4 2023, 09:26 AM)
Uni never give the tube case?? Mine came with it so I still have it in the case. Anyway can't verify for you got my PR for quite some year already.
OK, just asked my wife, she said yes but not sure where it is...will just have to find a way to transport it nicely then, just in case it's needed. thanks!

0.3851sec    0.76    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 04:01 PM