1384 Pages « < 22 23 24 25 26 > » Bottom

[OFFICIAL]Rig Suggestion Q&A Thread V13!

calapia
post Apr 5 2017, 04:08 PM

689 posts

QUOTE(richard912 @ Apr 5 2017, 04:00 PM)
This is so confusing. Will give it a try assuming your old monitor is 1980x1080:

CPU - CORE I5 7500 RM880
MOBO - ASUS H110M-K RM279
RAM - 1 x 8Gb KINGSTON D4 PC2133 RM265
SSD - SAMSUNG 850 EVO 120GB RM286
HDD - Re-use
GPU - GIGABYTE GTX1060 6G D5 WINDFORCE RM1385
PSU - Silverstone ES230 600W RM249
Case - Techware F3 RM124

Total - RM3468 based on C-zone price
Thanks bro... yes yes my old monitor is 1980x1080....
92alvin
post Apr 5 2017, 07:17 PM

153 posts

Dear sifu

Im planning to upgrade my rig as my pc starting to black screen itself when im playing game and i've been told it might be my gpu or psu problem. So far, the only solution is to downclock my gpu and im very annoyed by performing the same thing everytime before i launch a game. Please suggest what to upgrade.

My current spec. (Have 2-3k to spend)
Intel Core I5 3470
Asrock H77 Pro4/MVP
Gskill SNIPER 2x4GB DDR3 1600mhz
WD 1TB Caviar Blue
XIGMATEK ASGARD PRO
Enermax NAXN82+ 650W PSU
Leadtek GTX670 2GB DDR5
Plextor M5S 128GB SSD
iZuDeeN
post Apr 5 2017, 07:19 PM

3,466 posts

QUOTE(Ivan Sac @ Apr 4 2017, 01:06 PM)
Is it really reliable? Saw it in Lazada too. How is it possible to sell for RM50. Retail price I guess around RM400++.
QUOTE(richard912 @ Apr 4 2017, 02:03 PM)
Caveat emptor  whistling.gif
I have been using it for few months... no issue... key works on first try

<timestamp to show its not google image>

terence_nwb
post Apr 5 2017, 08:19 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(92alvin @ Apr 5 2017, 07:17 PM)
Dear sifu

Im planning to upgrade my rig as my pc starting to black screen itself when im playing game and i've been told it might be my gpu or psu problem. So far, the only solution is to downclock my gpu and im very annoyed by performing the same thing everytime before i launch a game. Please suggest what to upgrade.

My current spec. (Have 2-3k to spend)
Intel Core I5 3470
Asrock H77 Pro4/MVP
Gskill SNIPER 2x4GB DDR3 1600mhz
WD 1TB Caviar Blue
XIGMATEK ASGARD PRO
Enermax NAXN82+ 650W PSU
Leadtek GTX670 2GB DDR5
Plextor M5S 128GB SSD
Get a new GPU (likely to be GTX1060/RX480) and a new decent PSU like EVGA SuperNova/Superflower Leadex Gold series, both items will cost you less than 2k.
92alvin
post Apr 5 2017, 08:22 PM

153 posts

QUOTE(terence_nwb @ Apr 5 2017, 08:19 PM)
Get a new GPU (likely to be GTX1060/RX480) and a new decent PSU like EVGA SuperNova/Superflower Leadex Gold series, both items will cost you less than 2k.
thanks for the suggestion. what if im going for higher end gpu like gtx1070? any bottleneck with my current spec?
kingkingyyk
post Apr 5 2017, 08:43 PM

15,694 posts

QUOTE(92alvin @ Apr 5 2017, 08:22 PM)
thanks for the suggestion. what if im going for higher end gpu like gtx1070? any bottleneck with my current spec?
If you are playing on full HD resolution, you will not notice the bottleneck, as GTX1070 already overkill for it. biggrin.gif
terence_nwb
post Apr 5 2017, 08:55 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(92alvin @ Apr 5 2017, 08:22 PM)
Some CPU-bounded games will still show CPU bottleneck symptoms, it is just the matter of whether you can accept the bottleneck (a.k.a lower FPS compared to a GXT1070 with i7 CPU) or not.

Example of these games are Hitman 2016, Watch Dogs 2, TC: GR Wildlands etc, try to lower down the settings (those CPU-bounded one) to obtain a stable frame rate.
Ivan Sac
post Apr 5 2017, 10:29 PM

368 posts

QUOTE(iZuDeeN @ Apr 5 2017, 07:19 PM)
I have been using it for few months... no issue... key works on first try

<timestamp to show its not google image>

Thanks for the reply.
donavan1986
post Apr 6 2017, 07:24 AM

894 posts

QUOTE(richard912 @ Apr 5 2017, 01:55 PM)
Not exactly sure what you mean by "upgrade your PC slowly" but your current mobo is ATX so, what ever case you intend to change to must be capable of hosting ATX mobo. "small" ATX case to consider are Fractal Design Define C, NXZT S340, Corsair 400C. As for the 500W PSUfrom Corsair and based on the list of items you provided, is sufficient, no need to upgrade for now.
What i mean is i am going to upgrade the components one by one. first by changing the casing cause my current casing is with 4 led fan and it's noisy so planing to change one first. I am looking at the Carbide Series® 100R Mid-Tower Case. can this fit to my rig?

I forgot to mention. i also have 2 x WD Blue 2TB HDD and a set of CM CPU cooler. Will the PSU sufficient to support my current rig? Future i am planning to upgrade to SSD and also add on my storage HDD because currently the HDD is almost full.
richard912
post Apr 6 2017, 10:26 AM

d('_')b
1,821 posts

QUOTE(donavan1986 @ Apr 6 2017, 07:24 AM)
What i mean is i am going to upgrade the components one by one. first by changing the casing cause my current casing is with 4 led fan and it's noisy so planing to change one first. I am looking at the Carbide Series® 100R Mid-Tower Case. can this fit to my rig?

I forgot to mention. i also have 2 x WD Blue 2TB HDD and a set of CM CPU cooler. Will the PSU sufficient to support my current rig? Future i am planning to upgrade to SSD and also add on my storage HDD because currently the HDD is almost full.
500W PSU can sufficiently power 6 HDD, your current mobo and CPU along with the case fans you are planning. You just have to ensure the case you select will have sufficient clearance for the CPU cooler you plan to use
donavan1986
post Apr 6 2017, 12:25 PM

894 posts

QUOTE(richard912 @ Apr 6 2017, 10:26 AM)
500W PSU can sufficiently power 6 HDD, your current mobo and CPU along with the case fans you are planning. You just have to ensure the case you select will have sufficient clearance for the CPU cooler you plan to use
Thanks a lot for your advise. The CPU Cooler i already have but i forgot about the model.
Kirino2012
post Apr 6 2017, 06:50 PM

154 posts

hi plz help need some advice/suggestion, im currently using :

4790 [non k]
16gb ddr3
980 ti
small ssd [128gb] for windows
1tb black hdd
1x 4k@60 monitor + 1x 1080@60

is it worth it to buy a whole new pc (thinking of cpu like 7700k/ryzen1700, gpu 1080ti, 16gb ddr4, no reuse parts) or just upgrade parts (gpu & add another big ssd for games)? i scare buy new pc the improvement is minimal & is a waste of $
TristanX
post Apr 6 2017, 07:23 PM

Where is my stars?
24,334 posts

QUOTE(Kirino2012 @ Apr 6 2017, 06:50 PM)

4790 [non k]
16gb ddr3
980 ti
1tb black hdd

is it worth it to buy a whole new pc (thinking of cpu like 7700k/ryzen1700, gpu 1080ti, 16gb ddr4, no reuse parts) or just upgrade parts (gpu & add another big ssd for games)? i scare buy new pc the improvement is minimal & is a waste of $
You need to upgrade your GPU if you want more performance for 4k gaming. The rest is fine.
eternity4av
post Apr 6 2017, 10:00 PM

♥ ♥ ♥ taeyeon
2,269 posts

Hi fellow seniors, I'm having a situation like such, with PC specs like below:-

Processor - Intel Core i5 4460
Cooler - Coolermaster Hyper 212+
Mobo - Some DDR3 Mobo
Ram - 4GB RAM DDR3 x 2 = 8GB
Graphics Card - Gigabyte GTX460 768MB OC Edition
PSU - Silverstone ST60F-ESB (80+ BRONZE)
Case - CoolerMaster HAF 922
SSD - Samsung 840 EVO 128GB

Is this spec is still adequate these days? As I open quite a lot Google chrome tabs, but it clashed, and my remaining storage from my SSD is only 12GB. Is it sufficient enough? Looking at DDR4, should I upgrade my mobo, just to get DDR4 8GB or should I get other 4GB DDR3 sticks to make into 12GB DDR3 instead?
terence_nwb
post Apr 6 2017, 10:32 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(eternity4av @ Apr 6 2017, 10:00 PM)
Hi fellow seniors, I'm having a situation like such, with PC specs like below:-

Processor - Intel Core i5 4460
Cooler - Coolermaster Hyper 212+
Mobo - Some DDR3 Mobo
Ram - 4GB RAM DDR3 x 2 = 8GB
Graphics Card - Gigabyte GTX460 768MB OC Edition
PSU - Silverstone ST60F-ESB (80+ BRONZE)
Case - CoolerMaster HAF 922
SSD - Samsung 840 EVO 128GB

Is this spec is still adequate these days? As I open quite a lot Google chrome tabs, but it clashed, and my remaining storage from my SSD is only 12GB. Is it sufficient enough? Looking at DDR4,  should I upgrade my mobo, just to get DDR4 8GB or should I get other 4GB DDR3 sticks to make into 12GB DDR3 instead?
Free up the space of your SSD, 8GB RAM is okay for normal usage pattern, but Chrome is known to consume a lot of memory when you open many tabs and Windows will automatically utilize your main OS drive (by default) for pagefile when your RAM is running low.

If insufficient RAM is really the root cause of Chrome occasional crash (you can check Task Manager to monitor the usage), try to get another 8GB DDR3 1333/1600MHz RAM, don't get DDR4 because it is not supported by your current system.
iskandarnazreen
post Apr 7 2017, 12:48 AM

47 posts

[Budget] = 5k (rig only )

[Purpose] = gaming

[Hardwares that will be re-use] = no

[Monitor resolution] = 1440p

[Games & softwares that use frequently] = gta 5 , dota 2 , csgo , fifa

[Personal preferences] = nvidia gpu , mobo with wifi and bluetooth , want max settings in all games at 1440p

thank you in advance smile.gif
tanalvis
post Apr 7 2017, 01:11 AM

472 posts

Hi, all sifu, please help me finish build rig based on following... notworthy.gif

[Budget] - RM4k (rig+monitor) can recommend me 1 matx build, 1normal atx

[Purpose] - casual gaming (not going overclock)

[Hardwares that will be re-use] - none

[Monitor resolution] - 23inch 1080p

[Games & softwares that use frequently] - casual dota, some AAA title games casual

[Personal preferences], include ssd,

Cpu: i5 7400 - RM810
Hdd : Seagate barracuda 1TB-RM200
Ram :8gb (brand & cost??)
Mobo:.?
Gpu : 1060 6gb (zotac mini-RM1130,zotac amp-RM1230, msi normal 6gb version-RM1210) difference in temperature how much Celsius for mini vs amp??
Ssd :?? 128gb (brand & cost)
Psu:.?? Saw (RM189 for fsp hyper k 80+ white 500) is it suitable?
Case:??
Monitor: 23inch?? (asus vc239n price??, LG 23mp68vq, Samsung cf130) many option dunno which is good or bad...

This post has been edited by tanalvis: Apr 7 2017, 01:11 AM
TristanX
post Apr 7 2017, 01:12 AM

Where is my stars?
24,334 posts

QUOTE(iskandarnazreen @ Apr 7 2017, 12:48 AM)
[Budget] = 5k (rig only )

[Purpose] = gaming

[Hardwares that will be re-use] = no

[Monitor resolution] = 1440p

[Games & softwares that use frequently] = gta 5 , dota 2 , csgo , fifa

[Personal preferences] = nvidia gpu , mobo with wifi and bluetooth , want max settings in all games at 1440p

thank you in advance smile.gif
Usually ITX boards has all those stuffs.

How about these?

Core i7-7700 - 1399
Gigabyte H270N-WIFI - 649
Corsair 8GB DDR4-2133 x1 - 260
Gigabyte GTX 1070 8GB DDR5 Windforce - 2055
WD Blue (go for 7200rpm only) or Seagate 1TB - 212
Corsair VS 550W - 248
Coolermaster Elite 130 case - 199 (estimated)

RM5022 total (C-Zone prices)

You might wanna wait for Ryzen 5 next week and see how it performs

QUOTE(tanalvis @ Apr 7 2017, 01:11 AM)
Hi, all sifu, please help me finish build rig based on following...  notworthy.gif

[Budget] - RM4k (rig+monitor) can recommend me 1 matx build, 1normal atx

[Purpose] - casual gaming (not going overclock)

[Hardwares that will be re-use] - none

[Monitor resolution] - 23inch 1080p

[Games & softwares that use frequently] - casual dota, some AAA title games casual

[Personal preferences], include ssd,
Cpu: i5 7400 - RM810
Hdd : Seagate barracuda 1TB-RM200
Ram :8gb (brand & cost??)
Mobo:.?
Gpu : 1060 6gb (zotac mini-RM1130,zotac amp-RM1230, msi normal 6gb version-RM1210) difference in temperature how much Celsius for mini vs amp??
Ssd :?? 128gb (brand & cost)
Psu:.?? Saw (RM189 for fsp hyper k 80+ white 500) is it suitable?
Case:??
Monitor: 23inch?? (asus vc239n price??, LG 23mp68vq, Samsung cf130) many option dunno which is good or bad...
Would not recommend SSD at start of the build because you get more performance maxing out the base hardware. Anyway, price changes every week unless you plan to buy part by part from cheapest sellers.

Try looking for these

C-Zone sells Corsair 8GB DDR4-2133 at 260
Gigabyte B250M-D3H (medium priced motherboard)
Corsair VS 550W (usually higher prices comes with better internals)
Casing is up to you
Also, monitor is up to you.

This post has been edited by TristanX: Apr 7 2017, 01:19 AM
adamtayy
post Apr 7 2017, 10:33 AM

1,382 posts

QUOTE(Kirino2012 @ Apr 6 2017, 06:50 PM)

4790 [non k]
16gb ddr3
980 ti
1tb black hdd

intel i7 4790 lga1150 haswell, 4 cores 8 threads, frequency 3.6ghz can last you another 3 to 5 years..

don't change to K series if you not intend to OC..

if you decided to get a i7 7700k, need to change mobo - Z270 platform

16gb ddr3 Ram is more than sufficient

GC also can last you another 2 or 3 years before need to upgrade

explanation: -

wait for 10nm / FinFET processor to be available as your i7 is 22nm

as RAM architecture - I would suggest ddr5 RAM, be ready in a year / two

SSD - get at least WD blue M.2 sata SSD 250gb in the future

so, conclusion is, just hold it for the moment, all your components are still feasible & powerful for now icon_idea.gif

This post has been edited by adamtayy: Apr 7 2017, 10:48 AM
roadie
post Apr 7 2017, 11:06 AM

335 posts

hi i need only a graphics card recommendation
1. STATE your budget : cheapest
2. STATE the parts that you wish to re-use: n/a
3. STATE your purpose : browser, ms office, movie (movie not often). i use 2 monitors - one with hdmi and the other dvi
4. STATE your intended purchase date : asap
5. STATE your preference : no brand preference. just need a card that doesnt need external power, and doesnt overheat. i dont do any gaming. thanks in advance

1384 Pages « < 22 23 24 25 26 > » Top

0.0151sec    0.57    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 07:19 PM