[OFFICIAL]Rig Suggestion Q&A Thread V13!

Kirino2012
post Apr 6 2017, 06:50 PM

154 posts

hi plz help need some advice/suggestion, im currently using :

4790 [non k]
16gb ddr3
980 ti
small ssd [128gb] for windows
1tb black hdd
1x 4k@60 monitor + 1x 1080@60

is it worth it to buy a whole new pc (thinking of cpu like 7700k/ryzen1700, gpu 1080ti, 16gb ddr4, no reuse parts) or just upgrade parts (gpu & add another big ssd for games)? i scare buy new pc the improvement is minimal & is a waste of $
Kirino2012
post Apr 7 2017, 06:04 PM

154 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Apr 6 2017, 07:23 PM)
You need to upgrade your GPU if you want more performance for 4k gaming. The rest is fine.
hi thanks very much for suggestion, after asking a few people i think i will just upgrade parts [gpu & ssd] as cpu [4790 to 7700 & ddr4] wont impact much at 4k

but if u dont mind can give me a build budget around 8~9k [rig only], just want to know what i can get for that price. i live at klang and thrs literally no good pc shop here, and i will have to go kl to quote price and such doh.gif
will use the format u guys suggest, thanks very much smile.gif

[Budget] 8~9k [rig only]

[Purpose] mostly gaming, sometimes capture and edit for fun, sometimes drawing

[Hardwares that will be re-use] monitor, mouse, keyboard, speaker, controller

[Monitor resolution] currently using 2 monitors - 4k@60hz and 1080@60hz

[Games & softwares that use frequently] 1.mostly mmos like ff14 wow tera black desert etc 2.overwatch diablo3 csgo hots hearthstone 3.some steam indie games and random titles 4.rarely play gtav and some other aaa titles
software - obs / nvidia shadowplay / amd playstv for capture, photoshop, clipstudio paint, sai tool paint

[Personal preferences] - amd intel nvidia is fine for me, but it would be great if u can give me 2 build [1 intel/1 amd] for comparison
- would hope if can put 5k+ in just cpu and gpu, the rest will go to other parts
- dont care bout the looks at all [but if got some extra $ dont mind put in some rgb and such] < would like to have very good cooling case
- dont prefer any water cooling inside the case [unless neccessary] < prefer beastly big air cooler [dont care bout light and such]
- never done oc before, so probably wont do it and can be ignore

[Location]
Kirino2012
post Apr 7 2017, 06:05 PM

154 posts

QUOTE(adamtayy @ Apr 7 2017, 10:33 AM)
intel i7 4790 lga1150 haswell, 4 cores 8 threads, frequency 3.6ghz can last you another 3 to 5 years..

don't change to K series if you not intend to OC..

if you decided to get a i7 7700k, need to change mobo - Z270 platform

16gb ddr3 Ram is more than sufficient

GC also can last you another 2 or 3 years before need to upgrade

explanation: -

wait for 10nm / FinFET processor to be available as your i7 is 22nm

as RAM architecture - I would suggest ddr5 RAM, be ready in a year / two

SSD - get at least WD blue M.2 sata SSD 250gb in the future

so, conclusion is, just hold it for the moment, all your components are still feasible & powerful for now  icon_idea.gif
hi thanks very much for suggestion, will take note thumbsup.gif
Kirino2012
post Apr 7 2017, 10:34 PM

154 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Apr 7 2017, 06:24 PM)
How about these?

Option 1:
Core i7-7700K (4C 8T) - 1579
Noctua NH-D15 - 415
Gigabyte Z270X Gaming K5 - 899
Corsair 8GB DDR4-2133 x2 - 520
MSI GTX1080 Ti 11GB DDR5X FE - 3699
Samsung 850 Pro 256GB - 636
WD Blue (go for 7200rpm only) or Seagate 1TB - 212
Super Flower Leadex Gold 650W - 479
Corsair Carbide Air 540 case - 674

RM8592 total (C-Zone prices)

Option 2:
AMD Ryzen 1700X (8C 16T) - 1899
Noctua NH-D15 (check for AM4 compatibility before buying this) - 415
Gigabyte AX370 Gaming 5 - 1029
Corsair 8GB DDR4-2133 x2 - 520
MSI GTX1080 Ti 11GB DDR5X FE - 3699
Samsung 850 Pro 256GB - 636
WD Blue (go for 7200rpm only) or Seagate 1TB - 212
Super Flower Leadex Gold 650W - 479
Corsair Carbide Air 540 case - 674

RM9042 total (C-Zone prices)

You may want to overclock Ryzen setup because for some reason, it bottlenecks GTX 1070 and higher. Very likely Nvidia haven't optimize the driver for it.
nice thanks, gonna go see some reviews for each parts

btw it seems that amd is quite new and got some issues [optimization] including the cooler mounting u mention, which is main problem for me since i want more flexibility in cpu cooler. and i dont like to fix/update/optimize later since im not very good at the hardware bios thing

do u work at c-zone? i can come by and support support when im upgrading/buy new thumbsup.gif just to ty for helping
Kirino2012
post Apr 10 2017, 11:10 PM

154 posts

hi any1 buying stuff using credit card visa from lowyat pc shops recently? do they have any extra charges using credit card when buying new pc/parts? do they have extra service charge building new pc/upgrade pc?

i found a shop at web quite nice - http://www.idealtech.com.my/store/index.ph...ute=common/home

price almost same as lowyat but they can make ur pc nice nice, :
- Free Assembly & Installation
(for full rigs hardware purchased from Ideal Tech PC only)
- Update with Latest Hardware BIOS or Firmware & Latest Drivers
(We will flash the latest bios on motherboard and using latest graphic card drivers)

ive ask them they say got extra 2% charge for credit card, not sure if using half cash half credit card though
Kirino2012
post May 16 2017, 03:14 PM

154 posts

QUOTE(FollowMeRogerThat @ May 16 2017, 02:46 PM)
Sifus,

Torn between Asus Strix Z270-G and Z270-E, couldn't find out much difference between the two but RGB lighting position is diff. Any comments which spot nicer?

Also torn between Asus Strix 1050TI and Strix 1060 for its RGB, spec wise 1050TI should do max for my frequent day to day Dota2, potential nice upcoming MMOs as well. Any comments for the lightings?

IMO, the 1060 won't look nice in my target build but 1050TI RGB only on the small logo. Will pair with NZXT X-42 and Trident Z RGB.

Don't bash me coz I'm a sweet tooth for those RGBs. Not sure where else to share my indecisiveness. :'(
hi not really a sifu [just recently got into rgb stuff] but heres my experience so far, it depends on what special effect u want. if going for single color mode its quite easy to configure. but if u want like special color shift/rainbow/etc mode and match everything else in ur case - rgb gpu, rams, strip, fans, etc, it can take some time and effort to configure. u must careful when choosing the brands for the rgb stuff cause not all of them can work together with each other. like ur asus mobo + gpu i think no problem, need to check on those rams though. again it depends on what effect u going for. and are u putting in rgb fans and strips too, if so need to check on those too.

so far the rgb stuff im playing with is -
software side: razer keyboard, logitech keyboard, Armageddon mouse, gigabyte mobo, gigabyte gpu, corsair strip
manual controller: segotep fans and case, armageddon fans, china brand strip

ive done some research too on thermaltake rgb riing plus fans and corsair hd120 fans for future upgrade, so far i think the TT fans cant work together with my current corsair node strip, and the hd120 have some ''mode'' missing if not using together with the node strip <- sweat.gif [wtf]

and not sure if the asus aura can work together with other component as well, still researching on this
Kirino2012
post May 16 2017, 11:30 PM

154 posts

QUOTE(christina1 @ May 16 2017, 09:53 PM)
Ryzen 1600 can outperform ur i7-4790K(TPC-812) ?
depends i think, multi thread amd ryzen will win, gaming and single core stuff 4790 sure win <- my guess lol
Kirino2012
post May 22 2017, 04:59 AM

154 posts

QUOTE(gengreengeng @ May 22 2017, 01:07 AM)
Hello guys. I want to ask about the cheapest sli build for gtx 1070 but i want to use 1 gpu first and add another 1 next year or next 2 years. I dont have any budget because i want to collect money and buy it at the end of this years. Prefer full hd display (1080p), enough for me. Im lazy to build another pc, just want to add another 1 gpu and it is good to go haha.
lol its all down to ur initial budget, 2k? 4k? 6k? without a fix budget its impossible to recommend pc parts.

if u want sli, its easy, just get a sli rdy mobo and u r good to go thumbup.gif

gtx1070 is more than enough for 1080p gaming [for now], sli isnt a bad idea for future upgrade but u say its in 1~2 year, u might have a hard time to get a brand new/2nd hand same model 1070, different model might work but might have compatibility issues. and if u r getting a used gpu, the condition will be questionable.
Kirino2012
post Jun 15 2017, 10:38 PM

154 posts

QUOTE(nguks @ Jun 15 2017, 10:10 PM)

I would like to build a desktop. Currently below are the parts which I prepare use:
1 x processor - i7 - 7700k (bought)
1 x motherboard - gigabyte z270x Gaming 7 (bought)
2 x ram - hyper fury 2400 8GB DDR4
1 x samsung SSD - 250GB
1 x Harddisk - 2TB/3TB
1 x GPU - zotac 1080 AMP edition
1 x monitor (should be 27'' ~ 31'')

My purpose is to play games, watch movie, play ps4 games etc. Can help to check is the above combination fine? If fine, can help to recommend:
1. Which fan/heat sink is suitable for processor? It is not included when I bought the processor. Might do over clock if needed.
2. What type of casing is better? My friend suggest Tecware Alpha. If Tecware Alpha, seems like 3 fans included (2 front, 1 rear). Still need extra fans?
3. Which power supply is better? Is 750W enough?
4. Any other missing parts in the desktop?

Thank you.
give u some of my experience, kabylake i7 is SUPER hot, i highly suggest u get a very BEAFY cooler [water cool recommended] especially u planning to oc later

0.0618sec    0.92    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 08:18 PM