qwerty79
post Apr 3 2019, 09:20 AM

1,907 posts

QUOTE(Ngto @ Apr 2 2019, 06:55 PM)
Be careful, days are numbered. Action has started :-

From the Star:-

https://www.thestar.com.my/news/nation/2019...droid-tv-boxes/
So only can use MCMC certified android box? Other than Hypptv white box, any other certified box?
SUSskyforcerld
post Apr 3 2019, 09:22 AM

306 posts

QUOTE(qwerty79 @ Apr 3 2019, 09:20 AM)
So only can use MCMC certified android box? Other than Hypptv white box, any other certified box?
Where can find list of MCMC approved Android boxes? Is Xiaomi Mi S one of them? That is like the best Android TV box now...

inb4 Android TV kena rampas.

This post has been edited by skyforcerld: Apr 3 2019, 09:23 AM
megahertz
post Apr 3 2019, 11:50 AM

i always smiling, problem?
1,846 posts

QUOTE(Ngto @ Apr 2 2019, 06:55 PM)
Be careful, days are numbered. Action has started :-

From the Star:-

https://www.thestar.com.my/news/nation/2019...droid-tv-boxes/
same, i also bought my minix u9h from them. so sad. sweat.gif
not sure other box, but my minix came as stock android without much illegal apps ( eg like those IPTV apps)
voncrane
post Apr 3 2019, 01:13 PM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(qwerty79 @ Apr 3 2019, 09:20 AM)
The Nvidia Shield is certified as many have been paying for SIRIM,etc.. The Xiaomi MiBox (as per the official Malaysian website) should be officially recognised too. Else, I don't think they'd be allowed to see officially.

QUOTE(skyforcerld @ Apr 3 2019, 09:22 AM)
Where can find list of MCMC approved Android boxes?  Is Xiaomi Mi S one of them? That is like the best Android TV box now...

inb4 Android TV kena rampas.
This is all uncharted territory. AFAIK, I do not believe such a list is easily accessible to the public just yet. It is available, that's for sure.. I guessing they'll have to update it properly before making it publicly known.

Nope, the MiBox isn't the best Android TV box out there. Personally, I would never buy it.. Also seeing as you just got a Android TV OS based TV.. The MiBox advantage is lost on your setup.. Go for something more powerful and ideally running regular Android OS instead.

QUOTE(megahertz @ Apr 3 2019, 11:50 AM)
same, i also bought my minix u9h from them. so sad.  sweat.gif
not sure other box, but my minix came as stock android without much illegal  apps ( eg like those IPTV apps)
Minix and similarly stock devices should be fine.. That's until they are deemed not. For now, I believe they are going after the sellers and probably the fastest way to make waves is to deploy the box uncertified clause... If all goes according to plan, the ehem services will be blocked next. Especially if sellers of such are "persuaded" to give em up vs prosecution.
Marilynlai513
post Apr 3 2019, 07:20 PM

99 posts

Think criteria..

Power adapter must be certified
Box must not have any illegal apk other than known eg netflix Hulu etc
Pay SIRIM fees (income to gvmnt)
GuyM
post Apr 3 2019, 09:10 PM

1,787 posts

QUOTE(veron4best @ Mar 31 2019, 06:47 PM)
is the knife freegift?  bruce.gif
LOL
QUOTE(shueking @ Apr 1 2019, 12:52 AM)
i need some advise on buying a tv box. Im planning to get one for my parents, astro is too boring and nothing new.

Any recommendations for a good tv box which includes news, movies and HK dramas?
Don't buy this MXQ G12 box, advertised as ATV but came with stock android, no hdcp 2.2, no widevine level 1 and no Google voice remote...

However the box is even faster than the M8S Pro L...

Have returned them for full refund

This post has been edited by GuyM: Apr 5 2019, 01:30 PM

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
voncrane
post Apr 3 2019, 10:52 PM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(Marilynlai513 @ Apr 3 2019, 07:20 PM)
Think criteria..

Power adapter must be certified
Box must not have any illegal apk other than known eg netflix Hulu etc
Pay SIRIM fees (income to gvmnt)
I agree.. Though it would be more logical if they did come out with a list of approved devices and or give personal users a means to easily get them approved. Similar to what's being done with some Shield box imports.

QUOTE(GuyM @ Apr 3 2019, 09:10 PM)
LOL

Don't buy this MXQ G12 box, advertised as ATV but came with stock android, no hdcp 2.2, no widevine level 11 and no Google voice remote...

Have returned them for full refund
Thanks for updating us on this.. At least, later if someone else is interested in it.. Will know to steer clear of it.. So which box will you get as replacement? Don't want to pull the trigger on the Mecool KM9? smile.gif
veron4best
post Apr 4 2019, 11:49 AM

1,146 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Jan 17 2018, 02:04 AM)

Firstly I would like to thanks again AVFAN. Your recommendation is brilliant!

Below apps is running at Mi Box with DiGi Infinite 150 line.

The Shafa apps is awesome and it is very well done, now it became one of my main Android TV launcher app and replace the side launcher as no longer required.
It run perfectly smooth everywhere.

Below is 4 of my recommended apps for Chinese show, TV series and movies, not all can play as those VIP need money and for China only but the rest is more than enough for me already.

• CIBN Very Simple TV - running smoothly in 1080p.
  • MoreTV - Good for some show where you can't get elsewhere, apps take sometimes to load the show title but no issue during playback in 1080p.
  • 云视听极光 - Very smooth in 1080p.
  • HDP Live Stream - the best Live Stream China channel, stream so so only, not extremely smooth due to buffer issue but it is the best already compare with others.
For English title, I only recommended Terrarium TV which can stream unbelievable smooth up to 1080p resolution with condition you just need to get the correct source link as only 2 source link is capable run perfectly smooth, the rest source link is garbage and keep buffering.

As for Live Stream, both Live NetTV and RedBoxTV quality is very bad and not smooth even on SD quality, some in HD quality channel wise is nearly not watchable at all.
found this from another thread. very useful for those who want to get some chinese related content.

云视听极光,MoreTV,CIBN all these 3 are very useful.
rusty27
post Apr 4 2019, 12:01 PM

111 posts

Bros need your advice. Currently using Netflix in my Samsung smart TV..can get 5.1 sound system perfectly.. planned to buy android box. My question is only those boxes stated can support DTS or 5.1 sound sytem (Like Himedia or Meenix) can give 5.1 sound sytem for any movie from any apps or any box from the market can do..as long as i have 5.1 surround system at home and the movie file is coded for 5.1 sound system...
Andrewtst
post Apr 4 2019, 02:10 PM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,764 posts

QUOTE(veron4best @ Apr 4 2019, 11:49 AM)
found this from another thread. very useful for those who want to get some chinese related content.

云视听极光,MoreTV,CIBN all these 3 are very useful.
Hi. I not sure still working or not as I no longer own any Android TV box to test out.
SUSskyforcerld
post Apr 4 2019, 04:35 PM

306 posts

QUOTE(rusty27 @ Apr 4 2019, 12:01 PM)
Bros need your advice. Currently using Netflix in my Samsung smart TV..can get 5.1 sound system perfectly.. planned to buy android box. My question is only those boxes stated can support DTS or 5.1 sound sytem (Like Himedia or Meenix) can give 5.1 sound sytem for any movie from any apps or any box from the market can do..as long as i have 5.1 surround system at home and the movie file is coded for 5.1 sound system...
Are you decoding using an AVR? i think most boxes can do DD5.1, DTS not so common, but i think it's not hard to find one with DD5.1/DTS. If DD True HD/ DTS-MA/ DD Atmos, then those are rare.

I would suggest Mi Box S, probably the best Android TV box (note Android TV is not typical Android box, it has a much better UI and own appstore). I think it can do both DD and DTS.

This post has been edited by skyforcerld: Apr 4 2019, 04:37 PM
rusty27
post Apr 4 2019, 05:09 PM

111 posts

QUOTE(skyforcerld @ Apr 4 2019, 04:35 PM)
Are you decoding using an AVR? i think most boxes can do DD5.1, DTS not so common, but i think it's not hard to find one with DD5.1/DTS. If DD True HD/ DTS-MA/ DD Atmos, then those are rare.

I would suggest Mi Box S, probably the best Android TV box (note Android TV is not typical Android box, it has a much better UI and own appstore). I think it can do both DD and DTS.
Now my tv connected to Samsung Bluray player(its AVR too rite?) which has 5.1 ch speakers..

Mi Box S function same as other boxes? comes with preloaded apps to watch all the movies? i need to use MyIPTV also
SzeMeng76
post Apr 4 2019, 05:13 PM

2,318 posts

I think for Tanix TV box have the super user function to close root permission.
It still not really work for original unifiTV/astro go version.

But MOD version did work for both. Last time other box even install MOD version also did not work. Thats my finding after tried it.
SUSskyforcerld
post Apr 4 2019, 05:15 PM

306 posts

QUOTE(rusty27 @ Apr 4 2019, 05:09 PM)
Now my tv connected to Samsung Bluray player(its AVR too rite?) which has 5.1 ch speakers..

Mi Box S function same as other boxes? comes with preloaded apps to watch all the movies? i need to use MyIPTV also
I see. Does your Samsung BD player has a HDMI-IN or Optical-In? If not, it can't be used.

Based your description, probably a standard Android box will be better for you in this case. You still can use an Android TV, but will need to sideload the apps (meaning download from sites like apkpure and install via USB), as those apps not officially available from Android TV Store.
veron4best
post Apr 4 2019, 05:44 PM

1,146 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Apr 4 2019, 02:10 PM)
Hi. I not sure still working or not as I no longer own any Android TV box to test out.
yea i tested. those a few chinese content is working. very good. jz that we cant accesss VIP section. but for me is alright.

mainly using 云视听极光,MoreTV,CIBN

for me quite surprising that we can stream HD items without much buffering compared with those Kodi add-on.

This post has been edited by veron4best: Apr 4 2019, 05:46 PM
Andrewtst
post Apr 4 2019, 08:04 PM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,764 posts

QUOTE(veron4best @ Apr 4 2019, 05:44 PM)
yea i tested. those a few chinese content is working. very good. jz that we cant accesss VIP section. but for me is alright.

for me quite surprising that we can stream HD items without much buffering compared with those Kodi add-on.
Great to know it still working, ya those VIP had no way to access but it is pretty fine.
voncrane
post Apr 4 2019, 09:55 PM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(skyforcerld @ Apr 4 2019, 05:15 PM)
I see. Does your Samsung BD player has a HDMI-IN or Optical-In? If not, it can't be used.

Based your description, probably a standard Android box will be better for you in this case. You still can use an Android TV, but will need to sideload the apps (meaning download from sites like apkpure and install via USB), as those apps not officially available from Android TV Store.

If you don't mind.. Kindly not spread information on stuff you aren't sure about.. I mentioned this to you before.. The Mibox S is NOT the best Android TV OS run box out there. If you had read page one and or the last few pages or heck.. You'd know this immediately. No it's not hard to find boxes that can go up to ATMOS & DTS:X... Nothing rare about it.

QUOTE(rusty27 @ Apr 4 2019, 12:01 PM)
QUOTE(rusty27 @ Apr 4 2019, 05:09 PM)

Bro... you are already on the right track..For your case.. Either the Minix Neo U9-H or HiMedia Q10 Pro will do nicely.. Both of which will easily do even DTS-HD MA nicely. As for the HT connection issue. You can use the HDMI-ARC function for higher supported sound formats and pass-through using Kodi app. I would know.. Works even for the Neo U1.. So for it's successor the Neo U9-H? piece of cake.. Plus, it's been verified already. Since you already have a decent smart TV to access Netflix in its native res and 5.1 DD sound? I say you completely avoid getting the MiBox S and stick with the options above. They've been battle tested and come out tops. Want to "experiment" with something cheaper and report back to us? Get the Mecool KM9 then..

Lastly, your HT isn't an "AVR" per se...Those are usually standalone equipment that aims to receive audio and video signals from a number of sources, and to process them to drive loudspeakers and displays such as a television, monitor or video projector.

QUOTE(veron4best @ Apr 4 2019, 05:44 PM)

Most well supported or well served (servers' capacity) apps will definitely stream smoother than their Kodi Addon counterpart. But ultimately it still depends on how good your network connection is and if the server is being over-stretched. Free is good but will often come with drawbacks. Going premium almost eliminates all that..Kodi addon or not.. I prefer Kodi addons, especially with a service that bothers to integrate it with the inbuilt EPG, easier remote control and keyboard shortcuts, smoother playback due to advanced caching, etc.. Though, a good streaming app connected to a good streaming service is still great. Unfortunately.. can't share more as the walls got ears.. innocent.gif

This post has been edited by voncrane: Apr 4 2019, 09:57 PM
rusty27
post Apr 5 2019, 10:28 AM

111 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Apr 4 2019, 09:55 PM)
Bro... you are already on the right track..For your case.. Either the Minix Neo U9-H or HiMedia Q10 Pro will do nicely.. Both of which will easily do even DTS-HD MA nicely. As for the HT connection issue. You can use the HDMI-ARC function for higher supported sound formats and pass-through using Kodi app. I would know.. Works even for the Neo U1.. So for it's successor the Neo U9-H? piece of cake.. Plus, it's been verified already. Since you already have a decent smart TV to access Netflix in its native res and 5.1 DD sound? I say you completely avoid getting the MiBox S and stick with the options above. They've been battle tested and come out tops. Want to "experiment" with something cheaper and report back to us? Get the Mecool KM9 then..

Lastly, your HT isn't an "AVR" per se...Those are usually standalone equipment that aims to receive audio and video signals from a number of sources, and to process them to drive loudspeakers and displays such as a television, monitor or video projector.

Thanks for the info bro. Now in dilemma to choose either Q10 pro or Minix Neo.. Need to Google the comparison.. BTW do u have any recommendation which would be better choice in overall performance. i will be using wifi to connect the Box. My main usage is to watch streaming mvies from any apps and watch football too all with good sound output.
aeiou228
post Apr 5 2019, 11:20 AM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(skyforcerld @ Apr 3 2019, 09:22 AM)
Is Xiaomi Mi S one of them? That is like the best Android TV box now...
Perhaps you've never come across other better boxes other then Mi box s? Have you heard of Nvidia Shield TV?
SUSskyforcerld
post Apr 5 2019, 11:30 AM

306 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Apr 5 2019, 11:20 AM)
Perhaps you've never come across other better boxes other then Mi box s? Have you heard of Nvidia Shield TV?
Maybe i want to rephrase it as the Best and Cheapest Android TV box that is 3x cheaper than Nvidia Shield? Happy now, boss?

This post has been edited by skyforcerld: Apr 5 2019, 11:32 AM

369 Pages « < 265 266 267 268 269 > » Top

0.0229sec    0.32    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 07:04 AM