4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Android / Other TV Box, see Page 1 first... V2

megahertz
post May 22 2018, 11:59 AM

i always smiling, problem?
1,846 posts

finally after 3years using minix x8-h, my device failed last few days. not sure what happen, no display came out.

bought new minix u9-h since i always trust minix for the software support update.

previously want to buy mi box due android TV os, but seem like got few limitations, i might skip it.

im using minix because
- ds video from synology nas, stream movie
- astro on the go
- support lots of codec
- software support( most important), heard update for android 7 is on the way
megahertz
post May 23 2018, 07:31 AM

1,846 posts

QUOTE(AtMostFear @ May 23 2018, 12:17 AM)
I own a minix u9h and it does its job well. Or maybe I just haven't utilize it to its full potential yet.

I think that their software technical support could've been better. You may check minix u9h firmware forum and notice a lot of update request from users have gone unanswered lately.  sweat.gif
yup, im active member of that forum for last 3years when x8-h plus still new.
now seem like as u said.
well, its small company with few developers, so cant ask much even tho their device quite expensive.

last night i opened and run it for 1st time. updated to lastest firmware FW008, so far still not found any issue yet except i cant find Astro-Go apps on google play, not sure what happend, i can find on my previous x8-h even tho its still running android 4.4. sideload the apk and its working fine.
compared to my x8-h, u9-h still about same, just feel lil bit faster, more video codec supported ( HEVC previously not supported on my x8-h)

connect to my synology nas, running the DS video, now i can stream all my movies on my TV again.
iflix, unifi tv apps also running fine.

megahertz
post May 28 2018, 04:09 PM

1,846 posts

guys, im using minix u9-h. installed hyyptv apps, can login. but not able to watch. it will show 'service not available' anybody know the reason ?
megahertz
post Jun 20 2018, 09:47 PM

1,846 posts

QUOTE(d2z @ Jun 20 2018, 08:46 PM)
Minix neo u1 no longer supported astro on the go?
previously im user of minix x8h, can find astro go apps in the store.

after bough u9h, no longer able to find. so need to sideload apk. working fine after that.

i hv emailed to astro, but they said our devices not supported which i think this just their excuse.
megahertz
post Jun 22 2018, 09:14 AM

1,846 posts

QUOTE(wavezard @ Jun 21 2018, 07:16 PM)
Im looking for a good android box in the range of rm200. I know this is a lowball value but I don't mind getting a second hand unit. The model, if can, able to install various apps like what we install in our android phone, easy to handle, and able to upgrade to latest android for future proof (easy to update like OnePlus, good customer service)

Any model to suggest? Can't wait to hunt this smile.gif
Will use this box for netflix and other streaming services.
hard to find with ur budget. but if u want to increase ur budget below 300. i think the best would be mi box.

megahertz
post Jun 26 2018, 08:27 AM

1,846 posts

just upgrade my minix u9-h firmware to this Android tv OS,
way more better for me to use now biggrin.gif
also i did sideload astro-on-the-go apps ( Astro GO_8.1.98), look ok to me.
tips: before sideload the astro apps, u need to install the chrome browser 1st( the asto login is using browser), by using voice search "launch chrome", then it will install for u.

http://www.minixforum.com/threads/android-...on-fw008.19395/
megahertz
post Jul 1 2018, 07:04 PM

1,846 posts

QUOTE(honkkydorry @ Jul 1 2018, 04:08 PM)
Noob here. I've read the first few pages but still very blur. I like to get a tv box purely for movies with budget ard 300 but will consider stretching to 500 if necessary. What brand falls within such range?

Does anyone know where I can physically buy such tv box ard Puchong area? Do I go to IT shops?
mybe need to be specific about ur movie requirement.
izit local movie files, or stream based such as netflix etc?

if 300, i think mi box should be good if u just average user n want to stream from netflix etc or local files/storage. just to note its running on android TV os, not pure android same as phone.
megahertz
post Jul 8 2018, 12:07 AM

1,846 posts

QUOTE(ultramoo @ Jul 7 2018, 05:00 PM)
Hi, I have the Minix Neo U9-H for about six months now and recently (forced) upgraded(sideload) to version 8.2.1 AOTG. However I realised that while i can still watch the channels, the picture quality now fluctuates from almost HD to VCD(or worse) and sometimes back to almost HD and the cycle starts all over again. I normally watch the Sports and chinese On Demand channels. Exiting the channel i am watching and going back in gives me clear picture again but within minutes the picture blurs.  Anyone getting the same experience?

could be something wrong with ur internet.
megahertz
post Jul 11 2018, 08:04 AM

1,846 posts

QUOTE(Azureknight94 @ Jul 11 2018, 07:14 AM)
Hi guys, saw on the frontpage that minix u9h is one of the better boxes.
Just curious how well does it perform? Will it lag as it only has 2gb ram?

Planning to use it to install astrogo, hypptv and other apps like netflix,iflix.

Would the minix be the best I can get? Or is there other options?
for normal use as u said those apps, it wont lag.
i never use netflix before, so cant comment on that, but it got the right DRM for the netflix and i read on review , you can watch netflix HD on it.

astro go - cant find on google play store but u can sideload it, working perfect for me
the rest like unifiTV, iflix also working fine.

i never use other china boxes before and im using minix u8-h since 2014, until i upgrade to u9-h last few months.
use it with minix A2 Lite air mouse, its the best experience u can get.

for me, its the best box with firmware support although it quite slow on release, mybe due to few staff@developer working on it.

custom rom also got, last week i flashed it with Android TV os based, but got some minor bugs, well cant blame since its custom rom.

the only cons about minix is the price, mybe due to they hv lots of licence on it, those DRMs, widevine, dolby digital etc

if u want cheaper, mybe can go with mi box

megahertz
post Jul 18 2018, 09:14 AM

1,846 posts

QUOTE(kkk8787 @ Jul 17 2018, 07:56 PM)
Hi Im getting a new TV box, hoping to be a cheaper alternative to Astro if possible. Someone introduced infinite, is this a good box especially for astro on demand shows, AEC , wah loi toi . I know infinite astro channels a bit issues especially during the world cup period, means most other boxes will have same issue too? when one box cant watch astro that period of time, other boxes similar fate at that period?
Infinite good?
which box can replace astro other than using the astro go apps ?
i think what u asking is illegal to discussed here. sweat.gif
megahertz
post Jul 19 2018, 10:16 PM

1,846 posts

QUOTE(^pomen_GTR^ @ Jul 19 2018, 02:05 PM)
hi guys... any suggestion of good working youtube apps for those generic android box to install??

for s912 amlogic chip version android 6.0
i found out that my box last installed version is wayyyy outdated... using the latest version its buggy...video stuck and crashed the app... huhuhu
why not u find the previos version of the apk and reinstall?

can search from aptoide or apkpure
megahertz
post Aug 6 2018, 04:32 PM

1,846 posts

QUOTE(karwaidotnet @ Aug 6 2018, 04:16 PM)
hi all sifus, jus wanna ask about this AV quality that the first page seems to indicate differ from one box to another? is my understanding correct?

i dun understd on this... how can it be different? r we saying if i play the same movie file in icore7 vs icore3, there will be difference in graphic quality? that kind of difference?
im not so sure too, but it could be from the diff chipset, firmware that each box used.

so far im used minix n nvidia shield. i can see nvidia shield seem like much better quality in term of movie viewing, mostly the contrast n brightness. viewing from same TV set.
megahertz
post Aug 9 2018, 09:04 AM

1,846 posts

QUOTE(jdgobio @ Aug 8 2018, 09:58 PM)
Chromecast requires the use of a phone to cast. Having a traditional remote to control is a much better experience compared to casting. Its not that he die die don't wanna kacau after setting up, I just want him to have the best & simplest experience since he's a noobie.
then mi tv should be enough, plus it has chromecast built in. the price also around 250+-, compared chromecast around 180.
its like basic android TV and suitable for streaming anything including netflix. and the apps are made for TV use.
other box is running with pure android, might troublesome if u not familiar with it.
megahertz
post Sep 7 2018, 10:21 AM

1,846 posts

QUOTE(titanmelvin @ Sep 7 2018, 10:15 AM)
Since the first post not updated anymore... which box should I get for around RM300?

I searched for S912 on Lazada but all the brands that came out are not listed on first post. How to know if the brands reliable or will update firmware or not?
what u want to do with it ?

if normal streaming from netflix etc, mi box international should be good. the price less than 300, i think around 220 like that

S912 is chipset name from amlogic. not a brand( if got, then mybe its from generic manufacturer)
if u want reliable and stable firmware , i would say u can go with Minix.
megahertz
post Sep 11 2018, 06:21 PM

1,846 posts

QUOTE(szecheng @ Sep 11 2018, 11:37 AM)
What adventage does minix offer to justify the price?
i guess the firmware stability with long firmware support.
normally they will support up to 2years from initial release.
they just released new android 7 firmware last month

plus it have widevine + other DRMs for u9-h model

and the OS kinda vanila android without bloatware.
megahertz
post Sep 27 2018, 01:42 PM

1,846 posts

QUOTE(bruce07 @ Sep 27 2018, 01:32 PM)
so basically it is the ISP that is causing the lag? eventhough running on 500Mbps also lag like crazy... haaiizzzzz
its not ISP. but might be the content provider itself.
megahertz
post Sep 27 2018, 04:21 PM

1,846 posts

QUOTE(lucaswjk @ Sep 27 2018, 03:26 PM)
one aotg acc can login to how many device concurrently?
can register up to 4devices, which can run simultaneous 2 devices if i remember well.
once u register to up 4 devices, the 5th devices u login to need to swap with current deviced logged in. they hv cap of how many can swap, around 4 times.
once max, then u need to wait it reset monthly.

megahertz
post Oct 16 2018, 06:11 PM

1,846 posts

QUOTE(lucaswjk @ Oct 16 2018, 11:43 AM)
quasar is not a stable apps, I too experience freeze and restart... but i don't think it is as frequent as ur...

FYI q10pro and shield is yesteryear product with little ram,
both not suitable for torrent.
in fact there isn't any box in the market with enuf ram except for htpc...

so... keep ur box
not sure ur fact is correct ?

nvidia shield got 3GB ram, which i suppose quite decent with most of the other box only 2GB
nvidia still support shield with android 8 oreo even tho release on 2015
nvidia pro got HDD inside, or normal 1 can connect HDD and use as interval drive.
nvidia shield still the top no1 performance android box

for torrent, 2/3GB already enough for normal torrent seeding and download.
even my nas with 512MB still able to handle lots of torrents. laugh.gif laugh.gif

megahertz
post Oct 30 2018, 07:21 AM

1,846 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Oct 29 2018, 04:55 PM)
I have the A2 Lite Air mouse but battery drained quite badly from my end, so I ended up not using it now.
maybe urs is lemon units.

mine just use ikea battery, last months, minimum 6months with daily usage.
megahertz
post Oct 30 2018, 10:56 AM

1,846 posts

QUOTE(tharmaraj @ Oct 30 2018, 09:29 AM)
Thanks everyone to feedback on my queries; Basically I'm looking for Unrooted box to play the following:
1. AOTG
2. playtv@Unifi
3. KODI
4. Preferably can play 4K Videos because this is the trend now.
im previous minix u9h user. i can confirm all those is supported on minix. other than that , im not sure.

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.2548sec    0.45    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 03:41 PM