1554 Pages « < 402 403 404 405 406 > » Bottom

FundSuperMart v18 (FSM) MY : Online UT Platform, UT DIY : Babystep to Investing :D

skynode
post Aug 20 2017, 12:18 AM

175 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Aug 19 2017, 07:28 PM)
Boleh. Why not. Summary:
- Timing is important. If you buy in 2007 (height of bull market) vs buy in 2009 (max of bear market) your returns today is very different (if you don't chicken out and sell and just hold)

- Opportunity present itself once every few years. If you topup small amount, your gain is insignificant. If you topup big amount, your gain is very significant. Hence save up for this opportunity. Old people have shown their proof of waiting pays handsomely so why as young people we cannot wait?

- Our beloved RM is dropping 1-2% a year. Compound this over long time, the drop become significant. That's why a 10% return in RM terms is not the same with a 10% return if we use other currency (over few years).
Investing using RM at average 10%p.a  (10/4/2008-13/8/2017)
Initial cost = RM10000
Final returns = RM28531.16

Investing using SGD at average 10% p a
(10/8/2008-13/8/2017)
Initial cost = SGD4341.88 (RM10k/2.30315)
Final returns = SGD12387.89 = RM39041.05 (SGD12387.89/3.15155)

Numbers don't lie.

- Because the RM drops, drops, parents sending kids overseas need to find more RM to pay. They may suddenly find themselves needing to fork out 20-30% extra (USD from 3.8-4.x). Now had the parent invest say using SGD to finance the kids edu, they need not need to fork out so much as the SGD really did appreciate againat the USD.
Eg. RM-USD (2008-2017) data is taken from XE.com
- 10/4/2008-> 13/8/2017
- 3.18990 becomes 4.29778
- 34% decrease vs the USD.
Eg. SGD-USD (2008-2017) data taken from XE.com
- 10/4/2008-> 13/8/2017
- 1.379 becomes 1.36438
- Holy!!! SGD appreciated 1.06% vs the USD.

Parents who funded kid's edu using RM need to earn/find more RM so that kid can remain in school. whistling.gif whistling.gif Where are they suddenly going to find extra 30%?

Now who need to work harder for their kids edu? Someone who earns RM from their investment or someone who earns SGD from their investment?

- You don't need to be HNWI to invest overseas. A small amount is enough to start.

- All platforms are provided by myself after through research. If I don't invest in SG, how do I know all those platform?

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
END OF SUMMARY

Maybe time to be a silent reader??? ph34r.gif ph34r.gif
Height of bull market, trough of bear market? If you can time that well, people would build shrine for you and pay respect as 财神爷. Serious. I know I would. cool2.gif
Retrospectively everything of course almost always seemed simple and possible.
Ramjade
post Aug 20 2017, 12:30 AM

24,360 posts

QUOTE(voyage23 @ Aug 19 2017, 11:56 PM)
He chose to ignore this because he was caught out again. So why did you pump in again Ramjade? Was it 20% drop?  puke.gif

Curse MYR so much but end up living in Malaysia, had an education in Malaysia, probably gonna end up working in Malaysia, for what leh? Someone so kiamsiap like you probably won't even consider travelling, so why you need the strong currencies ah? To send your future children to overseas? But did you die when you graduated in Malaysia?

Ramjade even applauded those people who work in Sg, but stay in Johor, braving through the jam, reaching home late and what not. Not taking into consideration health, mental status and relationship? All about money only? Your SGD currencies can buy you health? As you know there are many healthcare professionals here and we do take this thinking as simply naive and stupid.

He was caught out with flawed calculations many times not sure why people still listen to his gibberish stuff. Aiya come back again when you actually have a significant net worth okay.
I didn't balas that because that time I don't know about wait. I just buy when it drop. Now wiser already. Did I regret my buying of manulife asia pacific reits? Of course not.

Of course no travelling. I agree with Gen-X. Airasia makes youth poorer as they let youth travel before they're financially stable. Ticket may be cheap but your trip expenses are not.

Why someone cannot have storng currency? Any problem with that. Just because I wrote about investing overseas and earning other currency you are not happy? If not happy, follow my guide and start earning foreign currency la. See whether I make up my guides or they are real.

Actually money can buy hralth to a certain extend. There's a reason rich indons and malaysian head over to SG for treatment. My friend's father who got into an accident head over there as well as something about recovering faster compare if go to malaysia private hospital. Those Johor people just need to work say up to 40 years old can retire already. Normal malaysian work until what? 50-60 years old? The longer you work, the more stress you have. Higher chance to get all kind of disease. Now who's working smart?

Yes my calculations are flawed but at least I am willing to learn. I didn't say I was a financial expert did I? Wow not willing to learn/take a look from those who are already successful (not me but those bloggers) shows how ignorant and arrogant one is.

Some eg.
- Gen-X send all his kids overseas, pampered his family so much. If you have never read his blog, you wouldn't know what I am talking about.
- ASSI 6 figure dividends. How many can showed real proof of 6 figure yearly dividends. No inheritance nothing. From scratch.
- Createwealth8888 showed it's possible to get a 10% yearly dividend for life.
- Mr stingy and Dividend magic both not as rich as the 3 people above, but they are both good teachers. You don't need to be rich to teach people.

When facts are presented by people who blogged without any interest in front of your eyes but one choose to ignore it. Really wow...

HarpArtist
post Aug 20 2017, 12:39 AM

3,838 posts

oh gosh may i say, i always follow this thread and appreciate all the insights gained. and this train is totally off the rails recently.
voyage23
post Aug 20 2017, 12:42 AM

368 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Aug 20 2017, 12:30 AM)

Actually money can buy hralth to a certain extend. There's a reason rich indons and malaysian head over to SG for treatment. My friend's father who got into an accident head over there as well as something about recovering faster compare if go to malaysia private hospital. Those Johor people just need to work say up to 40 years old can retire already. Normal malaysian work until what? 50-60 years old? The longer you work, the more stress you have. Higher chance to get all kind of disease. Now who's working smart?

So flawed. Please don't talk nonsense if you know nothing about health and healthcare. This post gave me cancer. Anyway yeah good luck god speed.

To come back to topic...

There will be change in investment manager for Manulife Reits starting from 1st of October 2017. From Manulife Asset Management (Singapore) back to Manulife Asset Management Services Berhad (Malaysia). Reflected in the Master Prospectus dated 30 June smile.gif
Ramjade
post Aug 20 2017, 12:43 AM

24,360 posts

QUOTE(skynode @ Aug 20 2017, 12:18 AM)
Height of bull market, trough of bear market?  If you can time that well, people would build shrine for you and pay respect as 财神爷.  Serious.  I know I would.  cool2.gif
Retrospectively everything of course almost always seemed simple and possible.
You don't need to buy at depth or can't buy at's depth. All you need to know is you buy at reasonably low price and
1) stay vested or
2) run (this I learnt from Gen-X). From the graph he posted. He have managed to run from every bear market. Some he run at 3/4 of bull market, some he run at 1/2 of bull market.

Few criterias I have read:
1) use a support level. Once it break certain support level, buy. Then hold on. If drop past the next support level, buy some more. And this support leveles are huge level. Not those small drops level. Yes. It's catching a falling knife but this method works for the late uncle chua. (I shared the links few pages back)
2) when frontpaged newspaper showed picture of red stock market, buy.
3) know what you want. If you want a 10% dividend set the price to buy at that level (this is for stocks)

QUOTE(HarpArtist @ Aug 20 2017, 12:39 AM)
oh gosh may i say, i always follow this thread and appreciate all the insights gained. and this train is totally off the rails recently.
Sorry about that. Best if I stop talking since people don't like the contrarian view.
Avangelice
post Aug 20 2017, 12:49 AM

5,272 posts

QUOTE(voyage23 @ Aug 20 2017, 12:42 AM)
So flawed. Please don't talk nonsense if you know nothing about health and healthcare. This post gave me cancer. Anyway yeah good luck god speed.
To come back to topic...

There will be change in investment manager for Manulife Reits starting from 1st of October 2017. From Manulife Asset Management (Singapore) back to Manulife Asset Management Services Berhad (Malaysia). Reflected in the Master Prospectus dated 30 June smile.gif
oh uh

bye bye SG heavy investment.

This post has been edited by Avangelice: Aug 20 2017, 12:50 AM
Ramjade
post Aug 20 2017, 12:55 AM

24,360 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Aug 20 2017, 12:49 AM)
oh uh

bye bye SG heavy investment.
Let's see where they are going to run. SG reits have the highest dividend among all developed countries.

Is still better than selina reits.
Avangelice
post Aug 20 2017, 01:02 AM

5,272 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Aug 20 2017, 12:55 AM)
Let's see where they are going to run. SG reits have the highest dividend among all developed countries.

Is still better than selina reits.
this makes me wonder. is it one of the reason manulife reit is SG centric because the management is SG based?

so we are looking at a different fund/return/risk altogether kan?
Ramjade
post Aug 20 2017, 01:09 AM

24,360 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Aug 20 2017, 01:02 AM)
this makes me wonder. is it one of the reason manulife reit is SG centric because the management is SG based?

so we are looking at a different fund/return/risk altogether kan?
No. I don't think so. If you are a S-reit investor, you will know that SGX is popular spot for foreign reits to be listed. They are not concentrated fully in SG. Some yes. Some don't even own property in SG. Hence the reit may be listed in SG, but it owns property say in HK, China, UK, US AU, JP, EU, etc. Making S-reit a truly diversified properties portfolio.

Naturally, a diversified s-reits have forex risk. Some hedge, some don't hedge. Some pegged the returns to SGD. Same can be said if the reit is concentrated in SG alone only. It's exposed fully to SG economy.

Here's a full list of S-reits and business trust (which behave like reit but is not a reit)
http://reitdata.com/category/yield/

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Aug 20 2017, 01:13 AM
j.passing.by
post Aug 20 2017, 02:59 AM

1,639 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Aug 20 2017, 12:43 AM)

Sorry about that. Best if I stop talking since people don't like the contrarian view.
Lol. You are funny! Making gibberish sentences that are contradictory to each other do not makes one a contrarian.

No need to shut up & be driven away as this is an open forum.

Carry on & keep us entertain with more nonsense posts!

ironman16
post Aug 20 2017, 07:12 AM

2,437 posts

QUOTE(j.passing.by @ Aug 19 2017, 10:10 PM)
Question is what was your expectations when you bought it. If it is meeting your expectations or beyond, then why bother with other funds, be the other 4 winners or the 8 other losers.

That's was the point of my previous comment: you can show all the statistics that are in favour of ETFs with lower fees and whatnot, all the stats and figures becomes meaningless to me if the fund I am having is giving me my expected returns. (Read it also like nothng gained lohh...)

Unless of course, the stats jotted me from slumber and show that I was holding a real loser fund... which is not a likely event if I keep track of it and review it against other funds periodically.

And of course it is a boost to the ego when we happen to hold the fund giving the best returns... can show-show, brag-brag.

Past track record is everything... else the fund would not even make it onto the short list for consideration in making a purchase into it.
They means the same thing. It is mandated to hold a mixture of bonds, income securities and equites. In some of the older funds, the permissible ratio of bonds and equities is usually in the ratio of 40/60 to 60/40 or 30/70 to 70/30.

In some newer funds, the ratio can be from 2/98 to 98/2. (It can't sailang 100% into equities because it needs to have some liquid cash to run the fund.)

Having a balanced fund in a volatile market is good in that the fund manager is permissible to varies the equity portion accordingly. If the fund manager time and get it correct, then everythink is fine and good. But if he got it wrong...

Because of this flexibilty to adjust the ratio as the fund manager deems fit, some (if not most) people likes to do it on their own by having a mixture of equity and bond and money-market funds and do the adjustments themsleves.

Normally, for a beginner, if only one fund to hold, it will be an equity fund. Needless to say, greed and the want of fast money is the reason to have an equity fund over other types of funds. It is either go big, or go home.

============

The future's so bright, i gotta wear shades.  cool2.gif
Thanks for the info

Vanguard 2015
post Aug 20 2017, 08:52 AM

3,541 posts

Off Topic.

Whatever said and done, no matter who is right and wrong, I admire Ramjade for one trait; his perseverance or tenaciousness.

He reminds me of a drunken bar brawl where a person is outnumbered 5 to 1 but he keeps on swinging and doesn't give up.
HarpArtist
post Aug 20 2017, 11:42 AM

3,838 posts

QUOTE(Vanguard 2015 @ Aug 20 2017, 08:52 AM)
Off Topic. 

Whatever said and done, no matter who is right and wrong, I admire Ramjade for one trait; his perseverance or tenaciousness.

He reminds me of a drunken bar brawl where a person is outnumbered 5 to 1 but he keeps on swinging and doesn't give up.
Lol good one
Styrroyds
post Aug 20 2017, 03:42 PM

103 posts

QUOTE(Vanguard 2015 @ Aug 20 2017, 08:52 AM)
Off Topic. 

and he never uses ad hominem. doesnt take things personally.
Vanguard 2015
post Aug 20 2017, 06:28 PM

3,541 posts

QUOTE(Styrroyds @ Aug 20 2017, 03:42 PM)
and he never uses ad hominem. doesnt take things personally.
Yes, that is another rare trait in a public forum.

A person who can put his ego aside in a quest to better himself will go far in life. Too often we hold the view, 'I have the best knowledge in unit trust investment, stock investment, in my chosen field, etc'. Everyone else who holds a different view is stupid or inferior or talking nonsense.

What a pity. In doing so, we end up short changing ourselves. Sorry, Uncle Vanguard is talking kok today.
skynode
post Aug 20 2017, 11:06 PM

175 posts

QUOTE(Vanguard 2015 @ Aug 20 2017, 06:28 PM)

A person who can put his ego aside in a quest to better himself will go far in life. Too often we hold the view, 'I have the best knowledge in unit trust investment, stock investment, in my chosen field, etc'. Everyone else who holds a different view is stupid or inferior or talking nonsense.

What a pity. In doing so, we end up short changing ourselves. Sorry, Uncle Vanguard is talking kok today.
hear hear thumbsup.gif
dasecret
post Aug 20 2017, 11:13 PM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(Vanguard 2015 @ Aug 20 2017, 06:28 PM)

That's why I've always told him to use all these determination on his career instead. The attitude is right, but are you focusing on the right thing?

Like you say (was it you?), no one get rich from UT investments, but many ppl get rich from their business venture, and to a lesser extent, a rewarding career

At 20 something, if one does not put in their 110% in their career I feel that they would have lose out so much. If don't work hard now, 30 something baru want to shine ke? By then your options would be so much less and your peers would have been way ahead
skynode
post Aug 20 2017, 11:31 PM

175 posts

QUOTE(dasecret @ Aug 20 2017, 11:13 PM)
That's why I've always told him to use all these determination on his career instead. The attitude is right, but are you focusing on the right thing?

Like you say (was it you?), no one get rich from UT investments, but many ppl get rich from their business venture, and to a lesser extent, a rewarding career

At 20 something, if one does not put in their 110% in their career I feel that they would have lose out so much. If don't work hard now, 30 something baru want to shine ke? By then your options would be so much less and your peers would have been way ahead
True.
Invest in yourself first, always.
selinix
post Aug 21 2017, 11:45 AM

7,343 posts

hi guys one query, if i purchase a fund today before 3pm using FPX.. the NAV price purchase will be based on today closing price?

T231H
post Aug 21 2017, 11:54 AM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(selinix @ Aug 21 2017, 11:45 AM)
hi guys one query, if i purchase a fund today before 3pm using FPX.. the NAV price purchase will be based on today closing price?
read page 396...there werer a number of replies regarding similar question

1554 Pages « < 402 403 404 405 406 > » Top

0.0216sec    0.64    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 11:00 AM