FundSuperMart v18 (FSM) MY : Online UT Platform, UT DIY : Babystep to Investing :D

SUSsmallydupe
post Sep 2 2023, 11:22 PM

125 posts

QUOTE(zebras @ Sep 2 2023, 11:20 PM)
ARKK top holdings are full of shitty companies,

And she sold nvidia and missed the whole nvidia rally this year

https://fortune.com/2023/05/26/cathie-wood-...idia-shares-ai/
She seems so bitter
victorian
post Sep 3 2023, 12:55 AM

Look at all my stars!!!
5,623 posts

Anyone know what does the 0% ETF RSP entails to?

Normal charge:

0.08% processing or min USD3.8 - is this waived?
0.08% processing or min USD 1- is this waived?
Rm1 for every 1,000 contract value- if I RSP RM200, how much is the stamp duty
zebras
post Sep 4 2023, 08:48 AM

302 posts

QUOTE(victorian @ Sep 3 2023, 12:55 AM)
Anyone know what does the 0% ETF RSP entails to?

Normal charge:

0.08% processing or min USD3.8 - is this waived?
0.08% processing or min USD 1- is this waived?
0.08% processing or min USD3.8
0.08% processing or min USD 1

- processing fee waived

- RM1 for every RM1,000 contract value, mean that
if u RSP RM200, u will be charged RM1 for stamp duty,
if u RSP RM1,000, u will be charged RM1 for stamp duty,
if u RSP RM1,001, u will be charged RM2 for stamp duty

victorian
post Sep 4 2023, 09:37 AM

Look at all my stars!!!
5,623 posts

QUOTE(zebras @ Sep 4 2023, 08:48 AM)
0.08% processing or min USD3.8
0.08% processing or min USD 1

- processing fee waived

- RM1 for every RM1,000 contract value, mean that
if u RSP RM200, u will be charged RM1 for stamp duty,
if u RSP RM1,000, u will be charged RM1 for stamp duty,
if u RSP RM1,001, u will be charged RM2 for stamp duty
Ahh was thinking to RSP 200 each time, but if the stamp duty is min RM1 then it doesn’t make sense
xander2k8
post Sep 4 2023, 12:09 PM

4,676 posts

QUOTE(smallydupe @ Sep 2 2023, 09:04 PM)
How about arkk and arkf? Or the lady boss is just full of hotair?
I would stay away now because the methodologies is off now 🤦‍♀️ and these days the lady boss now have no say 🤦‍♀️ because she ia not the portfolio manager for both those ETFs
Sitting Duck
post Sep 4 2023, 12:45 PM

473 posts

QUOTE(victorian @ Sep 4 2023, 09:37 AM)
Ahh was thinking to RSP 200 each time, but if the stamp duty is min RM1 then it doesn’t make sense
RM 200 with USD0.22 stamp duty / ~RM1 stamp duty is about 0.5% fee.

0.5% fee is a very reasonable seeing that UT charges more than 0.5%.

This post has been edited by Sitting Duck: Sep 4 2023, 12:46 PM
victorian
post Sep 4 2023, 03:06 PM

Look at all my stars!!!
5,623 posts

QUOTE(Sitting Duck @ Sep 4 2023, 12:45 PM)
RM 200 with USD0.22 stamp duty / ~RM1 stamp duty is about 0.5% fee.

0.5% fee is a very reasonable seeing that UT charges more than 0.5%.
Thanks bro. Have you compared the latest ETF promo from FSM vs IBKR in terms of the fee?

Assuming I have 500 to be DCA into VOO every month, is FSM the cheapest way ATM?

This post has been edited by victorian: Sep 4 2023, 04:28 PM
zebras
post Sep 4 2023, 04:49 PM

302 posts

QUOTE(victorian @ Sep 4 2023, 03:06 PM)
Thanks bro. Have you compared the latest ETF promo from FSM vs IBKR in terms of the fee?

Assuming I have 500 to be DCA into VOO every month, is FSM the cheapest way ATM?
i believe the best part is we can just set it and forget it, which allow us to invest regularly every month regardless of market low/high,
in addition to being the cheapest ATM
victorian
post Sep 4 2023, 06:04 PM

Look at all my stars!!!
5,623 posts

QUOTE(zebras @ Sep 4 2023, 04:49 PM)
i believe the best part is we can just set it and forget it, which allow us to invest regularly every month regardless of market low/high,
in addition to being the cheapest ATM
I've always wanted to DCA into S&P500 because I'm lazy to time the market, but I'm always put off by the min per trade charged.

Guess this is the best time to enter?
melondance
post Sep 4 2023, 06:13 PM

169 posts

QUOTE(victorian @ Sep 4 2023, 06:04 PM)
I've always wanted to DCA into S&P500 because I'm lazy to time the market, but I'm always put off by the min per trade charged.

Guess this is the best time to enter?
Do RSP, set and forget. If it's registered before end of September you get 0% processing fee till end of 2024. Doesn't sound bad to me.
Sitting Duck
post Sep 4 2023, 10:54 PM

473 posts

QUOTE(victorian @ Sep 4 2023, 03:06 PM)

Sorry bro. I don't have IBKR and never done a comparison.
For me IBKR is complicated (opening IBKR account, foreign bank account , transfer money, lump sum investment). I did read up the guide given in another thread but it was still complicated for me.

When FSM introduced ETF RSP with 0 processing fee back in 2021, I jumped into it immediately since it was my first and only opportunity to invest in US ETF with limited amount of RM I have.

I've no plans nor much time to study market. Just planning to DCA monthly, like a force saving.
I'm hopeful the return would be better than FD by the time I retired.

Since I'm already DCA'ing into VOO, I'm planning to apply RSP for SMH.

This post has been edited by Sitting Duck: Sep 4 2023, 10:55 PM
victorian
post Sep 5 2023, 12:23 AM

Look at all my stars!!!
5,623 posts

QUOTE(Sitting Duck @ Sep 4 2023, 10:54 PM)
For me IBKR is complicated (opening IBKR account, foreign bank account , transfer money, lump sum investment). I did read up the guide given in another thread but it was still complicated for me.

When FSM introduced ETF RSP with 0 processing fee back in 2021, I jumped into it immediately since it was my first and only opportunity to invest in US ETF with limited amount of RM I have.

I've no plans nor much time to study market. Just planning to DCA monthly, like a force saving.

Do you have to reapply the RSP in order to get the 0% processing for your VOO?
Sitting Duck
post Sep 5 2023, 12:13 PM

473 posts

QUOTE(victorian @ Sep 5 2023, 12:23 AM)
Do you have to reapply the RSP in order to get the 0% processing for your VOO?
No need to reapply to get the 0% processing fee.
The promotion is valid for existing and new RSP applied before 30-September.
I've checked this with FSM customer service.
My VOO RSP for month of August was 0% processing fee (RM1/USD0.22) only.

This post has been edited by Sitting Duck: Sep 5 2023, 12:16 PM
ehwee
post Sep 5 2023, 08:06 PM

Value Our Living Spaces!
790 posts

QUOTE(Sitting Duck @ Sep 4 2023, 10:54 PM)

I also thought IBKR is bit complicated for me, having a unofficial bypass solution to use IBKR is a troublesome for me, just wonder why IBKR don't apply necessary permit or license from BN, or what are the reasons why BN doesn't recognize IBKR?

How is your ETF RSP experience with FSM btw, are you earning now? can share with us, thanks.
Ramjade
post Sep 5 2023, 08:53 PM

24,385 posts

QUOTE(ehwee @ Sep 5 2023, 08:06 PM)
I also thought IBKR is bit complicated for me, having a unofficial bypass solution to use IBKR is a troublesome for me, just wonder why IBKR don't apply necessary permit or license from BN, or what are the reasons why BN doesn't recognize IBKR?

How is your ETF RSP experience with FSM btw, are you earning now? can share with us, thanks.
Cause ibkr deal with Forex stuff and Malaysian govt doesn't like Forex. Also Malaysian ringgit is not widely traded unlike SGD. So no point they have license in Malaysia.

Sitting Duck IBKR is not complicated. You just need to spend one time opening account. You can skip foreign bank account opening id you dont want to save money long term. You can just open Ibkr andpay using Malaysian bank.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Sep 5 2023, 08:55 PM
Sitting Duck
post Sep 5 2023, 10:18 PM

473 posts

QUOTE(ehwee @ Sep 5 2023, 08:06 PM)

I'm happy with FSM and i feel that the fee is reasonable compared with UT (not IBKR).
I have no bad experience with FSM customer service nor ETF RSP.

Only thing to take note is probably there's a fix schedule monthly to sell partial unit (unit less than 1). and make sure you have sufficient fund in the cash account for the RSP.
I think the 0 processing fee is only applicable to buy orders and not sell order. Not sure anyone has any info about fees when selling.

Started RSP to VOO in May 2022 with RM200 then slowly increased to RM1000/month. So far the return is about 12% (note that the market was really good since June 2023).

Btw, this is my own experience and not financial advice to invest. I'm not an expert nor certified financial planner. Just a small duck trying to save as much as possible for golden years.

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Sep 5 2023, 08:53 PM)
Cause ibkr deal with Forex stuff and Malaysian govt doesn't like Forex. Also Malaysian ringgit is not widely traded unlike SGD. So no point they have license in Malaysia.

Sitting Duck IBKR is not complicated. You just need to spend one time opening account. You can skip foreign bank account opening id you dont want to save money long term. You can just open Ibkr andpay using Malaysian bank.
Thanks for advice. Probably I'm just lazy to go through the whole process. Now that there's FSM, I'm happy with FSM for now. Will explore IBKR in the future if FSM disappoints me. For now I don't want to deal with a foreign investment company and I feel safer with FSM since FSM is regulated in Malaysia.

This post has been edited by Sitting Duck: Sep 5 2023, 10:23 PM
SUSTOS
post Sep 5 2023, 10:20 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(Sitting Duck @ Sep 5 2023, 10:18 PM)
I'm happy with FSM and i feel that the fee is reasonable compared with UT (not IBKR).

Only thing to take note is probably there's a fix schedule monthly to sell partial unit (unit less than 1). and make sure you have sufficient fund in the cash account for the RSP.
I think the 0 processing fee is only applicable to buy orders and not sell order. Not sure anyone has any info about fees when selling.

Started RSP to VOO in May 2022 with RM200 then slowly increased to RM1000/month. So far the return is about 12% (note that the market was really good since June 2023).
Thanks for advice. Probably I'm just lazy to go through the whole process. Now that there's FSM, I'm happy with FSM for now. Will explore IBKR in the future if FSM disappoints me. For now I don't want to deal with a foreign investment company and I feel safer with FSM since FSM is regulated in Malaysia.
Thanks for supporting iFAST! laugh.gif
Ramjade
post Sep 5 2023, 10:36 PM

24,385 posts

QUOTE(Sitting Duck @ Sep 5 2023, 10:18 PM)

Btw, this is my own experience and not financial advice to invest. I'm not an expert nor certified financial planner. Just a small duck trying to save as much as possible for golden years.  
If you are not doing options, no point buying voo as you lose 15% in dividend tax. If you buy via LSE, you only get tax 15% Vs 30% for VOO.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Sep 5 2023, 10:37 PM
ehwee
post Sep 6 2023, 05:48 PM

Value Our Living Spaces!
790 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Sep 5 2023, 10:36 PM)
If you are not doing options, no point buying voo as you lose 15% in dividend tax. If you buy via LSE, you only get tax 15% Vs 30% for VOO.
This is good point to be considered. wink.gif
tadashi987
post Sep 19 2023, 12:16 AM

2,106 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Sep 5 2023, 10:36 PM)
when can FSM buy LSE stock sad.gif

1554 Pages « < 1523 1524 1525 1526 1527 > » Top

0.0495sec    0.91    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 09:03 AM