5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

FundSuperMart v18 (FSM) MY : Online UT Platform, UT DIY : Babystep to Investing :D

zebras
post Nov 22 2022, 09:34 AM

302 posts

QUOTE(xander2k8 @ Nov 22 2022, 05:39 AM)
Why bother using this method while throwing away 5% yearly just in fees 🤦‍♀️

It is cheaper just to buy ETF instead
https://www.fsmone.com.my/funds/tools/facts...ss?fund=MYML008

where do you get the 5% yearly fees?
the Annual Expense Ratio of the fund is 1.86% from the fund factsheet.
zebras
post Nov 22 2022, 04:21 PM

302 posts

QUOTE(xander2k8 @ Nov 22 2022, 02:51 PM)
2 funds with average of 2.5%

Manulife US has a total of 3.74% by itself whereby every rm100 you just throw away yearly of 3.74 to the drain when it is cheaper to buy VOO or IVV by itself with every transaction paying about 1.60 through IBKR

Have you even factor in yearly management fees and trustee fees? 🤦‍♀️
i assumed u get the number of 3.74% by adding up Annual Management Fee, Annual Expense Ratio, Trustee Fee.
but as i know, Annual Expense Ratio is inclusive of Annual Management Fee and Trustee Fee, which mean the total yearly fees is only 1.86%, that is the price to pay for trying to beat the market (VOO)
and plus the benefits of
- not having to worry about FX rate/cost when you are trying to send your MYR to IBKR
- having funds located in Malaysia, easier for my family to claim my funds when i passed away
zebras
post Dec 5 2022, 05:31 PM

302 posts

QUOTE(frankzane @ Dec 4 2022, 06:34 PM)
In that case, why bother to DCA? Isnt it needs a very long time to be profitable if the price keep dropping for months?

Buy low sell high still applicable in this case? blink.gif
https://www.fsmone.com.my/rsp

hope the articles in this page answer ur questions
zebras
post Dec 14 2022, 08:59 PM

302 posts

QUOTE(Drian @ Dec 14 2022, 04:08 PM)
DCA makes the assumption in the long term the price will go up .

But this statement is not always accurate.

1.) The stock/equity might take too long to break even which means you are still losing compared to other equity.

2.) The stock never recovers.

Malaysia is one example

Kenanga growth fund is one example 5 years and still negative.
That’s why we diversify our portfolio into more than one country?
zebras
post Dec 22 2022, 09:02 PM

302 posts

i think many people here are trying to play god.

DCA is just a strategy that can make it easier to deal with uncertain markets by making purchases automatic. It also supports an investor's effort to invest regularly.
It help people eliminates the effort required to attempt to time the market to buy at the best prices, quoted from https://www.investopedia.com/terms/d/dollarcostaveraging.asp

It suit certain group of people
- who only have a small amount of money to invest each month
- who feel stress trying to time the market

and of course you still need to pick a fund/etf that invest in a sector/region that you think has growth potential. noone say DCA is a sure win strategy

looking for a good company to invest is already challenging enough, and able to buy it at a good price is even more challenging.
and you all expect everyone to be able to do that?

and someone who mentioned that only DCA into 1 fund for a long time may still losing money is even more arguable, if your portfolio only have 1 fund or 1 stock, you may need to seriously relook into your portfolio and diversify it.

This post has been edited by zebras: Dec 22 2022, 09:04 PM
zebras
post Feb 7 2023, 09:37 AM

302 posts

QUOTE(TZ1234 @ Feb 6 2023, 07:33 PM)
As the RHB cash management fund in FSM yielded quite high interest p.a., would it be wise we just keep cash in this fund instead of, say, FD?
you should look into bond/fixed income funds, it has higher return now due to the increase of interest rate
zebras
post Mar 19 2023, 12:41 PM

302 posts

QUOTE(xander2k8 @ Mar 17 2023, 04:53 AM)
Rakuten is minimum rm8 while FSM is in USD8.80 minimum hence 4.5times more 🤦‍♀️
ETF RSP fee is
0.08% or
Minimum USD 1
zebras
post Mar 20 2023, 01:59 PM

302 posts

QUOTE(xander2k8 @ Mar 19 2023, 08:02 PM)
Doesn’t matter the percentage because it is expensive at 4.5% unless you putting lump sum of 5600 🤦‍♀️
I understand that investing RM100 would result in 4.5% fee due to the USD1 min fee.

but how this is 4.5 times more expensive than Rakuten, which with a USD1.88 min fee as you mentioned in your previous post?

would love to learn more about this
zebras
post Mar 20 2023, 02:29 PM

302 posts

QUOTE(xander2k8 @ Mar 20 2023, 02:05 PM)
Rakuten per trade at rm1000 will cost about less than rm9  about usd220 per trade will cost usd1.88 plus stamp duty about 1.92 in the end

Pm me if you want more further details
Rakuten per trade at rm1000 will cost about less than rm9 about usd220 per trade will cost usd1.88 plus stamp duty about 1.92 in the end

FSM ETF RSP per trade at rm1000 will cost USD1 (rm4.48 based on google FX rate now) plus stamp duty, maybe rm5+ in the end?

how is rm5+(FSM ETF RSP) 4.5 times more expensive than rm9 (rakuten)? sweat.gif

i understand that FSM normal stock/etf trade is very expensive at USD8.8 min fee, but i think we were talking about FSM ETF RSP here.

zebras
post Mar 21 2023, 05:23 PM

302 posts

QUOTE(xander2k8 @ Mar 21 2023, 12:03 PM)
Bond holders must be shaking now

When buying bonds must read the deed carefully now because the provision is in hidden very precariously in it 🤦‍♀️
i will not touch any bond that is not investment grade bond, not worth the risk to lose all the capital

might as well invest in equity with that kind of risk

This post has been edited by zebras: Mar 21 2023, 05:24 PM
zebras
post May 31 2023, 12:40 PM

302 posts

QUOTE(james.6831 @ May 31 2023, 09:35 AM)
yeap unit trust annual fee is the real killer. and some of these funds invest into other funds, so indirectly kena charge twice!! example affin hwang global disruption fund, actually buys into some niko am fund that buys into arkk fund. so how many times kena charge annually lol
use unit trust to access market that require active management like China, Malaysia, these market indices had been flat for many years, if u had held a ETF that track these market, your portfolio would be flat for many years.
for developed market like US, ETF most likely would be a better choice as there are very little unit trust that beat the US indices.
unit trust managers charge fees in an attempt to outperform the market, but whether they succeed or not is a separate matter, thats why choosing the right unit trust is very important too.

This post has been edited by zebras: May 31 2023, 12:45 PM
zebras
post Jun 1 2023, 09:23 PM

302 posts

QUOTE(xander2k8 @ Jun 1 2023, 12:59 PM)
Silly when most of the ETF in the fund can bought from open market with a cheaper brokerage fee 🤦‍♀️
That is why stay away when UT mentioned feeder fund 🤦‍♀️ as they will suck away for fees but underperforming most of the time

I wonder why ppl still buy that fund 🤦‍♀️ and pay high SC and management fee when it is cheaper to buy ARKK in the open market
Yes Global Disruption fund is actually underlying final fund is ARKK ETF
the Global Disruption fund is a terrible fund, that exploits investors by funneling their money into an ETF without offering any substantial value or meaningful investment strategy
it is sad that such a fund tarnishing the entire unit trust industry, and this is not the only fund doing these
investors who have been exposed to unit trust with this fund as their first investment are highly likely to lose their trust and refrain from making any future investments in unit trusts.

This post has been edited by zebras: Jun 1 2023, 09:26 PM
zebras
post Jun 23 2023, 03:52 PM

302 posts

zebras
post Jun 30 2023, 10:21 AM

302 posts

QUOTE(Mattrock @ Jun 29 2023, 08:14 AM)
I have some USD in my FSM cash account. Can I withdraw this directly into my local bank's USD savings account (FCA account) without any MYR conversion? Anyone tried it?
there will be TT charges, not worth it if ur USD amount is small.

why dont invest it into some USD short duration bond fund or US Treasury Bill if you are not planning to use it?

This post has been edited by zebras: Jun 30 2023, 10:26 AM
zebras
post Jul 6 2023, 10:24 PM

302 posts

Hi, I thought you would like this article, 0.5% Sales Charge on Recommended Unit Trusts 2023/24
URL: https://www.fsmone.com.my/funds/research/ar...t-trusts-202324
zebras
post Jul 6 2023, 10:27 PM

302 posts

QUOTE(ccschua @ Jul 6 2023, 10:14 AM)
currently fsm pays 3.5% for parking facility, isnt this is better than putting in the bank saving account earning a miserable 0.5% ? what is the catch of parking facility in fsm.
Bond fund return even higher now with rising interest rate

Check this Fund on FSMOne 👀
AmanahRaya Syariah Trust Fund

https://www.fsmone.com.my/funds/tools/facts...t?fund=MYARFSTF

Year to date return already 3.35%
zebras
post Jul 11 2023, 09:59 AM

302 posts

deleted

This post has been edited by zebras: Jul 11 2023, 10:00 AM
zebras
post Jul 11 2023, 10:00 AM

302 posts

QUOTE(47100 @ Jul 10 2023, 02:27 PM)
Im on my 5th working day for the withdrawal of USD to a local bank FCA USD denomination.
Still not in yet, have asked CS they said is processing.  sweat.gif
if not mistaken ifast global bank is offering near to 5% rate for USD FD and instant withdrawal between ifast/fsmone platform

https://www.ifastgb.com/interest-rates?prod=fixedterm

This post has been edited by zebras: Jul 11 2023, 10:02 AM
zebras
post Jul 28 2023, 04:10 PM

302 posts

QUOTE(Sitting Duck @ Jul 28 2023, 12:44 PM)
Received an email from FSM on RSP promotion for ETF.

"Dear Valued Investor,

Great news!

We're thrilled to announce our latest ETF Regular Savings Plan enhancement and a 0% subscription fee promotional campaign from 28 July 2023 to 31 December 2024, making it more rewarding to invest with us."

I wonder what is 0% subscription fee? Isn't it always been 0% subscription fee for RSP.

I've been RSP'ing into VOO for the past year about RM1000/month. I only know there are these fees for RSP ETF:

1. Processing Fees (USD 1.00)
2. MY Stamp Duty  (USD 0.22)

I don't think these are "subscription fee". Any idea?
1. Processing Fees (USD 1.00)

this is the subscription fee, i just got the answer from their customer service.

it mean ETF RSP will be 0% processing fee until 31 Dec 2024

innocent.gif

This post has been edited by zebras: Jul 28 2023, 04:13 PM
zebras
post Aug 2 2023, 04:15 PM

302 posts

QUOTE(ccschua @ Aug 1 2023, 09:26 AM)
can I know if fundsupermart share trading platform is competiive compared to M+ or Rakuten ?

can I transfer the shares from my existing broker to fsm ? each share pay RM 1 for transfer ?

Spore fsM offer sell via CDP .
u can do a quick comparison with google sheet
and it depend on what exchange u trade on and what is ur trade amount

5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.9988sec    0.57    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 12:18 AM