1553 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Bottom

FundSuperMart v18 (FSM) MY : Online UT Platform, UT DIY : Babystep to Investing :D

xuzen
post Feb 11 2017, 02:34 PM

4,436 posts

Quite number of times I heard that investing in UTF is more expensive than buying stock market directly. So, let me do some number crunching for the benefit of all.

Stock-market
My knowledge of stock market is a bit out-dated and my info is based on my last time when I was a stock market participant through OSK Investment Bank (many years ago, and at that time, calling your broker on the phone is still common). The charge levied upon me is 0.6%. Min brokerage is MYR 40.00 per transaction. So, to maximize the transaction, each tranche should be 40 divided by 0.006 equal to MYR 6,666.67. Anything below this MYR 6,666.67 threshold, you will still pay MYR 40.00 broker fee as that is the minimum.

UTF
For UTF, you pay 2% entrance fee each time you inject fresh capital. MYR 2,000.00 x 2% equals to MYR 40.00. Lets say you pump in MYR 200.00 x 2% = MYR 4.00 entrance fee.

The above I want to highlight is that often people will say UTF fee is expensive. But they forget to put it into proper context or perspective. When you buy a stock, unless your capital injected per transaction is large, the percentage you pay as broker fee is actually more substantial than UTF.

If you are a small ikan-bilis player and only have like MYR 200 per month to invest, which method gives you a more cost efficient way access to the stock market?

So, many are repeating something they read from somewhere or something they heard from someone, without further investigating, and they prematurely think that UTF is expensive.

Not so, if your amount is small. Stock can be more expensive. And don't forget, stock is charged both ways... that is entry and exit. So the total cost = 0.6 x 2 = 1.2%. Not that far from UTF.

xuzen
post Feb 11 2017, 02:38 PM

4,436 posts

--- deleted ---

This post has been edited by xuzen: Feb 11 2017, 02:39 PM
TSAIYH
post Feb 11 2017, 02:44 PM

1,166 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Feb 11 2017, 02:34 PM)
Quite number of times I heard that investing in UTF is more expensive than buying stock market directly. So, let me do some number crunching for the benefit of all.

Stock-market
My knowledge of stock market is a bit out-dated and my info is based on my last time when I was a stock market participant through OSK Investment Bank (many years ago, and at that time, calling your broker on the phone is still common). The charge levied upon me is 0.6%. Min brokerage is MYR 40.00 per transaction. So, to maximize the transaction, each tranche should be 40 divided by 0.006 equal to MYR 6,666.67. Anything below this MYR 6,666.67 threshold, you will still pay MYR 40.00 broker fee as that is the minimum.

UTF
For UTF, you pay 2% entrance fee each time you inject fresh capital. MYR 2,000.00 x 2% equals to MYR 40.00. Lets say you pump in MYR 200.00 x 2% = MYR 4.00 entrance fee.

The above I want to highlight is that often people will say UTF fee is expensive. But they forget to put it into proper context or perspective. When you buy a stock, unless your capital injected per transaction is large, the percentage you pay as broker fee is actually more substantial than UTF.

If you are a small ikan-bilis player and only have like MYR 200 per month to invest, which method gives you a more cost efficient way  access to the stock market?

So, many are repeating something they read from somewhere or something they heard from someone, without further investigating, and they prematurely think that UTF is expensive.

Not so, if your amount is small. Stock can be more expensive. And don't forget, stock is charged both ways... that is entry and exit. So the total cost = 0.6 x 2 = 1.2%. Not that far from UTF.
Currently, CIMB offer brokerage commission 0.0388% (min RM 8.88) per stock per day, if 2 ways then min RM 17.76, but currently, regardless of brokers, you will need to pay bursa clearing fee (0.03%) and government stamp duty fee (RM1 per 1k trading block max RM200), and dont forget about GST sweat.gif

Significantly cheaper now compared to what you experienced, but for ikan bilis like me, UT cheaper laugh.gif

p/s: still struggling to whether keep KGF or kapchai sweat.gif

This post has been edited by AIYH: Feb 11 2017, 02:50 PM
Avangelice
post Feb 11 2017, 02:45 PM

5,271 posts

Stock-market

Current brokerage fees now are 0.1% with minimum 8 myr per transaction. now you can do it diy style like fsm. truly cheaper if you apply long term investment into certain stocks.
Avangelice
post Feb 11 2017, 02:48 PM

5,271 posts

QUOTE(AIYH @ Feb 11 2017, 02:44 PM)
Currently, CIMB offer brokerage commission 0.0388% (min RM 8.88) per stock per day, if 2 ways then min RM 17.76, but currently, regardless of brokers, you will need to pay bursa clearing fee (0.03%) and government stamp duty fee (RM10 per 1k trading block), and dont forget about GST sweat.gif

Significantly cheaper now compared to what you experienced, but for ikan bilis like me, UT cheaper laugh.gif

correction. it's myr 1 per 1k stamp duty not myr 10 with a cap up to 200
wonglokat
post Feb 11 2017, 03:03 PM

247 posts

AIYH bro i had the same thought about having just one* even though they carve out their own segment in the same market as it's been pointed out many versions back that both are correlated.

*that early days of jumping atop the most glitzy wagon to chase returns thinking heck, let's di(worse?)versify in the local market.

Since they both make up about 22% and both in the green, I'm undecided. Most probably sell off then and dump the measly amount into local stocks.

post Feb 11 2017, 03:10 PM

755 posts

Currently, CIMB offer brokerage commission 0.0388% (min RM 8.88) per stock per day, if 2 ways then min RM 17.76, but currently, regardless of brokers, you will need to pay bursa clearing fee (0.03%) and government stamp duty fee (RM1 per 1k trading block max RM200), and dont forget about GST sweat.gif

https://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/resea...-Small-Cap-7981
BETTER YEAR FOR MALAYSIA’S SMALL CAP SEGMENT

On the local front, we see better prospects for Malaysian small cap in 2017 after a lacklustre year in 2016. Catalysts are expected to come from the initiatives introduced in Malaysia’s budget 2017 which are the small and mid-cap public listed company research scheme and the government linked investment companies (GLICs) RM3 billion special fund. These initiatives are set to reduce the level of market inefficiency in the small cap segment, thus, there will be more hidden gems being discovered.

KEY TAKEAWAY

Given the attractive prospect of small cap segment, investors should look out the available small cap funds that listed in our platform. For investors who want to have exposure to the small cap segment, can consider include one of these small cap funds into the supplementary part of their portfolio, with not more than 10% allocation of their overall portfolio.

For Asia ex-Japan region, Affin Hwang Select Asia ex-Japan Quantum Fund (February Fund Choice) will be a decent choice for investors to gain exposure into the Asia small cap space given its strong track records. On the local front, investors with greater risk appetite can consider to include Eastspring Investment Small Cap Fund (our recommended fund).

Ramjade
post Feb 11 2017, 03:37 PM

24,333 posts

Stock-market

UTF

If you are a small ikan-bilis player and only have like MYR 200 per month to invest, which method gives you a more cost efficient way  access to the stock market?

Sure bo? Post by Dividend magic IFP.
http://dividendmagic.com.my/2017/01/13/inv...le-get-started/

Mutual Funds and their Damned Fees

You’ve probably heard of investments like mutual funds, target date funds, or index funds. You might even own some of them. All of these funds have fees (also called the expense ratio), and if you’re smart you can save money on them.

Mutual funds are the worst (especially in Malaysia) because they rarely beat the market and usually have the highest fees, the average in Malaysia is a whopping 3%, I’ve seen some as high as 5%. These might all seem like insignificant numbers, so why does it even matter? It matters. Here, I’ll do some calculations to show you.

Let’s say you invest RM10,000 and earn 7% over 50 years.

0.0% fee: RM10,000 grows to RM294,570
1.0% fee: RM10,000 grows to RM184,202, and you lose RM110,369 in fees
2.0% fee: RM10,000 grows to RM114,674, and you lose RM179,896 in fees
3.0% fee: RM10,000 grows to RM71,066.83, and you lose RM223,503 in fees

I cannot emphasize how fees can kill your investments. I hope the above illustration will get through to my fellow investors out there. With a 2% fee, you’re essentially losing more than 50% of your investment to fees alone. What’s even worse is that the above example assumes you’re earning a 7% return p.a., what if you’re losing money? The funds still collect the fees from you! Isn’t that outrageous?

By investing in your own portfolio of shares, it means more money for you, less for the fund houses. Also to note are low cost Index Funds from companies like Vanguard that serve to mimic the market. The day that they come to Malaysia is the day I’ll dump most if not all of my savings into them.

(I understand some of you may be mutual fund agents and investors here so if you disagree, please do provide me your reasons for it. Don’t just send me hate messages and emails.)

TSAIYH
post Feb 11 2017, 03:59 PM

1,166 posts

QUOTE(wonglokat @ Feb 11 2017, 03:03 PM)
AIYH bro i had the same thought about having just one* even though they carve out their own segment in the same market as it's been pointed out many versions back that both are correlated.

*that early days of jumping atop the most glitzy wagon to chase returns thinking heck, let's di(worse?)versify in the local market.

Since they both make up about 22% and both in the green, I'm undecided. Most probably sell off then and dump the measly amount into local stocks.
Problem is I am still young (work within a year) and what I have now isn't sufficient to effectively invest in local stock market (unlike mutual fund which the fund manager study those stocks for you), you will need to study individual stocks from various sectors and decide which will have the most potential (easier for mutual funds since they diversified), not to mention the minimum commission is killing when small amount of capital (assumed comparison to fsm/eunittrust where SC is already minimize, put management expense aside)

Probably things will change when I have a pay rise and more experience in studying them to analyze and make a better decision to dump Malaysian UT

***Unless anyone can suggest highly potential penny stock, suggestions are highly appreciated as I am considering this tongue.gif laugh.gif

QUOTE(2387581 @ Feb 11 2017, 03:10 PM)
The thing is KGF is also kinda heavy in small cap section and closely track with FBMSC (although they have a fair share in big cap), so is KGF more diversified in long term compared to kap chai which only focus on small cap?

But aside from KGF, kenanga really lacks of any other funds that can shine in other segments (unlike eastspring which beside kap chai, they have other funds which can be the best in Malaysia, on par with Affin Hwang and CIMB principal, although may not be if sg mutual funds offer better option)

Just wish others can help me with some more info to make a more informed and convincing decision sweat.gif laugh.gif

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Feb 11 2017, 03:37 PM)
But if you consider cost and experience from youngster standpoint (like us), mutual fund (provided you go with fsm/eunittrust to minimize fee) is a good starting point for investment.

Once you gather enough experience in analyzing and selecting stocks, then you can dump the mutual funds for that segment you invest smile.gif
Ramjade
post Feb 11 2017, 04:06 PM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(AIYH @ Feb 11 2017, 03:59 PM)
Just wish others can help me with some more info to make a more informed and convincing decision sweat.gif laugh.gif
But if you consider cost and experience from youngster standpoint (like us), mutual fund (provided you go with fsm/eunittrust to minimize fee) is a good starting point for investment.

Once you gather enough experience in analyzing and selecting stocks, then you can dump the mutual funds for that segment you invest smile.gif
Agreed. But don't shoot me. I just sharing Dividend Magic post. tongue.gif
TSAIYH
post Feb 11 2017, 04:10 PM

1,166 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Feb 11 2017, 04:06 PM)
Agreed. But don't shoot me. I just sharing Dividend Magic post.  tongue.gif
I understand that according to his post, but he did not consider each individual's analytics and financial capability in choosing and investing their own stock selection smile.gif

My point is, don't take the advice as absolute, learn from it, and evaluate it time to time, once you have the capability, no harm to go one step further to try new things, provided you do your homework smile.gif

This is after all, our improvement in financial planning as we gather more wealth and understand more about our investment option and risk appetite smile.gif
xuzen
post Feb 11 2017, 04:16 PM

4,436 posts

I have seen DividendMagic post here but rarely. I hope he can come and show me or us his working and let us scrutinize it. I wish to see his logic behind the numbers. I hope the dividendmagic poster is the same person who owns that blog.

But Ramjade, while waiting for DividendMagic to come back to us, reread my post again. Stock trading comes with a price. Unless you are the type who buys and holds it for umpteen years.

===========================

On another hand however, your post highlight one thing that is quite common, that is, many of you noobs will read somewhere some articles written by some omputeh who talks about low index fund, low fees bla bla bla and then repeat it here in Malaysia context without first investigating that those articles are written for a certain country specific context, namely US market.

Yes, in the US you have ultra low cost ETFs and whatsnot. What is my bug bear is many noobs will quote these articles and treat it as gospel truth and not realizing that those articles are written for a different geographical and demographically different audience.

Xuzen

p/s Further more Dividend Magic makes an assumption that 7% ROI by a professional manager can be replicated by an ordinary run of the mill retail investor which I believe is over generalization. On the other hand, he assert that fund manager consistently cannot beat the market. This assertion is another fallacy that he and many other repeats without first investigating the origin of this fallacy.

The oft repeated mantra "FM cannot beat the index" originates from Vanguard's John Bogle and John is correct..... for the US market. Unfortunately this mantra has been used too freely and applied as a blanket statement to all mutual funds, when if one investigated further and thoroughly it was originally intended for the US market.

However, if you look at Malaysia context, our beloved KGF / Kapchai beats the benchmark year in and year out for the past ten years and that is despite already factored in the MER.

This post has been edited by xuzen: Feb 11 2017, 04:32 PM
Ramjade
post Feb 11 2017, 04:26 PM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Feb 11 2017, 04:16 PM)
I have seen DividendMagic post here but rarely. I hope he can come and show me or us his working and let us scrutinize it. I wish to see his logic behind the numbers. I hope the dividendmagic poster is the same person who owns that blog.

But Ramjade, while waiting for DividendMagic to come back to us, reread my post again. Stock trading comes with a price. Unless you are the type who buys and holds it for umpteen years.

===========================

On another hand however, your post highlight one thing that is quite common, that is, many of you noobs will read somewhere some articles written by some omputeh who talks about low index fund, low fees bla bla bla and then repeat it here in Malaysia context without first investigating that those articles are written for a certain country specific context, namely US market.

Yes, in the US you have ultra low cost ETFs and whatsnot. What is my bug bear is many noobs will quote these articles and treat it as gospel truth and not realizing that those articles are written for a different geographical and demographically different audiences.

Xuzen
Well it's the same person. Agreed. Stock trading needs to take account into broker commission. There are some stocks which can hold for.

If one really buy and hold then buying index fund in malaysia is very feasible via local broker. Go through LSE and buy VWRD. No need to look so far into orang puteh. Our neighbour SG have their very own index fund which track the STI. There are lots of SG financial blogger who recommend buying STI index over buying SG UT. So actually if one really want to invest in ETF, it's quite possible.
xuzen
post Feb 11 2017, 04:44 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(AIYH @ Feb 11 2017, 03:59 PM)
***Unless anyone can suggest highly potential penny stock, suggestions are highly appreciated as I am considering this tongue.gif laugh.gif
The thing is KGF is also kinda heavy in small cap section and closely track with FBMSC (although they have a fair share in big cap), so is KGF more diversified in long term compared to kap chai which only focus on small cap?

But aside from KGF, kenanga really lacks of any other funds that can shine in other segments (unlike eastspring which beside kap chai, they have other funds which can be the best in Malaysia, on par with Affin Hwang and CIMB principal, although may not be if sg mutual funds offer better option)
Lai lai, Xuzen gor gor give you spoon-feeding info. Open mouth wide wide and swallow whole:

1) Lu suka sama itu Lee Sook Yee wub.gif wub.gif wub.gif fund kah? Then PRS into her using KenangaOne PRS Growth fund.

2) Lu also suka sama suka itu Kap Chai fund? Then buy from FSM lor... dua dua pun boleh kahwin. Apa yang susah sangat?

Xuzen

TSAIYH
post Feb 11 2017, 04:48 PM

1,166 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Feb 11 2017, 04:44 PM)
Lai lai, Xuzen gor gor give you spoon-feeding info. Open mouth wide wide and swallow whole:

1) Lu suka sama itu Lee Sook Yee  wub.gif  wub.gif  wub.gif fund kah? Then PRS into her using KenangaOne PRS Growth fund.

2) Lu also suka sama suka itu Kap Chai fund? Then buy from FSM lor... dua dua pun boleh kahwin. Apa yang susah sangat?

Xuzen
PRS, kenanga didnt give the best option (got cimb prs asia pac), so no chance tongue.gif

Thinking is KGF better cause got both big cap and small cap or kapchai cos strong small cap and got other better funds to intra switch? laugh.gif
TSAIYH
post Feb 11 2017, 04:54 PM

1,166 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Feb 11 2017, 04:26 PM)
Well it's the same person. Agreed. Stock trading needs to take account into broker commission. There are some stocks which can hold for.

If one really buy and hold then buying index fund in malaysia is very feasible via local broker. Go through LSE and buy VWRD. No need to look so far into orang puteh. Our neighbour SG have their very own index fund which track the STI. There are lots of SG financial blogger who recommend buying STI index over buying SG UT. So actually if one really want to invest in ETF, it's quite possible.
hmm.gif Nikko Am did have 2 funds (one capital growth, and one dividend income), that can beat these etf over 3-5 years (despite factoring in MER), provided you invest with poems (kick out those annoying platform fee for equity in fsm laugh.gif)
wodenus
post Feb 11 2017, 05:05 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

It all boils down to "do you want a second job?" and "do you think your brain will still be as sharp 50 years from now?"

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC2596698/

This post has been edited by wodenus: Feb 11 2017, 05:44 PM
killdavid
post Feb 11 2017, 05:43 PM

Senior Satire Officer
1,636 posts

If you look at his Freedom fund which he was kind enough to share, his return for 2015 was about 2.x % and 2016 was 3.x %

So investing in stock was not as easy in real life when you factor in all the variables. If you are a talented investor then for sure. But for an average Joe, who wants a simpler path, then maybe informed passive investment in mutual fund is a worthy consideration.

I mean for me that is, I don't care if UT can't beat the benchmarks in returns. My assumption is that UT did their due diligence in diversification so for sure that may dampen the returns, but if the UT loses more than benchmark in bad times then it says something negative about the fund. UT should be less volatile than the benchmark, that is my expectation.

I prefer to compare UT with all my existing crappy investment like FD, endowment and such. If UT is consistently >3% better in returns than these instruments then i am all for it.

This post has been edited by killdavid: Feb 11 2017, 05:53 PM
Ramjade
post Feb 11 2017, 05:45 PM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(killdavid @ Feb 11 2017, 05:43 PM)
If you look at his Freedom fund which he was kind enough to share, his return for 2015 was about 2.x % and 2016 was 3.x %

So investing in stock was not as easy in real life when you factor in all the variables. If you are a talented investor then for sure. But for an average Joe, who wants a simpler path, then maybe informed passive investment in mutual fund is a worthy consideration.
That's just dividend. His capital gain + dividends - 14.69%

Gross Investment: RM297,777.83
Market Value: RM345,955.92
Dividends (2016): RM11,429.55
Dividend yield = 3.84%
Total Gain: 14.69%

Respectable for malaysian market notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Feb 11 2017, 05:47 PM
skynode
post Feb 11 2017, 05:53 PM

175 posts

QUOTE(vincabby @ Feb 11 2017, 01:19 PM)
contestchris definitely rubs people in the wrong way. its not entirely his fault as words when not spoken but typed might sound different to different people. however, AIYH made a good point, do consider people's feelings or tone it down if possible. If not, you make yourself stand out for all the wrong reasons.
As a wise man said, "Better to be rich than right."

1553 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Top

0.0159sec    0.48    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 11:04 AM