127 Pages « < 35 36 37 38 39 > » Bottom

Chubby Hamsters V4, Fun little furballs

Syrian
post Mar 24 2007, 09:52 PM

2,761 posts

QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ Mar 24 2007, 09:39 PM)
Mealworms you need to feed them some sawi or carrot once a while... they need to be on a bedding of oats to survive.
So, i kenot jz put them in the plastic bag doh.gif. Can keep for how long?? My hamsters eat very little only - around 4 or 5 per hammie.
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Mar 24 2007, 09:55 PM

www.suggiesathome .wordpress.com
12,047 posts

QUOTE(Syrian @ Mar 24 2007, 09:52 PM)
So, i kenot jz put them in the plastic bag  doh.gif.  Can keep for how long?? My hamsters eat very little only - around 4 or 5 per hammie.
Plastic bag? Sure lah die.... please search back for the mealworm thread.... there got ways on how to care for them. Mealworms can last for weeks... till they become a pupa and turn into a beetle...
coldfusionpower
post Mar 24 2007, 09:56 PM

My Cat Like To Shoot Noobs
3,158 posts

in the freezer ? i also dunno. never fed them mealworm before.
dazzle
post Mar 24 2007, 10:16 PM

Peace Seeker's
799 posts

QUOTE(Syrian @ Mar 24 2007, 09:52 PM)
So, i kenot jz put them in the plastic bag  doh.gif.  Can keep for how long?? My hamsters eat very little only - around 4 or 5 per hammie.
Put on a plastic box(never use), place the meal worm into the box with bread.

They can eat the bread, I do this to keep the meal worm alive for about 2 weeks. No die occur

Important thing is the meal worm must surround by water to prevent the ant attack.
BlueHeng
post Mar 24 2007, 10:34 PM

1,604 posts

Mine is just basically in a container with holes. Feed bread.. i kept it for 4 weeks and still alive wor
kurikuraX
post Mar 25 2007, 07:45 AM

this section is optional
907 posts

Plastic bag....i think can if u not totally close them..but not sure how long they can stand. The air ventilation is not so good and they might be died due to hot temperature. biggrin.gif
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Mar 25 2007, 01:02 PM

12,047 posts

Mealworms will die and smell like rotten fish if they are kept in a closed container with no ventilation.... also, if you feed bread, make sure the bread is stale hard bread and not the fresh soft kind. The fresh ones will let out moisture which can become humid in the container, killing most of the mealworms and turning some of the mealworms moldy....

Always keep in a well ventilated container with some oats.... Oats is a good bedding coz can be eaten and also won't release moisture like bread thus keeping the mealworms dry and alive.
Syrian
post Mar 25 2007, 01:33 PM

2,761 posts

Do u know the KFC container?? I dunno what is the value meal called. But the container is round and on top got cover one. The cover got a lot of lubangs one. CAn i use that? At the moment, I put about 1 cm thickness of oats and I put all the worms in there wor. Then i close the lid. Shud be orite, right ??

TScrazymouse_yyh
post Mar 25 2007, 01:43 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(Syrian @ Mar 25 2007, 01:33 PM)
Do u know the KFC container?? I dunno what is the value meal called.  But the container is round and on top got cover one.  The cover got a lot of lubangs one.  CAn i use that? At the moment, I put about 1 cm thickness of oats and I put all the worms in there wor.  Then i close the lid.  Shud be orite, right ??
As long the cover got lots of holes is ok lah. You can keep mealworms in the fridge... not freezer ah.... in fridge, it is cold.... and cold will make the mealworms sleep and slows down their growth. You can keep mealworms in there for a month without pupas or beetles hahahah.... if put freezer sure die lah.
Syrian
post Mar 25 2007, 03:17 PM

2,761 posts

i think my housemates will kill me if i put those worms in teh fridge laugh.gif
coldfusionpower
post Mar 25 2007, 04:36 PM

My Cat Like To Shoot Noobs
3,158 posts

must give mealworm arr ? aiyahh . my mom gonna kill me if she find worms inside the fridge ...
BlueHeng
post Mar 25 2007, 07:21 PM

1,604 posts

QUOTE(coldfusionpower @ Mar 25 2007, 04:36 PM)
must give mealworm arr ? aiyahh . my mom gonna kill me if she find worms inside the fridge ...
It's not a must. Just once in a while. never give also nevermind. And no need to put inside the fridge leh.. can just leave it somewhere cool and dry.
Syrian
post Mar 25 2007, 08:48 PM

2,761 posts

No lar .. not necessarily need to feed with mealworms. They're given as treats ma tongue.gif and I wanna make my syrians look chubbier ma tongue.gif.
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Mar 25 2007, 08:52 PM

12,047 posts

Put in fridge is to slow their growth only.... room temperature is fine as long keep them dry lah.

Yups, only as treats. Mealworms are high in fat and protien and most hamsters enjoy such treats. In the wild, hamsters will eat insects like grasshoppers, crickets, grubs... as long edible they will eat it for extra protien.

Added on March 25, 2007, 9:35 pmSome cute campbells waiting for their homes hehehe...

This post has been edited by crazymouse_yyh: Mar 25 2007, 09:35 PM
BlueHeng
post Mar 25 2007, 09:42 PM

1,604 posts

Oh I like the last one.. the black colored!! Btw, can hamster eat lettuce?
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Mar 25 2007, 10:04 PM

12,047 posts

Hamsters can eat lettuce but it is not nutritional and has a very high water content. Better to give other type of vegie.
Syrian
post Mar 25 2007, 10:53 PM

2,761 posts

OMG!!! The first one looks like teddy bear!!! So CUTE!!!! Too bad i dun dare to keep RC tongue.gif. Else sure get one from u - super cute lar !!!
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Mar 25 2007, 11:02 PM

12,047 posts

Why do not dare? Won't bite wan hahhaah...
St.Daring
post Mar 25 2007, 11:03 PM

339 posts

nice and cute...how many hamsters u got currently?
BlueHeng
post Mar 25 2007, 11:06 PM

1,604 posts

Hmmm.. too bad my mom very sensitive to smell.. if not I really would like to get 1 more RC and 2 robos to keep at home. Now hopefully my mom won't chop off my head when i bring back the 2 gerbils.

127 Pages « < 35 36 37 38 39 > » Top

0.0215sec    0.50    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 05:00 PM