TScrazymouse_yyh
post Feb 27 2007, 08:35 PM, updated 19y ago

www.suggiesathome .wordpress.com
12,047 posts

^^ HAMSTERS ^^

Old thread http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/348425

A hamster is a rodent belonging to the subfamily Cricetinae. There are 5 types of hamsters, mainly the Syrian, Winter white dwarf, Russian campbell dwarf, Chinese hamsters and Roborovski hamsters.

SPECIES:

Syrians (Mesocricetus auratus)
They are the best known species in the pet industry. Syrians are also known as Golden Hamsters. Syrians are known as fancy hamsters of all the hamster species since they come in many colour varieties and also coat varieties... some can have long fur and some short fur, which we normally call Long Hairs and Short Hairs... also there is a fur type known as Rex.

The most important rule about Syrians is that they are SOLITARY... never house 2 together. If breeding, there is a way where you must put the female into the male's cage only when the female is on heat. It is very risky and dangerous to house 2 syrians together at any time since they are very well known to fight till death. So if you treasure the life of your hamster, never put 2 syrians together.

Syrians are large and comfortable to hold. They do make suitable pets for children but under adult supervision.

Campbell's Hamster (Phodopus campbelli)
Campbells are probably the most popular of all dwarf hamsters since they come in many colour varieties that makes them attractive. The look similar to Winter White hamsters but they are actually different subspecies. So never mixbreed them.

Campbells are dwarfs... well, small hamsters. Please do not be fooled by petshops telling you mini hamsters and giving you a weird price. Anyway, they come in different colour and patterns but to breed, one must understand that hamsters that have any white spots or markings must never be bred together coz it can produce eyeless or teethless hamsters that die later... so if you were to breed, please read up.

These dwarfs may not be suitable for young children due to some dwarfs are bitey... and because of their small size, it would be harder for children to handle. Campbells are not aggressive biters, it is just that sometimes they will bite when you make them angry or startle them from their sleep.

Winter White Hamster (Phodopus sungorus)
WW are hamsters that can change their coat colour when we minimise their daylight. Their coats will change from their normal colours to a white coat but with their dorsal stripe and side arches visible. WW come in 3 colours, which are Agouti, Sapphire and Pearl. The Pearl do not change their coat colour at all, they remain in their white coat colour for life.

WW are different from Campbells, their eyes are bigger, fur is thicker, body is more bullet shape and their ears are less conspicious. It is easy to see the difference if a Campbell and WW were side by side.

WWs are nicer to handle for they have better temperments than Campbells. WW rarely change into their winter coats in captivity, so do not force your hamster to starve and stay in a cold room... this depends on the hamster whether it wants to change or not.

Roborovski Hamster (Phodopus roborovskii)
Robos are the smallest species of hamster. Adult Robos are only 2 inches in lenght. Unlike the other dwarfs, Robos do not have a dorsal stripe and they have slightly longer legs. Easy to identify from the size and also its sandy colour and white belly.

Yes, the smallest and also the fastest, this species is very well known for being very fast and active. So they are not very handle friendly since they are likely to jump or run off your palm. Many are really attracted by the facial markings, they appear to have "eyebrows".

Robos enjoy sand baths and a wheel. Due to their small size, one would need to purchase a glass/plastic tank to house them or purchase cages with small bars like the Habitrail Mini...

Chinese Hamster (Cricetulus griseus)
The Chinese hamster is known for their mousy looks. Yes, they were discovered in China long ago. Many people would say Chinese hamsters are hard to breed in captivity and are difficult to raise. Fighting problems occur so it is best to house them seperately. The Chinese hamster is also referred to as a "mouse-like" hamster because of its short nose, thin body, stocky legs and longer tail.

They do make great pets if they are bred by a proper breeder and have been handled often when young.

VERY IMPORTANT!!!!

- Most hamsters do very well alone. Roborovski hamsters can be kept in small groups and best if single sexed but Syrians, Campbells, Winter Whites and Chinese hamsters are best kept on their own. They are always happier that way.

- Never breed hamsters if you do not have the space. Hamsters can reproduce every 20 days or so.

- Hamster fights are never fun to watch.

- Always remember to have food and water available. Never give too much fresh foods.

- The bigger the cage or tank, the more comfortable for the hamster.

- Syrians need wheels that are about 8 inches in diameter.

- NEVER keep different species in 1 cage or tank together... BIG big trouble there, may have some injuries, deaths... and possibility of mixbreeding Campbells with WW... bad idea.

- Hamsters do not have human emotion, they do not feel Love or have emotional feelings like humans. So there really is no reason to breed them unless you have a purpose as a true hamster breeder.

- Hamsters can get sick easily if given too much fresh foods like fruits and vegetables.

Anything to add in the 1st page, just PM me.

Added on February 26, 2007, 1:56 amPictures of the different hamster species with some example of a few colour varieties.

Thank you to Reanne and |sorcerer| for their chinese hamsters and roborovski pictures.

One way to hold a hamster if it bites or to look at it's genital area clearly. Never do this for long since it is a bit uncomfortable for the hamster. Only for a short period.

Useful links (credit to Acey)The Hamster Name Generator (thanks to Gazard7)

(credit to suicidalxbliss)

Lowyat.net Siggy (free to use, a big thank you to Hao tongue.gif ):

Added on February 26, 2007, 9:25 pmA Basic Guide

* Hamsters are very active creatures so they do need their excercise. Naturally energetic, hamster love to run so it is best to provide a good solid wheel for them. Makre sure it is a solid wheel and not those mesh wheels since those gaps can cause injuries. Syrians should have 8 inch diameter wheels while dwarfs can have smaller ones.

* Hamsters are nocturnal, meaning they are mostly active at night. During the day, they would need some peace and quiet to sleep so it is highly recommended to place the cage or tank away from direct sunlight and provide them with a hide such as a clay flower pot or aroma burner or any solid looking hamster houses available at petshops.

* Hamsters need a layer of quality bedding in their tanks. You can always get the wood shaving variety but you would need to change the bedding often. Recommended brands would be Chipsi Classic, Chipsi Super, Delikate and Kaytee. Avoid using other brands for pine and cedar wood can cause breathing problems later in life due to the phenol oils produced by the wood. One can also use corncob bedding, wood pellets like Woody Pet or Careline wood cat litter or recycled paper bedding/litter like CareFresh or Breeder's Select/Celect.

* Hamsters love to nibble on hay and also build nest in their hide box for comfort. So providing a bit of hay is good. Any hay is suitable, as long it is fresh looking(greenish). Avoid stale hay(brownish).

* Hamsters should have a good amount of food in their food bowls. You do not need to worry about hamsters not finishing their food for they will hoard away old food to eat later. Make sure fresh foods are cleaned out of the cage or tank after 24 hours.
- Good source of fiber would be broccoli, spinach, sawi(choy sum), kangkung and water cress. Do feed fresh foods in moderation since too much can cause wet tail sickness and indigestion. A small piece of vegie or fruit is enough for 1 day.
- Sweet potato and normal potato can be given but only give cooked potatos.
- Sweet fruits and carrots can be given in small quantities every few days.
- Hard boiled eggs, scrambled eggs, cooked chicken and cooked fish can be fed.

* Have a good quality bottle for water at hand. Cheap bottles tend to leak.

* Wash the hamster cage or tank once in a week. Just wash with some mild soapy water. Clean cages and tanks prevents the risk of getting infections.

* Hamsters do not need to bath with water and soap like humans. Hamsters can clean themselves very well and they enjoy having sand baths (Chincilla or hamster sandbath) more than getting wet. A wet hamster can fall sick easily.

* Handle your hamster daily. Build a relationship with your hamster. You can hold them, talk to them and pat them. These little gestures will keep your hamster tame and friendly and of course, happy.

* Never wake up sleeping hamsters since they can startle easily and give a nasty bite to protect themselves. This is an instinct reaction so do not blame a hamster for being aggressive... they bite when there is a reason to bite.

* Always wash your hands after handling hamsters for they are still from the rodent family. Keep your self healthy for your hamster smile.gif

Added on February 26, 2007, 11:44 pmPictures of LYN members' tank setups:

Pictures of suitable cages available in the market

Added on February 27, 2007, 8:41 pmFor the 1st page, please post important or useful info of hamsters. You can also post pictures of your cage setups as an example. I will delete those that are just spam to make the 1st page clean and easy to read for new hamster owners.

Updated pictures of LYN member's hamster housings.
picture from dj.eRicZzz

QUOTE(bizen @ May 30 2007, 05:26 PM)
blink.gif  I found some articles and 1 of it is about hamsters... I bought it a few years back when I am still in high school  laugh.gif ... and I would like to share it with everyone here  tongue.gif 

Here is the link:

Hamster Guide 01

Hamster Guide 02

Hamster Guide 03

Hamster Guide 04

Have fun reading  icon_rolleyes.gif
This post has been edited by crazymouse_yyh: May 30 2007, 08:52 PM
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Feb 27 2007, 09:29 PM

12,047 posts

Haha... took me 2 days to compose all that... coz all own words and LYN pics... so no need take stuff from the net.

Anyway, I will update with Identifying the sex of hamsters and also something brief on breeding DOs and DON'Ts....

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Updated!

QUOTE(Reanne @ Apr 9 2007, 04:46 AM)
Steps when your ham has just given birth.

1) Put them in a quiet place of the house.
2) Do not disturb them except for refilling food and water.
3) Do not change the bedding no matter how smelly it is for the next 21 to 24 days.
4) Remove the male. If not you'll have another batch of pink wriggly things in approximately 20 days.
5) Add protein rich supplements such as:-

-Fresh veggies -> Broccoli, alfalfa sprouts, carrots, watercress, choy sum etc. Make sure washed well. Avoid onions, garlic.

-Fresh fruits -> Apple, banana, papaya, honeydew, pear, mango etc. Do not give avocado and citrus fruits.

-Other protein rich stuff -> Wheatgerm, japanese soft tofu, hard boiled egg white, crickets, mealworms etc. Do not give milo or anything containing cocoa.

6) DO NOT TOUCH THE BABIES. If you really want to peek, wait for at least 3 - 4 days, then use the end of a pencil or brush, rub it in the bedding before gently prying a little to see the pinkies.

Reasons to why most or all the babies do not survive or disappear.

1) The mom feels that she does not have enough nutrition to suckle so many babies. She will cull the weakest one first.

2) The mom feels scared or threatened, so her instinct tells her to cull the babies so that she will have the nutrition and get away in order to be able to have another batch of babies in the near future instead of just leaving the babies to the predator/threat. In the wild, if she thinks that the predator is so darn near and gonna eat her any minute, she'll make a run for it. Leaving the babies without a choice.

But as pets, they don't have that option.

3) The baby is sick/injured and/or dying. She will instinctively kill it so that it hasn't a chance to pass whatever that made it sick if it's an infectious disease, and/or eat it to regain lost nutrition.

NOTE: If the baby dies, most ham mothers WILL eat their babies because if she just leaves it, the stench of rotting flesh will attract unwanted company.

4) She's not a good mom. Though most hams are good mothers, there are bound to be a few that will not suckle their babies and probably just step on them a lot. This will need extra attention to spot so that the unattended pups can be given to a foster mother.

Do not confuse this behaviour when seen in the first few hours after birth. It's normal, especially for first time moms, to ignore their pups for the first few hours. Just leave them be and they will usually know what to do.

A few clear rules

1) All pregnant females should be given their own cage each to nurse and have the pups grow. Do ensure there is enough room for them to exercise and run about.

2) DO NOT KEEP A PAIR TOGETHER FOR THE SAKE OF HAVING A PARTNER. A single sex pair is sufficient for that purpose.

3) Syrian hamster matings MUST be supervised. Syrians are SOLITARY, meaning they cannot live together.

4) Do not breed if possible. Breeding is not a FUN thing for them. It's a burden that will shorten their lifespan, nothing more.
This post has been edited by crazymouse_yyh: Apr 9 2007, 04:27 PM
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Feb 27 2007, 09:38 PM

12,047 posts

No, none of my hamsters pee in their bowls. Maybe you should change a new bowl and see if it happens again or not. If they do not pee in the new bowl means their old bowl smells more like a toilet to them.
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Feb 27 2007, 09:55 PM

12,047 posts

Do post more pictures of setups, it would be nice to let people or newbies see them. Anyway, post more information or good links or caresheets that you guys can find.
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Feb 27 2007, 10:31 PM

12,047 posts

Do whatever you guys can. Yah, no one doing anything yet so you guys can go right ahead. Reviews, anything lah. It'll be beneficial for everyone heheheh....
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Feb 28 2007, 08:32 PM

12,047 posts

Why you keep asking what is the use of aroma burner... aroma teraphy is for humans but aroma burner can be used for hamsters. It is a porcelin or ceramic jar like object that is very cosy for hamsters to sleep and hide in. This is only for dwarf hamsters coz Syrians are too large to fit into the small aroma burners.

If any of you looking for a nice wooden house, go find at Pet Safari, got a very nice corner wood hut that is always 50% off... RM15... half price means RM7.50 loh... very nice to use since I bought about 6 hahahah...
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Feb 28 2007, 10:50 PM

12,047 posts

Hey Dazzle, really nice update of your tank... I'll move it to the 1st page.
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Feb 28 2007, 11:18 PM

12,047 posts

Picture of the wooden house from Pet Safari.

TScrazymouse_yyh
post Mar 1 2007, 11:25 PM

12,047 posts

If you wanna wash pesticides from vegies there is actually a detergent that is for washing vegies and fruits.... erm.... I can't remember the brand coz long time ago but it washes really well.

Salt water baths for vegies? Never heard of that but if you soak vegies in saltwater... I don't think it give smuch effect... coz how do we really know if there are chemicals left? Anyway, if you wanna be safe, get lah vegies from the night market or wet market. Most of the vegies sold there uses very little pesticides... you will know coz some of the vegies got holes and brown markings, that is really a good sign. Many people thought that vegies with holes are bad hahahah....

Sometimes I buy romaine lettuce or butterhead lettuce... those organic hydroponic ones.... Rm4.99 for 2 heads... LOL... my mom say I'm crazy, buying vegies and fruits for my pets hahahah....
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Mar 2 2007, 10:41 AM

12,047 posts

Syrians do not sand bath coz their fur is never that greasy... sand bath more for hamsters that have greasy fur, it get rids of the oils properly and condition the fur. For Syrians, I groom using just a toothbursh... just brush the fur is enough.
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Mar 2 2007, 11:14 AM

12,047 posts

Hahaha... my friend who gave me my 1st syrian told me that.... that was like 12 years ago hahahah... but if your syrian's fur a bit greasy or smelly, just apply some baby powder, rub the powder into the fur with your fingers and later brush away the powder using a toothbrush. Then the hamster will smell nice and look nice too. I call this Dry Bath... heeheh... coz sometimes dogs and cats also must dry bath.
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Mar 2 2007, 11:16 AM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(Lance8431 @ Mar 2 2007, 11:14 AM)
Finally V5, long time din login just noticed. Nicely done hun. rclxms.gif
Is it taken on your bed? look so messy de tongue.gif
HAhaha... V4 lah.

No, not my bed... on top of my printer ahahah.... my study table and computer table always messy coz lots of stuff... not my bed lah sweat.gif
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Mar 2 2007, 11:30 AM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(Lance8431 @ Mar 2 2007, 11:24 AM)
Whoops. Morning blur tongue.gif

By the way, just a reminder. Is there anyway to keep out hamster cage from pest such as ants or centipede?

Sad to say, two of my boys got poisoned by a centipede that climbed into their cage and died cry.gif , my most sayang one was one of it...........

Just post this up so that no one else have to suffer as i do as i neglected this part of situation when i just put the cage on the floor inside my house.
Oh, so sorry... kesian your boys. RIP to them.

Well, you can go to some hardware shops or chinese medicine shop and get a powder to pour around the cage. For me ah, I just take the sheltox or ridsect and just spray the floor first, then i put the cage on top of the sprayed area... no ants later.
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Mar 2 2007, 08:28 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(arraille @ Mar 2 2007, 03:12 PM)
i dunno whether this is normal to Syrians... but mine both are so active (maybe bcoz not fat YET...)... they really run on wheels from around 11pm to 6am... even when my wife wake up in the middle of the night somewhere around 3am to prepare milk for my son, still can hear them running...  doh.gif  so i think if they are fat a bit can slow down the running la... quite noisy also.... vmad.gif
Normal lah... hamsters are nocturnal.

If noisy, just take some minyak and apply at the wheel's spinner.

To make them fat, you should feed them a variety in their diet.... fruits, vegie, grain, bread, rice, meat, insects....

QUOTE(kembara @ Mar 2 2007, 08:14 PM)
cant wait to use toothbrush for my hammy heheh..but must buy new one first...dont want to share la hahaha...

btw,
my two mottled-dove males white part of fur always turn to yellowish la...
i feel sand bath didnt effect to clean that yellowish fur..
emm..what i must do aa..must i bath them ?? hmm.gif
Sand bath is to get rid of grease(minyak) on the fur to make it nice looking. The yellowish stain is Pee lah.... they kencing kencing on each other hahaahh.... well, you can try bathing with water but very risky.... better you just use a wet cloth to wipe them.
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Mar 2 2007, 08:55 PM

12,047 posts

Yes... you won't see lah.... they pee a bit or your hamsters sleep in their own pee in the wood shavings.... it really is the pee stains....

Lap use wet cloth only... dun use sabun.
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Mar 2 2007, 11:56 PM

12,047 posts

Yups... vinegar is safe to use. Cleaning a cage with vinegar can get rid of certain smells.... and if you drip a circle of vinegar around the cage, it can ward off ants for a day or 2...
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Mar 3 2007, 01:25 AM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(dazzle @ Mar 3 2007, 12:57 AM)
I just bought 1 pairs of Winter white, 1 is pearl(male) and 1 more the sapphire(female).  biggrin.gif
I try to put them in the same cage with my Gangsters(Robos).

1 of the Robos fight with the male WW. vmad.gif

So i faster separate them, put the WWs in my plastic cage.

Look like WW is easy to handle than the gangters. sweat.gif

Share u all 1 more thing on my syrian. drool.gif

He is very tame. I always let him go out from the cage and give his walk around my house.

After he feel tire, he will got back to the cage by himself. nod.gif
Why you never read the first page is it? NEVER place different species together.... really really bad and dangerous lah... shakehead.gif This kinda warning we have given so so so many times but still so many wanna try? Yah, it is tempting to see petshops keep different species together sometimes but petshops where got care? As long can sell then ok. As long can save space ok. As long looks cute for buyers is ok.... mad.gif
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Mar 3 2007, 01:46 AM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(dazzle @ Mar 3 2007, 01:25 AM)
my syrian will pick him own drop and throw out of the cage.

Do no why???

Added on March 3, 2007, 1:29 am

I try to put for a moment.

At 1st is ok, later my robos direct go to the ww male to wrestling.

Very naughty robos. Hard to teach.

every night they play the wheel like mad. THe sound like kilang
Tsk Tsk... hamsters do not act like humans.... they do not know who is friend and who is foe.... You robo is not naughty, he is acting upon instinct.... he is protecting his territory.... for you to put the WW into the cage... the one that is naughty should be you lah, not your robo. It is not play wrestling... he is really fighting in a way.

Never associate human behaviours and human emotions with animals. An animal will not see joy when have babies, they see it as responsibility only and a job....
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Mar 3 2007, 01:55 AM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(dazzle @ Mar 3 2007, 01:49 AM)
yalo, no more next time.

Seriously i will not repeat this silly mistake. smile.gif
Good. Well, let your robos enjoy their naughty life lah.... so now you got robo, WW, syrian... how about campbell? tongue.gif
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Mar 3 2007, 10:39 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(prophet007 @ Mar 3 2007, 09:50 PM)
no...he still can open eyes. the whole eye bengkak liao...juz use luke warm water to clean the eyes.....there are substances (looks like pus filled) growing on the eye balls. ....
Ohhh... I kena that before... 2 hamsters died and 1 recovered... but it may be a different type of infection since mine died overnight after got the eye pus.

Anyway, what you should is clean with luke warm water. If possible, go to a pharmacy and get antibiotic eye drops... I can't remember the brand but it has a logo of a lion or something.... or you can get an eye ointment called Teramycin or something.... I dunno the spelling but it sounds like that when say it lah. Then you apply on the effected eye once a day.

15 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0419sec    0.39    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 07:59 AM