Chubby Hamsters V4, Fun little furballs

coldfusionpower
post Mar 11 2007, 06:58 PM

My Cat Like To Shoot Noobs
3,158 posts

QUOTE(~Rogue~ @ Mar 11 2007, 06:07 PM)
my hammy..dunno y..likes to sleep very much...and i put him in a air cond room...izzit good...i put the temperature to 24!
i was wondering about this too . usually sleep with the a/c on for 2-3 hours (timer) at 22c and the fan will started to turn on after the a/c turn off . my question is the same with ~rogue~ . izzit ok for the WW ? icon_question.gif
coldfusionpower
post Mar 11 2007, 07:51 PM

3,158 posts

err. just curious. can i put 3-4 WW males in one place/home ?
coldfusionpower
post Mar 14 2007, 03:20 AM

3,158 posts

err. mealworms ? real mealworm ? huhuhuhuhu

btw, my niece just bought a cute WW that only 2 weeks old and super hyperactive. she ( the hamster laa) just kept trying to escape thru the cage wall and almost succed everytime. ya lar . small body maaa and the cage wall is quite big. is there any way to slow down the hamster hyperactiveness ?

and my new 6 weeks old WW just keep sleep all day. only comes out to eat or drink then goes inside back to his hideout. super lazy wooo . any idea to deal with it ? or it's just normal ? never have a WW before.

or both attitude just becoz of the new environment ? cage too small ? the cage is quite large in my opinion laa . it's 23inch wide, 15inch long and 8inch tall for the first 3 floor and the top is 23inch wide, 15inch long and 16inch tall with 2 small floor inside it.
coldfusionpower
post Mar 14 2007, 05:45 PM

3,158 posts

off-topic. is there any shop that sells those habitral cage accessories ? some shop have but little option. i wonder where can i get those maze , plaything for my hamsters.
coldfusionpower
post Mar 15 2007, 03:29 AM

3,158 posts

QUOTE(BlueHeng @ Mar 14 2007, 07:55 PM)
I think Ikano also has it. Pet family as well. However it's very expensive(RM70+ if not mistaken). I doubt it's all that useful for hamsters. You might as well spend the money on a bigger cage/ more hidehouses/ better food etc.
yeah.you'r right. tongue.gif

coldfusionpower
post Mar 15 2007, 04:36 AM

3,158 posts

hahaha .. true true ..my niece wanna spend alot for the hamster playthings. so i just let her la. never want to listen to uncle ..

btw, this is my first time with WW. i did breed Syrian 7 years ago. but it seem i already forgot a lot of things about hamsters. old alreadyy .. wahkakaka...

this is my DIY cage. it is still under constuction. only the penthouse and 3rd floor have floor for the bedding. didn't have time to make another two. so since it's a DIY and with my lousy Kemahiran Hidup skills, it's not perfect, it doesn't look good but good enough to keep the WW inside. and running in the wheel all morning ( 1am till now). i can hear the wheel spin ..

coldfusionpower
post Mar 15 2007, 12:30 PM

3,158 posts

Update: my ww just escape twice today. 1st at 5am. saw him at the kitchen eating sumthing at the floor. catch it and put back in the cage. now, when i got-up, then the ww is gone again ! damn. cannot find it la. just got the ww 2 days ! and now he MIA ! cry.gif

maybe, i will buy some lexan or persplex plate to cover most of the cage surface. it sure cannot escape ! but those things are expensive .. doh.gif

QUOTE(Rena_blue @ Mar 15 2007, 06:01 AM)
lousy skill ?
no , man!!
build me 1 also ~ i want!!
is practical , cost saving~
juz , i dunno how to make it ~~
arrsshh!!!!
pay u labour cost la , k ??
hehe!!

woahh. why the repeated post ? tongue.gif .. sure sure.. but let me finished mine first ok.

QUOTE(kurikuraX @ Mar 15 2007, 08:42 AM)
yah...its a nice cage u know! look like apartment! thumbup.gif

i also planning to build one of that kind too...but it is my after graduation project biggrin.gif

u put the cage inside ur house or outside? Now i got the idea how to build the frame...u buit the frame 1st rite? btw, where is the door?
yeah. thats the main idea. to make it like an apartment. then put drift wood, small window wood at the side to make it look like and old wooden challet or villa. wooden roof, and some plastic leaves, hahaha. sure look great !

QUOTE(dien @ Mar 15 2007, 09:14 AM)
thank you for your advice rena_blue..  smile.gif
nice and creative cages..  smile.gif
then, you can teach me how to build them..

but.. is it the wired mesh safe for hamsters??
i mean if they bite the wired cage??
yeah. i will post link to the build-up process pictures. about the wired mesh, i'm not sure.

QUOTE(joanalooidog @ Mar 15 2007, 09:25 AM)
walao, this is nice man, neat, spacious..........cool.
But how do u cater for the bedding? they will kick them out rite??
it has an 1" edge. my floor is very clean ! rclxm9.gif . but just arraille said better make it higher... thanks for the advice !

QUOTE(arraille @ Mar 15 2007, 10:34 AM)
not bad... not bad... very creative... rclxms.gif  but i think to avoid u from sweeping the floor everyday, u better make the bedding tray edge higher a bit loh... like 4-5 inches...? juz my 2 cent...  biggrin.gif
thanks ! i will try to make it this week.
coldfusionpower
post Mar 15 2007, 02:48 PM

3,158 posts

QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ Mar 15 2007, 02:33 PM)
Wah... good handy work also.... but the wire mesh availabel in our local hardware shops are galvanised wire... and I was about to DIY a rat cage when I came upon many websites saying that galvanised wire can be toxic.... the best if coated wire mesh which I do not think we can find here.... Well, hope not much chewing is done lah.

Also, the floor pan is a bit too low.... bedding sure kick out later unless your hamster doesn't dig. Overall, this kind of cage has good ventilation lah.

yeah. tot about it also. coated ? hmmm. better buy the finished ready-stock cage lar .. my money flow like the niagra fall woo . buy that, buy this .. and the cage is actually dangerous for the ww. arghh .. icon_question.gif

coldfusionpower
post Mar 16 2007, 01:34 AM

3,158 posts

i decided to cut down the cage to two floor only .. and put smaller wire mesh. and wanna sell it for rm40 if anyone wants it. building material alone cost more than rm100 ! the quality might don't look good because of my lousy kemhiran hidup skills.

this is how low and small . the size remain the same. just i took out 2 floor out. will put smaller wire mesh if anyone want to buy it.
http://i127.photobucket.com/albums/p128/co...85/P3150016.jpg

Built-up pictures. sorry. no pic when doing the frame. camera battery died.
http://i127.photobucket.com/albums/p128/co...85/P3130001.jpg
http://i127.photobucket.com/albums/p128/co...85/P3130003.jpg
http://i127.photobucket.com/albums/p128/co...85/P3130004.jpg
http://i127.photobucket.com/albums/p128/co...85/P3130005.jpg
http://i127.photobucket.com/albums/p128/co...85/P3150001.jpg

and this is my diy cage v2. just made it after class today. just finished assemble the first floor. other3 tomoro will continue. it still using wire mesh. but smaller. this is temp till i get some extra money to buy 3mm persplex and replace the wire mesh. cut it up to size, drill plenty of small holes for ventilation purpose. or still use wire mesh at the upper side of the persplex. where the ww can't reach.

what do you think ... unsure.gif

owh ... is there any petshop around sunway, subang, usj selling syrian ? my niece want that one also larr . haiyah .. she have more money than her uncle .. sweat.gif. and someone said there is a big petshop at Taman Mayang. anyone know about it ? can give me the exact location ? thanks ! notworthy.gif
coldfusionpower
post Mar 16 2007, 01:55 AM

3,158 posts

currently have 2 ww, 2 cats ? wahkakaka ..my cat sleep outside. don't worry.

then one niece want syrian . one nephew want robo. only left RC .. hahaha ..
coldfusionpower
post Mar 16 2007, 02:26 AM

3,158 posts

don't worry. actually they are not mine. i found them at the market and they follow me. and they keep coming everytime it's time to eat ! .. smart cats. they just lepak2 at the kitchen and go outside after feed them. sometimes they sleep here (outside).
coldfusionpower
post Mar 16 2007, 10:57 AM

3,158 posts

how old is ur robos ?

wanted to buy two or three robos but afraid lar . they are very small and super fast. if escape, sure cannot find again.

This post has been edited by coldfusionpower: Mar 16 2007, 11:03 AM
coldfusionpower
post Mar 17 2007, 12:52 AM

3,158 posts

okay. almost finished the cage now. still hv one more cage to do. bought a handsome ( tongue.gif ) syrian from reanne. he super active. always in the running wheel since i bring he to his new home. but i think he need a bigger wheel lar .. that wheel was actually made for my missing WW.

owh, i put some of the missing WW bedding to the floor last night, his hideout behind the tv rack and put some trails of food. some food was missing and some bedding in the hideout is taken out to the floor. i hope it was he doing all that. gonna continue the search party tonight. anyway, here is the new picture of the cage and new syrian.

my niece new syrian, Egi

she sleeping above her house.. sweat.gif

his new home. this one i got from reanne. just wanna a simple name. Mickey .. tongue.gif

err. izzit me or the wheel is too small for him ? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by coldfusionpower: Mar 17 2007, 02:10 AM
coldfusionpower
post Mar 17 2007, 02:19 AM

3,158 posts

QUOTE(Rena_blue @ Mar 17 2007, 02:19 AM)
wow , so fast u got get from her edi !!
1st pic very cute ~~!!
cage finish set up edi 100%?
hahaha. cannot tahan la. reanne syrian's was too cute to wait another day ! rclxm9.gif . naa . thinking to add another floor. hahaha ... Mickey is too big for a single floor. WW ok laa .

QUOTE(the_catacombs @ Mar 17 2007, 02:50 AM)
the wheel too small for him lo... he will outgrow it soon... if possible try get a bigger wheel....
yeah. that's what i tot. better buy a bigger wheel tomoro.

This post has been edited by coldfusionpower: Mar 17 2007, 03:45 AM
coldfusionpower
post Mar 17 2007, 04:06 AM

3,158 posts

QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ Mar 17 2007, 04:44 AM)
Yay! You got the Golden boy hahahah.... her hamsters are really nice to have.... I think you got my hamster's brother heheheh.... I think lah. Anyway, yah, the wheel just now small lah, get a bigger 8 inch wheel. So comfortable but of course a bit mahal since only Pets Wonderland got that wheel. Maybe you can get a storage box.... Rm20 storage box should be big enough for your Syrian.
hohoho .. our syrian are related ! rclxms.gif

only at pet wonderland ? hmm .. what to do .. hv to buy lor .. kesian mickey.. the wheel are small and he have to bend his body to run ..
coldfusionpower
post Mar 17 2007, 04:16 AM

3,158 posts

rm20 sumthing ? still ok laa . abit pricey but what the heck.. as long mickey are happy !

btw, there's ant around the cages. but didn't see any inside the cage. what can i do to prevent the ant to come inside the cage ?
coldfusionpower
post Mar 18 2007, 01:53 AM

3,158 posts

Rena_Blue, here is the finished cage picture as u requested. thumbup.gif

New running wheel
YouTube Video: Mickey trying his new wheel the first time and try to wave at me ? laugh.gif

The completed cages

and i don't know why but Mickey seem like to sleep inside the tubes..

QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ Mar 17 2007, 06:15 AM)
Eh? Your Golden hamster is Igi is it? Female ah? Then it would be sister to my hamster hahahah.... unless it is a different litter. Coz I know my hamster had a golden sibling.... now my hamster fat and cute... very tame.

Another tip would be wiping the floor with white vinegar... just pour some white vinegar on the floor... let it sit for a while then wipe it clean... But wipe using a dry cloth... or put white vinegar in a spray bottle and spray on the floor but no need to wipe, let it evaporate by itself. Ants dislike white vinegar.
the cream hamster is Mickey .. and the golden one is Egi. bought from The Pet Family. hahaha .. mine also. eat alot ! but lucky he is a hardcore runner to burn all the fat. tongue.gif . so cute and chubby !

i think vineger is easier. i have 1 or two spray nozzle with bottle. can use it right. btw, my mom ask me to spray those water based anti-bacteria around the cage to make it germ free and smells nice. izzit ok ?

QUOTE(BlueHeng @ Mar 17 2007, 11:02 AM)
Pity you... your WW missing. You sure it won't run out of the house? Search at night lorr.. morning maybe it's hiding somewhere zzzzzzz....
yeah .. miss aron alot ! i search outside eveynight since he is missing. i put some bedding, his hideout and some food on the floor outside and inside. but no luck. i'm really worried if he goes outside. the maid has a habit to open the front slider door (which the same room as the cages) at 5am ! she open the slider door and sapu there sapu here and didn't close back.

i really afraid if aoran runs outside, my cats or other neighbours cat will ....... you what i mean.

QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ Mar 17 2007, 10:59 PM)
Yah, expensive but good quality and comfortable for the hamster heheheh....
expensive. yes. but super smooth and silent. no more that annoying wheel sound when mickey is running.

This post has been edited by coldfusionpower: Mar 18 2007, 04:27 PM
coldfusionpower
post Mar 18 2007, 07:07 PM

3,158 posts

The Pet Family have plenty of Syrian. but becareful when wanna choose. they stay in one cage so sometimes there are fights. some of them have injuries.

went to Pet Safari at Ikano and Sunway Pyramid but didn't see any syrian. visited 3 pet store only. others don't know where ..
coldfusionpower
post Mar 18 2007, 11:46 PM

3,158 posts

QUOTE(dien @ Mar 18 2007, 09:09 PM)
good job coldfusionpower.. (wah.. so long ler your name..)
i really really like your hand-made cage..
nice and cute..  rclxms.gif
thanks ... if long , just call me CFP la ..much shorter .. icon_rolleyes.gif

QUOTE(Squallwc @ Mar 18 2007, 09:34 PM)
hello guys. last week I posted here about hamster babies.
This afternoon checked and found out the babies are gone. Eaten by mother probably.... Sigh...

Need to put at very quiet place? Didn't move the cage, it's located at living room...so got some conversation and tv noise.  cry.gif
owh noo ! i hate when that happend. may they rest in peace. the last time i breed syrian, if the mama syrian is pregnant, i move her to other cage located near the store. almost zero noise there. feed food, add water everyday when her is sleeping and slowly till the pups are at least 2-3 weeks old.

Added on March 18, 2007, 11:50 pm
QUOTE(Rena_blue @ Mar 19 2007, 12:38 AM)
Ahem!!
I have a news ..long time din post hamham pic rite me . coz it been months they dun notti n give me pups ! juz normal simple hamie day!
guess what !
today morning my hamham give me 2nd batch of pups !!
1st batch + 2nd batch!
i FEEL GOOD...
[attachmentid=206312]
[attachmentid=206313]
FUIYOO .. the mama is very chubby and i like the colour combination ! .. izzit some pups are born at different time ? why some got fur some still newborn ? Same mama ?

This post has been edited by coldfusionpower: Mar 18 2007, 11:50 PM
coldfusionpower
post Mar 19 2007, 01:56 AM

3,158 posts

woahh .. how can be like that ? huhuhu very sad laa

7 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0434sec    0.19    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 05:37 PM