14 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Chubby Hamsters V4, Fun little furballs

BlueHeng
post Feb 27 2007, 10:24 PM

1,604 posts

Hey crazymouse.. I'm in the middle of writing a summary of common hamster diseases complete with references online (so I'm not plagarising.. just summarizing). No one is currently doing that right? Don't want my efforts wasted.
BlueHeng
post Feb 27 2007, 11:55 PM

1,604 posts

Summary of Common Hamster Diseases v0.1
Red Bolded- It is most recommended that you consult your vet unless your 100% sure of the situation.
****- Partially incomplete. Please PM me if you do have extra information including the source of where you took your information from.

Wet Tail (Proliferative ileitis)
Commonly mistaken and thought to be diarrhea. It affects mostly hamsters which are weaning (3-6 weeks old). The specific pathogen for this disease is still uncertain. Without immediate treatment a hamster may only survive up to 48 hours after signs of symptoms.
Symptoms: Obviously, wet tail.. caused by the discharge from the anus. A foul smell will be present. Other symptoms include lethargy, loss of appetite, messy coat/fur, dull eyes and hunched posture.
Treatment: Consult a vet ASAP for antibiotics, anti-diarrhea, and fluid replacement remedies. (Common treatments for wet tail are Baytril (enrofloxacin) or Neomycin (never more than 10mg/ kg because of sensitivity) with metronidazole (Flagyl, 0.1% in drinking water) and Kaopectate (1-2 ml PO). Also keep a 50/50 solution of Pedialyte and water available for your hamster. Use of an over the counter medicine, such as Dri-Tail, only masks the symptoms. It will not cure your hamster. These antibiotics are too weak to kill the bacteria.)

Diarrhea

May be caused by pathogens or overfeeding with fresh foods. (That's why crazymouse always say not too much. Hahaha) Your pet however, will not suffer from loss of appetite or lower activeness in most situations. Dehydration however, is the main concern.
Symptoms: Somewhat similar to wet tail but it is not as severe.
Treatment: Consult a vet and you will be given antibiotics. (not sure which because can't find it anywhere)****

Skin Diseases

Commonly caused by mites.
Symptoms: Excessive scratching by hamster, flakiness or redness in the skin.
Treatment: Consult a vet. ****

Abscesses

Most often caused by bite wounds from fighting. Sharp edges of certain food can also contribute to this problem in their cheek pouch. This is rather rare however. The build up of pus under the wounded skin.
Symptoms: Lump under their skin.
Treatment: Require veterinary attention for draining, flushing, and treatment with antibiotics.

Diabetes

Most commonly seen in Dwarf Russian Campbell but can also affect other species.
Symptoms: Hamsters that develop diabetes will show symptoms of excessive drinking, excessive urinating and wasting. Other symptoms may include low body temperature, shaking and trembling and at worst a comatose state.
Treatment: Pedialyte solution in the water bottle recommended by the vets.

Teeth Problems

All rodents have front teeth (incisor) which keeps growing until they reach the end of their life. That's why you see your hamster(s) gnawing and chewing on things all the time. This is to 'file' their teeth to make sure it is not too long. However, the main factor from preventing overgrowth is the wear caused by upper and lower incisors. Teeth problems can be caused by abscess or malnutrition which leads to misalignment of either of the incisors.
Symptoms: Lack of appetite and drooling. Weight loss and foul odor from the mouth
Treatment: Vet will trim the overgrown incisors and extract them. Antibiotics.

Trauma

Caused by accidents due to mishandling which can lead to broken bones or other injuries.

Sources
http://www.petwebsite.com/hamsters/hamster_diabetes.htm
http://www.animalhospitals-usa.com/small_p...es_general.html
http://www.simplepetcare.com/pet-diseases/10/HAMSTER/
http://www.boomspeed.com/critterbarn/Diseaseshamster.html
http://www.hamsterific.com/HamsterUniversi...rUniversity.cfm
http://exoticpets.about.com/cs/hamsters/a/hamsterhealth.htm

-to be continued. Will update asap. Hopefully this will be sufficient for the moment-

This post has been edited by BlueHeng: Feb 28 2007, 12:00 AM
BlueHeng
post Feb 28 2007, 03:52 PM

1,604 posts

QUOTE(Mingkiat1989 @ Feb 28 2007, 03:47 PM)
yea yea!

Where is gone?
It's still around. Just closed. LOL.. still can read de la..
BlueHeng
post Feb 28 2007, 04:58 PM

1,604 posts

QUOTE(Mingkiat1989 @ Feb 28 2007, 04:04 PM)
owwhh.. u cut the aroma burner izit? i use tissue roll.. so cham..  tongue.gif

food juz put all over the place.. hahaha.. so they will hunt for the food..  laugh.gif
Huh? you don't cut the aroma burner.. how to cut? Just put the whole thing inside nia la.. lol..
BlueHeng
post Feb 28 2007, 07:11 PM

1,604 posts

What for? burn alrd not nice. O.o
BlueHeng
post Feb 28 2007, 09:46 PM

1,604 posts

QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ Feb 28 2007, 08:32 PM)
Why you keep asking what is the use of aroma burner... aroma teraphy is for humans but aroma burner can be used for hamsters. It is a porcelin or ceramic jar like object that is very cosy for hamsters to sleep and hide in. This is only for dwarf hamsters coz Syrians are too large to fit into the small aroma burners.

If any of you looking for a nice wooden house, go find at Pet Safari, got a very nice corner wood hut that is always 50% off... RM15... half price means RM7.50 loh... very nice to use since I bought about 6 hahahah...
Mind taking a pic of it? I've been looking for a wooden house but can't seem to find one at pet safari for a cheap price.
BlueHeng
post Feb 28 2007, 10:55 PM

1,604 posts

QUOTE(dazzle @ Feb 28 2007, 10:38 PM)
Please look on my latest update Hamster Cage.

I just bought the hideout for my hamster.

[attachmentid=198672][attachmentid=198673]

look at my baby, he sleep so sweet.[attachmentid=198676]
Eh you trying to make us all jealous with your hamster tank ah? mad.gif (i'm jealous)
BlueHeng
post Feb 28 2007, 11:18 PM

1,604 posts

QUOTE(dazzle @ Feb 28 2007, 11:03 PM)
Dont like this, i just share my experience with you all. tongue.gif

I can advise you, when you need any help. nod.gif

I very like small animal, i will give all my best to care .
hahaha.. just joking only lar. But i wish i can have such a nice hamster cage. Looks very neat and tidy. Too bad no time and no skill to make. Haih... nice job btw. hehe
BlueHeng
post Mar 1 2007, 12:44 AM

1,604 posts

QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ Feb 28 2007, 11:18 PM)
Picture of the wooden house from Pet Safari.

[attachmentid=198705]
Looks very nice. I'll consider getting one. wahaha.. mommy gonna kill me. Spend so much on a rodent. LOL
BlueHeng
post Mar 1 2007, 02:51 PM

1,604 posts

Honestly it's hard to wash away pesticides.. I'd suggest you go to an organic shop which you trust and get them their fresh veggies. smile.gif
BlueHeng
post Mar 1 2007, 03:06 PM

1,604 posts

hahaha.. yeah it's ex.. I give carrots.. cut away the skin. Easy peasy. =D
BlueHeng
post Mar 2 2007, 01:33 PM

1,604 posts

QUOTE(the_catacombs @ Mar 2 2007, 12:10 PM)
yeap... last time i bought bathing sand for my syrians... they end up using it as a potty... didnt even roll in it.... doh.gif
after that, i switched to cat litter as their potty... i shake shake the sand first before giving them to release some dust away....

ohya, bathing dust is not recommended as they might end up in ur hamster's respiratory.... icon_rolleyes.gif
each time my syrians come out from the tube after sleeping whole day, their face sure wet wet... haha... sweating i guess....
and after they fully groomed themselves, they also appear to be wet... coz they use their saliva to bath... doh.gif
mine not jz fat... one of them even has a big head.... doh.gif
i jz noticed it after comparing him to his twin sibling... his head is extra large... hahaha.... doh.gif  doh.gif
I don't think hamsters can sweat. THey have fur. Not like us. They most prob drool to loose heat.
BlueHeng
post Mar 2 2007, 03:21 PM

1,604 posts

QUOTE(Lance8431 @ Mar 2 2007, 02:10 PM)
Like dogs arh =P
Yeah like dogs. Crazymouse said that they'll drool if it's too hot. Hamsters don't sweat that's for sure.
BlueHeng
post Mar 2 2007, 09:25 PM

1,604 posts

My ww.. I feel like wanna cekik it sometimes. I put the bedding nicely for it and it'll kick one spot away in the corner then pee there, as a result, the pee won't be absorbed by the bedding and it'll stink. grrrr... vmad.gif
BlueHeng
post Mar 2 2007, 10:06 PM

1,604 posts

Hard to potty train.. I read an article.. the lady use vinegar to wash the cage everytime to take off the smell until her hamster pee at the right place. I'm planning to get a small hidehouse and connect it to my habitrail mini then put bath sand.. hopefully my ww will use it.
BlueHeng
post Mar 2 2007, 11:41 PM

1,604 posts

QUOTE(bizen @ Mar 2 2007, 10:36 PM)
I don't think so...  shakehead.gif
You can seriously. Not apply. Clean it with vinegar. It takes off the smell. Crazymouse thought me that method too. smile.gif rclxms.gif
BlueHeng
post Mar 3 2007, 01:31 AM

1,604 posts

QUOTE(dazzle @ Mar 3 2007, 01:25 AM)
my syrian will pick him own drop and throw out of the cage.

Do no why???

Added on March 3, 2007, 1:29 am

I try to put for a moment.

At 1st is ok, later my robos direct go to the ww male to wrestling.

Very nusty nusty robos. Hard to teach.

every night they play the wheel like mad. THe sound like kilang
So smart? LOL.. my WW will shit in his hidehouse then when he's free he'll use his mouth and throw the shit outside of the hidehouse. LOL
BlueHeng
post Mar 3 2007, 02:30 AM

1,604 posts

I wanted to have robos.. but very lazy to handle them.. too active!
BlueHeng
post Mar 3 2007, 04:16 PM

1,604 posts

QUOTE(jaspery27 @ Mar 3 2007, 04:11 PM)
wahlaooo then ur house bcome hammies house aldi.... sweat.gif  sweat.gif just like my house lo, my frends say ;like minizoo  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif
That's what i call crazymouse's home. She's got heggie, hams, gerb, dog, sg... dunno what else she has..
BlueHeng
post Mar 3 2007, 05:29 PM

1,604 posts

QUOTE(Gazard7 @ Mar 3 2007, 05:07 PM)
After I switch to use Breeder Select cat litter, hopefully can keep more hamsters in my room. If not my girlfren will complaint abt the smell.
Ur gf complains about the room...? HOR! YOU StAY IN SAME ROOM WITH HER!!! AHEM AHEM!

How can you stand the sound of the wheel? I'll die I tell you.

14 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0440sec    0.52    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 11:48 AM