Girlfriend's parents rushing and pushing, for a wedding and engagement

TSAvangelice
post Dec 27 2016, 10:00 PM, updated 5y ago

5,272 posts

Seriously in what age now a days people think that marrying young is good. I am just 28 years old and my girlfriend is 31 years old and we been only together for two years. I went to her house just now and my girlfriend told me her parents are saying why does it seem like he isn't planning for the future? we both had a huge argument and I drove off without saying good bye and she slammed the door.

what the fuck? with this shit economy its been years since I took a long vacation to go for travel from my clinic, I hardly go out these days and everything I can save I try to save. sometimes I need to think twice buying pizza for myself as I need to save up for my future. i have a fucking house ready and yet to them it seems like I am not seriously growing up.

who here is getting the same shit? sorry for the rude words. I'm just so angry.
kharizmisg
post Dec 27 2016, 10:03 PM

211 posts

sama like my story lah ... this part **I went to her house just now and my girlfriend told me her parents are saying why does it seem like he isn't planning for the future?**
yongchin89
post Dec 27 2016, 10:04 PM

187 posts

bro, you have to think on her side, a 31 yrs old girl parent normally will rush? no?
HarDiE
post Dec 27 2016, 10:05 PM

208 posts

my girlfriend is 31 years old

thats ur problem.
MakNok
post Dec 27 2016, 10:06 PM

5,713 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Dec 27 2016, 10:00 PM)
Seriously in what age now a days people think that marrying young is good. I am just 28 years old and my girlfriend is 31 years old and we been only together for two years. I went to her house just now and my girlfriend told me her parents are saying why does it seem like he isn't planning for the future? we both had a huge argument and I drove off without saying good bye and she slammed the door.

what the fuck? with this shit economy its been years since I took a long vacation to go for travel from my clinic, I hardly go out these days and everything I can save I try to save. sometimes I need to think twice buying pizza for myself as I need to save up for my future.  i have a fucking house ready and yet to them it seems like I am not seriously growing up.

You doctor man.. Some more own a clinic... Sure lots of money..
If you say no good business... Then tutup clinic lo.
I am sure you can afford to get marry.
TSAvangelice
post Dec 27 2016, 10:07 PM

5,272 posts

QUOTE(kharizmisg @ Dec 27 2016, 10:03 PM)
sama like my story lah ... this part **I went to her house just now and my girlfriend told me her parents are saying why does it seem like he isn't planning for the future?**
QUOTE(yongchin89 @ Dec 27 2016, 10:04 PM)
bro, you have to think on her side, a 31 yrs old girl parent normally will rush? no?
at the expense of us rushing to a marriage that none of us are ready? what we gonna feed the guest? sand?

I do not expect my parents to fork out money for my wedding and I see my peers going drinking every day and changing girlfriends like changing baju.

gila. nak cucu? sorry la Wei. having kids now so expensive for Chinese families and I seen the shit that happens to kids esp with birth defects. not going to be the factor in over population
TSAvangelice
post Dec 27 2016, 10:09 PM

5,272 posts

QUOTE(MakNok @ Dec 27 2016, 10:06 PM)
You doctor man.. Some more own a clinic... Sure lots of money..
If you say no good business... Then tutup clinic lo.
I am sure you can afford to get marry.
not about the money. it's about the personality. we just got to know each other (two years ain't enough bro) and you want me to jump straight into a marriage? habis when I want to expand cannot because I'm tied down.
SUSSaladz
post Dec 27 2016, 10:25 PM

178 posts

women or rather, girls, are insecure by nature.

they do not know that we men have our own planning ahead nor will they try to see what their men are trying to do for their future.

to them, if you don't do what they want now, it means you have no planning.

well to be fair to her, her biological clock is already ticking hard so it is no wonder that she's insecure.

but marriage shouldn't be rushed.

i am not sure why women think of marriage as a safe haven for them because divorce can always happen.

she should put some faith in you. sadly, she doesn't and that goes to show you guys are not prepared for marriage yet

This post has been edited by Saladz: Dec 27 2016, 10:27 PM
TSAvangelice
post Dec 27 2016, 10:29 PM

5,272 posts

QUOTE(Saladz @ Dec 27 2016, 10:25 PM)
women or rather, girls, are insecure by nature.

they do not know that we men have our own planning ahead nor will they try to see what their men are trying to do for their future.

to them, if you don't do what they want now, it means you have no planning.

well to be fair to her, her biological clock is already ticking hard so it is no wonder that she's insecure.

but marriage shouldn't be rushed.

i am not sure why women think of marriages as a safe haven for them because divorces can always happen.

she should put some faith in you. sadly, she doesn't and that goes to show you guys are not prepared for marriage yet
and moreover i just found out throughout her ten years after coming out from high school she has ZERO savings and one of those I wanna work so I can travel type of girls. I had to chip in money to deal with her repair work and save her ass countless of times for not saving and spending every month.

pot calling kettle black kah. you expect me to buckle up when your finances are shit poor. sorry not looking for a broke ass wife as a liability until she fixes her shit.

MakNok
post Dec 27 2016, 10:44 PM

5,713 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Dec 27 2016, 10:29 PM)
and moreover i just found out throughout her ten years after coming out from high school she has ZERO savings and one of those I wanna work so I can travel type of girls. I had to chip in money to deal with her repair work and save her ass countless of times for not saving and spending every month.

pot calling kettle black kah. you expect me to buckle up when your finances are shit poor. sorry not looking for a broke ass wife as a liability until she fixes her shit.
then dump her.
End of story.
If you want to help... Help willingly and not complaining.
Don't tell me it take 2 years to realise when she push you for marriage.

TSAvangelice
post Dec 27 2016, 10:47 PM

5,272 posts

QUOTE(MakNok @ Dec 27 2016, 10:44 PM)
then dump her.
End of story.
why is everyone so adamant about marriage these days when we can't even afford to care for ourselves? what more to say a kid.
MakNok
post Dec 27 2016, 10:54 PM

5,713 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Dec 27 2016, 10:47 PM)
why is everyone so adamant about marriage these days when we can't even afford to care for ourselves? what more to say a kid.
To her.. You a doctor and waterfish who can help her when she in need. I am sure she pay her dues to you in her own way.

If you still insist on keeping your house in order... Then don't get girlfriend lo..
Remember she is 31....and not young anymore. As she approach 40....it will be hard for biological clock.

You a doctor and I am sure you understand women.. Right??? No??
kiddokitt
post Dec 27 2016, 10:54 PM

604 posts

It seems like you have all the answers to your own question. You are still angry thus it's clear you aren't accepting any criticisms when your mind is clouded. You are not ready for marriage and also condemn her for not saving money. Critical of the costs of raising kids and maintaining a family, so much so you cry it's going to hold you back from expanding your clinic business. Complain 2 years is still not enough to get to know her better. Will 5 years be long enough for a doctor you? That means you keep her waiting till she's 36 to get married and have babies two years later at 38.

See the problem here? It's YOU. Not her, and certainly not her parents for doubting your preparedness. You are just a self-centered doctor who is in this relationship for yourself. Everything has to revolve around you.
TSAvangelice
post Dec 27 2016, 10:56 PM

5,272 posts

QUOTE(MakNok @ Dec 27 2016, 10:54 PM)
To her.. You a doctor and waterfish who can help her when she in need. I am sure she pay her dues to you in her own way.

If you still insist on keeping your house in order... Then don't get girlfriend lo..
Remember she is 31....and not young anymore. As she approach  40....it will be hard for biological clock.

You a doctor and I am sure you understand women.. Right???  No??
we aren't intending to have kids. I seen all the special needs children to know how awful a child with special abilities can be to a marriage. she agrees with me since she doesn't have the patience to have kids too.
TSAvangelice
post Dec 27 2016, 10:58 PM

5,272 posts

QUOTE(kiddokitt @ Dec 27 2016, 10:54 PM)
It seems like you have all the answers to your own question. You are still angry thus it's clear you aren't accepting any criticisms when your mind is clouded. You are not ready for marriage and also condemn her for not saving money. Critical of the costs of raising kids and maintaining a family, so much so you cry it's going to hold you back from expanding your clinic business. Complain 2 years is still not enough to get to know her better. Will 5 years be long enough for a doctor you? That means you keep her waiting till she's 36 to get married and have babies two years later at 38.

See the problem here? It's YOU. Not her, and certainly not her parents for doubting your preparedness. You are just a self-centered doctor who is in this relationship for yourself. Everything has to revolve around you.
oh really?

so this ring I am custom making is a sign I'm self centered aye? pfft . that's an aquamarine that she always wanted for her engagement ring. had to get my own jeweler to head to Singapore and Thailand to source for it. tell me to my face one more time I'm being self centered

This post has been edited by Avangelice: Dec 27 2016, 10:59 PM
kiddokitt
post Dec 27 2016, 11:01 PM

604 posts

Oh, so showing off your fingers absolve you off everything that you have just brought up? And automatically it's back to her and her parents' fault?

Is this a game to you? If you love her, then stop talking bullshit here and man up.
TSAvangelice
post Dec 27 2016, 11:02 PM

5,272 posts

QUOTE(kiddokitt @ Dec 27 2016, 11:01 PM)
Oh, so showing off your fingers absolve you off everything that you have just brought up? And automatically it's back to her and her parents' fault?

Is this a game to you? If you love her, then stop talking bullshit here and man up.
not my fingers asshole. my jeweler's hands. that's hers.
howszat
post Dec 27 2016, 11:04 PM

2,932 posts

"Clinic"?

Her parents obviously don't think that much of your "clinic".
TSAvangelice
post Dec 27 2016, 11:04 PM

5,272 posts

QUOTE(Awakensoul @ Dec 27 2016, 11:00 PM)
Dude u're in ur 2x while she's in her 3x. Her parents got every rights to get worried. If u can't afford her, let her go. She probably can find a richer man. People always say females in 3x are at their downturn years. U dragging her like this is unfair. Break up if u can't afford it. Don't act all macho just because u have a house. U're not guaranteeing her future. Remember, until u both gets married; ur hse is ur hse.
so what you are saying here is I should be pressured to get married not because I need to but not the question if we should get married. two years is still relatively a short relationship. didn't know cupid has turned into a cesspool of ktards looking for an argument rather than talking a brother into doing what's right.
kiddokitt
post Dec 27 2016, 11:05 PM

604 posts

You should now realise nobody's replying in support of your puerile and amateurish rant about love while coyly showing off your doctor qualifications and richness. In the end, we can see through your bull and you're just an immature young man.
TSAvangelice

5,272 posts

QUOTE(howszat @ Dec 27 2016, 11:04 PM)
"Clinic"?

Her parents obviously don't think that much of your "clinic".
opps I remembered why I placed you into my ignored list already. in you go. back into the ignored list little two inch troll.
MakNok

5,713 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Dec 27 2016, 10:56 PM)
we aren't intending to have kids. I seen all the special needs children to know how awful a child with special abilities can be to a marriage. she agrees with me since she doesn't have the patience to have kids too.
Since both of you agreed on kids subject.
Then get marry lo.
Why wait...
You also prepare the diamond customize ring already.
Just do it...
TSAvangelice
post Dec 27 2016, 11:07 PM

5,272 posts

QUOTE(MakNok @ Dec 27 2016, 11:05 PM)
Since both of you agreed on kids subject.
Then get marry lo.
Why wait...
You also prepare the diamond customize ring already.
Just do it...
that's the plan. one more year of savings to get married it's the point that they see I'm not doing anything for my future that hurts.
kiddokitt
post Dec 27 2016, 11:09 PM

604 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Dec 27 2016, 11:02 PM)
not my fingers asshole. my jeweler's hands. that's hers.
Like I said, just an immature mommy's boy indulging in pettiness.

Get lost from this man's world. Obviously from the way you treat women, you don't deserve to be called a man.
TSAvangelice
post Dec 27 2016, 11:12 PM

5,272 posts

QUOTE(kiddokitt @ Dec 27 2016, 11:09 PM)

Get lost from this man's world. Obviously from the way you treat women, you don't deserve to be called a man.
and its off to ignored list for you kiddo. if you got no input for the conversation just stfu and go back to kopitiam. they need more sad freaks like you there.

ciao mostro
fireballs
post Dec 27 2016, 11:16 PM

5,650 posts

dont do wedding ceremony. dont ever borrow money to punch face as if fat.

just go straight to honeymoon in langkawi
SUSsokiahlee
post Dec 27 2016, 11:16 PM

48 posts

Why don't u choose a 18yo girlfriend instead of a 31yo girlfriend? When you are in long term relationship, I expect this kind of shit happens. Don't worry, there re more shits waiting for u.
TSAvangelice
post Dec 27 2016, 11:19 PM

5,272 posts

QUOTE(fireballs @ Dec 27 2016, 11:16 PM)
dont do wedding ceremony. dont ever borrow money to punch face as if fat.

just go straight to honeymoon in langkawi
that's our plan but not in langkawi. that's for sure. it's just that I don't want to marry at this age

QUOTE(sokiahlee @ Dec 27 2016, 11:16 PM)
Why don't u choose a 18yo girlfriend instead of a 31yo girlfriend? When you are in long term relationship, I expect this kind of shit happens. Don't worry, there re more shits waiting for u.
can't choose love when Aphrodite decides to work her magic. not gonna hurt someone just because I am not able to stand the heat. just upset that they decided to say that when I'm already saving every penny for the future.
howszat
post Dec 27 2016, 11:20 PM

2,932 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Dec 27 2016, 11:05 PM)
opps I remembered why I placed you into my ignored list already. in you go.  back into the ignored list little two inch troll.

Not a troll, but calling you a fraud, because that's what you are.

t3nchi
post Dec 27 2016, 11:26 PM

Don't get married if you're not mentally and emotionally ready. Don't do it "for her". You're going to resent her and her family if that is your motivation.

If you have to break up and let her find someone who is ready, sit down and explain the situation to her. It's going to hurt both ppl but better than being given ultimatums and forced into a more permanent life situation you don't want to be in.

Also, is there a need to be rude? I'm talking to everyone posting in this thread.
garenmusta
post Dec 27 2016, 11:36 PM

243 posts

Hey brother, her parents is just worried because of their daughter's age. Thats all.

Good that you are doing preparation, regardless, if she understands your plan, thats all that matters. You can talk your plan with her plans to keep everyone on the same page. If you need one more year of time, just let them know.

1 year after all isn't that long anyways. Cheerios.
loui
post Dec 27 2016, 11:37 PM

795 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Dec 27 2016, 11:07 PM)
that's the plan. one more year of savings to get married it's the point that they see I'm not doing anything for my future that hurts.
that's the plan

why not just communicate to her and the parents

man and woman doesn't think alike

they need assurance, we are more pragmatic

show them your plan

even if you want to come up with a surprise, still, tell her your plan vaguely

let her know both of you are not heading to no where

don't expect people to know you have a plan when you aren't showing any sign of it

anyway, good luck bro
n8210
post Dec 27 2016, 11:41 PM

2,678 posts

whatever it is, all your reasons, etc... just talk and discuss with her. The frustration comes from not having the proper conversation, I believe. And talking ain't easy. But I guess you already know. But you have to face it. Talk, talk and talk... you're all grown up now. Fighting is like for kids. Set your mind up to it, discuss sincerely from the heart and therefore nobody needs to guess what's the other person is thinking about.
HJ_Ishimori
post Dec 27 2016, 11:47 PM

59 posts

31 years punya galfren..dia memang patut sudah kawen..kalo 21 years old lain cerita laa..
ahpek890
post Dec 28 2016, 12:16 AM

32 posts

IF BOTH of you do NOT intend to have kids, WHY need to marry? THINK about it.

NO good reason(s) right?

IF you get married and should you divorce she gets HALF of your assets that you own during the marriage! NOT to mention keeping that custom-made blue diamond ring.

(THIS IS CRUEL BUT...) IF not married, you can just go get a newer 21-year-old model 2-3 years down the road – clean and easy.

shakehead.gif
kiddokitt
post Dec 28 2016, 12:43 AM

604 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Dec 27 2016, 11:12 PM)
and its off to ignored list for you kiddo. if you got no input for the conversation just stfu and go back to kopitiam. they need more sad freaks like you there.

ciao mostro
Oooohhh.....the self-centered doctor dispensing advice for free with no takers....grow up first before you come back to LYN to discuss your butthurt feelings should your girlfriend's parents ever scold you again.

Afterall, young arrogant ones need to be put in their place every now and again.
beglnner88
post Dec 28 2016, 12:49 AM

26 posts

Bro,

I understand your pain, my 2 points.

1. Plan your on your own way, if your gf cannot wait then sayonara bcos you both are not aiming to get a child so as long you already decided to be with her then her bio clock is not an issue d. Marriage is just a legal term.

2. If i were in your shoes, i would seriously consider whether want to continue with the marriage with your gf since she do not support or understand you. From your story, she needs you more than you need her so she should be more understanding and support in her own way like telling her parents that you have everything plan so chill and not telling ' Hey, my parents say this d, how ? Sometimes, the girl's parents is pressure by their relatives and frens therefore stating the those to manipulate you into marriage. Must see everything overall.

Furthermore, is your gf only child ? got other siblings ? all this must be taken to account. If your gf does not understand the current market situation and reckon you need to do fancy wedding and pay for everything then sooner or later GG.

I have a fren paid 35k wedding dowry and that is excluded from the wedding expenses which he need to fork out. Ok, he is well to do, earning good money so no problem. Married for 2 years, family problems comes. Siblings problems, family dinners, events whereby they all looking at my fren to foot the bill, why ? bcos he is able and already family. Tell the wife and the wife turn on him saying you don't love me anymore, small money wanna kira and all that crap. At the end divorce and have bitter battle for the kids.
beglnner88
post Dec 28 2016, 12:54 AM

26 posts

QUOTE(kiddokitt @ Dec 27 2016, 11:09 PM)

Seriously ? thats your feedback. The way you say shows you are the one immature. I feel you not yet ( Akil Baligh )
AMenzZ
post Dec 28 2016, 02:23 AM

Master
306 posts

QUOTE(loui @ Dec 27 2016, 11:37 PM)
that's the plan

why not just communicate to her and the parents

man and woman doesn't think alike

they need assurance, we are more pragmatic

show them your plan

even if you want to come up with a surprise, still, tell her your plan vaguely

let her know both of you are not heading to no where

don't expect people to know you have a plan when you aren't showing any sign of it

anyway, good luck bro
Agreed with above suggestion..

If you are ready to spend half a century++ with your gf, then she is the one..

Im not sure your gf is a big spender or earning less than enough or trying to afford luxury with limited resources, ZERO saving is something serious..

Nowadays, quite a number of ppl will ROM first then in coming 1-3years then only they have their wedding ceremony. Some just have a simple wedding ceremony and straight go to wedding vacation, skipping all the yam sing or boring session.

Some newly weds even say, just choose the inexpensive bridal photoshoot package coz the albums will just end up in the wardrobe or store room for most of the time..

It is your call !

Call ur gf n her parent up, discuss it with them, let them know ur plan. Unless you have gave up on her and her family..

R she the one for you?
Chaud
post Dec 28 2016, 04:27 AM

1,119 posts

i think better you dump her coz you cannot afford.

people already in their 30s. you know la for female the older they get the lesser value they are. don't waste ppl time. and also dont date girls who are older than you if you cannot afford
youngblood29us
post Dec 28 2016, 08:17 AM

565 posts

You are so full of negativity.. Whats ur clinic? Make sure i don't visit..
You dont even know whats in future but already talking abt special child.. Do you know many im their 40s have healthy kids?
You are confused.. You first imply that $$ is a problem, then change tune saying $$ is not a problem but marriage..then blaming your gf and so on..
labamba
post Dec 28 2016, 08:17 AM

146 posts

Food for thought.. Money and sex are among the top reasons for divorce.

Suggest u have a heart to heart talk on life goals before tying the knot.
Pete the great
post Dec 28 2016, 08:43 AM

519 posts

QUOTE(Chaud @ Dec 28 2016, 04:27 AM)
i think better you dump her coz you cannot afford.

people already in their 30s. you know la for female the older they get the lesser value they are. don't waste ppl time. and also dont date girls who are older than you if you cannot afford
+1

Ts shld not waste her time if ts dun want to marry her.

Ts has to be reasonable...ts want to wait until 32 yo to marry her? By then she is 35 yo...wat guarantee she has to stay loyal to ts? I know a guy whose gf stayed with him until she 36yo then he dumped her for younger girl. All ger heart ache to stay loyal for nothing.
TSAvangelice
post Dec 28 2016, 08:45 AM

5,272 posts

QUOTE(Pete the great @ Dec 28 2016, 08:43 AM)
+1

Ts shld not waste her time if ts dun want to marry her.

Ts has to be reasonable...ts want to wait until 32 yo to marry her? By then she is 35 yo...wat guarantee she has to stay loyal to ts?  I know a guy whose gf stayed with him until she 36yo then he dumped her for younger girl. All ger heart ache to stay loyal for nothing.
Good morning. I do want to marry her but if you read my post right it's the act of saying I'm not doing anything to plan for the future when I'm already doing all the things I can to make it happen that is the crux of the problem.

Pete the great
post Dec 28 2016, 08:48 AM

519 posts

QUOTE(beglnner88 @ Dec 28 2016, 12:49 AM)
Bro,

I understand your pain, my 2 points.

1. Plan your on your own way, if your gf cannot wait then sayonara bcos you both are not aiming to get a child so as long you already decided to be with her then her bio clock is not an issue d. Marriage is just a legal term.

2. If i were in your shoes, i would seriously consider whether want to continue with the marriage with your gf since she do not support or understand you. From your story, she needs you more than you need her so she should be more understanding and support in her own way like telling her parents that you have everything plan so chill and not telling ' Hey, my parents say this d, how ? Sometimes, the girl's parents is pressure by their relatives and frens therefore stating the those to manipulate you into marriage. Must see everything overall.

Furthermore, is your gf only child ? got other siblings ? all this must be taken to account. If your gf does not understand the current market situation and reckon you need to do fancy wedding and pay for everything then sooner or later GG.

I have a fren paid 35k wedding dowry and that is excluded from the wedding expenses which he need to fork out. Ok, he is well to do, earning good money so no problem. Married for 2 years, family problems comes. Siblings problems, family dinners, events whereby they all looking at my fren to foot the bill, why ? bcos he is able and already family. Tell the wife and the wife turn on him saying you don't love me anymore, small money wanna kira and all that crap. At the end divorce and have bitter battle for the kids.
Fren all marriages hv risk lah. All marriages hv arguments and obstacles. No such thing as blissful marriages.

If ts want perfect one he be single for life. Does not exist.

Ultimately ts must build thresholds and find out if this rship is worthwhile. All marriages hv risk of divorce.

Pete the great
post Dec 28 2016, 08:52 AM

519 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Dec 28 2016, 08:45 AM)
Good morning. I do want to marry her but if you read my post right it's the act of saying I'm not doing anything to plan for the future when I'm already doing all the things I can to make it happen that is the crux of the problem.
Morning.

Woman like that one..they like to yack and complain. Understand that u r busy n may not hv time to tend to everything. Thats why u nd to hv that talk with her in the car...lay out to her all ur plans. If she dun agree then debate it off. If she quiet u also say out ur plans.

Its frustrating..i know but thats life.
tbsalan
post Dec 28 2016, 08:54 AM

185 posts

you better leave her alone...you own a house does not mean you plan a future for a family life..you buy a house seriously just for your future..some couple marry even without owning a house mean they no plan for future?...
off_shore
post Dec 28 2016, 08:56 AM

841 posts

From all your replies, I can only see you're angry and hurt cuz your ego has been challenged "for not planning".

Communication is the key for every successful relationship. If you're already planning then why not discuss with her to see if she agrees to wait another year? By then she'd be 32 already... u must know the agreement for not having kids are only a decision between you two and maybe her parents have no idea about this thus they are pushing you guys into marriage thinking about fertility rate. In this part you have to understand her, she is being sandwiched between her parents and you .... as her man though ur frustrated being viewed as not capable or not serious, you have to put it aside and concentrate on how to reach an agreement..... don't harp on problems but find a solution...
TSAvangelice
post Dec 28 2016, 08:57 AM

5,272 posts

QUOTE(tbsalan @ Dec 28 2016, 08:54 AM)
you better leave her alone...you own a house does not mean you plan a future for a family life..you buy a house seriously just for your future..some couple marry even without owning a house mean they no plan for future?...
I don't want to make my own family cram themselves to live with her in laws. it makes for a disastrous concoction when arguments arises.

Anyways guys i value your thoughts and thank you for your time. looks like I need to have another conversation with her again regarding this. seriously this is like the third conversation we had and no idea why they wanna rush. what am I gonna feed my guest? sand?
TSAvangelice
post Dec 28 2016, 08:59 AM

5,272 posts

QUOTE(off_shore @ Dec 28 2016, 08:56 AM)
From all your replies, I can only see you're angry and hurt cuz your ego has been challenged "for not planning".

Communication is the key for every successful relationship. If you're already planning then why not discuss with her to see if she agrees to wait another year? By then she'd be 32 already... u must know the agreement for not having kids are only a decision between you two and maybe her parents have no idea about this thus they are pushing you guys into marriage thinking about fertility rate. In this part you have to understand her, she is being sandwiched between her parents and you .... as her man though ur frustrated being viewed as not capable or not serious, you have to put it aside and concentrate on how to reach an agreement..... don't harp on problems but find a solution...
thank you for the enlightenment. I have cooled of somewhat and am thinking more logically this morning. it's unfortunate that some factions decided to be hostile oh well. thank you again
ragu91
post Dec 28 2016, 09:03 AM

336 posts

Sit down and explain to them/her. Should be OK. Importantly, explain to her.

But I am completely baffled that she has 0 saving and being 31 years old.
Pete the great
post Dec 28 2016, 09:06 AM

519 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Dec 28 2016, 08:57 AM)
I don't want to make my own family cram themselves to live with her in laws. it makes for a disastrous concoction when arguments arises.

Anyways guys i value your thoughts and thank you for your time. looks like I need to have another conversation with her again regarding this. seriously this is like the third conversation we had and no idea why they wanna rush. what am I gonna feed my guest? sand?
Why hvg kids is so bad meh?

if u cant afford at least 1 kid lah.

Our cainis population dying of extinction level.

Well respek ur opinion...but do consider hvg kids...when u grow old n look back u may want one.

Its not impossible to raise kid at smaller income..i saw some families work as clerk n taxi driver can hv 3 or 4 kids.
lingleeyen
post Dec 28 2016, 09:09 AM

1,376 posts

Don't rush into marriage. Enough said. Plan for the future. One with with her, one without her. Find a middle point just in case she leaves.
Pete the great
post Dec 28 2016, 09:35 AM

519 posts

QUOTE(lingleeyen @ Dec 28 2016, 09:09 AM)
Don't rush into marriage. Enough said. Plan for the future. One with with her, one without her. Find a middle point just in case she leaves.
Every marriage is a risk. No such thing as perfect one.
timetokill
post Dec 28 2016, 09:36 AM

71 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Dec 28 2016, 08:57 AM)

You still have no idea why they wanna rush? I thought it is pretty clear to most ppl that it is because she has crossed the 30s mark. You just need to explain to her and assure her that you intend to marry her and give her a timeline. Is she aware of this?
Another word of advice, avoid talking about how much you have sacrificed for the relationship. It won't get you anywhere. She won't like it, you won't like it. Do it willingly for the both of you. If she has a problem with saving, tell her about it. But just don't bring up what you have done and what she has not done. I believe you know this too, just lost it when you were angry.
mhisyam6
post Dec 28 2016, 09:40 AM

444 posts

what the fuck? with this shit economy its been years since I took a long vacation to go for travel from my clinic, I hardly go out these days and everything I can save I try to save. sometimes I need to think twice buying pizza for myself as I need to save up for my future.  i have a fucking house ready and yet to them it seems like I am not seriously growing up.

ask her to save money too. see how much she can save for your future.

btw, how much you have save now?
muffycmf
post Dec 28 2016, 09:42 AM

72 posts

i think because of your gal age older than u. The reason why i said so, if u 33 she already 36 getting much older and sour face and who knows future coming if u dump her. She was like Holy Shit 36 how to get another guy
TSAvangelice
post Dec 28 2016, 09:45 AM

5,272 posts

QUOTE(mhisyam6 @ Dec 28 2016, 09:40 AM)
ask her to save money too. see how much she can save for your future.

btw, how much you have save now?
Total savings is near 60k since I started four years ago. all of that now is in my unit trust portfolio.

would you suggest using your life savings to spend on a wedding? I don't want to burden my divorced parents esp my dad.
timetokill
post Dec 28 2016, 10:06 AM

71 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Dec 28 2016, 09:45 AM)
Total savings is near 60k since I started four years ago. all of that now is in my unit trust portfolio.

would you suggest  using  your life savings to spend on a wedding? I don't want to burden my divorced parents esp my dad.
No need to spend so much on a wedding. Spend within your means. If she is a keeper, she will understand. You will get some back from angpow money anyway.

IMO, wedding is a show made for other people. I would rather spend it on ourselves (honeymoon, house, kids, etc.).
mhisyam6
post Dec 28 2016, 10:20 AM

444 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Dec 28 2016, 09:45 AM)

would you suggest  using  your life savings to spend on a wedding? I don't want to burden my divorced parents esp my dad.
great saving though, no need to spend all and follow your parent or her parent lust for the wedding ceremony. keep it as simple as you can.

from the saving that you have now, there's no problem for you to get marry right now at this moment.

but now you have to fix your relationship again with her and her family first and discuss your own plan.

p/s: i know it's really hard to organize cheap wedding ceremony and hard to shut people's mouth said that you poor coz organized small ceremony.
lingleeyen
post Dec 28 2016, 10:24 AM

1,376 posts

QUOTE(Pete the great @ Dec 28 2016, 09:35 AM)
Every marriage is a risk. No such thing as perfect one.
Nothing is risk free. All you can do is to reduce the risk. If you know you are going into an expensive shit hole, don't go in if you have doubt.

If things look nice and OK, go in with caution.
charleyz
post Dec 28 2016, 10:26 AM

87 posts

People talk all the time, the important thing is your GF must stand with YOU. Else, move on. When you marry, two become one. So its important your future wife and yourself must think as one, that's how a marriage/relationship works, if she gets influence by simple comments made by her family, then she is not into you...vice versa.....

All the best man in making the right move.
siles1991
post Dec 28 2016, 11:30 AM

I love tubes so should you!
1,861 posts

Let me just say this, have you thought from your gf and her parents perspective? Why are they asking for a marriage? Have you tried to understand their intentions before blowing up?

Other people's parents? Even my own parents complain eh boy why you got no plan for the future? But I do just like you, just that I don't openly tell them. Humans are prone to laying judgement based on what they see, have you brought her parents to go see the house you bought? Do they know the existence of your plans? Manatau they think you're just like their daughter nvr save. Remember seeing is believing. Aunties and uncles will be aunties and uncle, it's the way they were brought up, our generation would be much better parents, that is if we don't shove ipads and tech down our kids throats.

Put aside your ego for a bit and try to understand where they are coming from. Yeah they are wrong for jumping the gun, but all humans do it and we have something called patience and tolerance to use. We can be the better person. If you have any doubts about your relationship get it sorted ASAP.

This post has been edited by siles1991: Dec 28 2016, 11:32 AM
Smackers
post Dec 28 2016, 11:37 AM

657 posts

Marriage is something to be decided by both you and your gf. Don't bend to social pressures and parent's pressures.
Ignore whoever criticize you and keep walking. All the best.
GengarPokemon
post Dec 28 2016, 12:33 PM

34 posts

That's why I don't bother sharing my love life haha.

Don't need the drama bud
bcth928
post Dec 28 2016, 12:37 PM

45 posts

ZERO savings!!!
chip in money to deal with her repair work and save her ass countless of times for not saving and spending every month!!!
for a girl who aged 31, is danger for u..honestly

plan is not just think and execute by u only but need u and ur gfren to do it together.
if ur gfren is no willing to think a plan with u but just relay on u, forget it..
u can get a better one..

This post has been edited by bcth928: Dec 28 2016, 12:38 PM
Freedom15
post Dec 28 2016, 02:08 PM

171 posts

So u are gonna dish out all the wedding expenditure urself?
TSAvangelice
post Dec 28 2016, 02:08 PM

5,272 posts

QUOTE(Freedom15 @ Dec 28 2016, 02:08 PM)
So u are gonna dish out all the wedding expenditure urself?
looks like it since I don't have any help from any quarters.
one punch man
post Dec 28 2016, 02:18 PM

234 posts

i hate this kinds of girls, they expect the male going to foot everything,
they have zero yet they want the most lavish, grandish, once in lifetime wedding.

i can see it from at my office, my cousins even my wife friends. all spending like no tomorrow, fb full of travelling photo.

well, this is where man needed, to control their spending and make saving
Freedom15
post Dec 28 2016, 02:53 PM

171 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Dec 28 2016, 02:08 PM)
If you really do plan to get married in the coming year, I would suggest u and ur gf to save some money starting now...
Communicate with her and manage the expectation...
I doubt with 60k +- 10k will able to have any sort of lavish wedding...
It really boils down to how much you guys communicate over it and manage each other's expectations...

This post has been edited by Freedom15: Dec 28 2016, 02:55 PM
ymc2303
post Dec 28 2016, 04:13 PM

592 posts

during your relationship with her, had you told her what's your plan like with her in future? buy house, car, have kids bla bla bla..
its ok not to get marry if you think you are not ready..
but to wait economy to better, means no need get married? unless you have a bigger paycheck..
previously i have this issue. sort it out with my mum, gf and her parents. now when ready only commit.
uk15029
post Dec 28 2016, 04:14 PM

1,031 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Dec 27 2016, 11:09 PM)
not about the money. it's about the personality. we just got to know each other (two years ain't enough bro)  and you want me to jump straight into a marriage? habis when I want to expand cannot because I'm tied down.
2 years ain't enough??
How long do you need? 4 years? 5 years?

kiddokitt
post Dec 28 2016, 04:45 PM

604 posts

QUOTE(beglnner88 @ Dec 28 2016, 12:54 AM)
Seriously ? thats your feedback. The way you say shows you are the one immature. I feel you not yet ( Akil Baligh )
What do you want then? Start a fight here with me just to prove your little brother got hair? If you got nothing to add, sod off!

kiddokitt
post Dec 28 2016, 04:50 PM

604 posts

QUOTE(youngblood29us @ Dec 28 2016, 08:17 AM)
You are so full of negativity.. Whats ur clinic? Make sure i don't visit..
You dont even know whats in future but already talking abt special child.. Do you know many im their 40s have healthy kids?
You are confused.. You first imply that $$ is a problem, then change tune saying $$ is not a problem but marriage..then blaming your gf and so on..
Exactly my point yesterday when I hentam him for his self-centeredness and arrogant attitude. Everything has to revolve around him. Perhaps he was indeed bitter and angry yesterday lending to his clouded mind and insensitive statements about the girl and her parents. Coming into LYN here to find soul mates who can validate his feelings, but instead of finding comfort, the real men here showed him what it is to be a man.

Well, that's the world for us.
lawrencesha
post Dec 28 2016, 04:55 PM

882 posts

Marriage is not to be rushed. Period.

Need to be ready for marriage? Yes. Financially? Yes. Moreover, need to be mature (not old).

TS - your posts indicated that you are used to make decisions by yourself, for everyone else. That is ego. Not maturity. A relationship is always 2-way. Have you discussed this with your gf? Note - I said "discuss". Not dictate.

Just my 2 cents.
soulhunter87
post Dec 28 2016, 05:01 PM

455 posts

seem like u already made up your mind. just leave her
3nf0rc3r
post Dec 28 2016, 05:02 PM

209 posts

The family wants your 50% quickly.
Becareful. Don't "accident".
Bellelicious
post Dec 28 2016, 07:56 PM

17 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Dec 27 2016, 10:09 PM)
not about the money. it's about the personality. we just got to know each other (two years ain't enough bro)  and you want me to jump straight into a marriage? habis when I want to expand cannot because I'm tied down.
After reading your replies, cool2.gif

This post has been edited by Bellelicious: Dec 28 2016, 08:23 PM
labamba
post Dec 28 2016, 11:15 PM

146 posts

Marriage is also about the union of two families.. not only about you and gf.
Having the support of your in laws is always a positive.

As others have mentioned, try putting yourself in your gf's parents mind. It is natural for them to be concerned for their child's future well-being.

Communication is key.

Also i would advise you to consider carefully the habits and character of your future spouse. Is it in line with what you can accept for the rest of your life?
Don't go into a marriage expecting a partner will change for the better. If it does then thats a pleasant bonus.

One cannot change anothers character and behavior. That person must want to change it themselves.. then only will that change happen.
Pete the great
post Dec 29 2016, 08:20 AM

519 posts

QUOTE(lingleeyen @ Dec 28 2016, 10:24 AM)
Nothing is risk free. All you can do is to reduce the risk. If you know you are going into an expensive shit hole, don't go in if you have doubt.

If things look nice and OK, go in with caution.
All marriages r expensive shithole. Its up to ts on how he able to handle his gf and negotiations.

As i said ts situation has big advantages because gf is asking for marriage so he got high bargain power to decide how to lower and share cost.
Pete the great
post Dec 29 2016, 08:23 AM

519 posts

QUOTE(subzero7 @ Dec 28 2016, 09:47 AM)
Because of this attitude and mentality, you are contributing to banggala and indons replacing Chinese as no 2 population in Malaysia. A doctor should reproduce 3 more neurosurger as his heir. Why waste your good gene???

No wonder your GF parents is angry, you are wasting their daughter good ovum by delaying !
Sometimes i dun understand why rich chinese say oh i got 20k a month only allow me to hv one child...then those below 20k say oh i too poor to hv a child dun want to bring new child to suffer in this world.

My melei neighbor after married kapow..got 3 kids sommore his salary only 5k.

Sometime cainis just making more trouble for themself.
Cainis go buy grocery one time 500..melei go one time spend 250. We gotta look at sacrificing luxury items. If melei can do it why cainis cannot spend less?

This post has been edited by Pete the great: Dec 29 2016, 08:25 AM
Pete the great
post Dec 29 2016, 08:29 AM

519 posts

Hello? Get her parents to help..

U already got upper advantage. Ask her parents nicely to lower dowry....ask them u only want 10 table dinner in ah kau restaurant...if they want more table they gotta help u. Explain to them ur parents not rich being divorce.

She is asking for marriage not u.
SUSAznRicy
post Dec 29 2016, 07:22 PM

59 posts

Every woman secretly longing for kids, even if she said it oppositely, just to satisfy your expectation. Law of the nature.

Parents will wish for grandkids.

SGSuser
post Dec 30 2016, 01:54 AM

In your way
2,449 posts

go for spm graduate girls bro
ZZR-Pilot
post Jan 3 2017, 10:05 AM

1,057 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Dec 27 2016, 11:00 PM)

Eh you're a doctor who owns a clinic, summore say you pokai meh?

There's the problem right there.

The girl's side is anxious to close the deal on a doctor lor. As far as the rest of us regular people are concerned, there's a lot riding on that prestigious title... you need to understand that. That's why they're eagerly asking, "So faster la, tell us what's next?"

You're right in refusing to be railroaded into a marriage by a family so eager to have a doctor among them. On the other hand, you shouldn't be offended. Explain to them lor why you're comfortable with just bonking their daughter without commitments.
ZZR-Pilot
post Jan 3 2017, 10:10 AM

1,057 posts

If she's hard up for marriage and you're not up for it, then don't waste her time.

Leave her. Find someone else to bonk, shouldn't be hard for a doctor.

This post has been edited by ZZR-Pilot: Jan 3 2017, 10:13 AM
mIssfROGY
post Jan 3 2017, 10:26 AM

2,155 posts

save yourself the trouble and dont get married to her. Doesnt sounds like a love affair here...more like a baddeal. Money is impt to you, but marriage is impt for her. For all you know not too far in the future u guys are just going to breakup for the same reasons..
Yes...i do agree with you the girl shouldnt push you...if u are already in agreement of not having kids, I dont see why marriage is so impt after all....really like seriously all these marketing gimmick of 'marriage'....
say_xtr
post Jan 3 2017, 10:33 AM

204 posts

Malas nak bace all replies, so ape kesudahan sini bro?

Just some say... Jalan ke neraka penuh keindahan... jalan ke syurga penuh seksaan, think about it.

momijigari
post Jan 4 2017, 10:35 AM

189 posts

Hello, I have read your post on proposal in Japan.
From what you have posted, it seems like you and your gf have mismatched expectation? This is only my observation.

For a girl, marrying at 31 years old is not young? Biological clock is ticking away.
If you think you're ready to marry her why would you still be asking whether marrying young is good or not? And you're only 28 years old and dated for 2 years only?

kiwijuice
post Jan 5 2017, 04:32 PM

65 posts

- difference in spending behavior could be a good thing. Balanced after getting married.
- i have quite a number of friend getting married last year without wedding dinner, photo session, or just commit to some of them. Marriage can be very costly, it can also be the opposite
- 2 years is more than sufficient to know each other, and to know if can live together in the future
pml_318
post Jan 5 2017, 04:51 PM

231 posts

Seems like there's no love in this relationship
Nothing's wrong being logical and looking forward for a good wife
Move on to look for your perfect companion laugh.gif
RUI
post Jan 5 2017, 09:49 PM

722 posts

Actually, getting married is cheap.
The glamour is expensive. Here's your answer.

Uncle! I got good financial planning. I'm saving 100k from glamour and invest it at a portfolio that does 6-9% return, your grandchildren get good education. So, if uncle feels glamour is worth paying for, I have no objection. Sorry la uncle, I prioritize your grandchild more.

SUSdangerminimouse
post Feb 1 2017, 09:39 PM

95 posts

So Avengelice bought house for marriage now, don't want to marry.

How leh?

Why you not reveal here how your discussion with your gf went?

Maybe we can give you some pointers?

Yeah marriage is expensive, so maybe you can resize your wedding smaller lor to save money.
g r a p e k e y
post Feb 2 2017, 01:39 AM

483 posts

I know of a girl, her family pressure the bf to marry her after 3 years. less than one month, the guy cheated on her and said he was forced to marry her. said her family very money minded (which is true because we are in the same high school group and she used to invite me to her house) and he wanted a divorce as soon as she finds out he cheats.

generally, she's the type of girl very miang those type..don't know how to save money.. any rich guys also can. so I usually only agree to let her tag along when I need some characters like that in gatherings..

in uni days, she cheated on her only bf (that she looked for herself from her circle of lala friends). while all the rest of her bfs are from my different circle of friends that broke up with her.

she's the type of girl that as soon as she got a bf, she'll just go mia. (but I don't need her anyway)

although she doesn't have the face, she has the height. With fake eye lashes all those heavy make up girls. she's a branded freak so thats ok haha

anyway I despise guys that any girl also can those type of guys anywhere also got.

ts, is your gf's family like the girl in my write up above?

TSAvangelice
post Feb 2 2017, 07:39 AM

5,272 posts

QUOTE(g r a p e k e y @ Feb 2 2017, 01:39 AM)
I know of a girl, her family pressure the bf to marry her after 3 years. less than one month, the guy cheated on her and said he was forced to marry her. said her family very money minded (which is true because we are in the same high school group and she used to invite me to her house) and he wanted a divorce as soon as she finds out he cheats.

generally, she's the type of girl very miang those type..don't know how to save money.. any rich guys also can. so I usually only agree to let her tag along when I need some characters like that in gatherings..

in uni days, she cheated on her only bf (that she looked for herself from her circle of lala friends). while all the rest of her bfs are from my different circle of friends that broke up with her.

she's the type of girl that as soon as she got a bf, she'll just go mia. (but I don't need her anyway)

although she doesn't have the face, she has the height. With fake eye lashes all those heavy make up girls. she's a branded freak so thats ok haha

anyway I despise guys that any girl also can those type of guys anywhere also got.

ts, is your gf's family like the girl in my write up above?
no buddy. that's not her current thing one. she's a very homely person and very sweet. i have to confess some of the posters here who have said that I need to grow up and not be selfish are true. maybe it is I who is not ready for a marriage.

no idea man. I'm still confused. I did not expect to be forced to marry at a young age. my original dream was to marry at the age of 32 but I didn't plan to be dating a girl who is three years older than me.

Pete the great
post Feb 2 2017, 08:21 AM

519 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Feb 2 2017, 07:39 AM)
no buddy. that's not her current thing one. she's a very homely person and very sweet. i have to confess some of the posters here who have said that I need to grow up and not be selfish are true. maybe it is I who is not ready for a marriage.

no idea man. I'm still confused. I did not expect to be forced to marry at a young age. my original dream was to marry at the age of 32 but I didn't plan to be dating a girl who is three years older than me.
My mum is 3 yrs older than my father.

Its ur call. A lot of things in marriage is unplan...u wanna wait till she is 35?

Discuss with her if she want marriage there r a lot of financial stuff she gotta make do without because u r not financially ready. If she can agree then she is a keeper.
kinozanata
post Feb 2 2017, 08:26 AM

Think of it this way, if you were to break up with her, thats 2 years of her life down the drain.
TSAvangelice
post Feb 2 2017, 08:41 AM

5,272 posts

QUOTE(kinozanata @ Feb 2 2017, 08:26 AM)
Think of it this way, if you were to break up with her, thats 2 years of her life down the drain.
yes I am well aware of the fact that I may be wasting her two years of her life and so on and so forth even if the feeling of love isn't as strong as it once was.

that's why I am not going to be a douche bag and break up the relationship because of my selfishness.

SUSdangerminimouse
post Feb 2 2017, 11:19 AM

95 posts

Really puzzle with TS, dunno why he go and get into a rship with someone 3 yrs older than him.

Actually if she is reasonable to want simple wedding and go through with all the cost cut due to TS financial situation - don't see the reason for break up.

kinozanata
post Feb 2 2017, 12:15 PM

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Feb 2 2017, 08:41 AM)
yes I am well aware of the fact that I may be wasting her two years of her life and so on and so forth even if the feeling of love isn't as strong as it once was.

that's why I am not going to be a douche bag and break up the relationship because of my selfishness.
The first step in a lasting relationship is knowing when to admit your mistakes and owning up.

2nd step is talking. Some ladies dont want to talk so depends on situations
Sadru
post Feb 2 2017, 12:55 PM

1,062 posts

TS, Im not sure hows the actual situation were. But normally if the gf side wishing to speed things up. normally they would gave a helping hand right?

Maybe the signal is not strong enough coming from you that makes them a lil bit uneasy. Hey its their daughter future we talking about. Cant blame them to be cautious right?
It would make sense to re-assure your gf and her family if u were serious about this. Make them believe you not as stranger but as a soon to be family members.

This post has been edited by Sadru: Feb 2 2017, 12:56 PM
dp82
post Feb 2 2017, 03:52 PM

862 posts

marriage is just a piece of paper. U dont need gold to get married.

Starting a family needs financial planning
twopiece
post Feb 2 2017, 05:58 PM

108 posts

all other replies are saying to take risk on marriage or wadever is coming AFTER you signed the legal stuffs and pay for all the things u have to for the marriage.

planning for the future is a must these days with all the bullshit going on for the economy. no one know what could happen. would you rather to have a broken family with all the issues that only leads to arguement/anger and get a divorce ?

these days it takes both person to sustain a healthy(mentally) family for the generation to come. my pov is if shes the one (same planning and the will to carry on as a couple/family), both of you will get tru this TOGETHER and not one who wants to take high risk of uncertain future that you might face later on.

if your gf and her family does not agree with you, well i think you already have some thoughts about it.
SUS~Sherlock~
post Feb 2 2017, 09:35 PM

42 posts

Its more selfish if u hold on to her u until u are 32 and then suddenly let go of her. By age 30 a women's value falls very drastically. By age 35 she can really consider living with 20 cats. Don't be cruel.

This post has been edited by ~Sherlock~: Feb 2 2017, 09:35 PM
TSAvangelice
post Feb 2 2017, 09:48 PM

5,272 posts

QUOTE(~Sherlock~ @ Feb 2 2017, 09:35 PM)
Its more selfish if u hold on to her u until u are 32 and then suddenly let go of her. By age 30 a women's value falls very drastically. By age 35 she can really consider living with 20 cats. Don't be cruel.
I know. I get that. I am duty bound to do what is right.
Pete the great
post Feb 2 2017, 10:10 PM

519 posts

Really kenot brain ts. If she not mind spending less bcause of ur age..why not try?

U dun need water tight concrete finanxial planning to survive. I seen people with far less income get by.
TSAvangelice
post Feb 2 2017, 10:34 PM

5,272 posts

QUOTE(wleong @ Feb 2 2017, 09:56 PM)
u dammm kaim siap.....
you got nothing to say just stfu. this ain't kopitiam

QUOTE(Pete the great @ Feb 2 2017, 10:10 PM)
Really kenot brain ts. If she not mind spending less bcause of ur age..why not try?

U dun need water tight concrete finanxial planning to survive. I seen people with far less income get by.
lemme help you understand why.

medium sized wedding 30k
renovation works for double story house to repair leaking roof and walls along with sitting up cupboards and furniture 30k to 40k
parents are divorced so I am not expecting financial help from fama like some people have the luxury of having.
there includes saving for emergency for a dad who doesn't have medical insurance.

I'm beginning to be pissed at some of the posters here who are obviously trolling or being plain assholes.
capsulr
post Feb 2 2017, 11:54 PM

472 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Feb 2 2017, 10:34 PM)
Im in the same shoes as you and I understand that you are only frustrated because you know its all your own fault, why and what happened that you are not able to provide the best for your lover, even honeymoon or travelling will already zerorize your savings.

I dont know how people are able to stay happy when live paycheck to paycheck, even better they still continue pumping out kids. Only solution is to suck it up and just accept that you did not win the lucky draw when you were born and that life sucks

Pete the great
post Feb 3 2017, 08:26 AM

519 posts

medium sized wedding 30k
renovation works for double story house to repair leaking roof and walls along with sitting up cupboards and furniture 30k to 40k
parents are divorced so I am not expecting financial help from fama like some people have the luxury of having.
there includes saving for emergency for a dad who doesn't have medical insurance.

I'm beginning to be pissed at some of the posters here who are obviously trolling or being plain assholes.
Then talk to her n tell her u want small simple wedding to save cost. Sometime girl parents wull step in and help out.

Why the heck u want 30k wedding? Just go for 2 table ur family n her family or 10 table also can among very close ones. Scout restaurants now bcause people r crazy they book 1.5 yrs in advance. If u not careful u end up woth restaurant cut throat u. If she want 30k wedding she gonna hv to help.

Dun try to solve everything urself...marriage is abt both of u. Tell her that if wanna marry now hv to trim down cost.

But if she still want lavish spending n not wanna help contribute then u shld make up ur mind not to continue this rship.

Discuss financials with her now n not wait until u r married...bcause by then its too late. Its unpleasant but its a fire test to show how much both of u can be overcomers n persevere for love.

This post has been edited by Pete the great: Feb 3 2017, 08:30 AM
ccyap003
post Feb 3 2017, 03:37 PM

108 posts

Communicate with her.
Do a great ceremony is just to show.
Plan your marriage expenses and leave some for a rainy day.
Hammox
post Feb 3 2017, 09:01 PM

24 posts

medium sized wedding 30k

Depending on how flexible your gf's family is, is it possible to have the marriage first (ceremony only) then only do the reception later? there are some people who do that, though it sounds unconventional.

Usually among my friends, most want simple but if the parents insist on a grand one, the parents are normally willing to chip in (one of my friend who did hers 60k with her parents insist to chip in for it).
For mine, i saved a lot by not having course dinner but instead chose a decent buffet set. That way also the guests actually have more to chill and catch up with each other while enjoy nice atmosphere. Managed to get it done in less than 14k (include rings, venue, decors, simple gown, everything else necessary for the event). But granted i can only do that because my parents are okay with simple arrangements. Different family different way of handling.
Another friend also just have hers in cafe. No need big hoo haa but some nice food and activities to make the day sweet and lovely.

Tbh actually marriage very simple one. Most important is marriage ceremony. The rest (cake, door gifts, exorbitant decors) is optional. But there has been a lot of marketing involved + peer pressure + social media pressure that makes the costs of it crazy expensive, when money can be put to better use for the couple. sweat.gif

Just sharing some experiences in case these alternatives may work for you.

TSAvangelice
post Feb 3 2017, 09:06 PM

5,272 posts

QUOTE(Hammox @ Feb 3 2017, 09:01 PM)
Depending on how flexible your gf's family is, is it possible to have the marriage first (ceremony only) then only do the reception later? there are some people who do that, though it sounds unconventional.

Usually among my friends, most want simple but if the parents insist on a grand one, the parents are normally willing to chip in (one of my friend who did hers 60k with her parents insist to chip in for it).
For mine, i saved a lot by not having course dinner but instead chose a decent buffet set. That way also the guests actually have more to chill and catch up with each other while enjoy nice atmosphere. Managed to get it done in less than 14k (include rings, venue, decors,  simple gown, everything else necessary for the event). But granted i can only do that because my parents are okay with simple arrangements. Different family different way of handling.
Another friend also just have hers in cafe. No need big hoo haa but some nice food and activities to make the day sweet and lovely.

Tbh actually marriage very simple one. Most important is marriage ceremony. The rest (cake, door gifts, exorbitant decors) is optional. But there has been a lot of marketing involved + peer pressure + social media pressure that makes the costs of it crazy expensive, when money can be put to better use for the couple. sweat.gif

Just sharing some experiences in case these alternatives may work for you.
that's a brilliant idea. 15k can do bro. thanks for the idea. you deserve good karma for this
Hammox
post Feb 3 2017, 09:17 PM

24 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Feb 3 2017, 09:06 PM)
that's a brilliant idea. 15k can do bro. thanks for the idea. you deserve good karma for this
uh, but consult your family first la. because price highly dependent on number of people in your guest list (mine consist of our family, close friends and relatives). then sometimes parents will insist certain things must have, then need to discuss a compromise. all the best smile.gif

and don't do this alone! also ask friends who done it before how they do it. your gf can definitely help on this too.

This post has been edited by Hammox: Feb 3 2017, 09:20 PM
giovanni
post Feb 4 2017, 12:53 AM

1,898 posts

I got married when I was 28 mate. Best decision ever. That was many years ago. I thought I wasn't ready but come to think of it...you will only be ready when u start to face it. Mine was a long distance relationship somemore so there was gap of us spending time together or getting to know each other truly well.

Btw, I dont have much help from family either. Built my own home with her from scratch. I brought her to UK for my phd and we both survived on my stipend n part time salary (pittance).

You need to love her whole heartedly to jump into marriage. The rest will take care of itself when the time comes.
cassie_90
post Feb 5 2017, 02:40 PM

106 posts

QUOTE(HarDiE @ Dec 27 2016, 10:05 PM)
my girlfriend is 31 years old

thats ur problem.
Yea, totally agreed. Isn't it expected? Or ppl are just to naive ?
-mystery-
post Jun 13 2021, 12:30 PM

2,722 posts

you already made a mistake, im scared now she's going to hurt your son
good luck TS
juvaan
post Jun 14 2021, 06:12 AM

276 posts

oh shit... from the other thread just realsied TS is now actually married with kid...

And now wife is requesting allowance 5k a month?

Pity u man.

J1g54w
post Jun 14 2021, 12:39 PM

1,449 posts

Marry very cheap only, pay for the certificate. If they want you can do this week even. Question is they want their daughter to get married, or they want the extravaganze of a wedding? icon_idea.gif
Ah Teng
post Jun 14 2021, 04:15 PM

83 posts

https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/5156707
Sasuke95
post Jun 14 2021, 06:25 PM

889 posts

QUOTE(Ah Teng @ Jun 14 2021, 04:15 PM)
The fact that he end up marrying her in the first place boggles my mind.

If those huge red flags are already present before marriage, why still go for it?

If he proceed the marriage because he wants a trophy wife, then he has to accept that he'll have to burn money to sustain this person, he's perfectly capable of doing so, but end up complaining needing to burn money.

On the flip side, he will have a much much better life having many affairs with different girls just like his friends instead of all these BS. I don't think any rational male will see this marriage as something they would sign up for. Signed the wrong deal sir.

Would GTFO 10/10.
Oxygen!
post Jun 14 2021, 10:24 PM

QUOTE(Sasuke95 @ Jun 14 2021, 06:25 PM)
The fact that he end up marrying her in the first place boggles my mind.

If those huge red flags are already present before marriage, why still go for it?

If he proceed the marriage because he wants a trophy wife, then he has to accept that he'll have to burn money to sustain this person, he's perfectly capable of doing so, but end up complaining needing to burn money.

On the flip side, he will have a much much better life having many affairs with different girls just like his friends instead of all these BS. I don't think any rational male will see this marriage as something they would sign up for. Signed the wrong deal sir.

Would GTFO 10/10.
I’m surprised the Cupid edgelord didn’t post a single reply/ join the discussion before TS closed his thread. A lot of juicy information in there for u to reflect upon smile.gif. Should have joined it sasuke95
kesvani
post Jun 14 2021, 11:28 PM

955 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Dec 27 2016, 10:58 PM)
oh really?

so this ring I am custom making is a sign I'm self centered aye? pfft . that's an aquamarine that she always wanted for her engagement ring. had to get my own jeweler to head to Singapore and Thailand to source for it. tell me to my face one more time I'm being self centered
F**K apa lanjio man use money as a ruler how much she love her women.
Sasuke95
post Jun 14 2021, 11:47 PM

889 posts

QUOTE(Oxygen! @ Jun 14 2021, 10:24 PM)
I’m surprised the Cupid edgelord didn’t post a single reply/ join the discussion before TS closed his thread. A lot of juicy information in there for u to reflect upon smile.gif. Should have joined it sasuke95
The edgelord have things to do in real life too, no surprise that I missed it.

But yeah, juicy info there. What baffles me is that he's a guy that got the brain to earn that much money, but the decision on the marriage doesn't seem like a person of his brain would do. All I can say is, beware of marriage deathtrap. All the more reason just to enjoy life and fool around than to just sign the contract and live a miserable life. Sometimes I just don't get so many people here still believe in marriage and still think they can handle it, heck even the most successful men in the world can't handle it.
Blofeld
post Jun 15 2021, 04:42 PM

4,703 posts

Looks like the False Consensus Effect is really true.

Eg. those who are lazy will think everyone else is lazy like them.

Those who don't plan will think that everyone else don't plan.

In this case, their daughter doesn't plan, most likely her parents are the similar type that don't plan, hence assume that TS also didn't plan for the future.
loki
post Jun 15 2021, 04:46 PM

2,109 posts

QUOTE(MakNok @ Dec 27 2016, 10:44 PM)
then dump her.
End of story.
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=4742550&hl= "forced into wedding"

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=5148052&hl= "saving up for the future"

he puts it in cupids to avoid being trolled...

This post has been edited by loki: Jun 15 2021, 04:47 PM
Kylow
post Jun 16 2021, 04:10 PM

56 posts

TS thanks for sharing, you saved a 20 y.o from repeating your mistakes
TSAvangelice
post Jun 16 2021, 04:15 PM

5,272 posts

QUOTE(Kylow @ Jun 16 2021, 04:10 PM)
TS thanks for sharing, you saved a 20 y.o from repeating your mistakes
No worries. You need any advice?

PS I'm getting trolled in other subs and some called me a beta cuck over this. Whatever rocks your boats bros I'm just here to get some advice.

I'm still happily married as of today of course there's up and downs. You only read my downs as I needed people to talk to
Sasuke95
post Jun 16 2021, 05:57 PM

889 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Jun 16 2021, 04:15 PM)
No worries. You need any advice?

PS I'm getting trolled in other subs and some called me a beta cuck over this. Whatever rocks your boats bros I'm just here to get some advice.

I'm still happily married as of today of course there's up and downs. You only read my downs as I needed people to talk to
Then talk about the happy part, i wish and am curious to know, because i know and accepted that it won't happen on me due to my reluctance to marry, looking at someone else's happy story is enough for me.

This post has been edited by Sasuke95: Jun 16 2021, 05:58 PM

0.0796sec    0.48    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 12:41 AM